DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Zhang discloses in figure 13 and figure 19 that “numbers of top and left valid samples in the subset of N samples are balanced proportionally to block dimensions or to numbers of top and left valid samples”, because in figure 13 and figure 19, the height and width of the block or the numbers of top and left available valid samples are proportional to the numbers of top and left selected valid samples.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-9, 11-12, 14-16, 18-20, 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 20170150183 A1).
Regarding claim 1. Zhang discloses A method of decoding a block of samples of a picture of a video ([0007] a method of decoding encoded video data, reconstructing, by the video decoder, samples of a coding block by adding samples of a predictive block to corresponding samples of the residual block for the TU of the CU), the method comprising:
determining, for the block of samples, a set of NM valid samples from a set of neighboring top and left reconstructed samples ([0057] The reconstructed luma reference samples and the reconstructed chroma reference samples are samples along the top and left sides of the PU; [0060] available reference samples; figure 19, [0188] The first set of pixels includes available reconstructed neighboring pixels in a left column and an above row of a current CU (i.e., a CU that contains the current PU));
selecting a subset of N valid samples in the set of NM valid samples so that numbers of top and left valid samples in the subset of N samples are balanced proportionally to block dimensions or to numbers of top and left valid samples (figure 13, [0142] the small circles indicate sample values used for determining the LM parameters α and β; figure 19, [0188]-[0189]; [0059] The set of luma reference samples may comprise luma samples neighboring a top side of a non-square luma block of a current picture of the video data and luma samples neighboring a left side of the non-square luma block. The set of chroma reference samples may comprise chroma samples neighboring the top side of a non-square chroma block and chroma samples neighboring the left side of the non-square chroma block);
determining local illumination compensation parameters from the subset of N valid samples and corresponding reference samples in a reference block ([0068] the formula defining the IC parameter b in 3D-HEVC involves a division operation by the number of reference samples neighboring the current CU's top and left sides; [0186] a IC process derives IC parameters based on neighboring samples of a current CU and neighboring samples of a reference block; figure 19, [0188] The first set of pixels includes available reconstructed neighboring pixels in a left column and an above row of a current CU (i.e., a CU that contains the current PU). The second set of pixels includes corresponding neighboring pixels of a reference block of the current CU; [0189] FIG. 19 illustrates neighboring pixels used to estimate parameters in the IC model); and
reconstructing the block from a prediction block obtained by applying, on the reference block, local illumination compensation based on the determined local illumination compensation parameters (figure 24, [0335] prediction processing unit 200 performs the illumination compensation techniques; figure 25, [0355] prediction processing unit 252 performs the illumination compensation techniques).
Regarding claim 3. Zhang discloses The method of claim 1, wherein N is a power of two ([0060] the total number of reference samples in the set of luma reference samples is a power of 2).
Regarding claim 4. Zhang discloses The method of claim 1, wherein selecting a subset of N samples in the set of NM valid samples comprises selecting a subset of N samples in the set of NM valid samples so that numbers of top and left valid samples are balanced proportionally to a ratio between a height and a width of the block (figure 13, [0142] the small circles indicate sample values used for determining the LM parameters α and β; figure 19, [0188]-[0189]).
Regarding claim 6. Zhang discloses The method of claim 1, wherein selecting a subset of N samples in the set of NM valid samples comprises
selecting a subset of N samples in the set of NM valid samples so that numbers of top and left valid samples are balanced proportionally to a ratio between a number of valid samples on the left and a number of valid samples on the top (figure 13, [0142] the small circles indicate sample values used for determining the LM parameters α and β; figure 19, [0188]-[0189]).
Regarding claim 7. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1 (corresponding encoding method).
Regarding claim 11. The same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 12. The same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 14. The same analysis has been stated in claim 6.
Regarding claim 15. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18. The same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 19. The same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 20. The same analysis has been stated in claim 6.
Regarding claim 22. The same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 23. The same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 24. The same analysis has been stated in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10, 17, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20170150183 A1) in view of Strom et al. (Description of Core Experiment 1 (CE1): Post-prediction and post-reconstruction filtering).
Regarding claim 2. Strom discloses that a neighboring reconstructed sample is considered as a valid sample on a condition that the sample has not been coded with a mode amongst a set of coding modes and/or with a parameter amongst a set of parameters values (CE 1.5 local illumination compensation, Usage of reconstructed intra coded, CIIP and IBC blocks, as this would have impact on complexity and parallel implementation pipelining (test with and without, and further study the impact). Disable for CIIP and IBC blocks. It is not applied to bi-prediction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Zhang and Strom, to disable illumination compensation for intra coded, CIIP and IBC blocks; and for bi-prediction, in order to better implement parallel coding.
Regarding claim 10. The same analysis has been stated in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17. The same analysis has been stated in claim 2.
Regarding claim 21. The same analysis has been stated in claim 2.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOLAN XU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488