DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: In “when the height of the block is smaller than its width: minToUseLeft = N x cuHeight / (cuWidth+1), or minToUseLeft = N/2 otherwise”, it seems not reasonable that minToUseLeft may be larger than N/2 even when the height of the block is smaller than its width. For example, when cuHeight = 12, cuWidth = 16, minToUseLeft = N x cuHeight / (cuWidth+1) = N x 12 / 17; when cuHeight = 16, cuWidth = 12, minToUseLeft = N/2.
While, with a different ratio of cuHeight / cuWidth, minToUseLeft may be smaller than N/2 when the height of the block is smaller than its width. For example, when cuHeight = 8, cuWidth = 16, minToUseLeft = N x cuHeight / (cuWidth+1) = N x 8 / 17; when cuHeight = 16, cuWidth = 8, minToUseLeft = N/2.
If it is not by design, appropriate correction is required, including the disclosure in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. US 11936871 B2 or claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. US 12278967 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11936871 B2 discloses “when a block height is greater than or equal to a block width or a number of valid neighboring samples at a left of the block is greater than or equal to a number of valid neighboring samples at a top of the block, first adding all valid neighboring samples at the left of the block in the set of N valid samples and adding valid neighboring samples at the top of the block only to complete the set up to N valid samples; and when the block height is smaller than the block width or the number of valid neighboring samples at the left of the block is smaller than the number of valid neighboring samples at the top of the block, first adding all valid neighboring samples at the top of the block in the set of N valid samples and adding valid neighboring samples at the left of the block only to complete the set up to N valid samples”. It covers claim 1 of the instant application: “selecting a subset of N valid samples in the set of NM valid samples so that numbers of top and left valid samples in the subset of N samples are balanced based on block dimensions or based on both numbers of top and left valid samples”.
Also, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12278967 B2 discloses “replacing at least one non-valid sample by another valid sample such that a number of valid samples on the left of the current block and a number of valid samples on the top the current block are both larger than or equal to N”. It covers claim 1 of the instant application: “selecting a subset of N valid samples in the set of NM valid samples so that numbers of top and left valid samples in the subset of N samples are balanced based on block dimensions or based on both numbers of top and left valid samples”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-9, 11-12, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 20170150183 A1).
Regarding claim 1. Zhang discloses A method of decoding a block of samples of a picture of a video ([0007] a method of decoding encoded video data, reconstructing, by the video decoder, samples of a coding block by adding samples of a predictive block to corresponding samples of the residual block for the TU of the CU), the method comprising:
determining, for the block of samples, a set of NM valid samples from a set of neighboring top and left reconstructed samples ([0057] The reconstructed luma reference samples and the reconstructed chroma reference samples are samples along the top and left sides of the PU; [0060] available reference samples; figure 19, [0188] The first set of pixels includes available reconstructed neighboring pixels in a left column and an above row of a current CU (i.e., a CU that contains the current PU));
selecting a subset of N valid samples in the set of NM valid samples so that numbers of top and left valid samples in the subset of N samples are balanced based on block dimensions or based on both numbers of top and left valid samples ([0059] The set of luma reference samples may comprise luma samples neighboring a top side of a non-square luma block of a current picture of the video data and luma samples neighboring a left side of the non-square luma block. The set of chroma reference samples may comprise chroma samples neighboring the top side of a non-square chroma block and chroma samples neighboring the left side of the non-square chroma block. Furthermore, the video coder may sub-sample the set of luma reference samples such that a total number of luma reference samples in the set of luma reference samples that neighbor a longer side of the non-square luma block is the same as a total number of luma reference samples of the set of luma reference samples that neighbor a shorter side of the non-square luma block; [0060] by sub-sampling the set of luma reference samples such that the total number of luma reference samples that neighbor the longer side of the non-square luma block is the same as the total number of luma reference samples that neighbor a shorter side of the non-square luma block, the reference samples that neighbor a short or long side of the non-square prediction block may be unavailable, in this case, there may be no need to perform the sub-sampling process to available reference samples located at the other side (Having the same numbers of available samples corresponds to selecting the numbers balanced based on block dimensions or based on both numbers of top and left valid samples));
determining local illumination compensation parameters from the subset of N valid samples and corresponding reference samples in a reference block ([0068] the formula defining the IC parameter b in 3D-HEVC involves a division operation by the number of reference samples neighboring the current CU's top and left sides; [0186] a IC process derives IC parameters based on neighboring samples of a current CU and neighboring samples of a reference block; figure 19, [0188] The first set of pixels includes available reconstructed neighboring pixels in a left column and an above row of a current CU (i.e., a CU that contains the current PU). The second set of pixels includes corresponding neighboring pixels of a reference block of the current CU; [0189] FIG. 19 illustrates neighboring pixels used to estimate parameters in the IC model); and
reconstructing the block from a prediction block obtained by applying, on the reference block, local illumination compensation based on the determined local illumination compensation parameters (figure 24, [0335] prediction processing unit 200 performs the illumination compensation techniques; figure 25, [0355] prediction processing unit 252 performs the illumination compensation techniques).
Regarding claim 3. Zhang discloses The method of claim 1, wherein N is a power of two ([0060] the total number of reference samples in the set of luma reference samples is a power of 2).
Regarding claim 4. Zhang discloses The method of claim 1, wherein selecting a subset of N samples in the set of NM valid samples so that numbers of top and left valid samples are balanced based on block dimensions or based on both numbers of top and left valid samples comprises selecting a subset of N samples in the set of NM valid samples so that numbers of top and left valid samples are balanced proportionally to a ratio between a height and a width of the block (figure 13, [0142] the small circles indicate sample values used for determining the LM parameters α and β; figure 19, [0188]-[0189]).
Regarding claim 6. Zhang discloses The method of claim 1, wherein selecting a subset of N samples in the set of NM valid samples so that numbers of top and left valid samples are balanced based on block dimensions or based on both numbers of top and left valid samples comprises:
selecting a subset of N samples in the set of NM valid samples so that numbers of top and left valid samples are balanced proportionally to a ratio between a number of valid samples on the left and a number of valid samples on the top (figure 13, [0142] the small circles indicate sample values used for determining the LM parameters α and β; figure 19, [0188]-[0189]).
Regarding claim 7. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1 (corresponding encoding method).
Regarding claim 11. The same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 12. The same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 14. The same analysis has been stated in claim 6.
Regarding claim 15. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20170150183 A1) in view of Strom et al. (Description of Core Experiment 1 (CE1): Post-prediction and post-reconstruction filtering).
Regarding claim 2. Strom discloses that a neighboring reconstructed sample is considered as a valid sample on a condition that the sample has not been coded with a mode amongst a set of coding modes and/or with a parameter amongst a set of parameters values (CE 1.5 local illumination compensation, Usage of reconstructed intra coded, CIIP and IBC blocks, as this would have impact on complexity and parallel implementation pipelining (test with and without, and further study the impact). Disable for CIIP and IBC blocks. It is not applied to bi-prediction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Zhang and Strom, to disable illumination compensation for intra coded, CIIP and IBC blocks; and for bi-prediction, in order to better implement parallel coding.
Regarding claim 10. The same analysis has been stated in claim 2.
Conclusion
/XIAOLAN XU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488