DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/20/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. There are two articles identified as NPL. One is not legible and not considered. The second article does not appear to be related to the current application or is missing pages and is also not considered.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is ‘configured to’ perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-12, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudgins in view of Golda et al., (US 2020/0237309), hereinafter Golda, and further in view of Zukowski (US 2014/0064543), hereinafter Zukowski.
Regarding claim 1 Hudgins discloses a microphone system (Figs. 1, 2A-2B, at 10), comprising: an antenna (e.g., Fig. 4A, at 152) arranged within a housing (Figs. 1, 2A-2B, at 14); a circuit board (e.g., Fig. 4A, at 124), the circuit board mounted in said housing; a built-in microphone (Figs. 1, 2A-2B, at 22) connected to said circuit board, said built-in microphone protruding from an opening of said housing (e.g., Fig. 4A, at 22).
Hudgins does not disclose a ground plane; and a connector with a bayonet-type mounting connector for removably coupling with a matching bayonet mount on said housing.
Golda discloses a ground plane (e.g., paragraph 0005); and a microphone windshield (e.g., claim 1) including a connector with a bayonet-type mounting connector (e.g., paragraph 0045) for removably coupling with a matching bayonet mount on said housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna disclosed by Hudgins in accordance with the teaching of Golda regarding the use of a ground plane in order to improve the performance of the device by providing more flexibility and to act as an electronic ground for the device (Golda, paragraph 0152) and to use a bayonet connector to act as a fastener.
Hudgins as modified does not disclose a microphone windshield.
Zukowski discloses a microphone windshield (e.g., paragraph 0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna disclosed by Hudgins as modified in accordance with the teaching of Zukowski regarding the use of a microphone windshield in order to mitigating noise (paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 2 Hudgins further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein said housing further including a clip adapted to attach to a user's clothing (Figs. 1, 2A-2B, at 84; see also paragraph 0038 “clip”).
Regarding claim 3 Hudgins further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein said housing further including one or more ports (e.g., Figs. 1, 2A-2B, at 88 and 92) for interfacing with one or more external devices.
Regarding claim 9 Hudgins does not disclose the system of claim 1, wherein said microphone windshield further comprising one or more layers of noise dampening material.
Zukowski discloses wherein said microphone windshield further comprising one or more layers of noise dampening material (e.g., paragraph 0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna disclosed by Hudgins as modified in accordance with the teaching of Zukowski regarding the use of a microphone windshield in order to mitigate noise (paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 10 Hudgins does not disclose the system claim 9, wherein one or more layers includes at least one of a foam, flexible fiber, and faux fur.
Zukowski discloses wherein one or more layers includes at least one of a foam, flexible fiber, and faux fur (e.g., paragraph 0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna disclosed by Hudgins as modified in accordance with the teaching of Zukowski regarding the use of a microphone windshield in order to mitigate noise (paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 11 Hudgins discloses a microphone system (Figs. 1, 2A-2B, at 10), comprising: a circuit board (e.g., Fig. 4A, at 124) mounted within a housing (Figs. 1, 2A-2B, at 14), said circuit board; an antenna (e.g., Fig. 4A, at 152) operatively coupled to said circuit board, a built-in microphone (Figs. 1, 2A-2B, at 22) connected to said circuit board.
Hudgins does not disclose a ground plane; said antenna including one or more conductive elements spaced a distance from said ground plane; and a microphone windshield including a connector with a bayonet-type mounting connector for removably coupling with a matching bayonet mount on said housing.
Golda discloses a ground plane (e.g., paragraph 0005); said antenna including one or more conductive elements spaced a distance from said ground plane (e.g., paragraph 0005) and a microphone windshield (e.g., claim 1) including a connector with a bayonet-type mounting connector (e.g., paragraph 0045) for removably coupling with a matching bayonet mount on said housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna disclosed by Hudgins in accordance with the teaching of Golda regarding the use of a ground plane in order to improve the performance of the device by providing more flexibility and to act as an electronic ground for the device (Golda, paragraph 0152) and to use a bayonet connector to act as a fastener.
Hudgins as modified does not disclose a microphone windshield.
Zukowski discloses a microphone windshield (e.g., paragraph 0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna disclosed by Hudgins as modified in accordance with the teaching of Zukowski regarding the use of a microphone windshield in order to mitigating noise (paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 12 Hudgins further discloses the system of claim 11, wherein said built-in microphone protrudes from an opening of said housing (Figs. 1, 2A-2B, at 22).
Regarding claim 17 Hudgins does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 11, wherein said bayonet-type mounting connector is configured to form an air-tight seal between said windshield and said microphone.
Golda discloses wherein said bayonet-type mounting connector is configured to form an air-tight seal between said windshield and said microphone (e.g., paragraph 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna disclosed by Hudgins in accordance with the teaching of Golda regarding to configure a bayonet connector to be air tight so to act as a waterproof or weatherproof fastener.
Regarding claim 18 the system of claim 11, wherein said bayonet-type mounting connector and said microphone are made of a different material.
The Examiner takes official notice that wherein said bayonet-type mounting connector and said microphone are made of a different material is well known in the art and common knowledge.
Claims 4-8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudgins in view of Golda and Zukowski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nguyen (US 2016/0013543), hereinafter Nguyen.
Regarding claim 4 Hudgins does not disclose the system of claim 1, wherein a first antenna is a dipole antenna and a second antenna is a monopole antenna.
Nguyen discloses wherein a first antenna is a dipole antenna and a second antenna is a monopole antenna (e.g., paragraph 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna disclosed by Hudgins as modified in accordance with the teachings of Nguyen regarding the use of a monopole antenna and a dipole antenna in order to achieve adaptation without loss of performance due to the physical orientation of the receiver unit and to optimize the device performance.
Regarding claim 5 Hudgins does not disclose the system of claim 4, wherein said monopole antenna is an inverted-F antenna running parallel to said ground plane.
Nguyen discloses wherein said monopole antenna is an inverted-F antenna running parallel to said ground plane (paragraph 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna disclosed by Hudgins as modified in accordance with the teachings of Nguyen regarding the use of an inverted-F antenna running parallel to said ground plane in order to achieve adaptation without loss of performance due to the physical orientation of the receiver unit and to optimize the device performance.
Regarding claim 6 Hudgins does not disclose the system of claim 4, wherein said dipole antenna is a folded dipole antenna including a first conductive element operatively coupled to a second conductive element.
Nguyen discloses wherein said dipole antenna is a folded dipole antenna including a first conductive element operatively coupled to a second conductive element (paragraph 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna disclosed by Hudgins as modified in accordance with the teaching of Nguyen regarding the use of wherein said dipole antenna is a folded dipole antenna including a first conductive element operatively coupled to a second conductive element in order to achieve adaptation without loss of performance due to the physical orientation of the receiver unit and to optimize the device performance.
Regarding claim 7 Hudgins does not disclose the system of claim 4, wherein said circuit board further includes a slit configured to receive said dipole antenna.
Nguyen discloses wherein said circuit board further includes a slit configured to receive said dipole antenna (e.g., paragraph 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna disclosed by Hudgins as modified in accordance with the teaching of Nguyen regarding the use of wherein said circuit board further includes a slit configured to receive said dipole antenna in order to achieve adaptation without loss of performance due to the physical orientation of the receiver unit and to optimize the device performance.
Regarding claim 8 Hudgins does not disclose the system of claim 4, wherein said dipole antenna is decoupled from the ground plane of said circuit board.
Nguyen discloses wherein said dipole antenna is decoupled from the ground plane of said circuit board (e.g., paragraph 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna disclosed by Hudgins as modified in accordance with the teaching of Nguyen regarding the use of discloses wherein said dipole antenna is decoupled from the ground plane of said circuit board in order to achieve adaptation without loss of performance due to the physical orientation of the receiver unit and to optimize the device performance.
Regarding claim 13 Hudgins does not disclose the system of claim 11, wherein said one or more conductive elements are spaced a predetermined distance from a first side of the ground plane and a second conductive element spaced a predetermined distance from the opposite side of the ground plane.
Nguyen discloses wherein said one or more conductive elements are spaced a predetermined distance from a first side of the ground plane and a second conductive element spaced a predetermined distance from the opposite side of the ground plane (e.g., paragraph 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna disclosed by Hudgins as modified in accordance with the teaching of Nguyen regarding the use of wherein said one or more conductive elements are spaced a predetermined distance from a first side of the ground plane and a second conductive element spaced a predetermined distance from the opposite side of the ground plane in order to achieve adaptation without loss of performance due to the physical orientation of the receiver unit and to optimize the device performance.
Regarding claim 14 Hudgins does not disclose the system of claim 13, wherein a second conductive element is spaced a predetermined distance from a second side of the ground plane, said second side being opposite said first side.
Nguyen discloses wherein a second conductive element is spaced a predetermined distance from a second side of the ground plane, said second side being opposite said first side (e.g., paragraph 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna disclosed by Hudgins as modified in accordance with the teaching of Nguyen regarding the use of wherein a second conductive element is spaced a predetermined distance from a second side of the ground plane, said second side being opposite said first side in order to achieve adaptation without loss of performance due to the physical orientation of the receiver unit and to optimize the device performance.
Regarding claim 15 Hudgins does not disclose the system of claim 11, wherein each of the conductive elements is L-shaped and includes a horizontal leg and a vertical leg.
Nguyen discloses wherein each of the conductive elements is L-shaped and includes a horizontal leg and a vertical leg (e.g., paragraph 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the antenna disclosed by Hudgins as modified in accordance with the teaching of Nguyen regarding the use of wherein each of the conductive elements is L-shaped and includes a horizontal leg and a vertical leg in order to achieve adaptation without loss of performance due to the physical orientation of the receiver unit and to optimize the device performance.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudgins in view of Golda and Zukowski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Soutar et al., (US 2005/0063560), hereinafter Soutar.
Regarding claim 16 Hudgins as modified does not disclose the system of claim 11, wherein said windshield further includes a liner having an interior layer and an exterior layer, said exterior layer configured to encompass the interior layer.
Soutar discloses wherein said windshield further includes a liner having an interior layer and an exterior layer, said exterior layer configured to encompass the interior layer (e.g., paragraph 0016).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device disclosed by Hudgins as modified in accordance with the teaching of Soutar regarding the use of multiple microphone shield layers in order to minimize unwanted noise (Soutar, paragraph 0023).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
DAVID E. LOTTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845