DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Patent No. CN 116608229 to Zan et al in view of Chinese Patent No. CN 103671699 to Wen et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Zan et al disclose a device for suppressing low frequency line spectrum vibration (see Figure 1 and the translated abstract) having most all the features of the instant invention including: a main housing 1, wherein two ends of the main housing 1 are respectively provided with an upper end cover 4 and a lower end cover (see Figure 2 and the lower end plate of the device), an assembly 5/5, wherein the assembly comprises an upper element 5 and a lower element 5, wherein the elements 5 are respectively installed at the two ends of the main housing 1 through the upper end cover 4 and the lower end cover (see Figure 2), and a particle damper 3 arranged in the main housing 1, wherein two ends of the particle damper 3 are respectively connected to the upper element 5 and the lower element 5, and the upper element 5 and the lower element 5 are used for transmitting external vibration energy into the particle damper 3, and the particle damper 3 is used for dissipating vibration energy (see page 4, last few paragraphs, of the examiner provided translation).
However, Zan et al do not disclose that the upper and lower elements make up a diaphragm assembly having upper and lower diaphragms.
Wen et al are relied upon merely for their teachings of a device for suppressing low frequency line spectrum vibration (see Figure 1) having a diaphragm assembly 4/19 comprising an upper diaphragm 4 and a lower diaphragm 19, wherein the upper and lower diaphragms 4, 19 are respectively installed at two ends of a main housing (see Figure 1 and page 3 last two paragraphs and page 4 of the examiner provided translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided device of Zan et al with a diaphragm assembly as taught by Wen et al (in place of the spring assembly of Zan et al) as an alternate means of transmitting vibrational energy into the particle damper to more effectively dissipate the external vibrations through the entire particle damper so that torsional vibration, transverse vibration, longitudinal vibration and coupling vibration on the device can all be simultaneously controlled.
Regarding Claim 2, Zan et al., as modified, further disclose that the particle damper 3 comprises a damping box housing 2, a top end of the damping box housing 2 is provided with a damping box cover 6, and the damping box cover 6 and a bottom end of the damping box housing 2 are respectively connected to the upper element 5 and the lower element 5, and a plurality of damping particles 3 are arranged in the damping box housing 2 (see Figure 2 and the “Detailed Way” section on pages 4 and 5 of the examiner provided translation of Zan et al).
Regarding Claim 7, Zan et al., as modified, do not disclose that a thickness of each of the upper diaphragm and the lower diaphragm is 0.1 to 1 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the upper and lower diaphragms of Zan et al., as modified, to have thicknesses of 0.1 to 1 mm as a matter of design preference dependent upon the desired size and shape of the diaphragms, strength of the diaphragms and overall size of the device itself.
Regarding Claim 8, Zan et al., as modified, further disclose that a material of the upper diaphragm 4 and the lower diaphragm 19 is one of high-strength steel (see page 2 fifth full paragraph of the examiner provided translation of Wen et al).
Regarding Claim 9, Zan et al., as modified, further disclose that a material of the damping particles is one of ceramic particles (see page 2 sixth full paragraph of the examiner provided translation of Wen et al).
Regarding Claim 10, Zan et al., as modified, further disclose that the damping particles have a particle size of 0.1 mm to 5 mm, and a filling ratio of 10% to 90% (see page 2 eighth full paragraph of the examiner provided translation of Zan et al).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Patent No. CN 116608229 to Zan et al in view of Chinese Patent No. CN 103671699 to Wen et al as applied to claims 1, 2, and 7-10 above, and further in view of Chinese Patent No. CN 107387637 to Zhang et al.
Regarding Claim 3, Zan et al., as modified, disclose most all the features of the instant invention as applied above and further including that the damping box cover 6 is in threaded connection with the damping box housing 2 (see Figure 2 and page 2 sixth full paragraph of the examiner provided translation of Zan et al).
However, Zan et al., as modified, do not disclose that a plurality of washers are arranged between the damping box cover and the damping box housing.
Zhang et al are relied upon merely for their teachings of a device for suppressing low frequency line spectrum vibration (see Figure 1) having a plurality of washers 10 arranged between a damping box cover 9 and a damping box housing 8 (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Zan et al., as modified, with a plurality of washers arranged between the damping box cover and the damping box housing as taught by Zhang et al in order to prevent any frictional damage between the damping box cover and the damping box housing during excessive vibrations imparted thereto.
Regarding Claim 4, Zan et al., as modified, further disclose that a top end of the damping box cover 9 and the bottom end of the damping box housing 8 are both boss structures, and center positions of the box structures (see Figure 1 of Zhang et al) and that a diaphragm 7 is provided with a plurality of first mounting holes (see Figure 1 and the holes for bolts 4) and a first bolt 4 is arranged in each of the first mounting holes (see Figure 1 and the page 2 last paragraph of the examiner provided translation of Zhang et al).
However, Zan et al, as modified, do not disclose that both the upper and lower diaphragms are each provided with a plurality of first mounting holes and a first bolt being arranged in each of the mounting holes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Zan et al., as modified, with both the upper and lower diaphragms each having a plurality of first mounting holes and a first bolt being arranged in each of the mounting holes as suggested by Zhang et al in order to provide a more secure connection between the damping box components and diaphragms during excessive vibrational forces being imparted thereto.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Patent No. CN 116608229 to Zan et al in view of Chinese Patent No. CN 103671699 to Wen et al as applied to claims 1, 2, and 7-10 above, and further in view of Chinese Patent No. 110778639 to Jiang et al.
Regarding Claim 6, Zan et al., as modified, further disclose that the upper diaphragm 4 and the lower diaphragm 19 are circular metal sheets (see Figures 1, 4 and 6 of Wen et al and page 4 first full paragraph of the examiner provided translation of Wen et al).
However, Zan et al., as modified, do not disclose hollow patterns arranged on each of the circular metal sheets.
Jiang et al are relied upon merely for their teachings of a device for suppressing low frequency line spectrum vibration (see Figures 1 and 2) having upper and lower diaphragms 1 and 2, which are circular sheets with hollow patterns arranged on each of the sheets 1 and 2 (see Figures 1 and 2 and the hollow elements/holes therein and the last page of the examiner provided translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the diaphragms of Zan et al., as modified, with hollow patterns arranged on each of the metal sheets as taught by Jiang et al in order to better dissipate vibrations through the diaphragms themselves thus more finely tuning the vibrations though the hollow portions of the structures.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PG Publication No. 2017/0335915 to Nyboer et al, PG Publication No. 2024/0401661 to Stack, Chinese Patent No. CN 104179870 to Yang et al., and Chinese Patent No. CN 107165969 to Cheng et al all disclose devices for suppressing low frequency line spectrum vibrations similar to applicant’s.
PAMELA RODRIGUEZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/PAMELA RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 10/19/26