DETAILED ACTION
Currently pending claims are 1 – 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter where “An initiate node” as recited in the claim does not fall into any of statutory classes defined in 35 U.S.C 101. It may be merely directed to software per se or the claimed subject matter is drawn to the abstract structure of architecture. It is respectfully suggested by the Examiner to amend the claim language as “An apparatus of an initiator node”. Any other claims not addressed are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2, 8, 11 – 12 & 18 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wilkins et al. (U.S. Patent 10,552,829).
As per claim 1, 11 & 18, Wilkins teaches method of domain transfer for a script in a distributed ledger (Wilkins: FIG. 1, FIG. 4), comprising:
transmitting, by an initiator node connected to an origin domain and a target domain, a transfer-out request to an origin external node of the origin domain (Wilkins: FIG. 1, FIG. 4 & Col. 3 Line 47 – 50, Col. 12 Line 50 – 52, Col. 2 Line 28 – 30 / 50 – 53, Col. 7 Line 52 – 58 / Line 62 – 67, Col. 15 Line 44 – 53, Col. 4 Line 59 – 64, Col. 11 Line 1 – 4 / Line 41 – 50 and Col. 5 Line 1 – 5 / Line 17 – 26,
(a) in a crypto-currency system, according to the disclosure of the instant specification, a domain can be referred as a distributed ledger connected to a plurality of computing nodes over a distributed network (SPEC: FIG. 1 / E-260 / 210 & Para [0119] Line 2 – 3 & Para [0004] Line 1 – 2);
(b) Wilkins discloses a crypto-exchange of an ATS system (Alternative Trading System), as one type of crypto-currency systems, which can utilize a computing node (i.e. an origin external node) functionally associated and represented with a particular distributed ledger / block-chain (i.e. a particular domain), to manage transactions over a distributed network of nodes, wherein a digital transaction item of an order (i.e. a proposed transaction as a script of a text of a document) can be traded through crypto-exchanges of ATS system and transferred (transmitted) by a submitted node (i.e. an initiator node) to other target crypto-exchanges via the origin external node (Wilkins: Figure 1 & Col. 3 Line 47 – 50 and Col. 12 Line 50 – 52);
(c) besides, this is also consistent with the disclosure of the instant specification (SPEC: FIG. 2a, Para [0007] Line 2 – 5 & Para [0119] Line 2 – 3: submitting by a submitted node a proposed transaction to a distributed crypto-ledger (or domain) over a distributed network).
wherein the transfer-out request indicates a request to perform a transfer of the script, hosted by the origin domain, to the target domain (Wilkins: see above & Col. 3 Line 47 – 50: an order of a digital transaction item (i.e. a proposed transaction as a script of a text of a document) can be traded through crypto-exchanges of ATS system and transferred (transmitted) by a submitted node (i.e. an initiator node) to other target crypto-exchanges via an origin external node which is functionally associated and represented with a particular distributed ledger / block-chain (i.e. a particular domain));
receiving, by the initiator node from the origin external node, a transfer-out confirmation authorizing the transfer of the script to the target domain (Wilkins: see above & Col. 15 Line 48 – 53 / Line 57 – 60, Col. 11 Line 37 – 39, Col. 6 Line 37 – 47 and Col. 16 Line 40 – 46: once the crypto adapter, via the crypto-ledger / exchange, has confirmed the validity of the digital transactional items being associated with a user portfolio account, the crypto adapter generates a commit transaction, including the digital transaction item, and transfers to a user committed account (w.r.t. the submitted node) which is managed by the associated crypto-ledger / exchange (see above));
wherein the transfer-out confirmation includes an origin validation by the origin external node (see immediate above); and
communicating, by the initiator node, with a target external node of the target domain in connection with completing or aborting the transfer of the script (Wilkins: see above, FIG. 10, FIG. 4 & Col. 11 Line 1 – 4 / Line 41 – 54, Col. 15 Line 29 – 36 and Col. 3 Line 47 – 50: tracking / recording the proposed transaction being completely filled or cancelled / expired (i.e. aborted)).
As per claim 2, 12 & 19, Wilkins teaches transmitting, based on receiving the transfer-out confirmation, a transfer-in request to the target external node of the target domain,
wherein the transfer-in request includes the transfer-out request with the origin validation by the origin external node; and receiving, from the target external node, a transfer-in confirmation indicating that the script has been transferred from the origin domain to the target domain, wherein the transfer-in confirmation includes the transfer-out request with the origin validation by the origin external node and a target validation by the target external node (Wilkins: see above & Col. 16 Line 16 – 32: upon the validation and confirmation (see above) of the proposed transaction, an execution transaction is created and transferred along with the digital transaction item(s) to settle the trade at a target (3dr-party) crypto-exchange / ledger).
As per claim 8, Wilkins teaches wherein the script is one of multiple scripts having multiple participants associated with multiple participant nodes, and wherein the multiple participant nodes are connected to the target domain (Wilkins: see above & FIG. 2a, Col. 7 Line 52 – 58 & Col. 11 Line 41 – 50: the script of an proposed transaction order (see above) can be split into multiple scripts of digital transaction orders (e.g. Nx partially-filled orders) associated with a same transaction and communicated with multiple target crypto-exchanges (ledgers) – i.e. the multiple portions of transaction orders, wherein instead of going to a single exchange (security domain), the multiple portions of transaction orders can be processed by a plurality of distributed crypto-exchanges (I.e. Nx authorized security domains of multiple external nodes) to finalize the proposed transaction (Wilkins: FIG. 2a & Col. 7 Line 52 – 58), wherein an order identifier can be assigned according to a plurality of sub-transaction orders, (optionally) with a priority of a proposed transaction order relative to other transaction orders (Wilkins: Col. 11 Line 41 – 50)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 – 7 & 13 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Wilkins et al. (U.S. Patent 10,552,829), in view of Grieve et al. (U.S. Patent 8,307,031).
As per claim 3, Grieve (& Wilkins) teaches the transfer request associated with validation and confirmation including a first timestamp at which the transfer of the script began, and the target validation by the target external node includes a second timestamp at which hosting of the script in the target domain began (Wilkins: see above) || (Grieve: Abstract & FIG. 2 / E-8A, FIG. 5A / E-70 & E-72, Col. 15 Line 64 – 66 and Col. 1 Line 31 – 35: a requesting entity can transmit a request for obtaining / transmitting a data object to an external node and pre-set a timer having a timeout value (TIMESTAMP) to determine whether response data (as requested) is received prior to the expiration of the pre-set timer, and (b) if the data responsive to the request message has not been received prior to expiration of the pre-set timer, then aborting the data request accordingly) – this is consistent with the disclosure of the instant specification (SPEC-PG.PUB: Para [0184] Line 1 – 15: a submitting node can provide a logical time offset to allow the submitting node to control a confirmation response deadline by which a recipient node must send a response).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification that the transfer request associated with validation and confirmation includes a first timestamp at which the transfer of the script began, and the target validation by the target external node includes a second timestamp at which hosting of the script in the target domain began because Grieve teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely generate a data request by a requesting entity for obtaining a data object to an external node and pre-set a timer having a timeout value (TIMESTAMP) to determine whether response data (as requested) is received prior to the expiration of the pre-set timer (see above) within the Wilkins’s system that an initiator node, by sending a validation / confirmation request, can query a security entity to provide a security data object such as portfolio account balance to the requesting node so as to validate / confirm (assure) a digital transaction item is truly associated with the customer portfolio account (see above).
As per claim 4 – 7 & 13 – 15, Wilkins as modified teaches receiving, by the initiator node, an abort indication from the target external node following a transfer exclusivity period for the initiator node in which the initiator node failed to transmit a transfer-in request to the target external node, wherein the abort indication includes an abort request, that originated from a participant node associated with a participant in the script, with a target validation by the target external node (Wilkins: see above) || (Grieve: Abstract & FIG. 2 / E-8A, FIG. 5A / E-70 & E-72, Col. 15 Line 64 – 66 and Col. 1 Line 31 – 35: in case the data responsive to the request message has not been received prior to expiration (TIMESTAMP) of the pre-set timer, then aborting the data request by determining whether response data (as requested) is indeed received prior to the expiration of a pre-set timer associated with the target external node).
Claims 9 – 10, 16 – 17 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Wilkins et al. (U.S. Patent 10,552,829), in view of Yim et al. (U.S. Patent 11,409,734).
As per claim 9, 16 & 20, Yim (& Wilkins) teaches bundling the transfer-out confirmation with an additional transfer-out confirmation into a transfer-in request, wherein the additional transfer-out confirmation relates to an additional script of the distributed ledger hosted on an additional domain, and wherein communicating with the target external node of the target domain comprises: transmitting the transfer-in request, that bundles the transfer-out confirmation with the additional transfer-out confirmation, to the target external node of the target domain (Wilkins: see above) ||
(Yim: Col. 6 Line 4 – 19: providing an advanced blockchain / ledger transaction mechanism, wherein the digital software asset management tool can thrive for efficiency and combine a plurality of confirmation message into a set of combined confirmation block messages to reduce the number of open blockchain transactions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification of bundling the transfer-out confirmation with an additional transfer-out confirmation into a transfer-in request because Yim teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely provide an advanced blockchain / ledger transaction mechanism, wherein the digital software asset management tool can thrive for efficiency and combine a plurality of confirmation message into a set of combined confirmation block messages to reduce the number of open blockchain transactions (see above) within the Wilkins’s system that an initiator node, by sending a validation / confirmation request, can query a security entity to provide a security data object such as portfolio account balance to the requesting node so as to validate / confirm (assure) a digital transaction item is truly associated with the customer portfolio account (see above).
As per claim 10 & 17, Wilkins as modified teaches wherein the script and the additional script are associated with a same transaction (Wilkins: see above & FIG. 2a, Col. 7 Line 52 – 58 & Col. 11 Line 41 – 50: Wilkins discloses a script of an proposed transaction order (see above) can be split into multiple scripts of digital transaction orders (e.g. Nx partially-filled orders) associated with a same transaction and communicated with multiple target crypto-exchanges (ledgers) – i.e. the multiple portions of transaction orders, and wherein communicating with the target external node of the target domain comprises: determining a transfer failure for the additional script; and transmitting, to the target external node, a request to abort the transfer of the script based on determining the transfer failure for the additional script (Wilkins: see above, FIG. 10, FIG. 4 & Col. 11 Line 1 – 4 / Line 41 – 54, Col. 15 Line 29 – 36 and Col. 3 Line 47 – 50: tracking / recording the proposed transaction being completely filled or cancelled / expired (i.e. aborted)) || (Yim: see above).
---------------------------------------------------
/Longbit Chai/
Longbit Chai E.E. Ph.D.
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431
No. #2595 – 2026 ---------------------------------------------------