DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 January 2025 and 05 November 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of claim 3 of “the end cavity comprises a first end and a second end, wherein the first end and the second end are arranged along the axial direction of the motor, wherein the first end comprises a first diameter greater than a second diameter of the second end, and wherein the first end is adjacent to the stator cavity” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). According to published specification ¶[0072], Fig.5 shows “…a diameter of the draft angle section 4231 gradually decreases from the one end of the draft angle section 4231 to the other end of the draft angle section 4231”. This suggests a first end corresponding to transition fillet section 4232 that is adjacent the stator cavity 422 has a smaller first diameter than a second diameter of a second end corresponding to the draft angle section 4231. No new matter should be entered.
The features “a first distance between the second inner wall and the bolt hole” and “ a second distance between the first inner wall and an outer surface of the motor housing” (claims 5 & 15; Figs.4-5) are not clearly shown in the drawings.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The features “a first distance between the second inner wall and the bolt hole” and “ a second distance between the first inner wall and an outer surface of the motor housing” (claims 5 & 15) do not have a reference number in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-10 & 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 3 & 13, “…wherein the first end comprises a first diameter greater than a second diameter of the second end, and wherein the first end is adjacent to the stator cavity” is indefinite. The published specification ¶[0072] & Fig.5 teach “…a diameter of the draft angle section 4231 gradually decreases from the one end of the draft angle section 4231 to the other end of the draft angle section 4231”. This suggests a first end corresponding to transition fillet section 4232 that is adjacent the stator cavity 422 has a diameter smaller than diameter of a second end corresponding to the draft angle section 4231.
In claims 4 and 14, “a third length of the end cavity” is vague and indefinite. In context, it is unclear what structure “a third length of the end cavity” refers to. Also, “a first projection of the motor stator is located in a second projection of the stator cavity” is vague, indefinite and lacks structural context.
In claims 5 & 15, “wherein along the radial direction of the motor, a first projection of the bolt hole is located in a second projection of the end cavity…” is vague and not idiomatic. It is unclear in what sense a bolt hole comprises a “first projection”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ishikawa et al. (US 7,952,246).
Regarding claim 1, Ishikawa teaches a motor comprising: a motor stator 63 comprising a second length; and a motor housing 67 comprising:
a motor accommodating cavity (defined by inner surface of housing cylinder 77) penetrating the motor housing along an axial direction of the motor, wherein the motor accommodating cavity is configured to fasten the motor stator, wherein the motor accommodating cavity 77 comprises:
a stator cavity (part of housing cylinder 77) comprising a first length, a first inner diameter, and a first inner wall (including shrink-fitting surfaces 105); and an end cavity (at opening 81, with inner circumferential surface 95) comprising a second inner diameter and a second inner wall 95, wherein the stator cavity and the end cavity are arranged adjacent to each other (Fig.4),
wherein along the axial direction of the motor, the first length (of stator cavity) is greater than or equal to the second length (of stator; Fig.8), wherein along a radial direction of the motor, the second inner diameter (of inner circumferential surface 95) is greater than the first inner diameter (Fig.4),
wherein the second inner wall 95 is a rough surface, and wherein the first inner wall is a machined surface (i.e., the inner circumferential surface 95 is a mill-scale surface whereas the first inner wall including shrink-fitting surfaces 105 are machined; c.1:39-51; c.7:49-50; c.9:12-17; Figs.4,7&8).
Regarding claim 2, a first surface roughness of the rough surface (i.e., a mill-scale surface) is greater than a second surface roughness of the machined surface (inherent), or wherein a first density of the rough surface is greater than a second density of the machined surface (inherent).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, the end cavity (at opening 81, with inner circumferential surface 95) comprises a first end and a second end, wherein the first end and the second end are arranged along the axial direction of the motor, “wherein the first end comprises a first diameter greater than a second diameter of the second end” [sic] (i.e., inner surface of cylinder 77 has an inclination/draft angle; c.7:41-45), and wherein the first end is adjacent to the stator cavity (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, along the axial direction of the motor, a third length of the end cavity is less than the first length (of stator cavity), and the third length is less than the second length (of stator), and wherein along the radial direction of the motor, a first projection of the motor stator 63 is located in a second projection (convex portion) 75 of the stator cavity (Fig.8).
Regarding claim 5, a motor end cover (second housing) 15, wherein the motor housing further comprises a bolt hole (not numbered; in flange 61) configured to fasten the motor housing 67 and the motor end cover 15 (with housing bolts 53), wherein along the radial direction of the motor, a first projection of the bolt hole is located in a second projection of the end cavity (i.e., in case flange 87), and wherein along the radial direction of the motor, a first distance between the second inner wall 95 and the bolt hole is greater than a second distance between the first inner wall and an outer surface of the motor housing (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 6, the mounting holes 88 are threaded holes (c.7:34; Fig.1) for housing bolts 53, which necessarily implies the hole wall is a machined surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-16 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skalski (US 10,717,401) in view of Ishikawa.
Regarding claim 11, Skalski teaches a powertrain 10 comprising: a motor 22 comprising:
a motor stator 62 comprising a second length; and a motor housing 60 comprising:
a motor accommodating cavity (not numbered) penetrating the motor housing along an axial direction of the motor, wherein the motor accommodating cavity is configured to fasten the motor stator, wherein the motor accommodating cavity comprises: a stator cavity comprising a first length, a first inner diameter, and a first inner wall (not numbered); and
an end cavity (not numbered; at open end of housing 60) comprising a second inner diameter and a second inner wall (not numbered; Fig.2),
wherein the stator cavity and the end cavity are arranged adjacent to each other, wherein along the axial direction of the motor, the first length (of stator cavity) is greater than or equal to the second length (of stator 62; Fig.2), wherein along a radial direction of the motor, the second inner diameter (of end cavity) is greater than the first inner diameter (of stator cavity; Fig.4)…,
a three-phase input copper bar comprising three input copper bars (bus bars) 66 sequentially spaced from each other along a circumferential direction of the motor; and
a motor controller (inverter) 54 electrically connected to the motor winding through the three-phase input copper bar (via terminal block 58; Fig.4).
Skalski does not teach the second inner wall is a rough surface and the first inner wall is a machined surface.
But, Ishikawa teaches a motor comprising a motor stator 63 comprising a stator cavity (part of housing cylinder 77) comprising a first length, a first inner diameter, and a first inner wall (including shrink-fitting surfaces 105); and an end cavity (at opening 81, with inner circumferential surface 95) comprising a second inner diameter and a second inner wall 95, wherein the stator cavity and the end cavity are arranged adjacent to each other (Fig.4), wherein the second inner wall 95 is a rough surface, and wherein the first inner wall is a machined surface (i.e., the inner circumferential surface 95 is a mill-scale surface whereas the first inner wall including shrink-fitting surfaces 105 are machined; c.1:39-51; c.7:49-50; c.9:12-17; Figs.4,7&8). This construction improves productivity and reduces production costs while maintaining dimensional accuracy on portions that require it, such as the shrink-fitting surfaces (c.1:39-43; c.8:28-32).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to configure Skalski’s second inner wall as a rough surface and the first inner wall as a machined surface since Ishikawa teaches this construction would have improved productivity and reduced production costs while maintaining dimensional accuracy on portions that required it.
Regarding claim 12, in Ishikawa a first surface roughness of the rough surface (i.e., a mill-scale surface) is greater than a second surface roughness of the machined surface (inherent), or wherein a first density of the rough surface is greater than a second density of the machined surface (inherent).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, in Ishikawa the end cavity (at opening 81, with inner circumferential surface 95) comprises a first end and a second end, wherein the first end and the second end are arranged along the axial direction of the motor, “wherein the first end comprises a first diameter greater than a second diameter of the second end” [sic] (i.e., inner surface of cylinder 77 has an inclination/draft angle; c.7:41-45), and wherein the first end is adjacent to the stator cavity (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, in Ishikawa along the axial direction of the motor, a third length of the end cavity is less than the first length (of stator cavity), and the third length is less than the second length (of stator), and wherein along the radial direction of the motor, a first projection of the motor stator 63 is located in a second projection (convex portion) 75 of the stator cavity (Fig.8).
Regarding claim 15, Ishikawa teaches a motor end cover (second housing) 15, wherein the motor housing further comprises a bolt hole (threaded mounting hole) 88 configured to fasten the motor housing 67 and the motor end cover 15 (with bolt 53), wherein along the radial direction of the motor, a first projection of the bolt hole is located in a second projection of the end cavity (i.e., in case flange 87), and wherein along the radial direction of the motor, a first distance between the second inner wall 95 and the bolt hole is greater than a second distance between the first inner wall and an outer surface of the motor housing (Figs.1&3).
Regarding claim 16, Ishikawa teaches the mounting holes 88 are threaded holes (c.7:34; Fig.1) for housing bolts 53, which necessarily implies the hole wall is a machined surface.
Regarding claim 20, the rejection is the same as for claim 11, Skalski further teaching an electric vehicle 12, comprising: a wheel 28; and the motor 22 is configured to drive the wheel and a vehicle body (not shown, inherent to vehicle 12) configured to fasten the motor 22 (Fig.1).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skalski & Ishikawa as applied to claim 11, further in view of Tsukamoto et al. (US 7,030,526).
Regarding claim 18, Skalski & Ishikawa do not further teach “an integrated housing, wherein the integrated housing comprises: an integrated motor housing enclosed to form the motor accommodating cavity, wherein the motor accommodating cavity is configured to accommodate the motor stator; a reducer configured to be driven by a motor shaft of the motor; and a reducer accommodating cavity configured to accommodate the reducer, wherein the motor accommodating cavity penetrates the integrated housing along a first direction and communicates with the reducer accommodating cavity, wherein the first direction is parallel to the axial direction of the motor, and wherein the motor and the reducer are arranged along the first direction.”
But, Tsukamoto teaches an integrated drive motor IM for a vehicle comprising an integrated housing, wherein the integrated housing comprises: an integrated motor housing 8 enclosed to form a motor accommodating cavity, wherein the motor accommodating cavity is configured to accommodate the motor stator 1; a reducer (planetary gear system) 10/11/12 configured to be driven by a motor shaft of the motor; and a reducer accommodating cavity (in gear housing 23) configured to accommodate the reducer, wherein the motor accommodating cavity penetrates the integrated housing along a first direction and communicates with the reducer accommodating cavity, wherein the first direction is parallel to the axial direction of the motor, and wherein the motor and the reducer are arranged along the first direction (i.e., drive motor and reducer arranged in a row; c.1:9-12; Fig.). Tsukamoto’s integrated drive motor unit housing provides a light-weight integrated drive motor unit (c.1:27-29).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to further provide
Skalski & Ishikawa with “an integrated housing, wherein the integrated housing comprises: an integrated motor housing enclosed to form the motor accommodating cavity, wherein the motor accommodating cavity is configured to accommodate the motor stator; a reducer configured to be driven by a motor shaft of the motor; and a reducer accommodating cavity configured to accommodate the reducer, wherein the motor accommodating cavity penetrates the integrated housing along a first direction and communicates with the reducer accommodating cavity, wherein the first direction is parallel to the axial direction of the motor, and wherein the motor and the reducer are arranged along the first direction” since Tsukamoto teaches an integrated drive motor unit housing would have provided a light-weight integrated drive motor unit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not appear to further teach the claimed motor including, inter alia, “the integrated housing further comprises: a controller accommodating cavity configured to accommodate the motor controller, wherein the controller accommodating cavity and the motor accommodating cavity are arranged along a second direction, the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction; a direct current input interface mounting hole; an alternating current output interface mounting hole; and a motor end cover comprising an alternating current output interface communication hole, a winding wiring hole, and a cooling hole, wherein the three input copper bars penetrate the winding wiring hole and are configured to electrically connect to the motor winding, wherein along the first direction, the direct current input interface mounting hole and the alternating current output interface mounting hole each penetrate the integrated housing and communicate with the controller accommodating cavity, wherein the alternating current output interface communication hole, the winding wiring hole, and the cooling hole all penetrate the motor end cover, wherein the direct current input interface mounting hole and the alternating current output interface mounting hole are arranged opposite to each other, wherein a first projection of the alternating current output interface communication hole covers a second projection of the alternating current output interface mounting hole, wherein a third projection of the three-phase input copper bar partially overlaps the first projection, wherein projections of the three input copper bars partially overlap a fourth projection of the cooling hole, wherein along the radial direction of the motor, the winding wiring hole is arranged between the alternating current output interface communication hole and the motor shaft, and the cooling hole is arranged between the alternating current output interface communication hole and the winding wiring hole, and wherein the motor further comprises a housing limiting slot arranged adjacent to, and in communication with, the cooling hole” (claim 19).
Claims 7-10 & 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not appear to further teach the claimed motor including, inter alia, “the motor end cover comprises a housing limiting slot, wherein the motor housing comprises a housing limiting protrusion, wherein the housing limiting slot is configured to accommodate the housing limiting protrusion, wherein along the axial direction of the motor, the housing limiting slot is recessed from the motor end cover away from the motor stator, and the housing limiting protrusion protrudes from the motor housing toward the motor end cover, wherein along the radial direction of the motor, the housing limiting protrusion and the bolt hole are spaced from each other, and wherein along a circumferential direction of the motor, the housing limiting slot and the housing limiting protrusion each surround a motor axis” (claims 7 & 17).
These determinations are based on keyword and citation searches performed in a limited number of subclasses. Artificial intelligence search tools were employed. Nomenclature in the art is inconsistent. For these reasons, the scope of the search was necessarily truncated and relevant art classified outside the subclasses searched and/or using different terminology or keywords may not have been reviewed. See the Search Notes for details.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834