DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11285010.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between the claims of the present application and the patented claims is that the patented claims are more specific. Thus, the invention of the patented claims is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the claims of the present application. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species.” See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the claims of the present application are anticipated by the patented claims, they are not patentably distinct from the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claim 1 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Pavlov et al. (US 20060064099).
Regarding claim 1, Pavlov et al. discloses insertion of a single piece cervical joint distraction device in the form of a screw 1 having a tapered distal portion (Fig. 2a) placed into interfacet space (Fig. 5) (paras [0011]-[0047]).
Pavlov et al. disclose the use of an access tool in the form of a trocar (Fig. 3 and para [0055]).
Pavlov et al. also disclose a delivery tool in the form of a screwdriver 21 that has an elongated tubular body that is detachably coupled to a recess in the head of screw 1 and is detached from the device once the device is delivered or inserted into the facet joint (Fig. 5 and paras [0022] and [0057])
Regarding the functional recitation “cervical joint distraction device,” implant 10a can be inserted into any facet joint at any level of the spine depending on a patient’s condition (Fig. 4 shows a facet joint).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
In the alternate, claim 1 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Carl et al. (US 8114158) in view of Dutoit (US 2007/0093899 A1). (This rejection is being made to address a distraction device that is expandable, which is directed to Applicant’s invention).
Regarding claim 1, Carl et al. disclose a facet joint distraction system including: a hollow needle or access tool configured to access a facet joint so that facet repair may be performed percutaneously or via minimally invasive techniques (col. 4, lines 54-63).
Carl et al. disclose a joint distraction device in the form of an expandable member 268 (Fig. 12) wherein the expandable member can be inflated with a curable polymer, liquid, gas or other material wherein the expandable member may be adjusted after implanting by increasing or removing the inflation medium by accessing the member through a one-way valve (col. 6, lines 29-36).
Carl et al. disclose all elements of the claimed invention except for an explicit reference to a delivery tool that is an elongated, tubular body, the tool configured to deliver the joint distraction device into the facet joint.
Dutoit et al. disclose a balloon-tipped catheter carrying an expandable implant that is inserted through a cannula or access tool into a vertebral body (Fig. 7) wherein a catheter or delivery device 220 is used to deliver the expandable implant and the expandable implant (balloon 210 and implant carried thereon) detaches from the catheter shaft so that the balloon-implant assembly remains in bone (paras [0067] and [0069]).
It would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique of inserting an expandable implant/balloon at a target site in bone by inserting a catheter carrying the expandable implant through the access tool and then detaching the implant from the catheter, as taught by Dutoit et al., to the Carl et al. system, would have yielded the predictable result of maintaining distraction by leaving the balloon-implant in bone.
Conclusion
February 18, 2026
/Anu Ramana/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775