DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 12518976, filed on 6/12/2009.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/17/2025 and 1/17/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Higuchi (20080117536) hereafter Higuchi.
Regarding claim 1, Higuchi discloses a lens driving apparatus, comprising: a base (19); a housing (18) coupled with the base (19); a yoke (16) disposed on the base (19); a bobbin (12) disposed between the base (19) and the housing (18); a coil (141) disposed around the bobbin (fig. 1B); a plurality of magnets (17) including four magnets (par. [0040]) that are each disposed at a corresponding corner of the base (fig. 1, par. [0040]), respectively; a first spring (32) disposed between the housing and the plurality of magnets (fig. 1B); and a second spring (31) disposed on the base (19), wherein the yoke (16) includes an inner yoke disposed between the bobbin and at least one of the plurality of magnets (fig. 1B, 2, par. [0037]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 2, Higuchi discloses the lens driving apparatus of claim 1, wherein the coil includes eight outer side surfaces and eight edges between adjacent surfaces of the eight outer side surfaces, respectively (see fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 3, Higuchi discloses the lens driving apparatus of claim 1, wherein, in an outer peripheral surface of the coil (141), first regions disposed toward the plurality of magnets and second regions that are not disposed toward the plurality of magnets are alternately disposed (fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 4, Higuchi discloses the lens driving apparatus of claim 3, wherein an area of the first regions is smaller than an area of the second regions (fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 5, Higuchi discloses the lens driving apparatus of claim 3, wherein the area of the second regions is greater than 50% of a total area of the outer peripheral surface of the coil and smaller than 80% of the total area of the outer peripheral surface of the coil (fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 6, Higuchi discloses the lens driving apparatus of claim 3, wherein the first regions of the coil and a first plane of each magnet (17) facing the coil (141) have the same curvature (fig. 1B and 2).
Regarding claim 7, Higuchi discloses the lens driving apparatus of claim 1, wherein the yoke, the bobbin, the coil, and the plurality of magnets are disposed in a space provided by a coupling of the housing and the base (fig. 1B and 2, par. [0037]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 12, Higuchi discloses the lens driving apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first spring includes a first outer portion coupled to the housing, a first inner portion coupled to an upper portion of the bobbin, and a first connecting portion connecting the first outer portion and the first inner portion (fig. 1B, 2A, 2B, par. [0037]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 13, Higuchi discloses the lens driving apparatus of claim 12, wherein the first outer portion of the first spring is overlapped vertically with the housing and one magnet of the plurality of magnets (fig. 1B, 2A, 2B, par. [0037]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 14, Higuchi discloses the lens driving apparatus of claim 1, wherein an upper surface of the housing and an upper surface of the inner yoke are vertically overlapped (fig. 1B, 2A, 2B, par. [0037]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 15, Higuchi discloses the lens driving apparatus of claim 1, wherein a side surface of the housing and a side surface of the inner yoke are horizontally overlapped (fig. 1B, 2A, 2B, par. [0037]-[0050])..
Regarding claim 16, Higuchi discloses the lens driving apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of magnets (17) includes an upper surface, a lower surface, and side surfaces, and wherein the side surfaces include a plurality of flat planes (fig. 1B, 2A, 2B, par. [0037]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 17, Higuchi discloses the lens driving apparatus of claim 16, wherein the side surfaces of each of the plurality of magnets (17) include side surfaces facing away from the coil (see fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 18, Higuchi discloses the lens driving apparatus of claim 16, wherein the side surfaces of each of the plurality of magnets (17) include a first side surface coupled with an inner surface of the housing and a second side surface facing the coil (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Higuchi discloses a camera comprising the lens driving apparatus of claim 1 (par. [0036]).
Regarding claim 20, Higuchi discloses an electronic appliance comprising the lens driving apparatus of claim 1 (par. [0036]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose the claimed lens driving apparatus specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the housing includes four recessed portions provided at each corner of an upper surface of the housing, respectively.”
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 19, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 19, 20 of U.S. Patent No. Park (9618722) hereafter Park. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 19, 20 of Park read on or make obvious claims 1, 19, 20 of the instant invention.
Regarding claim 1, a lens driving apparatus, comprising: a base; a housing coupled with the base; a yoke disposed on the base; a bobbin disposed between the base and the housing; a coil disposed around the bobbin; a plurality of magnets including four magnets that are each disposed at a corresponding corner of the base, respectively; a first spring disposed between the housing and the plurality of magnets; and a second spring disposed on the base, wherein the yoke includes an inner yoke disposed between the bobbin and at least one of the plurality of magnets (see claim 1).
Claims 19 and 20, Park discloses the limitations therein (see claims 19 and 20).
Conclusion
/JAMES C. JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872