DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, The term “similar” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “similar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The scope of this claim becomes even more unclear when considering claim 2, which requires that the plant fibers cross each other, which would seem to contradict the “similar” orientation of the fibers.
Claims 2-10 are also rejected at least due to their dependence upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, claim 1 requires that “plant fibers of the plant fiber tow have similar orientations” and claims 2 and 8 seem to contradict this limitation, requiring that some of the fibers cross each other.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2007/0126142), hereinafter Zhou, in view of Richardson et al. (US 2019/0077095), hereinafter Richardson.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Zhou discloses a method of producing a board comprising: (a) spreading of a tow (par. 0023 – “filaments 1” can refer to a roving or tow) of fibers (Fig. 1, 2A, par. 0023) in a planar shape such that the fibers have a similar orientation and obtaining a fiber base member (as shown entering at die 18), where the fiber can also be a kenaf fiber (par. 0076);
(b) impregnating the fiber base member with a thermoplastic resin film (par. 0023);
(c) curing the fiber base member (par. 0061, 0067) impregnated with the thermoplastic resin and binding the fibers with the resin to obtain a resin sheet including fibers;
(d) cutting the resin sheet including fibers (at 31, Fig. 8B) into pieces (33) (par. 0069 – “resulting cut pieces 33”);
(e) arranging the resin pieces including fibers in a planar shape (Fig. 8B) as shown in the drawing, and
(f) heating and pressing the member and binding the resin pieces together as one component (par. 0069-0070) and molding into a predefined shape (“the shape of the compression mold may be selected, as desired, to produce products for specific applications”).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose that the fibrous members (“resin pieces”) are arranged overlapping as required in the claims.
However, like Zhou, Richardson discloses a similar process where a fibrous tow material is impregnated at a die with a resin material, and then cut into pieces (Richardson, Fig. 10; par. 0119). The pieces can be used with a series of fibrous inserts (114) (Richardson, par. 0111-0114; Fig. 5) that can be sequentially layered in different fiber orientations (as shown in Fig. 5) such that they are arranged as overlapping.
Zhou describes a “base” process where the fibrous member is produced, and then placed into a mold and pressed. Richardson discloses an “improvement” to the base process of Zhou in that Richardson stacks together layers of material as to produce a specific product for a specific application, in accordance with Zhou above. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specified that the produced layers are stacked together with one another before pressing, as to produce an item of a desired configuration, as is claimed.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Zhou/Richardson discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and these limitations are read as the result of performing the step in claim 1.
Regarding claims 4-6, Zhou/Richardson discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further: (a) it is inherent that the orientations of the plant fibers would be oriented in an orientation direction, (b) in the cutting step, the resin sheet including fibers is cut into pieces that can be along or against the orientation direction of the fibers (see Richardson, Fig. 5), and (c) in the arranging, the resin pieces are arranged to overlap each other with either the same (Zhou, Fig. 8B), or different (Richardson, Fig. 5) orientations.
Regarding claims 7 and 9-10, Zhou/Richardson discloses the subject matter of claims 4/6, and further discloses that they would have a strip or square shape (Zhou, Fig. 8B). It has been held that changes in size/shape support a case of prima facie obviousness. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above to have specified that the size of the resin pieces is as claimed as to have produced an item of a desired shape/size.
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742