DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 16-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: At claim 16, the limitations “determining,” “causing,” and “operating” are recited in the improper tense. These should be amended to read “determine,” “cause,” and “operate,” respectively. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 17-20 are objected to since they depend from claim 16.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “refrigeration components configured to receive… and… provide…” in claims 1-5, 11-14, and 16-20.
For the record, “refrigeration components configured to receive… and… provide…” has been interpreted according to toe corresponding structure described in the specification (and recited in claim 6, for example) as comprising a compressor, evaporator, condenser, etc., and equivalents thereof.
Note that “refrigeration components configured to receive… and… provide…” has NOT been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) for claims 6-10 and 15, since claims 6 and 15 recite sufficient corresponding structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a safety tank” at line 7 of the claim. However, the claim already recites “a safety tank” at line 4 of the claim, rendering it unclear whether or not these recitations refer to the same or different safety tank. The recitation at line 7 should be amended to read “the safety tank”. Claims 2-10 are also rejected since they depend from claim 1.
Similarly, claim 16 recites “a safety tank” at line 8 of the claim. However, the claim already recites “a safety tank” at line 5 of the claim, rendering it unclear whether or not these recitations refer to the same or different safety tank. The recitation at line 8 should be amended to read “the safety tank”. Claims 17-20 are also rejected since they depend from claim 16.
The terms “low-temperature” and “medium-temperature” in claim 8 are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “low-temperature” and “medium-temperature” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 14 recites “a first condition” in line 2 of the claim. However, claim 11 already recites “a first condition” at line 2 of that claim. As recited, it is unclear whether or not these recitations refer to the same or different “first condition”. . The recitation in claim 14 should be amended to read “the first condition”.
Similarly, claim 20 recites “a first condition” in line 2 of the claim. However, claim 16 already recites “a first condition” at line 15 of that claim. As recited, it is unclear whether or not these recitations refer to the same or different “first condition”. The recitation in claim 20 should be amended to read “the first condition”.
Contingent Limitations
Section 2111.04(II) of the MPEP states:
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur. The system claim interpretation differs from a method claim interpretation because the claimed structure must be present in the system regardless of whether the condition is met and the function is actually performed.
See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016) (precedential) for an analysis of contingent claim limitations in the context of both method claims and system claims. In Schulhauser, both method claims and system claims recited the same contingent step. When analyzing the claimed method as a whole, the PTAB determined that giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, "[i]f the condition for performing a contingent step is not satisfied, the performance recited by the step need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed" (quotation omitted). Schulhauser at 10. When analyzing the claimed system as a whole, the PTAB determined that "[t]he broadest reasonable interpretation of a system claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, still requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur." Schulhauser at 14. Therefore "[t]he Examiner did not need to present evidence of the obviousness of the [ ] method steps of claim 1 that are not required to be performed under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim (e.g., instances in which the electrocardiac signal data is not within the threshold electrocardiac criteria such that the condition precedent for the determining step and the remaining steps of claim 1 has not been met);" however to render the claimed system obvious, the prior art must teach the structure that performs the function of the contingent step along with the other recited claim limitations. Schulhauser at 9, 14.
Method claim 11 recites the limitation “determining if a first condition is not met”. Based on the guidance set forth above, since the causing and operating steps that follow are contingent on the conditional “if” statement, these limitations have not been accorded patentable weight under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. Further, since dependent claims 12-14 recite further limitations related to the contingent method steps, these limitations have also not been accorded patentable weight under a broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2016/0054041 A1).
As per claim 11, Choi et al. disclose method of operating a refrigeration system, the method comprising:
determining if a first condition is not met, wherein the first condition is that electrical power is provided to a plurality of refrigeration components (Fig. 6, steps S610, S615; paras. 0060-0063; etc.)). See discussion above regarding contingent limitation. Due to the recitation of a contingent “if” statement within the method claim, the contingent limitations that follow have not been accorded patentable weight under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
As per claims 12-14, these claims recited further limitations related to the contingent method steps of claim 11. Accordingly, these limitations have also not been accorded patentable weight under a broadest reasonable interpretation and the claims are rejected for the reasons already presented regarding claim 11.
As per claim 15, Choi et al. disclose wherein the plurality of refrigeration components comprises a first evaporator 122, a first compressor 112, and a condenser 116 (Figs. 3-5; etc.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 and 16-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As per independent claim 1, Zha (US 2023/0408168 A1 and US 2023/0408166 A1) are representative of the prior art regarding refrigeration systems comprising flash tank controls. However, these references, and the prior art as a whole, fail to teach or suggest a refrigeration system a refrigeration system as recited, and in particular comprising the combination of the first valve and the safety tank, wherein the controller is configured to cause the first valve to close when a first condition is met; wherein when the first condition is not met, the controller causes the first valve to open; and the first condition is that electrical power is provided to the plurality of refrigeration components.
Similarly, regarding claim 16, the prior art fails to teach or suggest the controller combination as recited, and in particular comprising a processor configured to: determine if a first condition is not met, wherein the first condition is that electrical power is provided to the plurality of refrigeration components; cause the first valve to open when the first condition is determined not to have been met; and operate the plurality of refrigeration components using the first liquid refrigerant and the second liquid refrigerant to provide refrigeration to the load.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763