Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,4,7,8,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki(US 20150069826 A1).
Regarding claim 1,7,12 Suzuki discloses a vehicle, comprising: a vehicle body(para 0069,0076); and a knuckle assembly(fig 1) connected to the vehicle body(para 0069,0072), the knuckle assembly including: a knuckle(9); and a bearing assembly(fig 1) supported by the knuckle, the bearing assembly including: a rotatable hub(103); a wheel end(area around 8); a knuckle end(area around 21) opposite the wheel end; a grease cap(15) fixed at the knuckle end; and a bump guard(16) fixed to the grease cap opposite the rotatable hub.
Regarding claim 2,Suzuki discloses a wheel(para 0002 ) connected to the rotatable hub(para 0006).
Regarding claim 4,8 Suzuki discloses wherein the knuckle has a bore(20, fig 2), and the bump guard is disposed in the bore(fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki(US 20150069826 A1) in view of Aoki(US 20160288567 A1).
Regarding claim 3,Suzuki does not disclose the hub is non-driven. However, Aoki discloses a similar knuckle assembly wherein the rotatable hub is non-driven(para 0085). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Suzuki such that the hub can be non-driven as required by the operating needs of the vehicle.
Claim(s) 5,6,9,10,11,13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki(US 20150069826 A1) in view of Sicilia(US 8146930 B2).
Regarding claim 5,10 Suzuki does not disclose the bump guard comprising a channel and a seal However Sicilia discloses a similar knuckle assembly wherein a cap(48) includes a channel(area around 62, fig 2), and further comprising a seal(60) engaged with the channel. The combination with Suzuki would result in wherein the seal abuts the bore. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki such that the bump guard comprises a channel and a seal to provide a cavity for the sealant as an alternative, secure method for installing the bump guard to the knuckle assembly.
Regarding claim 6,Suzuki does not disclose wherein the bump guard includes a seal extending outward. However, Sicilia discloses wherein the bump guard(cap; 48) includes a seal(62) extending radially outward from a circumference of the cap(fig 2), and wherein the seal abuts the bore. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki such that the bump guard comprises a seal extending radially outward from a circumference of the cap to provide an alternative method to attach the seal to the knuckle assembly. Sicilia further does not disclose the seal and the cap are monolithic, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for a monolithic seal and cap, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Regarding claim 9,the combination of Suzuki in view of Sicilia would result in wherein the knuckle assembly includes a seal extending radially outward from the bump guard(cap, 48) to a radially inward facing surface of the bore(fig 1, Sicilia).
Regarding claim 10,Suzuki does not disclose a channel however Sicilia discloses a similar assembly wherein the outer cap includes a channel(area around 62), and wherein the seal(62) is engaged with the channel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki such that the outer cap comprises a channel and a seal to provide an alternative method of mounting the cap.
Regarding claim 11,Suzuki does not disclose wherein the bump guard and the seal are monolithic. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the bump guard and seal monolithic, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Regarding claim 13,Suzuki discloses wherein the bump guard is a circular disc(para 0086).
Regarding claim 14,Suzuki discloses wherein the bump guard is fixed to the grease cap with an adhesive(para 0118).
Regarding claim 15,Suzuki discloses wherein the bump guard is fixed to the grease cap with a heat activated bond(para 0118).
Regarding claim 16,Suzuki discloses wherein the bump guard is a non-metallic material(para 0084).
Regarding claim 17, Suzuki does not disclose the bump guard comprising a channel and a seal However Sicilia discloses a similar knuckle assembly wherein a cap(48) includes a channel(area around 62, fig 2), and further comprising a seal(60) engaged with the channel. The combination with Suzuki would result in wherein the seal abuts the bore. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki such that the bump guard comprises a channel and a seal to provide a cavity for the sealant as an alternative, secure method for installing the bump guard to the knuckle assembly.
Regarding claim 18, Suzuki does not disclose wherein the bump guard includes a seal extending outward. However, Sicilia discloses wherein the bump guard(cap; 48) includes a seal(62) extending radially outward from a circumference of the cap(fig 2), and wherein the seal abuts the bore. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki such that the bump guard comprises a seal extending radially outward from a circumference of the cap to provide an alternative method to attach the seal to the knuckle assembly. Sicilia does not disclose the seal and the cap are monolithic however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for a monolithic seal and cap, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Regarding claim 19,Suzuki discloses wherein the grease cap is spaced from the hub(fig 1).
Regarding claim 20,Suzuki discloses wherein the bearing assembly includes an outer ring(2), the grease cap fixed to the outer ring(fig 1, 2).
Conclusion
SHAMS . DHANANI
Examiner
Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614