DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Each of claims 27 and 37 recites that the channel selection switch comprises a mirroring circuit. However, the disclosed and claimed mirroring is a form of copying or duplication, not a form of switching (i.e., selecting between). Attempting to replace the switch limitation with mirroring is a form of failing to further limit the switch limitation established in the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-26 and 30-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feng (US Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0119240).
Regarding claim 21, Feng discloses an apparatus, comprising: a receiver, configured to receive a first signal and output the first signal to a channel selection switch, wherein the first signal comprises a first-rate signal and a second-rate signal (fig. 5 element 100 and paragraphs 0038-0040); the channel selection switch, configured to selectively connect the receiver to at least one of a first amplification and data recovery channel or a second amplification and data recovery channel, and transmit the first signal to the at least one of the first amplification and data recovery channel or the second amplification and data recovery channel (fig. 5 element 101 and paragraphs 0038-0040); the first amplification and data recovery channel, configured to perform amplification and data recovery on the first signal transmitted to the first amplification and data recovery channel (fig. 5, upper branch and paragraphs 0038-0040); and the second amplification and data recovery channel, configured to perform amplification and data recovery on the first signal transmitted to the second amplification and data recovery channel (fig. 5, lower branch and paragraphs 0038-0040).
Regarding claim 22, Feng discloses the apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the receiver is configured to sequentially receive the first-rate signal and the second-rate signal that arrive at the receiver at different moments (paragraph 0040, TDM mode).
Regarding claim 23, Feng discloses the apparatus according to claim 21, wherein: the first amplification and data recovery channel is configured to perform limiting amplification and data recovery on the first-rate signal, and the second amplification and data recovery channel is configured to perform linear amplification and data recovery on the second-rate signal (fig. 5, elements LA and CDR and paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 24, Feng discloses the apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the channel selection switch comprises a controller and a switch, the controller is configured to receive first control signaling, and control, based on the first control signaling, the switch to connect the receiver to the first amplification and data recovery channel or the second amplification and data recovery channel (fig. 5, element 101 switch symbol and paragraph 0040, where the MAC protocol signal is the control signal, and it inherently has to be received by some kind of switch controller not shown, to translate the MAC formatted signal to a binary switch activation ON/OFF or A/B voltage signal or the like); and when the switch connects the receiver to the first amplification and data recovery channel, the switch is configured to transmit the first-rate signal to the first amplification and data recovery channel, or when the switch connects the receiver to the second amplification and data recovery channel, the switch is configured to transmit the second-rate signal to the second amplification and data recovery channel (fig. 5 element 101 and paragraphs 0038-0040).
Regarding claim 25, Feng discloses the apparatus according to claim 24, wherein the switch comprises a single-pole double-throw switch or a transistor (fig. 5 element 101 single-pole double-throw switch symbol).
Regarding claim 26, Feng discloses the apparatus according to claim 24, wherein the first control signaling is from a medium access control (MAC) (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 30, Feng discloses the apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the apparatus comprises M amplification and data recovery channels, rates of the first signal comprise N rates, the M amplification and data recovery channels correspond to the N rates, and each of the N rates corresponds to one of the M amplification and data recovery channels, and the channel selection switch is configured to connect the receiver to an amplification and data recovery channel of the M amplification and data recovery channels corresponding to a rate of the first signal, wherein M and N are integers greater than or equal to 2 (fig. 5 and paragraphs 0038-0040).
Regarding claim 31, Feng discloses an apparatus, comprising: an optical signal receiver and converter, configured to: receive a first optical signal, convert the first optical signal into a first electrical signal, and output the first electrical signal to a channel selection switch, wherein the first optical signal comprises a first-rate optical signal and a second-rate optical signal, the first-rate optical signal corresponds to a first-rate electrical signal, and the second-rate optical signal corresponds to a second-rate electrical signal (fig. 5 element 100 and paragraphs 0038-0040); the channel selection switch, configured to: selectively connect the optical signal receiver and converter to at least one of a first amplification and data recovery channel or a second amplification and data recovery channel; and transmit the first electrical signal to the at least one of the first amplification and data recovery channel or the second amplification and data recovery channel (fig. 5 element 101 and paragraphs 0038-0040); the first amplification and data recovery channel, configured to perform amplification and data recovery on the first electrical signal transmitted to the first amplification and data recovery channel (fig. 5, upper branch and paragraphs 0038-0040); and the second amplification and data recovery channel, configured to perform amplification and data recovery on the first electrical signal transmitted to the second amplification and data recovery channel (fig. 5, lower branch and paragraphs 0038-0040).
Regarding claim 32, Feng discloses the apparatus according to claim 31, wherein the optical signal receiver and converter is configured to: receive the first-rate optical signal and the second-rate optical signal that arrive at different moments, convert the first-rate optical signal and the second-rate optical signal into the first-rate electrical signal and the second-rate electrical signal, and separately output the first-rate electrical signal and the second-rate electrical signal to the channel selection switch at different moments (paragraph 0040, TDM mode).
Regarding claim 33, Feng discloses the apparatus according to claim 31, wherein: the first amplification and data recovery channel is configured to perform limiting amplification and data recovery on the first-rate electrical signal; and the second amplification and data recovery channel is configured to perform linear amplification and data recovery on the second-rate electrical signal (fig. 5, elements LA and CDR and paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 34, Feng discloses the apparatus according to claim 31, wherein the channel selection switch comprises a controller and a switch; the controller is configured to receive first control signaling, and control, based on the first control signaling, the switch to connect the optical signal receiver and converter to the first amplification and data recovery channel or the second amplification and data recovery channel (fig. 5, element 101 switch symbol and paragraph 0040, where the MAC protocol signal is the control signal, and it inherently has to be received by some kind of switch controller not shown, to translate the MAC formatted signal to a binary switch activation ON/OFF or A/B voltage signal or the like); and wherein: when the switch connects the optical signal receiver and converter to the first amplification and data recovery channel, the switch is configured to transmit the first-rate electrical signal to the first amplification and data recovery channel, or when the switch connects the optical signal receiver and converter to the second amplification and data recovery channel, the switch is configured to transmit the second-rate electrical signal to the second amplification and data recovery channel (fig. 5 element 101 and paragraphs 0038-0040).
Regarding claim 35, Feng discloses the apparatus according to claim 34, wherein the switch comprises a single-pole double-throw switch or a transistor (fig. 5 element 101 single-pole double-throw switch symbol).
Regarding claim 36, Feng discloses the apparatus according to claim 34, wherein the first control signaling is from a medium access control (MAC) (paragraph 0040).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (US Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0119240) in view of McCaul et al. (“McCaul”) (US Patent No. 8160457).
Regarding claim 40, Feng discloses a chip, comprising: at least one processing group, and an optical signal receiving apparatus, wherein the optical signal receiving apparatus is configured to: receive a first signal, and transmit the first signal to the at least one processing group (fig. 5 element 100 and paragraphs 0038-0040, transmitting to processing group of elements 101-124); and wherein the at least one processing group is configured to: receive the first signal, wherein the first signal comprises a first-rate signal and a second-rate signal (fig. 5 element 101 receiving the signal from 100 and paragraphs 0038-0040); transmit the first signal to at least one of a first amplification and data recovery channel or a second amplification and data recovery channel (fig. 5 element 101 upper and lower outputs); perform amplification and data recovery on the first signal when the first signal is transmitted to the first amplification and data recovery channel (fig. 5, upper branch and paragraphs 0038-0040); and perform amplification and data recovery on the first signal when the first signal is transmitted to the second amplification and data recovery channel (fig. 5, lower branch and paragraphs 0038-0040). Feng does disclose a chip and does not disclose the processing group as a single processor. However, the difference between Feng and the claim is merely one-piece construction as known in the art. The claimed difference of making integral is prima facie obvious because the result is merely one-piece construction, which is a matter of obvious engineering choice, that does not add anything further that would be contrary to the understandings and expectations of the art. McCaul shows an example of a Feng type arrangement as an integrated circuit, which reads on “chip” and on single processor (fig. 4 and claim 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to realize the Feng fig. 5 arrangement as a single processor and integrated circuit, i.e., chip, since this only amounts to one-piece construction that does not add anything further that would be contrary to the understandings and expectations of the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28, 29, 38 and 39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Related multi-rate optical receivers - US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0293283, 2011/0222866, 2009/0190931, 2007/0160371.
/NATHAN M CORS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634