DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filled on 01/17/2025, 03/12/2025 and 01/12/2026 is being considered in the examination of this application.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 36 is objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Claim 36, line 3: the term “a UAV” should be rewritten as --the UAV-- for the purpose of clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 31-32 and 35-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tirpak et al. (US 2018/0039286 A1), hereinafter “Tirpak”, as cited on the IDS filed on 01/17/2025.
6. Regarding 31, Tirpak discloses a method of docking an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Abstract and para. [0045]; method of landing UAV on docking station as seen in FIGS. 1-4B), the method comprising:
determining a pose of a first fiducial located on an outer surface of a dock (para. [0049]; determining a pose of the fiducial 122-1 on an outer surface of docking station 120 which includes a plurality of fiducials 122 by the processing apparatus 311 based on the one or more images captured by processing apparatus 311);
causing the UAV to fly to a first position in a vicinity of a landing surface of the dock based on the pose of the first fiducial (paras. [0004]-[0005] and [0050]; based on the position of the fiducial 122-1, controlling the propulsion mechanism 312 to hover to a first location such as a general location of dock 120 via processing apparatus 311 as seen in FIG. 4A);
determining a pose of a second fiducial located on the landing surface (para. [0049]; determining a pose of the fiducial 122-2 on landing pad 121 of docking station 120 which includes a plurality of fiducials 122 by the processing apparatus 311 based on the one or more images captured by processing apparatus 311;
causing the UAV to land on the landing surface based on the pose of the second fiducial (paras. [0004]-[0005] and [0050]; based on the position of the fiducial 122-2, controlling the propulsion mechanism 312 to hover to a first location such as a general location of dock 120 via processing apparatus 311 as seen in FIG. 4A); and
automatically charging the UAV while the UAV is on the landing surface (para, [0053]; charging battery of UAV while on landing pad 121 as seen in FIG. 4B).
7. Regarding Claim 32, Tirpak discloses the method of claim 31, wherein automatically charging the UAV includes causing electrical contact between the UAV and conducting contacts on the landing surface (para. [0043]).
8. Regarding Claim 35, Tirpak discloses the method of claim 31, further comprising:
hovering the UAV above the landing surface until error estimates are met. (paras. [0051]-[0052]; hovering and making hover adjustments at the predetermined height above the landing surface in the state where the tether has been extended while utilizing the image sensor as well as ranging measurements to determine engagement between the tether and the landing surface 121 prior to landing the UAV as characterized in FIGS. 4A-4B, therefore allowing the UAV to hover at the predetermined height until error estimate for a pose and velocity of the UAV meet stability conditions).
9. Regarding Claim 36, Tirpak discloses a method of docking an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Abstract and para. [0045]; method of landing UAV on docking station as seen in FIGS. 1-4B), the method comprising:
hovering a UAV above a landing surface of the dock until stability conditions are met (paras. [0051]-[0052]; hovering and making hover adjustments at the predetermined height above the landing surface in the state where the tether has been extended while utilizing the image sensor as well as ranging measurements to determine engagement between the tether and the landing surface 121 prior to landing the UAV as characterized in FIGS. 4A-4B, therefore allowing the UAV to hover at the predetermined height until error estimates for the UAV meet stability conditions);
and causing the UAV to land on the landing surface upon meeting the stability conditions (para. [0052]; controlling the propulsion mechanism to descend and touch down on the landing surface 121 once the tether and the landing surface 121 have been successfully engaged as characterized in FIG. 4B).
10. Regarding Claim 37, Tirpak discloses the method of claim 36, wherein hovering the UAV above the landing surface includes hovering the UAV at a predetermined height above the landing surface (para. [0051]; hover the UAV at a predetermined height such as a height between the UAV and landing surface 121 that is limited to the length of an extended tether as characterized in FIG. 4A).
11. Regarding Claim 38, Tirpak discloses the method of claim 36, further comprising:
analyzing a first fiducial located on an outer surface of the dock during an initial approach (paras. [0003]-[0005], [0020], [0050]; accessing one or more images taken by image sensor 315 by processing apparatus 311 and analyzing fiducial 122-1 from a set of images taken from landing surface 121 which includes a plurality of fiducials 122 in determining relative positioning of the UAV relative to the dock 120; and
analyzing a second fiducial located on the landing surface prior to hovering the UAV above the landing surface (paras. [0003]-[0005], [0020], [0050]; accessing one or more images taken by image sensor 315 by processing apparatus 311 and analyzing fiducial 122-2 from a set of images taken from landing surface 121 which includes a plurality of fiducials 122 in determining relative positioning of the UAV relative to the dock 120).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 21-22, 33-34 and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tirpak et al. (US 2018/0039286 A1), in view of Zambelli (US 2019/0367185 A1), as cited on the IDS filed on 01/17/2025.
14. Regarding Claim 21, Tirpak discloses a method of docking an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Abstract and para. [0045]; method of landing UAV on docking station as seen in FIGS. 1-4B), the method comprising:
controlling a propulsion mechanism of the UAV to cause the UAV to approach a dock (paras. [0004]-[0005] and [0050]; controlling the propulsion mechanism 312 to hover to a first location such as a general location of dock 120 via processing apparatus 311 as seen in FIG. 4A);
a landing surface of the dock to facilitate landing of the UAV (paras. [0051]-[0052]; landing surface 121 facilitating landing of the UAV);
analyzing a first fiducial located on the landing surface based on one or more images captured by the UAV (paras. [0003]-[0005], [0020], [0050]; accessing one or more images taken by image sensor 315 by processing apparatus 311 and analyzing fiducial 122-1 from a set of images taken from landing surface 121 which includes a plurality of fiducials 122 in determining relative positioning of the UAV relative to the dock 120); and
controlling the propulsion mechanism to cause the UAV to land on the landing surface based on analysis of the first fiducial (para. [0052]; based on the position of the fiducial 122-1, the processing apparatus 311 controls the propulsion mechanism 312 to descend and land the UAV on the landing surface 121).
Tirpak is silent regarding adjusting a landing surface of the dock to facilitate landing of the UAV.
Zambelli discloses a method of docking an unmanned aerial vehicle (Zambelli Abstract and para. [0064]) comprising adjusting a landing surface of the dock to facilitate landing of the UAV (para. [0065] and [0085]; adjusting platform 16 of landing station 15 to facilitate landing of drone 1 as seen in FIGS. 1-4 and 16A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tirpak as taught by Zambelli such that the method comprises adjusting a landing surface of the dock to facilitate landing of the UAV in order to compensate for navigational errors during landing operations, enabling reliable landing and compensating for environmental disturbances such as wind gusts.
15. Regarding Claim 22, modified Tirpak discloses (see Tirpak) the method of claim 21, further comprising:
Analyzing a second fiducial on the dock based on the one or more images (paras. [0003] and [0050]; detecting fiducial 122-2 in one of the images taken by image sensor 315 by the processing apparatus 311).
16. Regarding Claim 33, Tirpak discloses the method of claim 31.
Tirpak is silent regarding adjusting the landing surface.
Zambelli discloses a method of docking an unmanned aerial vehicle (Zambelli Abstract and para. [0064]) comprising adjusting a landing surface (para. [0065] and [0085]; adjusting platform 16 of landing station 15 to facilitate landing of drone 1 as seen in FIGS. 1-4 and 16A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tirpak as taught by Zambelli such that the method comprises adjusting a landing surface in order to compensate for navigational errors during landing operations, enabling reliable landing and compensating for environmental disturbances such as wind gusts.
17. Regarding Claim 34, modified Tirpak discloses (see Zambelli) the method of claim 33, wherein adjusting the landing surface includes adjusting the landing surface along an axis extending in generally orthogonal relation to a landing direction of the UAV (paras. [0065], [0085] and as seen in FIGS. 1-4 and 16A).
18. Regarding Claim 39, Tirpak discloses the method of claim 36.
Tirpak is silent regarding opening a door of the dock; and adjusting the landing surface.
Zambelli discloses a method of docking an unmanned aerial vehicle (Zambelli Abstract and para. [0064]) comprising opening a door of the dock; and adjusting a landing surface (para. [0065], [0085]; opening barrier 17 and adjusting platform 16 of landing station 15 to facilitate landing of drone 1 as seen in FIGS. 1-4 and 16A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tirpak as taught by Zambelli such that the method comprises opening a door of the dock; and adjusting a landing surface in order to compensate for navigational errors during landing operations, enabling reliable landing and compensating for environmental disturbances such as wind gusts as well as preventing an inadvertent collision between the UAV and the door during landing operations.
19. Regarding Claim 40, modified Tirpak discloses (see Zambelli) the method of claim 19, wherein adjusting the landing surface includes adjusting the landing surface along an axis extending in non-parallel relation to a landing direction of the UAV (adjusting platform 16 along an axis extending in non-parallel relation to landing direction of drone 1 as clearly seen in FIGS. 2-4).
Double Patenting
21. Claims 21-22, 24, 26-31 and 33-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 11 and 17, of U.S. Patent No. 12,296,981. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 21 of the pending application is encompassed by patented claims 1 and 6 and 9. Further, claim 22 of the pending application is encompassed by patented claims 2 and 6. Further, claim 24 of the pending application is encompassed by patent claims 3. Further, claim 26-30 of the pending application are each individually encompassed by patented claim 4. Further, claim 31 of the pending application is encompassed by patented claims 1-3 and 5. Further, claim 33 of the pending application is encompassed by patented claim 1. Further, claim 34 of the pending application is encompassed by patented claim 1. Further, claim 36 of the pending application is encompassed by patented claims 1 and 5 as well as claims 11 and 17. Further, claim 37 of the pending application is encompassed by patented claims 1 and 4 as well as claims 11 and 17. Furthermore, claim 38 of the pending application is encompassed by patented claims 1 and 4.
While the limitations of the above-mentioned claims of the pending application are worded differently, the limitations of the above-mentioned patented claims anticipate the limitations of the pending claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as overcoming the nonstatutory double patenting rejection set for this in this office action.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this or any earlier communication from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Arfan Sinaki, whose telephone number is 571-272-7185. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm EST.
/ARFAN Y. SINAKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642