DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18554229, filed on 10/06/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blum (US 20200012110, of record) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); the system comprising: a display ([0200]) comprising several smaller displays ([0200]); and an optical system ([0120] and [0200]) that projects an image ([0120]) into a viewer's eye ([0120]) where the display ([0200]) is shaped to be a convex ([0161]) or a concave ([0161]) optical component ([0161]), wherein the displays ([0200]) are different colors ([0191]) and the combination of the displays ([0200]) and projection from a mirror ([0118]) shows a full color ([0191]) and wherein pixels ([0191]) from each display ([0200]) with each other are aligned when a test image ([0120]) is shown by each display ([0200]) and reflected on the mirror ([0118]).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein the optical system ([0120] and [0200]) comprises at least one reflective surface ([0118]; mirror).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein the display ([0200]) is molded ([0205]) to a predefined nonlinear surface ([0129]).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein the display ([0200]) comprises pixels ([0191]) where the pixels ([0191]) are longer in one direction ([0198]).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein the display ([0200]) is mounted along an edge of the optical system ([0120] and [0200]).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein the smaller displays ([0200]) are arranged in a form to create optical functions ([0203]).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein the display ([0200]) has a convex ([0161]) curved ([0120]) display ([0200]) and a concave ([0161]) or a linear mirror ([0118]) projecting the light ([022]) from the display ([0200]) into the viewer's eye ([0120]).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 7, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein the linear mirror ([0118]) is flat with pinhole optics (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 7, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein the linear mirror ([0118]) is semi-reflective ([0038]) or holographic ([0149]) and the display ([0200]) has micro-lenses ([0129]) for confining the light ([022]).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein the display ([0200]) is curved ([0120]) in all directions or only curved ([0120]) in one direction.
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein the direction is perpendicular with a mirror ([0118]) edge that the curved ([0120]) display ([0200]) is close to.
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein curved ([0120]) display ([0200]) pixels ([0191]) are stretched in a direction parallel to the edge of the mirror ([0118]) close to the display ([0200]).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 12, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein one pixel ([0191]) comprises multiple sub-pixels ([0191]).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein the pixel ([0191]) is stretched in the same direction as the display ([0200]) and the sub-pixels ([0191]) are stretched to compensate for an extra space created by the stretched structure ([0198]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein the sub-pixels ([0191]) are arranged so that there is no similar sub- pixel ([0191]) adjacent vertically and horizontally ([0198]).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein the stretching is done as part of the fabrication and design wherein the display ([0200]) is designed with a longer pixel ([0191]) in one direction ([0198]).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein the displays ([0200]) are formed either as concave ([0161]), convex ([0161]) or combination of both ([0161]).
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein a position of each pixel ([0191]) in the display ([0200]) is calculated in the mirror ([0118]).
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches, a mixed reality system, in at least (Figs. 4, 8, and 11; and [0120], [0118], [0161], [0191], [0200]); wherein the pixels ([0191]) in the displays ([0200]) that have close proximity in the mirror ([0118]) are grouped as one combined pixel ([0191]) and the image ([0120]) is remapped to each display ([0200]) based on the new grouping.
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872