DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract does not include a summary of the invention’s organization and operation that discloses what preferred modifications or alternatives of the “smartwatch features” may be. The first sentence, “luxury analog watches are appreciated for their looks,” should be removed because it is a purported merit/speculative application. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the outer back” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. The limitation has been read as -an outer back.-
Claim 1 recites “or inner back” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. The limitation has been read as -or an inner back-.
Claim 1 recites “the front” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. The limitation has been read as -a front-.
Claims 2-4 each recite “an analog watch” in line 1. Whether this recitation refers to a new structure or the earlier recited structure is unclear. The limitation has been read as -the analog watch-.
Claims 2-3 each recite “the smart watch feature” in line 1. There is ambiguous antecedent basis for this limitation because claim 1 recites “one or more smart watch features” and “the smart watch features.” In claims 2-3, the limitation has been read as -one of the smart watch features-.
Claim 3 recites “one or more of the smart watch features” in line 2. There is ambiguous antecedent basis for this limitation. The limitation has been read as -at least another one of the smart watch features-.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thompson et al. (US 9575466).
Regarding claim 1, Thompson teaches an analog watch (col. 2:59-61: “the movement of the watch can be a mechanical movement”) comprising: a) one or more smart watch features wherein the features are positioned on the outer back or inner back (col. 1:45-47: “sensor-enabled case back”) of the analog watch and not on the front or sides; and b) wherein the smart watch features can communicate with a smart phone in order to view the features (col. 5:8-11).
Regarding claim 2, Thompson teaches the analog watch according to claim 1, wherein one of the smart watch features is a security feature (col. 5:17-18 discloses a GPS sensor, which is a security feature because it allows a wearer’s position to be tracked in case the wearer is shanghaied).
Regarding claim 3, Thompson teaches the analog watch according to claim 1, wherein one of the smart watch features (col. 4:52-53: “sensor package 42”) is an ability to disable (col. 4:58-60) at least another one of the smart watch features (col. 4:53: “a light-emitting device”).
Regarding claim 4, Thompson teaches the analog watch according to claim 1, wherein one of the smart watch features is a location tracking device (col. 5:17-18).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schenk et al. (US 11906935) discloses a watch with a back adapted for wireless charging (title).
/MATTHEW DANIEL HWANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2831