DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending and are provided to be examined upon their merits.
Priority
Applicant has filed the instant application as a continuation-in-part of parent application 17/772084.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-9 are directed to a method, which is a statutory category of invention. (Step 1: YES).
The Examiner has identified method Claim 1 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of:
A providing method of lifestyle habit improvement for a user, the method comprising performing, by a server terminal:
storing, in a storage unit of the server terminal, team information of a plurality of teams, the team information including information of each of the plurality of teams, information of members of each of the plurality of teams, goal of lifestyle habit, and a degree of achievement of the goal of lifestyle habit;
determining, according to information about the user and the team information of a plurality of teams, a plurality of recommended teams each having a high probability of success in improving the user's lifestyle;
providing, to a user terminal, a list of teams including the plurality of recommended teams;
receiving, from a user terminal, a request for selecting from the list of teams one of the plurality of teams that is a desired team by a user;
storing, in the storage unit, information of the user to be associated with the selected team;
receiving, from the user terminal, lifestyle habit information of the user for every predetermined period, inputted by the user;
storing, in the storage unit, the lifestyle habit information of the user to be associated with the information of the user stored in the storage unit;
displaying the lifestyle habit information on the interface for chat communication;
receiving, from another user terminal of another user, which is different from the user, a predetermined action with respect to the displaying of the lifestyle habit information of the user, to confirm that the user has achieved a predetermined mission of a goal of lifestyle habit of the selected team, the other user belonging to the selected team;
determining that the user has achieved the predetermined mission based on the predetermined action to thereby specify a number of users who have achieved the predetermined mission in the selected team, compared to a total number of users who belong to the selected team;
storing, in the storage unit, the specified number of users as a degree of achievement to be associated with the information of the selected team; and
displaying information of the degree of achievement of the goal on the interface for chat communication, wherein the lifestyle habit information includes information of a body weight, and receiving the lifestyle habit information comprises:
receiving an image of a body weight meter posted by the user;
extracting a body weight value from the image as text data; and
automatically input the body weight value into the storage unit as the lifestyle habit information.
These above limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. The claim recites elements, in bold above, which covers performance of the limitation as managing personal behavior and interactions between people. Determining a plurality of recommended teams (teaching), providing a list of teams of the recommended teams (teaching), receiving a request for selecting from the list of teams one team desired by a user (following rules and instructions), storing information of the user associated with the selected team, receiving lifestyle habit information of the user (following rules and instructions, storing the lifestyle habit information of the user, receiving an image of a body weight meter posted by a user (following rules and instructions), extracting a body weight value from the image, and input the body weight value into the storage unit as lifestyle habit information is managing personal behavior by following rules or instructions. Receiving from another user different from the user a predetermined action to confirm the user has achieved a predetermined mission of a goal of lifestyle habit of the selected team (teaching), determining the user has achieved the predetermined mission to specify a number of users who have achieved the predetermined mission in the selected team, and storing the specified number of users as a degree of achievement is managing interactions between people including following rules or instructions and teaching. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as managing personal behavior and interactions between people, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. Therefore, Claim 1 is abstract. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims are abstract)
The claims are also abstract as a mental process. A person can analyze (determine) data and receive (read) and provide/store (write down with pen and paper) various steps. The team information can be stored (written down), determine information about a user (mental process), providing a list (write down) of teams including recommended teams, receiving (read and comprehend) a request for selecting from a list of teams one of the teams (make judgement mentally), storing information (write down) of a user associated with the selected team, receiving lifestyle habit information of the user, store (write down) the information, receive from another user predetermined action (read action from other user), determining the user has achieved the predetermined action (mental analysis), store (write down) the number of users as a degree of achievement, display information (pen and paper) degree of achievement.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite: server terminal, storage unit, user terminal, interface, and another user terminal (Claim 1). The computer hardware is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The server terminal can be generic computer hardware (para. [0002] of the specification) and the chat communication is recited and taught at a high level of generality (para. [0007] of the specification. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Steps such as receiving and providing, and storing are steps that are considered insignificant extra solution activity and mere instructions to apply the exception using general computer components (see MPEP 2106.05(d), II). Thus claim 1 is not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Dependent claims 2-9 further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claim 1 and thus correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity and Mental Processes and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Claims 2-5 further limit the abstract idea or are abstract themselves. Claim 2 recites user terminal which is recited at a high level of generality. Claims 6 and 7 recite machine learning where at a high level of generality and where machine is a generic machine. Claims 8 and 9 recite chat bot at a high level of generality. Therefore, the claims 2-9 are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claims 1-9 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high probability” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high probability” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. High probability could be any probability greater than zero. For examination purposes this is considered to be any probability of happening.
Claims 2-8 are further rejected as they depend from Claim 1.
Examiner Request
The Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should Applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 U.S.C. §112(a) or §112 1st paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. The Examiner thanks the Applicant in advance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No. US 2022/0375569 to Nagasaka in view of Pub. No. US 2014/0279720 to Bhatia et al.
Regarding claim 1
A providing method of lifestyle habit improvement for a user, the method comprising performing, by a server terminal:
storing, in a storage unit of the server terminal, team information of a plurality of teams, the team information including information of each of the plurality of teams, information of members of each of the plurality of teams, goal of lifestyle habit, and a degree of achievement of the goal of lifestyle habit;
Nagasaka teaches:
Storing in a storage of a server terminal, lifestyle information…
“In a providing method of lifestyle habit improvement according to an aspect of the present invention, improvement is provided for a user belonging to a team in which a plurality of users communicate via an interface for chat communication, the method comprising, by a server terminal: accepting, from a user terminal, a request for selecting a desired team by a user; enrolling the user in the team; accepting, from the user terminal, lifestyle habit information of the user for every predetermined period; and storing the lifestyle habit information in a user data storage of the server terminal.” [0007]
Plurality of teams information can be stored…
“Team data 2000 shown in FIG. 5 stores the various kinds of data regarding the team. While FIG. 5 shows an example of one team (team identified by a team ID “20001”) for convenience of description, information of a plurality of teams can be stored. The various kinds of data regarding each team can include the basic information of the team (a team name, age restriction, sexuality restriction, an active period, an automatic leaving period, an assistant character, tag information, and the like), information of the members belonging to it (user IDs, user names, and the like), communication information (histories of messages and images posted to the chat communication interface for the team, and the like), and degree-of-achievement information (information shared in the team and regarding the degrees of achievement of the daily goals and the final goal, and the like), for example.
determining, according to information about the user and the team information of a plurality of teams, a plurality of recommended teams each having a high probability of success in improving the user's lifestyle;
Presents some teams (determining a plurality of teams) to be selected…
“First, as the processing of step S101, the instruction acceptance unit 131 of the server terminal 100 receives a request for selecting a desired team from the user terminal 200 via the communication unit 110. For example, as shown in FIG. 7A and FIG. 7B, the server terminal 100 presents some teams to be selected for the user in some manners on user interface screens each displayed on the user terminal 100. For example, as shown in FIG. 7A, it can recommend a team on the basis of the contents of the user's answers with respect to some questions for the user on a tutorial screen that is for a beginner user. For example, it can recommend a team the goal of which is to “record the body weight every evening” when it questions the user about something to want to work on and the user answers “body weight management”. Otherwise, the server terminal 100 can present team candidates satisfying conditions through a keyword search request. When the user selects the desired team, the selection request for the team is transmitted to the server terminal 100 from the user terminal 200 via the network.” [0055]
See Success below.
providing, to a user terminal, a list of teams including the plurality of recommended teams;
Presents teams (lists) some teams…
“First, as the processing of step S101, the instruction acceptance unit 131 of the server terminal 100 receives a request for selecting a desired team from the user terminal 200 via the communication unit 110. For example, as shown in FIG. 7A and FIG. 7B, the server terminal 100 presents some teams to be selected for the user in some manners on user interface screens each displayed on the user terminal 100. For example, as shown in FIG. 7A, it can recommend a team on the basis of the contents of the user's answers with respect to some questions for the user on a tutorial screen that is for a beginner user. For example, it can recommend a team the goal of which is to “record the body weight every evening” when it questions the user about something to want to work on and the user answers “body weight management”. Otherwise, the server terminal 100 can present team candidates satisfying conditions through a keyword search request. When the user selects the desired team, the selection request for the team is transmitted to the server terminal 100 from the user terminal 200 via the network.” [0055]
receiving, from a user terminal, a request for selecting from the list of teams one of the plurality of teams that is a desired team by a user;
Receive request for selecting team from user terminal…
“First, as the processing of step S101, the instruction acceptance unit 131 of the server terminal 100 receives a request for selecting a desired team from the user terminal 200 via the communication unit 110. For example, as shown in FIG. 7A and FIG. 7B, the server terminal 100 presents some teams to be selected for the user in some manners on user interface screens each displayed on the user terminal 100. For example, as shown in FIG. 7A, it can recommend a team on the basis of the contents of the user's answers with respect to some questions for the user on a tutorial screen that is for a beginner user. For example, it can recommend a team the goal of which is to “record the body weight every evening” when it questions the user about something to want to work on and the user answers “body weight management”. Otherwise, the server terminal 100 can present team candidates satisfying conditions through a keyword search request. When the user selects the desired team, the selection request for the team is transmitted to the server terminal 100 from the user terminal 200 via the network.” [0055]
storing, in the storage unit, information of the user to be associated with the selected team;
Store user data of the selection request…
“Next, as the process of step S102, the user data processing unit 132 of the server terminal 100 refers to the user information of transmission of the selection request from the user data 1000 stored in the user data storage 121, and the team data processing unit 133 refers to the team data 2000 stored in the team data storage 122 on the basis of the user information referred to and performs processing of enrolling the user in the relevant team. For example, when the server terminal 100 accepts a request for selecting a team named “recording the body weight every evening” from a user X, it performs processing of enrolling the user X in “recording the body weight every evening”.” [0057]
receiving, from the user terminal, lifestyle habit information of the user for every predetermined period, inputted by the user;
Accepting from the user terminal lifestyle habit information for a predetermined period…
“In a providing method of lifestyle habit improvement according to an aspect of the present invention, improvement is provided for a user belonging to a team in which a plurality of users communicate via an interface for chat communication, the method comprising, by a server terminal: accepting, from a user terminal, a request for selecting a desired team by a user; enrolling the user in the team; accepting, from the user terminal, lifestyle habit information of the user for every predetermined period; and storing the lifestyle habit information in a user data storage of the server terminal.” [0007]
storing, in the storage unit, the lifestyle habit information of the user to be associated with the information of the user stored in the storage unit;
Storing in the user data storage lifestyle habit information…
“In a providing method of lifestyle habit improvement according to an aspect of the present invention, improvement is provided for a user belonging to a team in which a plurality of users communicate via an interface for chat communication, the method comprising, by a server terminal: accepting, from a user terminal, a request for selecting a desired team by a user; enrolling the user in the team; accepting, from the user terminal, lifestyle habit information of the user for every predetermined period; and storing the lifestyle habit information in a user data storage of the server terminal.” [0007]
displaying the lifestyle habit information on the interface for chat communication;
Chat communication and display mage (lifestyle habit information) …
“Next, as the processing of step S103, the instruction acceptance unit 131 of the server terminal 100 accepts the lifestyle habit information from the user terminal 200 via the communication unit 110. The server terminal 100 accepts text and images regarding the lifestyle habits posted via the chat communication interface for the team which is displayed on the user terminal 100, for every predetermined period. For example, as shown in FIG. 8A, in the chat communication interface, when the user posts an image of a body weight meter, a region which the body weight value (kg) is entered in and a region which a message is entered in are displayed. The body weight value (kg) can also be extracted from the captured image as text data through OCR processing or the like and be automatically input. Moreover, input items (such, for example, as “today's body weight”) can also be displayed according to the goal shared in the team (for example, “recording the body weight every evening”). When accepting the lifestyle habit information from the user, the server terminal 100 displays the accepted information (for example, the body weight value (kg) input along with the image of the body weight meter (together with the message)), in the chat communication interface. Each user of the team views images and text posted by another user to confirm that this user has cleared a predetermined mission (for example, to measure the body weight every evening) with respect to the goal, and takes some action (for example, to make a stamp of a cat footprint) in order to prove the confirmation. According to these actions, the degree of achievement for the goal set by the team (or the goal of the day to be cleared for the goal) can be updated and visually displayed. Moreover, as shown in FIG. 8B, one user which the team is composed of can also visually display the degree of achievement for itself as an individual using a predetermined image (acquired from the server terminal 100 or an external resource).” [0058]
receiving, from another user terminal of another user, which is different from the user, a predetermined action with respect to the displaying of the lifestyle habit information of the user, to confirm that the user has achieved a predetermined mission of a goal of lifestyle habit of the selected team, the other user belonging to the selected team;
Chat communication among user group and communication among them (receiving from another user) goal…
“As above, in a user group in which a plurality of users have the common goal and the chat communication is enabled among them, the user can take continuous actions for achieving the goal by posting appointed lifestyle habit information for every predetermined period under mutual communication for achieving the goal, and can continuously acquire the information regarding the lifestyle habits and acquire the history thereof comfortably under such communication.” [0060]
determining that the user has achieved the predetermined mission based on the predetermined action to thereby specify a number of users who have achieved the predetermined mission in the selected team, compared to a total number of users who belong to the selected team;
Confirm (determine) user has cleared (achieved) predetermined mission)…
“… Each user of the team views images and text posted by another user to confirm that this user has cleared a predetermined mission (for example, to measure the body weight every evening) with respect to the goal, and takes some action (for example, to make a stamp of a cat footprint) in order to prove the confirmation. According to these actions, the degree of achievement for the goal set by the team (or the goal of the day to be cleared for the goal) can be updated and visually displayed. Moreover, as shown in FIG. 8B, one user which the team is composed of can also visually display the degree of achievement for itself as an individual using a predetermined image (acquired from the server terminal 100 or an external resource).” [0058]
Upper limit (total number) of users and achieve shared goal…
“The server terminal 100 generates, by users as customers of the service or a service provider, a plurality of chat groups each called a “team” composed of a plurality of users. Each team is associated with predetermined categories associated with a habit the goal of which the users want to achieve, and is composed of user members the upper limit number of which is defined (for example, five). Each of the users aims to achieve the goal (for example, “to lose 10 kg of body weight”) shared in the team while they are posting messages and images regarding the challenges to achieve the goal and mutually encouraging the other users via a chat communication interface for the team. The server terminal 100 may be a general-purpose computer such, for example, as a workstation or a personal computer, or may be logically implemented through cloud computing. While in the present embodiment, one server terminal is exemplarily presented for convenience of description, there may be a plurality of those with no limitation.” [0031]
Degree of achievement…
“… According to these actions, the degree of achievement for the goal set by the team (or the goal of the day to be cleared for the goal) can be updated and visually displayed. Moreover, as shown in FIG. 8B, one user which the team is composed of can also visually display the degree of achievement for itself as an individual using a predetermined image (acquired from the server terminal 100 or an external resource).” [0058]
Fig. 8B teaches 3/5 persons, therefore, number of users to total number…
storing, in the storage unit, the specified number of users as a degree of achievement to be associated with the information of the selected team; and
Stores team data and degree-of achievement…
“Team data 2000 shown in FIG. 5 stores the various kinds of data regarding the team. While FIG. 5 shows an example of one team (team identified by a team ID “20001”) for convenience of description, information of a plurality of teams can be stored. The various kinds of data regarding each team can include the basic information of the team (a team name, age restriction, sexuality restriction, an active period, an automatic leaving period, an assistant character, tag information, and the like), information of the members belonging to it (user IDs, user names, and the like), communication information (histories of messages and images posted to the chat communication interface for the team, and the like), and degree-of-achievement information (information shared in the team and regarding the degrees of achievement of the daily goals and the final goal, and the like), for example.” [0051]
displaying information of the degree of achievement of the goal on the interface for chat communication, wherein the lifestyle habit information includes information of a body weight, and receiving the lifestyle habit information comprises:
receiving an image of a body weight meter posted by the user;
Post image of body weight meter…
“Next, as the processing of step S103, the instruction acceptance unit 131 of the server terminal 100 accepts the lifestyle habit information from the user terminal 200 via the communication unit 110. The server terminal 100 accepts text and images regarding the lifestyle habits posted via the chat communication interface for the team which is displayed on the user terminal 100, for every predetermined period. For example, as shown in FIG. 8A, in the chat communication interface, when the user posts an image of a body weight meter, a region which the body weight value (kg) is entered in and a region which a message is entered in are displayed. The body weight value (kg) can also be extracted from the captured image as text data through OCR processing or the like and be automatically input. Moreover, input items (such, for example, as “today's body weight”) can also be displayed according to the goal shared in the team (for example, “recording the body weight every evening”). When accepting the lifestyle habit information from the user, the server terminal 100 displays the accepted information (for example, the body weight value (kg) input along with the image of the body weight meter (together with the message)), in the chat communication interface. Each user of the team views images and text posted by another user to confirm that this user has cleared a predetermined mission (for example, to measure the body weight every evening) with respect to the goal, and takes some action (for example, to make a stamp of a cat footprint) in order to prove the confirmation. According to these actions, the degree of achievement for the goal set by the team (or the goal of the day to be cleared for the goal) can be updated and visually displayed. Moreover, as shown in FIG. 8B, one user which the team is composed of can also visually display the degree of achievement for itself as an individual using a predetermined image (acquired from the server terminal 100 or an external resource).” [0058]
extracting a body weight value from the image as text data; and
Extract body weight from image…
“Next, as the processing of step S103, the instruction acceptance unit 131 of the server terminal 100 accepts the lifestyle habit information from the user terminal 200 via the communication unit 110. The server terminal 100 accepts text and images regarding the lifestyle habits posted via the chat communication interface for the team which is displayed on the user terminal 100, for every predetermined period. For example, as shown in FIG. 8A, in the chat communication interface, when the user posts an image of a body weight meter, a region which the body weight value (kg) is entered in and a region which a message is entered in are displayed. The body weight value (kg) can also be extracted from the captured image as text data through OCR processing or the like and be automatically input. Moreover, input items (such, for example, as “today's body weight”) can also be displayed according to the goal shared in the team (for example, “recording the body weight every evening”). When accepting the lifestyle habit information from the user, the server terminal 100 displays the accepted information (for example, the body weight value (kg) input along with the image of the body weight meter (together with the message)), in the chat communication interface. Each user of the team views images and text posted by another user to confirm that this user has cleared a predetermined mission (for example, to measure the body weight every evening) with respect to the goal, and takes some action (for example, to make a stamp of a cat footprint) in order to prove the confirmation. According to these actions, the degree of achievement for the goal set by the team (or the goal of the day to be cleared for the goal) can be updated and visually displayed. Moreover, as shown in FIG. 8B, one user which the team is composed of can also visually display the degree of achievement for itself as an individual using a predetermined image (acquired from the server terminal 100 or an external resource).” [0058]
automatically input the body weight value into the storage unit as the lifestyle habit information.
Extract body weight from image and automatically input the data…
“Next, as the processing of step S103, the instruction acceptance unit 131 of the server terminal 100 accepts the lifestyle habit information from the user terminal 200 via the communication unit 110. The server terminal 100 accepts text and images regarding the lifestyle habits posted via the chat communication interface for the team which is displayed on the user terminal 100, for every predetermined period. For example, as shown in FIG. 8A, in the chat communication interface, when the user posts an image of a body weight meter, a region which the body weight value (kg) is entered in and a region which a message is entered in are displayed. The body weight value (kg) can also be extracted from the captured image as text data through OCR processing or the like and be automatically input. Moreover, input items (such, for example, as “today's body weight”) can also be displayed according to the goal shared in the team (for example, “recording the body weight every evening”). When accepting the lifestyle habit information from the user, the server terminal 100 displays the accepted information (for example, the body weight value (kg) input along with the image of the body weight meter (together with the message)), in the chat communication interface. Each user of the team views images and text posted by another user to confirm that this user has cleared a predetermined mission (for example, to measure the body weight every evening) with respect to the goal, and takes some action (for example, to make a stamp of a cat footprint) in order to prove the confirmation. According to these actions, the degree of achievement for the goal set by the team (or the goal of the day to be cleared for the goal) can be updated and visually displayed. Moreover, as shown in FIG. 8B, one user which the team is composed of can also visually display the degree of achievement for itself as an individual using a predetermined image (acquired from the server terminal 100 or an external resource).” [0058]
Success
Nagasaka teaches teams to be selected. They do not teach a plurality of teams and probability of success.
Bhatia et al. also in the business of teams teaches:
Groups (teams) and success of goal achievement…
“Model, or models, 104 may be trained using data collected about users, user groups, goals, categories, advertisers, publishers, outcomes, e.g., success/failure, of previous attempts at goal achievement, etc. The data may also comprise data about actions taken, or motivators used, to motivate a group of users, such as without limitation to action taken, the point at which the action was taken the probability of success before the action was taken, the probability of success after the action was taken, etc. The data may further include a progression plan for a given category or goal, which plan may comprise a set of milestones, or states, in the progression toward achieving a goal and criteria for transitioning from one milestone/state to another. The data collected might be stored in data store(s) 114. While data store(s) 114 is/are shown as being internal to system 100, it should be apparent that some or all of the data may be stored and/or maintained externally, e.g., by one or more systems external to system 100. Additionally, it should be apparent that models 104 may be included in data stores 114. In accordance with one or more embodiments, model(s) 114 is/are trained using training data for users that succeeded in their endeavors and users that failed in their endeavors, as well as the items, e.g., goals, milestones, mechanisms, progression pathways, etc., associated with the users' successful and unsuccessful endeavors, and data collected about the items and the users' endeavors.” [0033]
Recommend to a user alternative groups to achieve a goal…
“Model(s) 104 may be used by recommender 106 of system 100 to recommend one or more goals to a user and/or recommend one or more alternative user groups for a user seeking to achieve a goal. Model(s) 104 may be used by progress manager 108 of system 100 to suggest timely interventions, e.g., in the form of one or more actions to be taken, which interventions/actions may be sourced across the community, including without limitation sourced by users/user groups 118, publishers/advertisers 116, and/or other entities 120. By way of a non-limiting example, progress manager 108 might suggest an event or competition. By way of another non-limiting example, progress manager 108 might make suggestions with regard to assigning a new user to a user group, reassigning a user to another user group, modifying the plan for progression toward a goal, etc.” [0035]
Recommendations made based on likelihood of success…
“Recommender 106 may recommend users for a group, which group is pursuing a collective goal within a category. System 100 may be used to align users in a group based on proficiency, targeted improvement rates, or category specific distinctions. In accordance with one or more embodiments, recommendations are made based on a likelihood of success given the available groups and taking into account the impact of the individual users within a given group or groups.” [0039]
“The example provided in FIG. 4 includes some examples of teams and their members. In the example, teams may be formed from social connections, such as connections formed between friends or connections based on familial relationships, e.g., a team comprised of all of some members of a household, children, a spouse, etc. Teams might also be formed by members of a club, community, organization, etc. Teams might be formed based on a shared affinity for a merchant, or merchants, and/or a brand, or brands.” [0059]
Probability of success of the group of users and based on outcomes of various user groups…
“At step 708, at least one progression plan for progression is established for each goal. Each progression plan may have one or more associated states or milestones, which may be used to measure progress of a group of user's toward the goal. In accordance with one or more embodiments, the progression plan may be associated with the category associated with the goal. At step 710, users are assigned to form a group of users. The user group is associated with at least one goal. In accordance with one or more embodiments, the users assigned to form the group may be selected based on a probability of success of the group of users in achieving the group's goal, the probability of success may be determined using at least one probability model, e.g., at least one of model(s) 114, which may be trained from previous experience with the plurality of users, the plurality of goals and determined outcomes of various user groups.” [0076]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of Nagasaka the ability to determine probability of success as taught by Bhatia et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Bhatia et al. who teaches the advantages predicting success for a group in order to achieve a group’s goal.
Regarding claim 2
The providing method according to Claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the user terminal, a request for displaying a lifestyle habit log of the user;
Nagasaka teaches:
Accepts (receives) instructions (requests) to process information including lifestyle habit log…
“The control unit 130 controls the entire operation of the server terminal 100 by executing the program(s) stored in the storage unit 120 and is composed of a CPU (Central Processing Unit), a GPU (Graphics Processing Unit), and the like. The control unit 130 has, as its functions, an instruction acceptance unit 131 which accepts instructions from the user terminals 200 and the like, a user data management unit 132 which refers to and processes the various kinds of data regarding the users, a team data management unit 133 which refers to and processes the various kinds of data regarding the team, and a lifestyle habit log generation unit 134 which generates lifestyle habit logs on the basis of lifestyle habit information accepted from the users. These instruction acceptance unit 131, user data management unit 132, team data management unit 133, and lifestyle habit log generation unit 134 are initiated by the program(s) stored in the storage unit 120 and performed by the server terminal 100 as a computer (electronic calculator).” [0037]
generating the lifestyle habit log on the basis of the lifestyle habit information stored in a user data storage of the storage unit; and
Generates lifestyle habit log…
“The control unit 130 controls the entire operation of the server terminal 100 by executing the program(s) stored in the storage unit 120 and is composed of a CPU (Central Processing Unit), a GPU (Graphics Processing Unit), and the like. The control unit 130 has, as its functions, an instruction acceptance unit 131 which accepts instructions from the user terminals 200 and the like, a user data management unit 132 which refers to and processes the various kinds of data regarding the users, a team data management unit 133 which refers to and processes the various kinds of data regarding the team, and a lifestyle habit log generation unit 134 which generates lifestyle habit logs on the basis of lifestyle habit information accepted from the users. These instruction acceptance unit 131, user data management unit 132, team data management unit 133, and lifestyle habit log generation unit 134 are initiated by the program(s) stored in the storage unit 120 and performed by the server terminal 100 as a computer (electronic calculator).” [0037]
causing the user terminal to display the lifestyle habit log.
Display them (lifestyle habit log)…
“The lifestyle habit log generation unit 134 generates, in response to requests from the users or regardless of such requests, lifestyle habit logs on the basis of the lifestyle habit information stored in the user data storage 121 and transmitted by the users, and performs processing to display them on the user terminals 200.” [0041]
Regarding claim 3
The providing method according to Claim 1, wherein the lifestyle habit information further includes any item of information of the number of steps, a meal, consumed calories and sleep of the user.
Nagasaka teaches:
Information such as number of steps, meals, consumed calories, sleeping time…
“User data 1000 shown in FIG. 4 stores the various kinds of data regarding the users. While FIG. 4 shows an example of one user (user identified by a user ID “10001”) for convenience of description, information of a plurality of users can be stored. The various kinds of data regarding each user can include the basic information of the user (a user password, the name, the age, the sexuality, SNS information, and the membership status (a fee-free membership user or a premium membership user) of the user, and status information (for example, a “badge”) given based on posts of text and images associated with missions in the team that it belongs to), the information of the team that it belongs to (a team ID, a team name, and the like), and the lifestyle habit information (the number of steps (steps), a body weight (kg), meals (kcal), consumed calories (kcal), a sleeping time (hours; minutes), image data, text data, various kinds of data associated with dates in a calendar, and the like), for example.” [0049]
Regarding claim 4
The providing method according to Claim 1, further comprising:
generating a lifestyle habit log of the user for every predetermined period.
Nagasaka teaches:
“Note that the user can share the lifestyle habit information as the lifestyle habit log, associating it with the date and/or the period, with other users via the chat communication interface, and the lifestyle habit logs of the users can be compared and displayed. Thereby, the predetermined missions for achieving the goal can be continued with reference to the lifestyle habit logs among the users.” [0069]
Predetermined period with log…
“The providing method according to claim 1, comprising generating a lifestyle habit log for every predetermined period.” (Claim 4)
Regarding claim 5
The providing method according to Claim 1, wherein a team is generated by an individual user or a corporate user, and is at least associated with one category of a plurality of categories, and the category is able to be generated by the corporate user.
Nagasaka teaches:
User or corporate user generate a team…
“Here, each team is associated with major categories such as “Recommended”, “Diet”, and “Fitness”, and, for example, for the major category “Fitness”, minor categories such as “Muscular Workout”, “Walking”, and “Walking Relay”. Moreover, a team can be generated by an individual user as a customer of the service, or a corporate user such as a service enterprise or a partner, and the corporate user, in particular, that is a partner can generate major categories relevant to the generated team (such, for example, as a “University Entrance Examination” category shown in FIG. 8B) or minor categories (such, for example, as an “ABC App Official” category generated in the “Diet” category) in order to advertise/promote the sale of merchandises and services provided by that corporate. Thereby, the users can take a shortcut to access the team generated by the corporate user.” [0056]
Regarding claim 8
The providing method according to Claim 1, further comprising providing, to the user on the interface for chat communication, encouragement using a chat bot.
Nagasaka teaches:
Chat bot and encourage a user…
“Furthermore, in the server terminal 100 or another terminal, the lifestyle habit log(s) of one or a plurality of users can be analyzed to provide advice and to provide guidance for achieving the goal. For example, via the chat communication interface of the team, a chat bot, as an instructor, can encourage a user slowing down its actions and/or can advise a user falling behind with comparison of the lifestyle habit logs of a plurality of users.” [0070]
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined references in section (7) above in further view of Pub. No. US 2013/0226612 to Carmeli et al.
Regarding claim 6
The providing method according to Claim 1, wherein determining the plurality of recommended teams is performed using a machine learning (ML) model.
The combined references teach recommend teams. They do not teach machine learning.
Carmeli et al. also in the business of recommend teams teaches:
Machine learning suggest (recommend) patient groups…
“As shown at 104, the patient records are now divided to a plurality of patient groups each includes patient records of patients having common and/or similar patient dependent clinical characteristics at the medical decision point. Optionally, machine learning techniques are used to suggest refined patient-similarity metrics, yielding fine-grained similar patient groups. Optionally, machine learning techniques are used to suggest patient groups other then those recommended by the model, based on retrospective analysis of physician decision and achieved outcome, yielding in knowledge and/or guideline refinements.” [0049]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use machine learning as taught by Carmei et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Carmeli et al. who teaches the benefits of using machine learning for determining recommend teams.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined references in section (8) above in further view of Pub. No. US 2020/0380883 to Jain et al. and in further view of Pub. No. US 2022/0189636 to Wagner et al.
Regarding claim 7
The providing method according to Claim 6, wherein the machine learning model is selected from among a plurality of ML models respectively trained for groups of users having similar characteristics and goals, wherein the selection selects an ML model for a group among the groups of users that the user may be categorized as belonging to.
The combined references teach recommend teams. They do not teach machine learning.
Carmeli et al. also in the business of recommend teams teaches:
Machine learning suggest (recommend) patient groups…
“As shown at 104, the patient records are now divided to a plurality of patient groups each includes patient records of patients having common and/or similar patient dependent clinical characteristics at the medical decision point. Optionally, machine learning techniques are used to suggest refined patient-similarity metrics, yielding fine-grained similar patient groups. Optionally, machine learning techniques are used to suggest patient groups other then those recommended by the model, based on retrospective analysis of physician decision and achieved outcome, yielding in knowledge and/or guideline refinements.” [0049]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use machine learning as taught by Carmei et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Carmeli et al. who teaches the benefits of using machine learning for determining recommend teams.
Plurality of Models
The combined references teach machine learning. They do not teach plurality of models.
Jain et al. also in the business of machine learning teaches:
Groups of individuals…
“Embodiments consistent with the present disclosure may include a group of individuals. Groups may include any type of group of people, such as a family, a team, employees, co-workers, members of an organization, a group of friends, a class, parents, a community group, a neighborhood group, a group of groups, a society, or the like. Groups may be of any size. A group may include individuals related based on genealogy, likes/dislikes, subscription relevance, education, residence location, individuals linked by a study or a sub-study within a cohort, and/or any other relationship.” [0025]
Trained machine learning model…
“Embodiments consistent with the present disclosure may include a measurement goal. A measurement goal may be based on a measurement type. In some embodiments, a measurement goal may relate to a behavior or a health status. A measurement goal may include an internet use goal, a diet goal, a consumption goal, a sleep goal, an exercise goal, a medical treatment goal, or an activity goal. A measurement goal may include a threshold (i.e., a minimum or a maximum) of an indicator of a behavior or a health status. Examples of measurement goals may include a minimum number of hours spent studying during a week, a maximum anxiety score, a resting heart rate threshold, a maximum screen time, a minimum number of social interactions, a vegetables-consumed threshold, a medication adherence minimum, and/or any other threshold of an indicator of a behavior or a health status. In some embodiments, a measurement goal may include a coding function for processing data (e.g., sensor data). A coding function may include check statements, when statements, while statements, do statements, Boolean logical statements, or the like. In some embodiments, setting a measurement goal may include a machine learning model trained to predict an indicator of a behavior or a health status. In some embodiments, a measurement goal may include a fuzzy logic model, which may or may not be a machine learning model.” [0028]
Classification (categorization) of users and may include models (plural)…
“Applied rules and configurations 604 may include feature classification data. Feature classification data may be associated with a measurement goal or a marker. For example, feature classification data may include rules (e.g., models, logical expressions) to determine whether a condition is met. Feature classification data may include processed data indicating whether a condition is met. In some embodiments, the condition may include whether: a user is actively checking a phone; a user is actively visiting (using) an app; a user is rapidly changing apps; a user is using a fidget spinner; a user's biomarkers are changing; an environment has a sudden change; a user is pacing; a battery is rapidly depleting; a phone is intensely used; a user is avoiding social interactions; a social proximity is increasing; a user is watching television; a user has not moved; a user's typing accuracy has decreased; a user is shaking; a user is sleeping; a user is commuting; a user is sleeping well; a user's sleep is interrupted; a user is eating; a user is engaged in conversation; a user is actively moving; weather is altering a mood; or any other condition is satisfied.” [0122]
Retrieve (select) a trained machine learning model where there may be a plurality of models…
“In some embodiments, setting a measurement goal may include generating or retrieving a machine learning model trained to predict an indicator of behavior or health status. A machine learning model may include a neural network model, a recurrent neural network model, a random forest model, a support vector model, and/or any other machine learning model both unsupervised and supervised. In some embodiments, setting a measurement goal may include generating or retrieving a fuzzy logic model. A fuzzy logic model may be configured to estimate general truths. For example, a fuzzy logic model may be configured to determine that an indicator mostly satisfies a measurement goal, that an indicator is close to a threshold, and/or that an indicator is nearing a threshold.” [0140]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use a plurality of machine learning models as taught by Jain et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Jain et al. who teaches the benefits of using a plurality of machine learning models for users with similar characteristics.
Select Model
The combined references teach models. They do not specifically teach select.
Wagner et al. also in the business of models teaches:
Neural network models (plural) trained and select the highest performing one…
“In some embodiments, plurality of neural network models may be trained at process 320. For example, a different neural network model may be trained for each cohort identified at process 310. In this regard, the trained neural network models may perform more accurately compared to a neural network model in which the training data is undifferentiated or otherwise does not account for the differences among cohorts. In some embodiments, different models may be trained using diagnostic time series data (e.g., time series data captured near the time of diagnosis) versus pre-emptive time series data (e.g., time series data captured significantly before the diagnosis). Moreover, neural network models with different architectures, training procedures, and the like may be trained at process 320. The performance of the plurality of trained models may be compared to select one or more highest performing (e.g., most accurate) models to deploy at process 330. Tables 2 and 3 below illustrates a comparison of the accuracy of preliminary diagnostic and pre-emptive models, respectively, for different cohorts. The values in the “Patient Wise AUC” and “Age Gender Wise AUC” columns correspond to an “area under curve” (AUC) metric, where a higher value indicates better diagnostic precision and recall.” [0045]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to select a model as taught by Wagner et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Wagner et al. who teaches the benefits of using a machine learning model that is most accurate.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined references in section (7) above in further view of Pub. No. US 2019/0198150 to Kang et al.
Regarding claim 9
The providing method according to Claim 8, wherein providing encouragement to the user includes determining, from prior interactions with the user, patterns of encouragement and praise that are most effective in getting the user to perform a next action, and generating the encouragement based on that determination.
Nagasaka teaches:
Chat bot and encourage a user…
“Furthermore, in the server terminal 100 or another terminal, the lifestyle habit log(s) of one or a plurality of users can be analyzed to provide advice and to provide guidance for achieving the goal. For example, via the chat communication interface of the team, a chat bot, as an instructor, can encourage a user slowing down its actions and/or can advise a user falling behind with comparison of the lifestyle habit logs of a plurality of users.” [0070]
The combined references teach chat bot. They do not teach encouragement.
Kang et al. also in the business of chat bot teaches:
Leveraging historical patient data for automated communications…
“Therefore, by leveraging historical patient and patient outcome data to customize automated and manual communications with a current patient based on the patient's actual physical and/or emotional status over time, the system can achieve higher patient satisfaction throughout her recovery and upon completion of her recovery while also efficiently allocating human resources (i.e., doctor and/or physical therapist time and energy) to patients most in need of human intervention.” [0013]
Chat bot and motivational quotes (encouragement)…
“For example, the chat bot can receive patient information for a particular patient indicating the particular patient is from the Midwest, enjoys swimming and cycling, recently tore her right rotator cuff partially, and has commenced a physical therapy regimen to rehabilitate her right rotator cuff so that she may swim the English Channel in eight months. Thus, the chat bot can intermittently serve: prompts to the particular patient inquiring about the progress of her swimming training while mimicking the particular patient's Midwestern dialect; prompts inquiring how the particular patient's shoulder feels while swimming and cycling; hyperlinks to articles about recent English Channel attempts; suggestions for local cycling routes; suggestions for physical therapy exercises helpful for preventing common injuries for swimmers and cyclists; motivational quotes; etc.” [0021]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use chat bot for encouragement as taught by Kang et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Kang et al. who teaches the benefits of using a chat bot for motivation and the combined references benefit as they are directed to users and teams reaching a goal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art teaches lifestyle:
JP-2023030037-A; CN-111566708-A; US-20160086509-A1; US-20170147775-A1; US-20130124218-A1; US-20210335499-A1; US-20220206745-A1
Okamoto et al., “Smartphone-Based Digital Peer Support for a Walking Intervention Among Public Officers in Kanagawa Prefecture: Single-Arm Pre- and Postintervention Evaluation,” 2024, JMIR Formative Research, pp. 1-15.
Tabira et al., “Digital Peer-Supported App Intervention to Promote Physical Activity Among Community-Dwelling Older Adults: Nonrandomized Controlled Trial,” 2024, JMIR Aging, pp. 1-15.
/KENNETH BARTLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684