DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16. 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11 and 12 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,282,929. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the respective claims of the ‘929 patent anticipate the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. According to the specification, the invention relates to a activity monitoring method and system that monitors activity data and provides feedback based on the data to the user. Exemplary claims 1, 9 and 16 include the following underlined claim elements:
1. A method comprising: obtaining data corresponding to multiple parameters associated with a user, wherein the multiple parameters comprise a stride rate of the user and a body position of the user; retrieving a set of threshold criteria that corresponds to a multi-parameter activity zone, wherein the set of threshold criteria comprises: a first threshold criteria related to the stride rate of the user; and a second threshold criteria related to the body position of the user; determining a resistance experienced by the user based on the data corresponding to the stride rate of the user; determining a posture of the user based on the data corresponding to the body position of the user; and classifying, based on the set of threshold criteria corresponding to the multi-parameter activity zone, a segment of the data as an inactivity type based on the resistance experienced by the user and the posture of the user, wherein the method is executed by one or more processors
9. A system comprising: a processing device; and a memory to store computer-executable instructions that, if executed, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising: obtaining data corresponding to multiple parameters associated with a user, wherein the multiple parameters comprise a stride rate of the user and a body position of the user; retrieving a set of threshold criteria that corresponds to a multi-parameter activity zone, wherein the set of threshold criteria comprises: a first threshold criteria related to the stride rate of the user; and a second threshold criteria related to the body position of the user; determining a resistance experienced by the user based on the data corresponding to the stride rate of the user; determining a posture of the user based on the data corresponding to the body position of the user; and classifying, based on the set of threshold criteria corresponding to the multi-parameter activity zone, a segment of the data as an inactivity type based on the resistance experienced by the user and the posture of the user
16. A non-transitory tangible computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising: obtaining data corresponding to multiple parameters associated with a user, wherein the multiple parameters comprise a stride rate of the user and a body position of the user; retrieving a set of threshold criteria that corresponds to a multi-parameter activity zone, wherein the set of threshold criteria comprises: a first threshold criteria related to the stride rate of the user; and a second threshold criteria related to the body position of the user; determining a resistance experienced by the user based on the data corresponding to the stride rate of the user; determining a posture of the user based on the data corresponding to the body position of the user; and classifying, based on the set of threshold criteria corresponding to the multi-parameter activity zone, a segment of the data as an inactivity type based on the resistance experienced by the user and the posture of the user.
The underlined claim elements above are directed to the court enumerated abstract ideas of Mental Processes including observation, evaluation, and judgement because the claims are directed to series of steps that observe activity data, evaluate that data, determine a classification for the activity and provide an indication of the classification to the user. The claims do not go beyond requiring collection, analysis, and display of available information in a particular field, stating those functions in general terms without limitations to specific technical implementations for performing the functions that are an improvement to a computing system or advancement in a network technology. The claims simply define a desirable information-based result. The various dependent claims only further detail the abstract ideas or constitute insignificant extra solution activity and consequently are also considered abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The recited “one or more processors”, “memory”, “processor”, and “non-transitory computer readable medium” amount to implementing the abstract idea on a general purpose computer, and/or do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. This supports a conclusion that the method operates in a general computing environment and that the claim provides mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer. Even when the limitations are viewed in combination, the additional elements in this claim do no more than automate the mental processes needed to be performed, using the one of more computer components as tools. While this type of automation is an improvement in a general sense as opposed to performance manually, there is no change to the computers and other technology that are recited in the claim as automating the abstract ideas, and thus this claim cannot improve computer functionality or other technology There is no improvement made to computer technology since the claims are directed to and evaluating data to classify it. This is not related to a long standing problem in computer technology. Additionally, there is no practical application as there is no particular machine that is used to implement the claim language and only generic computer components are used to perform the invention. Also, there is no transformation of the machine used in the application into a different state or thing. Lastly, the claims do not attempt to apply the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond simply using a generic computer. The various dependent claims only further detail the abstract idea or are insignificant extra solution activity and also fail to rise significantly more than the abstract ideas.
Claims 1, 9 and 16 do not recite additional elements, individually or in combination, that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to the lack of a practical application, the additional element in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer component(s) cannot provide an inventive concept. The receiving, evaluation, and classification of data does not indicate that the activity is anything other than a generic computer component performing the task. Court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate these are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions (See receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)), performing repetitive calculations (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(ii)), electronic recordkeeping (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii)), storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)), determining an estimated outcome and setting a price (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(v)), and arranging a hierarchy of groups, sorting information, eliminating less restrictive pricing information and determining a price (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(vi)).
Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea that lacks significantly more and thus are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-5, 8-12, 15-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Browning et al. (pub. no. 20070073178).
Regarding claim 2, Browning discloses a method comprising: obtaining data corresponding to multiple parameters associated with a user, wherein the multiple parameters comprise a stride rate of the user and a body position of the user; retrieving a set of threshold criteria that corresponds to a multi-parameter activity zone, wherein the set of threshold criteria comprises: a first threshold criteria related to the stride rate of the user; and a second threshold criteria related to the body position of the user; determining a resistance experienced by the user based on the data corresponding to the stride rate of the user; determining a posture of the user based on the data corresponding to the body position of the user; and classifying, based on the set of threshold criteria corresponding to the multi-parameter activity zone, a segment of the data as an inactivity type based on the resistance experienced by the user and the posture of the user, wherein the method is executed by one or more processors (“The algorithm 100, which uses a patient's physical activity (PA) level and heart rate (HR), is based on a methodology developed by Moon and Butte (Moon J K and Butte N F; Combined heart rate and activity levels improve estimates of oxygen consumption and carbon dioxide production rates; J appl Physiol 81: 1754-1761, 1996), the contents of which are incorporated herein by reference”, [0029];
“Once calibrated, the algorithm 99 includes a second step 102 that determines threshold values for both PA (defined as PA) and HR (defined as HR). PA is typically the median value of PA determined while the patient is on the treadmill during the first step 101. HR is typically the mean of highest HR measured at rest and the lowest measured HR during walking. Using the threshold values, the algorithm 99 includes a third step 106 that measures data from the subject to define periods as being either `active` or `inactive`. For example, the subject is determined to be in an inactive state if PA<PA for one or more minutes, or alternatively if HR<HR. Alternatively, the subject is determined to be in an active state if PA>=PA for at least one minute and if HR>HR. Using the calibration parameters a, b, c, d determined from calibration during the first step 101, and the subject's active or passive state determined during the third step 106, the algorithm then calculates the subject's oxygen consumed (VO.sub.2) during a fourth step 108. Specifically, the algorithm records HR during active or inactive periods, and then using the calibration parameters calculates VO.sub.2 using either the above-mentioned quadratic equation (for an inactive period) or linear equation (for an active period). During a fifth step 110 the algorithm 100 converts VO.sub.2 to acute energy expenditure (EE) for both active and inactive periods using the equation: EE.sub.active/inactive=4.88 *VO.sub.2, active/inactive During a sixth step 112 the algorithm converts EE (with units of kcal/minute) to total energy expenditure (TEE) using the total amount of time of either the active or inactive period”, [0045]).
Regarding claim 3, Browning discloses the inactivity type comprises one of inactive upright, inactive rest, inactive prone, lying, sitting, standing, the user is vertical, or the user is horizontal ([0045]).
Regarding claim 4, Browning discloses the body position is determined based on position data generated by an accelerometer comprising one or more axis sensors (“FIG. 3 shows a preferred embodiment of the electronic components within the monitoring device 5. A data-processing circuit 61 controls: i) a pulse oximetry circuit 63 connected to an optical pad sensor 6; ii) LCD 4; iii) a glucometer interface circuit 64 that connects to an external glucometer through a mini USB port 3; iv) an integrated pedometer circuit 9 featuring an accelerometer 59”, [0026]).
Regarding claim 5, Browning discloses generating an output based on the inactivity type associated with the user (“In embodiments, the microprocessor is configured to operate a computer algorithm that processes the heart rate and exercise information to generate calorie information, such as calories burned. For example, the algorithm can process the physical activity information to determine whether a subject is at rest or undergoing exercise, and once this is determined compare the heart rate information to pre-determined calibration information to determine an amount of calories burned by the subject. More specifically, the calibration information can include a predetermined data table or mathematical function that correlates oxygen consumed as a function of heart rate. The algorithm can then calculate caloric expenditure from the amount of oxygen consumed”, [0008];
“The central computer system can further analyze the information, e.g. display it on an Internet-accessible website. This means medical professionals can characterize a patient's real-time vital signs during their day-to-day activities, rather than rely on an isolated measurement during a medical check-up. The website typically features one or more web pages that display the blood test, vital sign, exercise, and personal information. In embodiments, the website includes a first web interface that displays information for a single patient, and a second web interface that displays information for a group of patients. For example, a medical professional (e.g. a physician, nurse, nurse practitioner, dietician, or clinical educator) associated with a group of patients could use the second web interface to drive compliance for a disease-management program. Both web interfaces typically include multiple web pages that, in turn, feature both static and dynamic content, described in detail below”, [0011]).
Regarding claim 8, Browning discloses the stride rate comprises one or more of a cadence, a stroke rate, a step rate, or a distance per limb turnover ([0046]).
Claims 9-12 and 15 are directed to systems that implement the methods of claims 2-5 and 8 respectively and are rejected for the same reasons as claims 2-5 and 8 respectively.
Claims 16-19 and 21 are directed to an article of manufacture that contains code the implements methods of claims 2-5 and 8 respectively and are rejected for the same reasons as claims 2-5 and 8 respectively.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE S GALKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715