DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11, 796,998 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the current invention is a broader form of what has been covered in the patented claims. The patented claims call for multiple sets of sensor data that are compared and fused together to get an accuracy of the data for the trajectory prediction for the autonomous driving, which is also broadly claimed in the current application, thus the invention isn’t patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et a (US 2012/0290169), in view of Ferguson et al (US 9,719,801).
Claim 2, “An autonomous vehicle comprising: a motion controller configured to control a motion of the autonomous vehicle;” Zeng teaches a vehicle including sensors and a controller but does not explicitly teach a motion controller actuating vehicle propulsion; see para [0024] describing “a controller 32… receives data… communicates with a memory module 36.” Zeng does not explicitly teach motor actuation; However Ferguson teaches motion control at Col. 7, lines 40–48 stating: “The control system 106 may include steering unit 132, throttle 134, brake unit 136… configured to control operation(s) of the vehicle 100.” It would have been obvious to incorporate Ferguson’s actuator-based control to enable Zeng’s calibrated sensing to drive the vehicle;
“a plurality of sensors including at least a first sensor and a second sensor” is taught by Zeng para [0019]: “The sensors include… SRR left 12… SRR right 14… LRR 16… camera 18.”
“receiving first sensor data… receiving second sensor data… different sensor modality” is taught by Zeng para [0024]: “controller 32… receives data from the SRR left 12 and the SRR right 14.”
“generating fused sensor data representing at least a portion of the first sensor data and the second sensor data” Zeng does not explicitly teach fused sensor data; rather it compares readings for alignment (para [0027]: “residuals… computed… by comparing sensor data from different sensors”). However Ferguson teaches sensor fusion at Col. 8, lines 24–32: “The sensor fusion algorithm 138… accept data from the sensor system 104…” thus, it would have been within the knowledge ordinary skilled artisan;
“determining an action to perform based in part on the fused sensor data… controlling the autonomous vehicle… actuating… motors” is not taught by Zeng. Ferguson teaches trajectory-based action at Col. 9, lines 1–9 stating: “determine a driving path… series of speeds and directional headings to effect movement…,” which would have been obvious to apply to Zeng’s calibrated sensor outputs to produce more accurate outcome for the safer autonomous driving experience.
Claim 3, “first sensor and second sensor are pre-calibrated prior to installation.” Zeng teaches calibration but not pre-installation calibration (paras [0030]–[0033]). Ferguson teaches adjusting intrinsic/extrinsic parameters at Col. 4, lines 30–45. It would have been obvious to perform calibration earlier in the manufacturing pipeline because Ferguson recognizes sensor parameter tuning, and pre-calibration is merely a design choice that achieves the same known goal of alignment accuracy.
Claim 4, “determining the action comprises generating a trajectory.” Zeng does not explicitly teach trajectory generation. Ferguson teaches path planning at Col. 9, lines 1–9. Combining trajectory planning with Zeng’s calibrated sensing would have been obvious because trajectory planning requires reliable perception, and Zeng provides improved sensor reliability.
Claims 5 and 18, “generating fused sensor data… generating a trajectory… controlling the vehicle based in part on the trajectory.” Zeng lacks fusion and trajectory control but teaches multi-sensor calibration (para [0027]). Ferguson teaches fusion (Col. 8, lines 24–32) and navigation/pathing (Col. 9, lines 1–9). It would have been obvious to integrate Zeng’s alignment techniques into Ferguson’s autonomous driving stack to improve robustness of trajectory decisions based on calibrated data, a predictable improvement in AV systems.
Claim 6, “pre-calibrated prior to installation.” Zeng does not explicitly teach; Ferguson teaches sensor parameter adjustment (Col. 4, lines 30–45). The modification represents a known variation of calibration timing and would have been obvious to implement.
Claim 7, “transmitting the trajectory to a motion controller… actuating motors.” Zeng lacks actuation. Ferguson teaches propulsion and actuator control at Col. 6, lines 20–28 and Col. 7, lines 40–48. It would have been obvious to connect Ferguson’s actuator system to Zeng’s controller to enable automated driving, since actuator-based control is fundamental in autonomous vehicles.
Claim 10, “aligning… sensor data with map data relative to a global coordinate system.” Zeng aligns sensors relative to ground truth fixtures (para [0033]) but not global maps. Ferguson teaches GPS-based global positioning at Col. 15, lines 33–40. It would have been obvious to use Ferguson’s global localization with Zeng’s calibrated sensors to improve environmental understanding.
Claim 12, “determining that the first sensor is miscalibrated… generating a calibration parameter… modifying a parameter.” Taught directly by Zeng paras [0027], [0036]; Ferguson merely reinforces the concept via Col. 4, lines 30–45.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, , 11, 13-16, 17, 19-21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MASUD . AHMED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3657A
/MASUD AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657