DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/17/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 8, the claim recites “wo”, which appears to be a typographical error. Examiner suggests changing “wo” to “two”.
For purposes of examination, the Examiner will be interpreting “wo” as “two”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Wyler et al. (US 5270693).
As to claim 1, Wylder discloses an electro-optical device [abstract & fig. 3] comprising:
a substrate (mounting plane 27 & octagonal glass sheet 36) [figs. 3-5 & col. 5 lines 1-17 & 54-67];
signal lines (scan lines and data lines) [figs. 4-5 & col. 6 lines 18-31] extending in a first direction and arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction on the substrate;
a pixel area (pixel area with electrodes corresponding to circle 30) [figs. 3-5 & col. 5 lines 1-17 & 31-43] in which pixel electrodes are disposed;
a signal output circuit (column driver circuits 10, 11, 12, 13 & row driver circuits 20, 21, 22, 23) [figs. 3-5 & col. 5 lines 54-67] disposed outside the pixel area [fig. 3] and outputting driving signals to the signal lines [figs. 3-5 & col. 5 lines 31-43], the signal output circuit including circuit blocks arranged along an outer peripheral edge of the pixel area (column driver circuits 10, 11, 12, 13 & row driver circuits 20, 21, 22, 23) [figs. 3-5 & col. 5 lines 31-43 & 54-67]; and
connection wirings (wiring that connects column driver circuits and row driver circuits to corresponding data lines and scan lines, respectively) [figs. 3-5 & col. 6 lines18-31], each connecting one of the circuit blocks to a corresponding one of the signal lines (wiring that connects column driver circuits and row driver circuits to corresponding data lines and scan lines, respectively) [figs. 3-5 & col. 6 lines18-31], wherein
the outer peripheral edge of the pixel area has a curved portion or a bent portion (curved portion formed by seal between circle 30 & circle 35) [figs. 3-5 & col. 5 lines 1-17], and a straight-line portion contacting the curved portion or the bent portion (at 12, 3, 6, 9 o’clock portion, straight-line contacting curved seal) [fig. 3],
the signal output circuit includes a first circuit group (column driver circuits 10, 11, 12, 13) [figs. 3-5 & col. 5 lines 54-67] and a second circuit group (row driver circuits 20, 21, 22, 23) [figs. 3-5 & col. 5 lines 54-67],
the first circuit group includes first ones of the circuit blocks facing the curved portion or the bent portion (column driver circuits 10 & 11 facing towards curved seal) [figs. 3-4],
the second circuit group includes second ones of the circuit blocks facing the straight-line portion (row driver circuits 20 & 21 facing straight edges) [figs. 3 & 5], and
a first gap between the first circuit group and the second circuit group faces the curved portion or the bent portion (gap between column driver circuit 11 & row driver circuit 20, facing curved seal) [fig. 3].
As to claim 2, Wylder discloses the electro-optical device according to claim 1, wherein the outer peripheral edge has a contact portion (straight line meets curved seal at 12 o’clock between column driver circuit 11 & row driver circuit 20) [fig. 3] where the straight-line portion contacts the curved portion or the bent portion, and
the first gap faces the contact portion (between column driver circuit 11 & row driver circuit 20) [fig. 3].
As to claim 3, Wylder discloses the electro-optical device according to claim 1, wherein the first circuit group has a second gap between two of the circuit blocks included in the first circuit group (note gap between column driver circuits 10 & 11) [figs. 3-4].
As to claim 4, Wylder discloses the electro-optical device according to claim 3, wherein the first circuit group has a third gap between two of the circuit blocks included in the first circuit group (gap between column driver 10 & 12) [fig. 3],
the second gap is disposed between the first gap and the third gap (gap between column driver 10 & 11 between gap between column driver 11 & row driver 20 as well as column drivers 10 & 12) [fig. 3], and
the second gap is smaller than the third gap [fig. 3].
As to claim 5, Wylder discloses the electro-optical device according to claim 3, wherein the second gap is smaller than the first gap [figs. 3-4].
As to claim 6, Wylder discloses an electro-optical device [abstract & fig. 3] comprising:
a substrate (mounting plane 27 & octagonal glass sheet 36) [figs. 3-5 & col. 5 lines 1-17 & 54-67];
signal lines (scan lines and data lines) [figs. 4-5 & col. 6 lines 18-31] extending in a first direction and arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction on the substrate;
a pixel area (pixel area with electrodes corresponding to circle 30) [figs. 3-5 & col. 5 lines 1-17 & 31-43] in which pixel electrodes are disposed;
a signal output circuit (column driver circuits 10, 11, 12, 13 & row driver circuits 20, 21, 22, 23) [figs. 3-5 & col. 5 lines 54-67] disposed outside the pixel area [fig. 3] and outputting driving signals to the signal lines [figs. 3-5 & col. 5 lines 31-43], the signal output circuit including circuit blocks arranged along an outer peripheral edge of the pixel area (column driver circuits 10, 11, 12, 13 & row driver circuits 20, 21, 22, 23) [figs. 3-5 & col. 5 lines 31-43 & 54-67]; and
connection wirings (wiring that connects column driver circuits and row driver circuits to corresponding data lines and scan lines, respectively) [figs. 3-5 & col. 6 lines18-31], each connecting one of the circuit blocks to a corresponding one of the signal lines (wiring that connects column driver circuits and row driver circuits to corresponding data lines and scan lines, respectively) [figs. 3-5 & col. 6 lines18-31], wherein
the outer peripheral edge of the pixel area has a curved portion or a bent portion facing the signal output circuit (curved portion formed by seal between circle 30 & circle 35) [figs. 3-5 & col. 5 lines 1-17],
an edge of the substrate has two straight-line parts connecting with each other at corner part of the edge (top straight-line portion joining to diagonal corner portion) [figs. 3-5],
at least one of the two straight-line parts faces to the curved portion or the bent portion (at 12, 3, 6, 9 o’clock portion, straight-line contacting curved seal) [fig. 3],
some of the circuit blocks are disposed between the at least one of the two straight- line parts and the curved portion or between the at least one of the two straight-line parts and the bent portion [figs. 3-5], and
the some of the circuit blocks are arranged in a linear manner along the at least one of the two straight-line parts (column driver circuits 10 & 11 arranged along diagonal corner portion of straight-line) [figs. 3-5].
As to claim 7, Wylder discloses the electro-optical device according to claim 6, wherein some of the circuit blocks are arranged in a linear manner along a first one of the two straight-line parts (column driver circuits 10 & 11 arranged along diagonal corner portion of straight-line) [figs. 3-5], and others of the circuit blocks are arranged in a linear manner along a second one of the two straight-line parts (column driver circuit 11 & row driver circuit 20 arranged along top straight-line portion) [fig. 3].
As to claim 8, Wylder discloses the electro-optical device according to claim 6 wherein a first one of the two straight-line parts extend in a direction different from the first and second directions (straight-line corresponding to diagonal corner portion) [figs. 3-5], and
a second one of the wo straight-line parts extend in the second direction (top straight-line portion) [fig. 3].
As to claim 9, Wylder discloses the electro-optical device according to claim 6, wherein some of the circuit blocks are arranged in a direction different from the first and second directions (column driver circuits 10 & 11) [figs. 3-4], and
others of the circuit blocks are arranged in the second direction (column driver circuit 11 & row driver circuit 20) [fig. 3].
As to claim 10, Wylder discloses the electro-optical device according to claim 6, wherein the corner part faces to the curved portion or the bent portion in the first direction [figs. 3-5].
As to claim 11, Wylder discloses the electro-optical device according to claim 6, wherein a first one of the two straight-line parts extend in a direction different from the first and second directions (straight-line corresponding to diagonal corner portion) [figs. 3-5],
a second one of the two straight-line parts extend in the second direction (top straight-line portion) [fig. 3],
the second one of the two straight-line parts faces some of the circuit blocks arranged in a direction different from the first and second directions (column driver circuit 11) [fig. 3], and others of the circuit blocks arranged in the second direction (column driver circuit 11 & row driver circuit 20) [fig. 3].
Conclusion
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622