DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The Amendment filed 8/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 6 were amended, and claims 4-5 were cancelled. Thus, claims 1-3 and 6-8 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the amplification processing” in line 28, and is suggested to read --the amplification-- in order to more clearly reference how this limitation was originally claimed.
Claim 1 recites “the filtering processing” in line 29, and is suggested to read --the filtering-- in order to more clearly reference how this limitation was originally claimed.
Claim 1 recites “the linearization processing” in lines 30-31, and is suggested to read --the linearization-- in order to more clearly reference how this limitation was originally claimed.
Claim 6 recites “the amplification processing” in line 15, and is suggested to read --the amplification-- in order to more clearly reference how this limitation was originally claimed.
Claim 6 recites “the filtering processing” in line 16, and is suggested to read --the filtering-- in order to more clearly reference how this limitation was originally claimed.
Claim 6 recites “the linearization processing” in line 18, and is suggested to read --the linearization-- in order to more clearly reference how this limitation was originally claimed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a stable and reliable electrical signal” in lines 27-28 is confusing, as it is unclear whether this limitation is meant to be the same as or different from “an electrical signal” in line 11. For the purposes of examination, they will be interpreted as the same limitation. Moreover, the phrase "other" in line 30 renders the claim indefinite because the claim includes elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "other"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 6, the limitations “amplification” in line 14, “filtering” in line 14, “linearization” in line 14, “a stable and reliable electrical signal” in lines 14-15, “noise, spurious components, or other unwanted frequency components” in line 17 are confusing, as it is unclear whether these limitations are meant to be the same as or different from “amplification”, “filtering”, “linearization”, “a stable and reliable electrical signal”, and “noise, spurious components, or other unwanted frequency components” in claim 1, respectively. For the purposes of examination, they will be interpreted as the same respective limitations. Moreover, the phrase "other" in line 17 renders the claim indefinite because the claim includes elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "other"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Any remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen et al. (US 2023/0414976 A1) in view of Nakano et al. (US 2021/0020884 A1), Hashimoto et al. (KR 2018/0064284 A, see attached translation), Sheeks et al. (US 2018/0198294 A1), Anstine et al. (US 2003/0223877 A1), and Gatley et al. (US 2010/0076606 A1), or alternatively over Jensen in view of Nakano, Hashimoto, Sheeks, Anstine, Gatley, and Duquette et al. (US 2015/0007815 A1).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Jensen discloses an atmospheric pressure compensation control system for a powered air-purifying respirator (powered air purifying respirator, i.e. PAPR, controlled by sensed pressure) (abstract), comprising a main unit and a battery pack (whole PAPR 500 device except the battery 514 as the main unit, and the battery 514 as the battery pack) (Figs. 3-5, 8; para. [0067]), wherein
a collection module (inlet pressure sensor 542 and/or outlet pressure sensor 543) (Figs. 3-5, 8; paras. [0067-0068]), and a chamber of the main unit contains a control module (PAPR 500 would have a housing with space inside for its components; motor controller 512 is inside the PAPR 500) (Figs. 3-5, 8; paras. [0067-0068]); the main unit comprises a microcontroller;
the collection module is configured to perform real-time detection of an actual atmospheric pressure (inlet pressure sensor 542 can continuously sense the current ambient air pressure) (Figs. 3-5, 8; para. [0052]; para. [0068]);
the control module is configurable to dynamically adjust a speed of a fan in real time based on the pressure difference under different environmental conditions (motor controller 512 has a control algorithm 522 that adjusts a motor speed 504 for fan 502 based on readings from the inlet and outlet pressure sensors 542, 543, which include the pressure differential/pressure drop between the two pressure sensors which would occur at various environmental conditions such as changes in temperature; motor speed can be based on a received pressure drop) (Figs. 3-9; para. [0045]; para. [0067-0068]; para. [0075]; para. [0139]);
and the collection module comprises one or more atmospheric pressure sensors (inlet and outlet pressure sensors 542, 543) (Figs. 3-5, 8; para. [0067]), and the one or more atmospheric pressure sensors, the control module and the motor drive circuit are configured to automatically control the respirator, to enable real-time acquisition of atmospheric pressure data and automatic compensation (the motor controller 512, the control algorithm 522, and the inlet and outlet pressure sensors 542, 543 are all used in combination to automatically and continuously adjust the fan motor speed as needed; pressure sensors 542, 543 continuously collect current pressure data) (Figs. 3-9; para. [0045]; para. [0052]; para. [0067-0068]; para. [0075]; para. [0139]).
Jensen does not disclose at least one through hole is formed in an outer shell of the battery pack, and a waterproof breathable membrane is installed over the at least one through hole.
However, Nakano teaches a battery pack (Nakano; abstract) including at least one through hole is formed in an outer shell of the battery pack, and a waterproof breathable membrane is installed over the at least one through hole (battery pack has a gas discharge hole 3 though its outer case 1, with a breathable waterproof sheet 5 over hole 3) (Nakano; Fig. 3; paras. [0009-0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jensen battery pack to include at least one through hole formed in an outer shell of the battery pack, and a waterproof breathable membrane is installed over the at least one through hole, as taught by Nakano, for the purpose of enabling high-temperature gas to be ejected from the battery with a waterproof structure (Nakano; para. [0010]), thereby helping to protect the battery pack internals.
Jensen does not disclose a collection module is arranged inside a chamber of the battery pack; the collection module comprises one or more atmospheric pressure sensors installed inside the chamber of the battery pack.
However, Jensen does teach ambient pressure readings can be taken from an external source other than the inlet pressure sensor 542 built into the fan inlet (Jensen; para. [0068]; para. [0070]). Moreover, Hashimoto teaches a respiratory protective device (Hashimoto; translation para. [0001]) wherein a collection module is attached to the battery pack; the collection module comprising one or more pressure sensors (pressure sensor 7 can be attached to the battery unit 13) (Hashimoto; Fig. 2; translation para. [0043]). Furthermore, Sheeks teaches a battery pack (Sheeks; abstract) wherein a collection module is arranged inside a chamber of the battery pack; the collection module comprises one or more atmospheric sensors installed inside the chamber of the battery pack (battery pack 105, 205 can have an ambient air sensor inside a chamber of the housing 110, 210 to monitor outside of the housing 110, 210) (Sheeks; Fig. 4A; para. [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jensen collection module by including a pressure sensor to be attached to the battery pack, as taught by Hashimoto, for the purpose of providing the collection module with an alternate suitable location which one of ordinary skill in the art could reasonably expect to perform similarly well for the pressure sensor (Hashimoto; translation para. [0043]). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the modified Jensen collection module or pressure sensor attached to the battery pack to be arranged inside a chamber of the battery pack; the collection module comprising one or more atmospheric sensors installed inside the chamber of the battery pack, as taught by Sheeks, for the purpose of providing the collection module with an even more specific location on the battery pack which one of ordinary skill in the art could feasibly expect to perform reasonably well for sensing atmospheric parameters (Sheeks; para. [0089]).
With this modification, the modified Jensen would thus teach a collection module is arranged inside a chamber of the battery pack; the collection module comprises one or more atmospheric pressure sensors installed inside the chamber of the battery pack (the Jensen ambient pressure sensor is attached inside the chamber of the Jensen battery pack 512 as taught by Hashimoto and Sheeks) (Jensen, Figs. 3-5 and 8, para. [0030], para. [0067], para. [0070]; Hashimoto, Fig. 2, translation para. [0043]; Sheeks, Fig. 4A, para. [0089]).
Jensen does not disclose the chamber of the main unit contains a conditioning circuit; the main unit comprises a microcontroller; the conditioning circuit is configured to receive the actual atmospheric pressure and convert a pressure signal into an electrical signal; the microcontroller is configured to receive the electrical signal, calculate a specific atmospheric pressure value under current environmental conditions, and compare the specific atmospheric pressure with a laboratory standard atmospheric pressure to output a pressure difference; the control module is configured to dynamically adjust a speed of a fan in real time based on the pressure difference to maintain a constant internal and external pressure differential of the respirator under different environmental conditions; the control module is provided with a motor drive circuit inside, and the microcontroller uses the motor drive circuit to adjust the speed of the fan in real time, and is capable of automatically adjusting the speed of the fan based on preset parameters and environmental conditions; wherein the conditioning circuit is integrated on the collection module.
However, Anstine teaches a closed-loop blower (Anstine; abstract) wherein the chamber of the main unit contains a conditioning circuit (information from the external pressure transducer 42 is converted to an electrical signal, and so would require an internal circuit structure inside the device 10 housing to perform such a conversion) (Anstine; Figs. 1-5; para. [0020]) and a comparison module (controller 40 and its associated circuitry to receive ambient pressure readings and temperature readings for pressure adjustments would be inside the device 10 housing) (Anstine; Figs. 3, 5; para. [0017]; para. [0021]; para. [0024]); the main unit comprises a microcontroller (device housing 10 has a controller 40 inside, which can be a micro-controller) (Anstine; Fig. 3; para. [0016]); the conditioning circuit is configured to receive the actual atmospheric pressure and convert a pressure signal into an electrical signal (information from the external pressure transducer 42 is converted to an electrical signal, and so would require a circuit structure to perform such a conversion) (Anstine; Figs. 3-5; para. [0020]); the microcontroller is configured to receive the electrical signal, calculate a specific atmospheric pressure value under current environmental conditions (controller 40 has circuitry to receive and process ambient pressure readings from the pressure transducer 42) (Anstine; Figs. 3, 5; para. [0017]; para. [0021]; para. [0024]), and compare the specific atmospheric pressure with a laboratory standard atmospheric pressure to output a pressure difference (the received pressure readings use look-up tables, i.e. standards, to adjust their values according to the temperature readings, and from that outputs an adjusted measured pressure differential value) (Anstine; Figs. 3, 5; para. [0017]; para. [0021]; para. [0024]); the control module is configured to dynamically adjust a speed of a fan in real time based on the pressure difference to maintain a constant internal and external pressure differential of the respirator under different environmental conditions (the controller 40 maintains the desired pressure differential by adjusting the fan motor speed after comparing the desired pressure differential to the measured pressure differential value adjusted by temperature) (Anstine; Fig. 5; paras. [0024-0025]); the control module is provided with a motor drive circuit inside (control circuit board 30 for the motor 14 and fan 16 would have associated circuity for them) (Anstine; Fig. 3; para. [0016]), and the microcontroller uses the motor drive circuit to adjust the speed of the fan in real time, and is capable of automatically adjusting the speed of the fan based on preset parameters and environmental conditions (controller 40 may be a micro-controller; controller 40 of the control circuit 30 uses hardware and software to control the operation of the motor 14; controller increases, decreases, or maintains the fan motor speed according to the current measured pressure differential, which can be affect by environmental conditions such as temperature which is also considered, versus the desired pressure differential) (Anstine; Figs. 3, 5; para. [0016]; paras. [0022-0025]); wherein the conditioning circuit is integrated on the collection module (information from the external pressure transducer 42 is converted to an electrical signal, and so would require an integrated circuit structure inside the device 10 housing to perform such a conversion) (Anstine; Figs. 1-5; para. [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jensen system’s main unit, collection module, and control module, such that the chamber of the main unit contains a conditioning circuit; the main unit comprises a microcontroller; the conditioning circuit is configured to receive the actual atmospheric pressure and convert a pressure signal into an electrical signal; the microcontroller is configured to receive the electrical signal, calculate a specific atmospheric pressure value under current environmental conditions, and compare the specific atmospheric pressure with a laboratory standard atmospheric pressure to output a pressure difference; the control module is configured to dynamically adjust a speed of a fan in real time based on the pressure difference to maintain a constant internal and external pressure differential of the respirator under different environmental conditions; the control module is provided with a motor drive circuit inside, and the microcontroller uses the motor drive circuit to adjust the speed of the fan in real time, and is capable of automatically adjusting the speed of the fan based on preset parameters and environmental conditions; wherein the conditioning circuit is integrated on the collection module, as taught by Anstine, for the purpose of providing the system with a precise means for controlling the motor via pressure sensing and feedback, and which takes into account pressure adjustments needed for ambient air temperature and/or the temperature of temperature-critical components (Anstine; para. [0017]; para. [0024]; para. [0026]).
Alternatively, if Anstine is not seen as definitively teaching the conditioning circuit, such that the chamber of the main unit contains the conditioning circuit, and the conditioning circuit is configured to receive the actual atmospheric pressure and convert a pressure signal into an electrical signal, wherein the conditioning circuit is integrated on the collection module, Duquette teaches a modular ventilator (Duquette; abstract) including the chamber of the main unit contains a conditioning circuit, and the conditioning circuit is configured to receive the actual atmospheric pressure and convert a pressure signal into an electrical signal, wherein the conditioning circuit is integrated on the collection module (conversion circuitry is integrated on the pressure sensors 4420A, 4420B) (Duquette; Fig. 34; para. [0168]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the modified Jensen device such that the Anstine external pressure transducer 42 has a conditioning circuit, such that the chamber of the main unit contains the conditioning circuit, and the conditioning circuit is configured to receive the actual atmospheric pressure and convert a pressure signal into an electrical signal, wherein the conditioning circuit is integrated on the collection module, as taught by Duquette, for the purpose of providing the Anstine external pressure transducer 42 with a specific conversion module structure which one of ordinary skill in the art could reasonably expect to perform similarly well to convert pressure sensor information into an electrical signal.
Jensen does not disclose the conditioning circuit, during the conversion of the pressure signal collected by the collection module into an electrical signal, employs amplification, filtering, and linearization to obtain a stable and reliable electrical signal; the amplification processing refers to the conditioning circuit amplifying the acquired pressure signal; the filtering processing refers to the application of filters to remove noise, spurious components, or other unwanted frequency components from the signal; the linearization processing refers to rectification of the signal, where the rectification includes full-wave rectification or half-wave rectification.
However, Gatley teaches an airflow control system (Gatley; abstract) wherein the conditioning circuit, during the conversion of the pressure signal collected by the collection module into an electrical signal, employs amplification, filtering, and linearization to obtain a stable and reliable electrical signal (controller 4 receives input from the vacuum sensor or pressure differential sensor; controller amplifies, filters, and rectifies this input) (Gatley; Fig. 2; para. [0004]; para. [0007]; para. [0025]; para. [0044]); the amplification processing refers to the conditioning circuit amplifying the acquired pressure signal (controller 4 amplifies the input from the vacuum sensor or pressure differential sensor 2) (Gatley; Fig. 2; para. [0007]; para. [0033]; para. [0044]); the filtering processing refers to the application of filters to remove noise, spurious components, or other unwanted frequency components from the signal (controller 4 filters high frequency out-of-pass-band noise signals from the input of the vacuum sensor or pressure differential sensor 2) (Gatley; Fig. 2; para. [0007]; para. [0044]); the linearization processing refers to rectification of the signal, where the rectification includes full-wave rectification (controller 4 rectifies the input from the vacuum sensor or pressure differential sensor 2 using phase control circuit 6 with integrated AC line zero crossing detection circuit 13, which includes a full wave rectifier) (Gatley; Fig. 2; para. [0025]; para. [0044]; para. [0065]; para. [0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the modified Jensen’s conditioning circuit such that the conditioning circuit, during the conversion of the pressure signal collected by the collection module into an electrical signal, employs amplification, filtering, and linearization to obtain a stable and reliable electrical signal; the amplification processing refers to the conditioning circuit amplifying the acquired pressure signal; the filtering processing refers to the application of filters to remove noise, spurious components, or other unwanted frequency components from the signal; the linearization processing refers to rectification of the signal, where the rectification includes full-wave rectification or half-wave rectification, as taught by Gatley, for the purpose of helping to ensure the output from the sensor is useful and avoids DC offset errors from noise signals (Gatley; para. [0033]; para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Jensen teaches wherein the electric signal comprises an analog signal, a digital signal or a communication signal (conditioning and conversion circuitry to convert the measured pressure value into analogue or digital form) (Duquette; para. [0076]).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, the modified Jensen teaches a control method of the atmospheric pressure compensation control system for a powered air-purifying respirator according to claim 1 (method of using the modified Jensen device as taught in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 above), comprising the following steps:
controlling the one or more atmospheric pressure sensors to acquire an actual atmospheric pressure in real time (external pressure transducer 42 measures the pressure from outside the blower) (Anstine; Figs. 3-5; para. [0020]; para. [0022]);
converting the acquired atmospheric pressure signal through a conditioning circuit to obtain the corresponding electrical signal (Duquette conversion circuitry on the Anstine pressure sensor transducer 42 to convert the measurement to the electrical signal) (Anstine, Figs. 3-5, para. [0020], para. [0022]; Duquette, para. [0168]);
based on the electrical signal obtained through conversion, calculating the specific atmospheric pressure value under current conditions (controller 40 has circuitry to receive and process ambient pressure readings from the pressure transducer 42) (Anstine; Figs. 3, 5; para. [0017]; para. [0021]; para. [0024]), and comparing the specific atmospheric pressure with the laboratory standard atmospheric pressure to output the pressure difference (the received pressure readings use look-up tables, i.e. standards, to adjust their values according to the temperature readings, and from that outputs an adjusted measured pressure differential value) (Anstine; Figs. 3, 5; para. [0017]; para. [0021]; para. [0024]);
and dynamically adjusting the speed of the fan in real time based on the pressure difference to maintain the constant internal and external pressure differential of the respirator under different environmental conditions (the controller 40 maintains the desired pressure differential by adjusting the fan motor speed of the blower after comparing the desired pressure differential to the measured pressure differential value adjusted by temperature) (Anstine; Fig. 5; paras. [0024-0025]);
wherein the conditioning circuit employs amplification, filtering, and linearization to obtain a stable and reliable electrical signal (controller 4 receives input from the vacuum sensor or pressure differential sensor; controller amplifies, filters, and rectifies this input) (Gatley; Fig. 2; para. [0004]; para. [0007]; para. [0025]; para. [0044]); the amplification processing refers to the conditioning circuit amplifying the acquired pressure signal (controller 4 amplifies the input from the vacuum sensor or pressure differential sensor 2) (Gatley; Fig. 2; para. [0007]; para. [0033]; para. [0044]); the filtering processing refers to the application of filters to remove noise, spurious components, or other unwanted frequency components from the signal (controller 4 filters high frequency out-of-pass-band noise signals from the input of the vacuum sensor or pressure differential sensor 2) (Gatley; Fig. 2; para. [0007]; para. [0044]); the linearization processing refers to rectification of the signal, where the rectification includes full-wave rectification (controller 4 rectifies the input from the vacuum sensor or pressure differential sensor 2 using phase control circuit 6 with integrated AC line zero crossing detection circuit 13, which includes a full wave rectifier) (Gatley; Fig. 2; para. [0025]; para. [0044]; para. [0065]; para. [0067]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen in view of Nakano, Hashimoto, Sheeks, Anstine, Gatley, and Duquette as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tumu et al. (US 2021/0379308 A1) and Mian et al. (US 2007/0062299 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Jensen teaches the invention as previously claimed, but does not teach wherein a power supply circuit is arranged in the main unit, and the power supply circuit is connected with the battery pack, and is used for adjusting an output voltage of the battery pack to a proper value to supply power to each module.
However, Tumu teaches a method for operating a blower (Tumu; abstract) wherein a power supply circuit is arranged in the main unit, and the power supply circuit is connected with the battery pack, and is used for adjusting an output voltage of the battery pack to a proper value to supply power (voltage control circuitry 307 in device 10 would be electrically connected to the removable power source, which can be a battery; voltage control circuitry 307 is used to adjust a motor voltage for powering the blower to according to the desired motor speed) (Tumu; Fig. 3; para. [0040]; para. [0049]). Moreover, Mian teaches a monitoring device for monitoring properties such as pressure (Mian; abstract; para. [0067]) wherein the power supply circuit is used for adjusting an output voltage a proper value to supply power to each module (processing module 60 adjusts the amount of power the power module 68 distributes to each of the other modules based on desired functionality) (Mian; para. [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jensen system to include a power supply circuit is arranged in the main unit, and the power supply circuit is connected with the battery pack, and is used for adjusting an output voltage of the battery pack to a proper value to supply power to each module, as taught by Tumu, for the purpose of ensuring the blower motor speed remains substantially consistent with a desired flowrate (Tumu; para. [0036]; para. [0049]). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the Tumu power supply circuit such that it is used for adjusting an output voltage a proper value to supply power to each module, as taught by Mian, for the purpose of conserving the available power while ensuring desired functionality (Mian; para. [0064]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen in view of Nakano, Hashimoto, Sheeks, Anstine, Gatley, and Duquette as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Birk et al. (US 2018/0045206 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Jensen teaches the invention as previously claimed, but does not teach wherein the microcontroller within the main unit is configured to control a drive motor using a Proportion Integration Differentiation (PID) algorithm to manage the speed of the fan.
However, Birk teaches an air filtration device (Birk; abstract) wherein the microcontroller within the main unit is configured to control a drive motor using a Proportion Integration Differentiation (PID) algorithm to manage the speed of the fan (controller can be a microprocessor; controller controls fan speed by supplying the fan motor with electrical current according to a proportional-integral-derivative (PID) control module) (Birk; para. [0144]; para. [0259]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Jensen microcontroller such that the main unit is configured to control a drive motor using a Proportion Integration Differentiation (PID) algorithm to manage the speed of the fan, as taught by Birk, for the purpose of ensuring the fan is accurately controlled to operate at a desired speed (Birk; abstract).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen in view of Nakano, Hashimoto, Sheeks, Anstine, Gatley, and Duquette as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Webb et al. (US 2022/0080228 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Jensen teaches the invention as previously claimed, including wherein the pressure difference is compared with a set pressure difference to determine a target fan speed, and based on the target fan speed and a current atmospheric pressure compensation status within the respirator, the speed of the fan is dynamically adjusted in real time (the measured pressure difference is compared to a desired differential pressure in step 214 to determine the needed motor speed; the current atmospheric pressure compensation status being the determination of whether the actual pressure is less than, more than, or equal to desired, as it steps 216, 220, 224, which is done before the determination of if/how motor speed should be adjusted) (Anstine; Figs. 3, 5; paras. [0022-0025]), but does not teach wherein an absolute value of the pressure difference is compared with a set pressure difference threshold.
However, Webb teaches a computing device for a respirator (Webb; abstract) wherein an absolute value of the pressure difference is compared with a set pressure difference threshold (a device is determined to be unsatisfactory if the absolute differential air pressure between ambient air and air pressure in a sealed space falls below a threshold) (Webb; [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Jensen method such that it includes an absolute value of the pressure difference is compared with a set pressure difference threshold, as taught by Webb, for the purpose of providing the system with one calculation that can be used to determine if a differential air pressure is unsatisfactory for a device, regardless of whether that air pressure difference is positive or negative (Webb; [0063]), thereby helping to simplify or streamline the method calculations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 6-9 in the “Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103” section of the Applicant’s remarks with respect to the newly added amplification, filtering, and linearization limitations have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection with new additional Gatley reference being used in the current rejection as discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACQUELINE M PINDERSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785