DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of delivery device (species 1, Fig. 2); implant species s, Fig. 50A in the reply filed on May 26, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-17 have been examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities. It appears claim 3 should depend on 2 instead of itself. For examination, it is assumed that claim 3 depends on claim 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11141144 in view of Winslow et al. (US 20070016196 A1).
The patented claims disclose all elements of the claimed invention except for a fixation device.
Winslow et al. disclose an inter-cervical facet implant to distract a facet joint wherein a fixation device is used to secure the implant to the adjacent bone (Fig. 11 and paras [0059], [0061], [0065], [0071]-[0072] and [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided an implant in combination with a fixation device as taught by Winslow et al. for the predictable result of secure engagement of the implant with adjacent bone for spinal fixation.
Claims 11-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11141144 and Winslow et al. (US 20070016196 A1) further in view of Lipovsek et al. (US 4736738).
The combination of the patented claims and Winslow et al. discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for providing the various instruments in a kit configuration.
It is well known to provide the instruments used for spinal surgery in a kit configuration for ease of access to instruments that are specifically adapted for use in a specific procedure, as evidenced by Lipovsek et al. (col. 2, lines 26-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the various instrumentation of the system of the combination of the patented claims and Winslow et al., in a kit configuration, as taught by Lipovsek et al., for ease of access to instruments that are specifically adapted for use in a specific procedure.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10149673 in view of Winslow et al. (US 20070016196 A1).
The patented claims disclose all elements of the claimed invention except for a fixation device.
Winslow et al. disclose an inter-cervical facet implant to distract a facet joint wherein a fixation device is used to secure the implant to the adjacent bone (Fig. 11 and paras [0059], [0061], [0065], [0071]-[0072] and [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided an implant in combination with a fixation device as taught by Winslow et al. for the predictable result of secure engagement of the implant with adjacent bone for spinal fixation.
Claims 11-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10149673 and Winslow et al. (US 20070016196 A1) further in view of Lipovsek et al. (US 4736738).
The combination of the patented claims and Winslow et al. discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for providing the various instruments in a kit configuration.
It is well known to provide the instruments used for spinal surgery in a kit for ease of access to instruments that are specifically adapted for use in a specific procedure, as evidenced by Lipovsek et al. (col. 2, lines 26-34).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the various instrumentation of the system of the combination of the patented claims and Winslow et al. in a kit configuration, as taught by Lipovsek et al., for ease of access to instruments that are specifically adapted for use in a specific procedure.
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-20 of copending Application No. 17/477,847 (issued but not printed as of the date of preparation of this Office Action) in view of Winslow et al. (US 20070016196 A1).
The patented claims disclose all elements of the claimed invention except for a fixation device.
Winslow et al. disclose an inter-cervical facet implant to distract a facet joint wherein a fixation device is used to secure the implant to the adjacent bone (Fig. 11 and paras [0059], [0061], [0065], [0071]-[0072] and [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided an implant of the issued claims in combination with a fixation device as taught by Winslow et al. for the predictable result of secure engagement of the implant with adjacent bone for spinal fixation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 9 and 10 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Winslow et al. (US 20070016196 A1) and Heinz (US 7776045) in view of Steffee (US 5716415).
Winslow et al. disclose a facet joint distraction system including: a spinal implant (800, Fig. 11); and a fixation device (840, Fig. 11) wherein the implant is used to distracting a facet joint in a cervical spine (paras [0071]-[0078]).
Winslow et al. disclose all elements of the claimed invention except for: (1) a driver assembly including a first tubular shaft; a pair of implant holder arms positioned on a distal end of the first tubular shaft, the arms configured to hold a spinal implant; and (2) a delivery device including a second tubular shaft; and a pair of tines extending from a distal end of the second tubular shaft, the tines adapted to penetrate a facet joint, wherein the second tubular shaft is adapted to slidably receive the driver assembly.
Heinz discloses a distractor or delivery device including a pair of distraction members or tines 42, 44 to facilitate access and viewing of vertebrae during a surgical procedure (Figs. 1 and 11-15, col. 2, lines 27-67, cols. 3-8 and col. 9, lines 1-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized a distractor or delivery device, as taught by Heinz, to provide access to the specific joint, for insertion of the Winslow et al. implant, to enable viewing of the vertebrae.
The combination of Winslow et al. and Heinz discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for a driver assembly including a first tubular shaft; a pair of implant holder arms positioned on a distal end of the first tubular shaft, the arms configured to hold a spinal implant.
Steffee discloses an instrument for holding and delivering a wedge shaped implant (Fig. 4, col. 2, lines 26-67, cols. 3-7 and col. 8, lines 1-48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the driver assembly of Steffee in the system of the combination of Winslow et al. and Heinz for the predictable result of secure engagement with an implant for proper insertion of the implant in a prepared surgical site.
The method steps of claim 10 are rendered obvious by the above discussion. The system of the combination of Winslow et al. and Heinz is fully capable of being used in a cervical facet joint based on the disclosure of Winslow et al. that their apparatus finds application in both open and minimally invasive procedures including endoscopic and arthroscopic procedures, including joint repair and spinal stabilization and spinal fusion, wherein access to the surgical site is achieved through a cannula or small incision.
Claims 2-7 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Winslow et al. (US 20070016196 A1), Heinz (US 7776045) and Steffee (US 5716415), further in view of Martz et al. (US 2005/0038511 A1).
The combination of Winslow et al., Heinz and Steffee discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for various instrumentation used during implant insertion.
Martz et al. teach the use of a chisel (Fig. 30a) and a decorticator (Fig. 86c) with an abrasive end for preparing bone to receive an implant. Each of the instruments has a shaft that is capable of being received in the delivery device of Branch et al.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized bone preparation instruments, as taught by Martz et al., to prepare bone when utilizing the implant and delivery device of the combination of Winslow et al., Heinz and Steffee because it was well known to use bone preparation instruments to prepare a site for receipt of an implant so that the bone surfaces conform to the implant surfaces and to remove any diseased or damaged bone.
Claim 8 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Winslow et al. (US 20070016196 A1), Heinz (US 7776045) and Steffee (US 5716415) further in view of Melkent (US 20080161810 A1).
The combination of Winslow et al., Heinz, Steffee and Melkent discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for an implant having teeth on the surface contacting the upper spinous process of the facet joint.
Melkent discloses a type of facet joint implant with a fixation member wherein both the upper and lower surfaces have teeth to promote bone growth and adhesion of the implant to the surrounding bone (Fig. 2 and para [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided teeth on both surfaces to promote bone growth and adhesion, as taught by Melkent.
Claim 11 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Winslow et al. (US 20070016196 A1), Heinz (US 7776045) and Steffee (US 5716415), in view of Lipovsek et al. (US 4736738).
The combination of Winslow et al., Heinz and Steffee discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for providing the various instruments in a kit configuration.
It is well known to provide the instruments used for spinal surgery in a kit configuration for ease of access to instruments that are specifically adapted for use in a specific procedure, as evidenced by Lipovsek et al. (col. 2, lines 26-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the various instrumentation of the system of the combination of Winslow et al., Heinz and Steffee, as taught by Lipovsek et al., for ease of access to instruments that are specifically adapted for use in a specific procedure.
Claims 12-17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Winslow et al. (US 20070016196 A1), Heinz (US 7776045), Steffee (US 5716415) and Lipovsek et al. (US 4736738), as applied to claim 11, further in view of Martz et al. (US 2005/0038511 A1).
The combination of Winslow et al., Heinz, Steffee, and Lipovsek et al. discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for various instrumentation used during implant insertion..
Martz et al. teach the use of a chisel (Fig. 30a) and a decorticator (Fig. 86c) with an abrasive end for preparing bone to receive an implant. Each of the instruments has a shaft that is capable of being received in the delivery device of Heinz.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized bone preparation instruments, as taught by Martz et al., to prepare bone when utilizing the implant and delivery device of the combination of Winslow et al., Heinz, Steffee and Lipovsek et al. because it was well known to use bone preparation instruments to prepare a site for receipt of an implant so that the bone surfaces conform to the implant surfaces and to remove any diseased or damaged bone.
Conclusion
Conflicting claims are found in related applications 19/028821; 17/592,579 and 17/828,115 which are pending and not issued as patents. Double-patenting rejections based on the referenced applications is dependent on the final scope of claims in the instant application and the referenced applications.
July 22, 2026
/Anu Ramana/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775