DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 17 January 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements is/are being considered by the examiner.
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached IDSs have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is invited to point out any particular reference(s) in the IDS that they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this Office Action. It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff ’d, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claims 21 and 34 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Kearns et al. US 2014/0052305.
Regarding Claims 21 and 34, Kearns teaches a system comprising:
an (Alternating Current) AC network (electric grid 102, fig. 2B); and
a plurality of energy storage devices (energy source 224, fig. 2B),
wherein each energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices comprises: a plurality of batteries (one or more batteries 227, fig. 2B); and
a bidirectional converter (bidirectional power converter 225, fig. 2B) comprising: battery terminals configured to connect the plurality of batteries to the bidirectional converter; and AC terminals configured to connect the bidirectional converter to the AC network (the power controllers 222 include one or more bidirectional power converters 225 (shown in FIGS. 2B and 2C) that are capable of quickly converting stored DC energy found in the energy source 224 to the grid AC electricity and grid AC electricity back to DC energy that is stored in the energy source 224, refer to [0063).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 22, 23, and 33 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kearns et al. US 2014/0052305, in view of Song et al. US 2012/0153729.
Regarding Claim 22, Kearns teaches all of the limitations of Claim 21 above however is silent wherein each energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices is configured to charge and discharge the plurality of batteries of the energy storage device independently of other energy storage devices of the plurality of energy storage devices.
Song teaches wherein each energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices is configured to charge and discharge the plurality of batteries of the energy storage device independently of other energy storage devices of the plurality of energy storage devices (refer to [0008] and [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the arrangement as taught by Song with the system of Kearns in order to improve the efficiency of balancing of the batteries.
Regarding Claim 23, Kearns teaches all of the limitations of Claim 21 above however is silent wherein each energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices is configured to charge and discharge the plurality of batteries of the energy storage device to a same predetermined level of charge at a same time.
Soong teaches wherein each energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices is configured to charge and discharge the plurality of batteries of the energy storage device to a same predetermined level of charge at a same time (refer to [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the arrangement as taught by Song with the system of Kearns in order to improve the efficiency of balancing of the batteries.
Regarding Claim 33, Kearns teaches all of the limitations of Claim 21 above however is silent wherein the plurality of energy storage devices comprise: a first energy storage device, wherein the plurality of batteries of the first energy storage device are connected in series; and a second energy storage device, wherein the plurality of batteries of the second energy storage device are connected in parallel.
Song teaches wherein the plurality of energy storage devices comprise: a first energy storage device, wherein the plurality of batteries of the first energy storage device are connected in series; and a second energy storage device, wherein the plurality of batteries of the second energy storage device are connected in parallel (refer to [0007], [0008] and [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the arrangement as taught by Song with the system of Kearns in order to improve the efficiency of balancing of the batteries.
Claims 24-33 and 35-40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kearns et al. US 2014/0052305, in view of Agarwal et al. 9,018,892.
Regarding Claim 24, Kearns teaches all of the limitations of Claim 21 above however is silent wherein each energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices further comprises a plurality of battery balancers; and wherein, in each energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices, each battery balancer of the plurality of battery balancers is connected to a respective battery of the plurality of batteries.
Agarwal teaches wherein each energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices further comprises a plurality of battery balancers; and wherein, in each energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices, each battery balancer of the plurality of battery balancers is connected to a respective battery of the plurality of batteries (refer to abstract, fig. 3, col. 5, lines 33-36, and col. 6, lines 8-38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the arrangement as taught by Agarwal with the system of Kearns in order to improve the efficiency of balancing of the batteries.
Regarding Claims 25-32, the combination of Kearns, Song and Agarwal teaches all of the limitations of Claim 24 and further teaches wherein, in each energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices, the plurality of battery balancers comprise a (Direct Current) DC/DC converter; each energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices further comprises a controller configured to adjust conversion ratios of the plurality of battery balancers; in at least one energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices, the plurality of batteries of the at least one energy storage device are connected in parallel; in the at least one energy storage device, the plurality of battery balancers of the at least one energy storage device are configured to charge and discharge, using a voltage reference, the plurality of batteries of the at least one energy storage device to a same predetermined level of charge at a same time; in the at least one energy storage device, a conversion ratio of at least one of the plurality of battery balancers of the at least one energy storage device is based on the voltage reference; in at least one energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices, the plurality of batteries of the at least one energy storage device are connected in series; in the at least one energy storage device, the plurality of battery balancers of the at least one energy storage device are configured to charge and discharge, using a current reference, the plurality of batteries of the at least one energy storage device to a same predetermined level of charge at a same time; in the at least one energy storage device, a conversion ratio of at least one of the plurality of battery balancers of the at least one energy storage device is based on the current reference (refer to abstract, col. 3 line 57 to col 4 line 3 col. 5 lines 38-64, col. 6 lines 8-38, col. 11 lines 1-14 of Agarwal).
Regarding Claims 35-40, Kearns teaches all of the limitations of Claim 34 above however is silent wherein the plurality of batteries of at least one energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices are connected in parallel; and wherein the transferring the power further comprises: setting a voltage reference for the at least one energy storage device; and transferring the power based on the voltage reference; wherein the plurality of batteries of at least one energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices are connected in series; and wherein the transferring the power further comprises: setting a current reference for the at least one energy storage device; and transferring the power based on the current reference; wherein the plurality of batteries of a first energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices are connected in parallel; wherein the plurality of batteries of a second energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices are connected in series; and wherein the transferring the power further comprises: setting a voltage reference for the first energy storage device; setting a current reference for the second energy storage device; and transferring the power based on the voltage reference and the current reference; wherein the transferring the power further comprises: charging the plurality of batteries of each energy store device of the plurality of energy storage devices to a same predetermined level of charge at a same time; wherein the transferring the power further comprises: discharging the plurality of batteries of each energy store device of the plurality of energy storage devices to a same predetermined level of charge at a same time; wherein the transferring the power further comprises: determining a conversion ratio for each of the plurality of batteries of at least one energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices.
Agarwal teaches wherein the plurality of batteries of at least one energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices are connected in parallel; and wherein the transferring the power further comprises: setting a voltage reference for the at least one energy storage device; and transferring the power based on the voltage reference; wherein the plurality of batteries of at least one energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices are connected in series; and wherein the transferring the power further comprises: setting a current reference for the at least one energy storage device; and transferring the power based on the current reference; wherein the plurality of batteries of a first energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices are connected in parallel; wherein the plurality of batteries of a second energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices are connected in series; and wherein the transferring the power further comprises: setting a voltage reference for the first energy storage device; setting a current reference for the second energy storage device; and transferring the power based on the voltage reference and the current reference; wherein the transferring the power further comprises: charging the plurality of batteries of each energy store device of the plurality of energy storage devices to a same predetermined level of charge at a same time; wherein the transferring the power further comprises: discharging the plurality of batteries of each energy store device of the plurality of energy storage devices to a same predetermined level of charge at a same time; wherein the transferring the power further comprises: determining a conversion ratio for each of the plurality of batteries of at least one energy storage device of the plurality of energy storage devices (refer to abstract, col. 3 line 57 to col 4 line 3 col. 5 lines 38-64, col. 6 lines 8-38, col. 11 lines 1-14 of Agarwal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the arrangement as taught by Agarwal with the system of Kearns in order to improve the efficiency of balancing of the batteries.
Conclusion
/BRIAN K BAXTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
29 December 2025
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836