DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Application 19028396
US Patent NO. 11626748
1. A mobile computing device for providing cellular communication, comprising:
a display;
a battery;
a conductive pattern for wirelessly transmitting or receiving power;
a connector for transmitting or receiving power via a wire;
communication circuitry for communicating with another computing device;
memory comprising one or more storage media and storing instructions; and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the display, the, battery, the conductive pattern, the connector, the communication circuitry, and the memory;
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the mobile computing device to:
supply, via the conductive pattern, first power wirelessly from battery to a first external device,
supply, via the connector, second power via the wire to a second external device for performing an on-the-go (OTG) function of the second external device, and
display, on the display, first information and second information concurrently based on the first power and the second power being wirelessly supplied to the first external device and the second information indicates that the second external device is connected to the mobile computing device to perform the OTG function.
2. The mobile computing device of claim 1, further comprising: power management circuitry electrically connected with the battery for managing power supplied to components of the mobile computing device including the connector and the conductive pattern, wherein the power management circuitry is further configured to:
change a first voltage of a power output by the battery into a second voltage to generate the first power and the second power, the second voltage being higher than the first voltage, and supply the first power having the second voltage to the conductive pattern, and the second power having the second voltage to the connector.
1. A mobile computing device for providing cellular communication, comprising:
a display;
a battery;
a conductive pattern for wirelessly transmitting or receiving power;
a connector for transmitting or receiving power via a wire;
a communication module for communicating with another computing device;
a power management module electrically connected with the battery for managing power supplied to components of the mobile computing device including the connector and the conductive pattern;
a processor; and
a memory storing instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the mobile computing device to:
supply, via control of the power management module, power from the battery to the conductive pattern to wirelessly transmit first power to a first external device, supply, via control of the power management module, power from the battery to the connector to transmit second power via the wire to a second external device for performing an on-the-go (OTG) function of the second external device,
display, on the display, first information and second information concurrently, based on the first power and the second power being concurrently transmitted, and while the second external device is connected to the connector for the an OTG connection, receive data from the second external device through the connector while transmitting the first and second power from the battery,
wherein the first information indicates that the first power is being wirelessly transmitted to the first external device and the second information indicates that the second external device is connected to the mobile computing device to perform the OTG function, and wherein the power management module is further configured to:
change a first voltage of a power output by the battery into a second voltage to generate the first power and the second power, the second voltage being higher than the first voltage, and supply the first power having the second voltage to the conductive pattern, and the second power having the second voltage to the connector.
3. The mobile computing device of claim 2 wherein the connector further comprises a quick charging interface configured to charge another battery included in at least one of the first and second external devices to a voltage level selected from a plurality of voltage levels, and wherein the quick charging interface is electrically connected with the connector and/or the conductive pattern.
2. The mobile computing device of claim 1, wherein the connector further comprises a quick charging interface configured to charge another battery included in at least one of the first and the second external devices to a voltage level selected from a plurality of voltage levels, and wherein the quick charging interface is electrically connected with the connector and/or the conductive pattern.
4. The mobile computing device of claim 3 wherein the power management circuitry is further configured to: receive information on charging from the at least one of the first and second external devices; and select the voltage level from the plurality of voltage levels based on the received information.
3. The mobile computing device of claim 2, wherein the power management module is further configured to: receive information on charging from the at least one of the first and second external devices; and select the selected voltage level from the plurality of voltage levels based on the received information.
5. The mobile computing device of claim 2, wherein the power management circuitry is further configured to wirelessly or wiredly transmit power to the outside based on a user input.
4. The mobile computing device of claim 1, wherein the power management module is further configured to wirelessly or wiredly transmit power to the outside based on a user input.
6. The mobile computing device of claim 2, wherein the power management circuitry is further configured to display information related to the second external device on the display based on a signal received from the second external device through the connector.
5. The mobile computing device of claim 1, wherein the power management module is further configured to display information related to the second external device on the display based on a signal received from the second external device through the connector.
7. The mobile computing device of claim 2 wherein the power management circuitry comprises:
a first control circuit for controlling a current flow through the connector to the second external device; a second control circuit for controlling a current flow through the conductive pattern to the first external device; and a third control circuit electrically connected with the first control circuit, the second control circuit, and the battery, and wherein the third control circuit is configured to: change a voltage and a current from the battery, and provide the voltage and the current to the first control circuit or the second control circuit.
6. The mobile computing device of claim 1, wherein the power management module comprises: a first control circuit for controlling a current flow with the second external device connected through the connector; a second control circuit for controlling a current flow with the conductive pattern; and a third control circuit electrically connected with the first control circuit, the second control circuit, and the battery, and wherein the third control circuit is configured to: change a voltage and a current from the battery, and provide the voltage and the current to the first control circuit or the second control circuit.
8. The mobile computing device of claim 7, wherein at least one of the first control circuit or the second control circuit includes at least one switching element electrically connected between the connector or the third control circuit and the conductive pattern.
7. The mobile computing device of claim 6, wherein at least one of the first control circuit or the second control circuit includes at least one switching element electrically connected between the connector or the third control circuit and the conductive pattern.
9. The mobile computing device of claim 8, wherein the at least one switching element includes at least two transistor elements connected in series between the connector or the third control circuit and the conductive pattern.
8. The mobile computing device of claim 7, wherein the at least one switching element includes at least two transistor elements connected in series between the connector or the third control circuit and the conductive pattern.
10. The mobile computing device of claim 7, wherein the third control circuit includes a buck/boost converter and a logic circuit controlling the buck/boost converter.
9. The mobile computing device of claim 6, wherein the third control circuit includes a buck/boost converter and a logic circuit controlling the buck/boost converter.
11. The mobile computing device of claim 10 wherein the third control circuit further includes a charging switching circuit electrically connected between the buckboost converter and the battery, and wherein the logic circuit controls the charging switching circuit to prevent over-charging or over-discharging of the battery.
10. The mobile computing device of claim 9, wherein the third control circuit further includes a charging switching circuit electrically connected between the buck/boost converter and the battery, and wherein the logic circuit controls the charging switching circuit to prevent over-charging or over-discharging of the battery.
12. The mobile computing device of claim 11, wherein the connector is a universal serial bus (USB) connector.
11. The mobile computing device of claim 1, wherein the connector is a universal serial bus (USB) connector.
Claims 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-11 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11626748. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Current Application 19028396
US Patent NO. 11626748
13. A method performed by a mobile computing device with a display, a battery, a conductive pattern for wirelessly transmitting or receiving power, a connector for transmitting or receiving power via a wire, and communication circuitry for communicating with another computing device, the method comprising: supplying, via the conductive pattern, first power wirelessly from the battery to a first external device; supplying, via the connector, second power via the wire to a second external device for performing an on-the-go (OTG) function of the second external device; and displaying, on the display, first information and second information concurrently based on the first power and the second power being concurrently supplied, wherein the first information indicates that the first power is being wirelessly supplied to the first external device and the second information indicates that the second external device is connected to the mobile computing device to perform the OTG function.
1.A mobile computing device for providing cellular communication, comprising: a display; a battery; a conductive pattern for wirelessly transmitting or receiving power; a connector for transmitting or receiving power via a wire; a communication module for communicating with another computing device; a power management module electrically connected with the battery for managing power supplied to components of the mobile computing device including the connector and the conductive pattern; a processor; and a memory storing instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the mobile computing device to: supply, via control of the power management module, power from the battery to the conductive pattern to wirelessly transmit first power to a first external device, supply, via control of the power management module, power from the battery to the connector to transmit second power via the wire to a second external device for performing an on-the-go (OTG) function of the second external device, display, on the display, first information and second information concurrently, based on the first power and the second power being concurrently transmitted, and while the second external device is connected to the connector for the an OTG connection, receive data from the second external device through the connector while transmitting the first and second power from the battery, wherein the first information indicates that the first power is being wirelessly transmitted to the first external device and the second information indicates that the second external device is connected to the mobile computing device to perform the OTG function, and wherein the power management module is further configured to: change a first voltage of a power output by the battery into a second voltage to generate the first power and the second power, the second voltage being higher than the first voltage, and supply the first power having the second voltage to the conductive pattern, and the second power having the second voltage to the connector.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11626748. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the examined claim 13 fully encompasses the scope of the patented claim 1 of US 11626748.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2015/0194839 (Wojcik).
Regarding claim 1, Wojcik teaches a mobile computing device for providing cellular communication (Fig. 1 shows battery pack 100 with cellular communication) [0037], comprising:
a display (Fig. 1 shows display elements 192) [0025, 0038];
a battery (Fig. 1-5 shows battery 150) [0025-26, 0074];
a conductive pattern (Fig. 5 shows coil 512) for wirelessly transmitting or receiving power (coil 512 wirelessly transmits power) [0066-0069];
a connector (Fig. 3 shows device interface 382, 384 which are electromechanical connectors) [0035, 0044] for transmitting or receiving power via a wire (Fig. 2 shows cable 219) [0044];
communication circuitry (Fig. 1 shows wireless communication module 160) for communicating with another computing device (wireless communication module 160 enables wireless communication between battery pack 100 and one or more electronic devices) [0037];
memory comprising one or more storage media and storing instructions (program instructions stored in a memory device) [0034, 0071]; and
one or more processors (Fig. 1 shows control circuitry 170) communicatively coupled to the display, the, battery, the conductive pattern, the connector, the communication circuitry, and the memory (Fig. 1 shows control circuitry 170 communicatively coupled to display elements 192, battery 150, coil 512, device interface182, 184, wireless communication module 160 and memory device (not shown)) [0065, 0071];
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively [0034], cause the mobile computing device to:
supply, via the conductive pattern, first power wirelessly from battery to a first external device (Fig. 5 shows coil 512 to transmit first power to a first external device) [0066-0067],
supply, via the connector, second power via the wire to a second external device for performing an on-the-go (OTG) function of the second external device (Fig. 2 shows cable 219, 229 connected to external device 210, 220 to supply power) [0042, 0044-47], and
display, on the display, first information and second information concurrently based on the first power and the second power being concurrently supplied (displaying information about a status of battery pack 100, current charge level of battery pack 100, status of battery of device 220, charge rate information, charge progress information, expected time when charging will be complete) [0051-52, 0058-59],
wherein the first information indicates that the first power is being wirelessly supplied to the first external device (Fig. 7-8 shows first information indicating that the first power is being wirelessly supplied to the first external device based on the alignment indicators displaying alignment information required for effective power transfer) [0081-84] and the second information indicates that the second external device is connected to the mobile computing device to perform the OTG function (Fig. 3A includes display feature 392 to display information regarding status or operation of the battery pack thereby indicating that external device is connected to perform OTG function) [0051-52, 0058-59].
Regarding claim 2, Wojcik teaches further comprising: power management circuitry (Fig. 1 shows switching circuitry 110 and control circuitry 170) electrically connected with the battery (Fig. 1 shows battery 150 electrically connected to switching circuitry 110) for managing power supplied to components of the mobile computing device (Fig. 1 shows battery pack 100) including the connector and the conductive pattern (electromechanical connectors connected to cable 219 as shown in Fig. 2) and the conductive pattern [0036, 0056], wherein the power management circuitry is further configured to:
change a first voltage of a power output by the battery into a second voltage to generate the first power and the second power, the second voltage being higher than the first voltage (Fig. 1 voltage converter 154 steps up the voltage generated by the battery into a second voltage that is higher than the first battery voltage) [0032], and
supply the first power having the second voltage to the conductive pattern (Fig 1-5 shows the device interface 182 and 184 which transmits a portion of a current generated by the second voltage to the inductive coil) [0065-0067, 0069], and the second power having the second voltage to the connector [0066-0072].
Regarding claim 5, Wojcik teaches wherein the power management circuitry is further configured to wirelessly or wiredly transmit power to the outside based on a user input [0027-0030, 0032, 0053].
Regarding claim 6, Wojcik teaches wherein the power management circuitry is further configured to display information related to the second external device on the display based on a signal received from the second external device through the connector (displaying information about a status of battery pack 100, current charge level of battery pack 100, status of battery of device 220, charge rate information, charge progress information, expected time when charging will be complete) [0051-52, 0058-59],
Regarding claim 13, Wojcik teaches method performed by a mobile computing device (Fig. 1 shows battery pack 100) [0037] with a display (Fig. 1 shows display elements 192) [0025, 0038], a battery (Fig. 1-5 shows battery 150) [0025-26, 0074], a conductive pattern for wirelessly transmitting or receiving power (Fig. 5 shows coil 512) for wirelessly transmitting or receiving power (coil 512 wirelessly transmits power) [0066-0069], a connector (Fig. 3 shows device interface 382, 384 which are electromechanical connectors) for transmitting or receiving power via a wire (Fig. 2 shows cable 219) [0044], and communication circuitry (Fig. 1 shows wireless communication module 160) for communicating with another computing device (wireless communication module 160 enables wireless communication between battery pack 100 and one or more electronic devices) [0037], the method comprising:
supplying, via the conductive pattern, first power wirelessly from the battery to a first external device (Fig. 5 shows coil 512 to transmit first power to a first external device) [0066-0067];
supplying, via the connector, second power via the wire to a second external device for performing an on-the-go (OTG) function of the second external device (Fig. 2 shows cable 219 connected to external device 210 to supply power performing an OTG function); and
displaying, on the display, first information and second information concurrently based on the first power and the second power being concurrently supplied (displaying information about a status of battery pack 100, current charge level of battery pack 100, status of battery of device 220, charge rate information, charge progress information, expected time when charging will be complete) [0051-52, 0058-59],
wherein the first information indicates that the first power is being wirelessly supplied to the first external device (Fig. 7-8 shows first information indicating that the first power is being wirelessly supplied to the first external device based on the alignment indicators displaying alignment information required for effective power transfer) [0081-84] and the second information indicates that the second external device is connected to the mobile computing device to perform the OTG function (Fig. 3A includes display feature 392 to display information regarding status or operation of the battery pack thereby indicating that external device is connected to perform OTG function) [0051-52, 0058-59].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0194839 (Wojcik).
Regarding claim 3, Wojcik (Fig. 1-8) does not teach wherein the connector further comprises a quick charging interface configured to charge another battery included in at least one of the first and second external devices to a voltage level selected from a plurality of voltage levels, and wherein the quick charging interface is electrically connected with the connector and/or the conductive pattern.
However, Wojcik Fig. 10 teaches wherein the connector further comprises a quick charging interface configured to charge another battery included in at least one of the first and second external devices to a voltage level selected from a plurality of voltage levels (Quick Charge 2.0 interface is available in different voltage levels to be selected from e.g. 9 volts, 12 volts) [0091-0092], and wherein the quick charging interface is electrically connected with the connector and/or the conductive pattern (Quick Charge 2.0 interface is electrically connected with the device interface 1084 which is a connector) [0091-0092].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have the quick charge interface available to charge devices in order to ensure that a fast-charging option is available in different voltage levels for efficient charging.
Regarding claim 4, Wojcik teaches wherein the power management circuitry (Fig. 1 shows switching circuitry 110 and control circuitry 170) is further configured to: receive information on charging from the at least one of the first and second external devices (Fig. 2 shows battery 200 receiving status of battery of device 220) [0027-0030, 0032, 0053]; and select the voltage level from the plurality of voltage levels based on the received information [0041, 0053].
Regarding claim 14, Wojcik teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions [0034, 0050] that, when executed by one or more processors (Fig. 1 shows control circuitry 170) of a mobile computing device (Fig. 1 shows battery pack 100) [0037] with a display (Fig. 1 shows display elements 192) [0025, 0038], a battery (Fig. 1-5 shows battery 150) [0025-26, 0074], a conductive pattern for wirelessly transmitting or receiving power (Fig. 5 shows coil 512) for wirelessly transmitting or receiving power (coil 512 wirelessly transmits power) [0066-0069], a connector (Fig. 3 shows device interface 382, 384 which are electromechanical connectors) for transmitting or receiving power via a wire (Fig. 2 shows cable 219) [0044], and communication circuitry (Fig. 1 shows wireless communication module 160) for communicating with another computing device , individually or collectively, cause the mobile computing device to perform operations (wireless communication module 160 enables wireless communication between battery pack 100 and one or more electronic devices) [0037], the operations comprising: supplying, via the conductive pattern, first power wirelessly from the battery to a first external device (Fig. 5 shows coil 512 to transmit first power to a first external device) [0066-0067];
supplying, via the connector (electromechanical connectors connected to cable 219 as shown in Fig. 2), second power via the wire to a second external device for performing an on-the-go (OTG) function of the second external device (Fig. 2 shows cable 219 connected to external device 210); and
displaying, on the display, first information and second information concurrently based on the first power and the second power being supplied (displaying information about a status of battery pack 100, current charge level of battery pack 100, status of battery of device 220, charge rate information, charge progress information, expected time when charging will be complete) [0051-52, 0058-59],
wherein the first information indicates that the first power is being wirelessly supplied to the first external device (Fig. 7-8 shows first information indicating that the first power is being wirelessly supplied to the first external device based on the alignment indicators displaying alignment information required for effective power transfer) [0081-84] and the second information indicates that the second external device is connected to the mobile computing device to perform the OTG function (Fig. 3A includes display feature 392 to display information regarding status or operation of the battery pack thereby indicating that external device is connected to perform OTG function) [0051-52, 0058-59].
However, Wojcik Fig. 1-5 does not teach while the second external device is connected to the connector for the OTG connection, receive data from the second external device through the connector while transmitting the first and second power from the battery.
However, Wojcik Fig. 14 teaches while the second external device is connected to the connector for the OTG connection (Fig. 14 shows computing device 1488 connected via OTG connection to charger 1440), receive data from the second external device through the connector while transmitting the first and second power from the battery (Fig. 14 shows charger 1440 to provide first power to battery pack 1400 via wireless means and simultaneously provide second power to computing device 1488 via cable as shown in addition to data communications between battery pack 1400 and charger 1440) [0106-107].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second external device is connected to the connector for the OTG connection, receive data from the second external device through the connector while transmitting the first and second power from the battery as taught by Fig. 14 embodiment of Wojcik in order to ensure simultaneous charging of various devices while also exchanging data thereby ensuring efficient power supply.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant presents that the current amendments are not taught by the Wojcik reference.
However, the Examiner would like to point out that the current amendment is taught by Wojcik in displaying information about a status of battery pack 100, current charge level of battery pack 100, status of battery of device 220, charge rate information, charge progress information, expected time when charging will be complete as disclosed in paragraphs [0051-52, 0058-59]. Furthermore, Fig. 7-8 shows first information indicating that the first power is being wirelessly supplied to the first external device based on the alignment indicators displaying alignment information required for effective power transfer as is disclosed in paragraphs [0081-84] and Fig. 3A includes display feature 392 to display information regarding status or operation of the battery pack thereby indicating that external device is connected to perform OTG function as disclosed in paragraphs [0051-52, 0058-59].
Thereby, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 /REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836