DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0194839 (Wojcik) in view of US 2014/0009120 (Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Wojcik teaches a mobile computing device for providing cellular communication (Fig. 1 shows battery pack 100 with cellular communication) [0037], comprising:
a display (Fig. 1 shows display elements 192) [0025, 0038];
a battery (Fig. 1-5 shows battery 150) [0025-26, 0074];
a conductive pattern (Fig. 5 shows coil 512) for wirelessly transmitting or receiving power (coil 512 wirelessly transmits power) [0066-0069];
a connector (Fig. 3 shows device interface 382, 384 which are electromechanical connectors) [0035, 0044] for transmitting or receiving power via a wire (Fig. 2 shows cable 219) [0044];
communication circuitry (Fig. 1 shows wireless communication module 160) for communicating with another computing device (wireless communication module 160 enables wireless communication between battery pack 100 and one or more electronic devices) [0037];
memory comprising one or more storage media and storing instructions (program instructions stored in a memory device) [0034, 0071]; and
one or more processors (Fig. 1 shows control circuitry 170) communicatively coupled to the display, the, battery, the conductive pattern, the connector, the communication circuitry, and the memory (Fig. 1 shows control circuitry 170 communicatively coupled to display elements 192, battery 150, coil 512, device interface182, 184, wireless communication module 160 and memory device (not shown)) [0065, 0071];
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively [0034], cause the mobile computing device to:
supply, via the conductive pattern, first power wirelessly from battery to a first external device (Fig. 5 shows coil 512 to transmit first power to a first external device) [0066-0067],
supply, via the connector, second power via the wire to a second external device for performing an on-the-go (OTG) function of the second external device (Fig. 2 shows cable 219, 229 connected to external device 210, 220 to supply power) [0042, 0044-47], and
display, on the display, first information and second information concurrently based on the first power and the second power being concurrently supplied (displaying information about a status of battery pack 100, current charge level of battery pack 100, status of battery of device 220, charge rate information, charge progress information, expected time when charging will be complete) [0051-52, 0058-59],
wherein the first information indicates that the first power is being wirelessly supplied to the first external device (Fig. 7-8 shows first information indicating that the first power is being wirelessly supplied to the first external device based on the alignment indicators displaying alignment information required for effective power transfer) [0081-84] and the second information indicates that the second external device is connected to the mobile computing device to enable the mobile computing device to perform the OTG function for receiving data from the second external device (Fig. 3A includes display feature 392 to display information regarding status or operation of the battery pack thereby indicating that external device is connected to perform OTG function for receiving data from that external device) [0044-45, 0051-52, 0058-60].
However, Wojcik does not explicitly teach display of the mobile computing device, a graphical user interface (GUI).
However, Kim teaches display of the mobile computing device, a graphical user interface (GUI) [0037, 0040].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have display of the mobile computing device, a graphical user interface (GUI) as taught by Kim in order to improve usability, accessibility and productivity for users of all skill levels.
Regarding claim 2, Wojcik teaches further comprising: power management circuitry (Fig. 1 shows switching circuitry 110 and control circuitry 170) electrically connected with the battery (Fig. 1 shows battery 150 electrically connected to switching circuitry 110) for managing power supplied to components of the mobile computing device (Fig. 1 shows battery pack 100) including the connector and the conductive pattern (electromechanical connectors connected to cable 219 as shown in Fig. 2) and the conductive pattern [0036, 0056], wherein the power management circuitry is further configured to:
change a first voltage of a power output by the battery into a second voltage to generate the first power and the second power, the second voltage being higher than the first voltage (Fig. 1 voltage converter 154 steps up the voltage generated by the battery into a second voltage that is higher than the first battery voltage) [0032], and
supply the first power having the second voltage to the conductive pattern (Fig 1-5 shows the device interface 182 and 184 which transmits a portion of a current generated by the second voltage to the inductive coil) [0065-0067, 0069], and the second power having the second voltage to the connector [0066-0072].
Regarding claim 3, Wojcik (Fig. 1-8) does not teach wherein the connector further comprises a quick charging interface configured to charge another battery included in at least one of the first and second external devices to a voltage level selected from a plurality of voltage levels, and wherein the quick charging interface is electrically connected with the connector and/or the conductive pattern.
However, Wojcik Fig. 10 teaches wherein the connector further comprises a quick charging interface configured to charge another battery included in at least one of the first and second external devices to a voltage level selected from a plurality of voltage levels (Quick Charge 2.0 interface is available in different voltage levels to be selected from e.g. 9 volts, 12 volts) [0091-0092], and wherein the quick charging interface is electrically connected with the connector and/or the conductive pattern (Quick Charge 2.0 interface is electrically connected with the device interface 1084 which is a connector) [0091-0092].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have the quick charge interface available to charge devices in order to ensure that a fast-charging option is available in different voltage levels for efficient charging.
Regarding claim 4, Wojcik teaches wherein the power management circuitry (Fig. 1 shows switching circuitry 110 and control circuitry 170) is further configured to: receive information on charging from the at least one of the first and second external devices (Fig. 2 shows battery 200 receiving status of battery of device 220) [0027-0030, 0032, 0053]; and select the voltage level from the plurality of voltage levels based on the received information [0041, 0053].
Regarding claim 5, Wojcik teaches wherein the power management circuitry is further configured to wirelessly or wiredly transmit power to the outside based on a user input [0027-0030, 0032, 0053].
Regarding claim 6, Wojcik teaches wherein the power management circuitry is further configured to display information related to the second external device on the display based on a signal received from the second external device through the connector (displaying information about a status of battery pack 100, current charge level of battery pack 100, status of battery of device 220, charge rate information, charge progress information, expected time when charging will be complete) [0051-52, 0058-59],
Regarding claim 13, Wojcik teaches method performed by a mobile computing device (Fig. 1 shows battery pack 100) [0037] with a display (Fig. 1 shows display elements 192) [0025, 0038], a battery (Fig. 1-5 shows battery 150) [0025-26, 0074], a conductive pattern for wirelessly transmitting or receiving power (Fig. 5 shows coil 512) for wirelessly transmitting or receiving power (coil 512 wirelessly transmits power) [0066-0069], a connector (Fig. 3 shows device interface 382, 384 which are electromechanical connectors) for transmitting or receiving power via a wire (Fig. 2 shows cable 219) [0044], and communication circuitry (Fig. 1 shows wireless communication module 160) for communicating with another computing device (wireless communication module 160 enables wireless communication between battery pack 100 and one or more electronic devices) [0037], the method comprising:
supplying, via the conductive pattern, first power wirelessly from the battery to a first external device (Fig. 5 shows coil 512 to transmit first power to a first external device) [0066-0067];
supplying, via the connector, second power via the wire to a second external device for performing an on-the-go (OTG) function of the second external device (Fig. 2 shows cable 219 connected to external device 210 to supply power performing an OTG function); and
displaying, on the display, first information and second information concurrently based on the first power and the second power being concurrently supplied (displaying information about a status of battery pack 100, current charge level of battery pack 100, status of battery of device 220, charge rate information, charge progress information, expected time when charging will be complete) [0051-52, 0058-59],
wherein the first information indicates that the first power is being wirelessly supplied to the first external device (Fig. 7-8 shows first information indicating that the first power is being wirelessly supplied to the first external device based on the alignment indicators displaying alignment information required for effective power transfer) [0081-84] and the second information indicates that the second external device is connected to the mobile computing device to enable the mobile computing device to perform the OTG function for receiving data from the second external device (Fig. 3A includes display feature 392 to display information regarding status or operation of the battery pack thereby indicating that external device is connected to perform OTG function for receiving data from that external device) [0044-45, 0051-52, 0058-60].
However, Wojcik does not explicitly teach display of the mobile computing device, a graphical user interface (GUI).
However, Kim teaches display of the mobile computing device, a graphical user interface (GUI) [0037, 0040].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have display of the mobile computing device, a graphical user interface (GUI) as taught by Kim in order to improve usability, accessibility and productivity for users of all skill levels.
Regarding claim 14, Wojcik teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions [0034, 0050] that, when executed by one or more processors (Fig. 1 shows control circuitry 170) of a mobile computing device (Fig. 1 shows battery pack 100) [0037] with a display (Fig. 1 shows display elements 192) [0025, 0038], a battery (Fig. 1-5 shows battery 150) [0025-26, 0074], a conductive pattern for wirelessly transmitting or receiving power (Fig. 5 shows coil 512) for wirelessly transmitting or receiving power (coil 512 wirelessly transmits power) [0066-0069], a connector (Fig. 3 shows device interface 382, 384 which are electromechanical connectors) for transmitting or receiving power via a wire (Fig. 2 shows cable 219) [0044], and communication circuitry (Fig. 1 shows wireless communication module 160) for communicating with another computing device , individually or collectively, cause the mobile computing device to perform operations (wireless communication module 160 enables wireless communication between battery pack 100 and one or more electronic devices) [0037], the operations comprising: supplying, via the conductive pattern, first power wirelessly from the battery to a first external device (Fig. 5 shows coil 512 to transmit first power to a first external device) [0066-0067];
supplying, via the connector (electromechanical connectors connected to cable 219 as shown in Fig. 2), second power via the wire to a second external device for performing an on-the-go (OTG) function of the second external device (Fig. 2 shows cable 219 connected to external device 210); and
displaying, on the display, first information and second information concurrently based on the first power and the second power being supplied (displaying information about a status of battery pack 100, current charge level of battery pack 100, status of battery of device 220, charge rate information, charge progress information, expected time when charging will be complete) [0051-52, 0058-59],
wherein the first information indicates that the first power is being wirelessly supplied to the first external device (Fig. 7-8 shows first information indicating that the first power is being wirelessly supplied to the first external device based on the alignment indicators displaying alignment information required for effective power transfer) [0081-84] and the second information indicates that the second external device is connected to the mobile computing device to enable the mobile computing device to perform the OTG function for receiving data from the second external device (Fig. 3A includes display feature 392 to display information regarding status or operation of the battery pack thereby indicating that external device is connected to perform OTG function for receiving data from that external device) [0044-45, 0051-52, 0058-60].
However, Wojcik Fig. 1-5 does not teach while the second external device is connected to the connector for the OTG connection, receive data from the second external device through the connector while transmitting the first and second power from the battery; display of the mobile computing device, a graphical user interface (GUI).
However, Wojcik Fig. 14 teaches while the second external device is connected to the connector for the OTG connection (Fig. 14 shows computing device 1488 connected via OTG connection to charger 1440), receive data from the second external device through the connector while transmitting the first and second power from the battery (Fig. 14 shows charger 1440 to provide first power to battery pack 1400 via wireless means and simultaneously provide second power to computing device 1488 via cable as shown in addition to data communications between battery pack 1400 and charger 1440) [0106-107].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second external device is connected to the connector for the OTG connection, receive data from the second external device through the connector while transmitting the first and second power from the battery as taught by Fig. 14 embodiment of Wojcik in order to ensure simultaneous charging of various devices while also exchanging data thereby ensuring efficient power supply.
However, Kim teaches display of the mobile computing device, a graphical user interface (GUI) [0037, 0040].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have display of the mobile computing device, a graphical user interface (GUI) as taught by Kim in order to improve usability, accessibility and productivity for users of all skill levels.
Regarding claim 15, Wojcik does not explicitly teach wherein the GUI displays each of the first information and the second information graphically and textually.
However, Kim teaches wherein the GUI displays each of the first information and the second information graphically and textually (graphics user interface program 114 includes providing and displaying graphics on the display 170 and information regarding charging state, charging completion, remaining battery power) [0040].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the GUI displays each of the first information and the second information graphically and textually as taught by Kim in order to improve usability, accessibility and productivity for users of all skill levels.
Regarding claim 16, Wojcik does not teach wherein the graphic of the first information and the second information indicates a device type of a corresponding external device, and wherein the text of the first information and the second information indicates whether the corresponding external device is charging wiredly or wirelessly.
However, Kim teaches wherein the graphic of the first information and the second information indicates a device type of a corresponding external device, and wherein the text of the first information and the second information indicates whether the corresponding external device is charging wiredly or wirelessly [0036-37, 0040].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the graphic of the first information and the second information indicates a device type of a corresponding external device, and wherein the text of the first information and the second information indicates whether the corresponding external device is charging wiredly or wirelessly as taught by Kim in order for the user to obtain information regarding the external device connection type.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark, filed 09/02/2026, with respect to Statutory Double Patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. The statutory Double Patenting rejection of claims 1-14 has been withdrawn in light of the current amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 09/02/2026 have been fully considered and are pursuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 13-14, the Applicant presents that Wojcik does not teach the amended portion: a graphical user interface (GUI).
The Examiner is in agreement with the Applicant, however, upon further consideration a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the Kim reference.
Conclusion
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836