DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the present application and are under examination on the merits. This communication is the first action on the merits (FAOM).
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant has not yet filed an IDS for this Application. As such, no IDS has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 1/17/2025 are acceptable as filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Here, under considerations of the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention, Examiner finds that the Applicant invented a method and system for task management. Examiner formulates an abstract idea analysis, following the framework described in the MPEP, as follows:
Step 1: The claims are directed to a statutory category, namely a "method" (claims 1-13) and "system" (claims 14-20).
Step 2A - Prong 1: The claims are found to recite limitations that set forth the abstract idea(s), namely, regarding claim 1:
receiving a task request, the task request indicating a task to be performed;
generating a task record based on the task request;
generating a task form based on the task request;
…
receiving, via the task form, one or more task parameters; and populating the task record based on the one or more task parameters.
Independent claims 14 and 18 recite substantially similar claim language.
Dependent claims 2-13, 15-17, 19, and 20 recite the same or similar abstract idea(s) as independent claims 1, 14, and 18 with merely a further narrowing of the abstract idea(s) to particular data characterization and/or additional data analyses performed as part of the abstract idea.
The limitations in claims 1-20 above falling well-within the groupings of subject matter identified by the courts as being abstract concepts, specifically the claims are found to correspond to the category of:
"Certain methods of organizing human activity- fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)" as the limitations identified above are directed to managing the selection, analysis, and user review of tasks through task management and thus is a method of organizing human activity including at least commercial or business interactions or relations and/or a management of user personal behavior; and/or
"Mental processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)" as the limitations identified above include mere data observations, evaluations, judgements, and/or opinions, e.g. including user observation and evaluation of tasks through task management, which is capable of being performed mentally and/or using pen and paper.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Claims 1-20 are found to clearly be directed to the abstract idea identified above because the claims, as a whole, fail to integrate the claimed judicial exception into a practical application, specifically the claims recite the additional elements of:
" wherein the task form is configurable to be displayed on a graphical user interface (GUI) of the third computing device," (claims 1, 14, and 18), “sending the second task form via the second computing device to the third computing device, wherein the task form is configurable to be displayed on the GUI of the third computing device,” (claims 9 and 15), “wherein the third computing device, based on receipt of the task instruction, is configured to display the data on the GUI, perform one or more tasks in response to the command, or a combination thereof,” (claims 12 and 16) however the aforementioned elements directed to the receiving of user input/selection of data to view via a dashboard and displaying corresponding data via the dashboard merely amount to generic GUI elements of a general purpose computer used to "apply" the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)) and/or is merely an attempt at limiting the abstract idea of analysis and review/visualization of KPI performance metrics to a particular field of use/technological environment of a GUI dashboard (MPEP 2106.05(h)) and therefore the GUI dashboard input and display of data fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application;
"A method, performed by a first computing device, for implementing a partitioned task management service, the method comprising:… sending the task form via a second computing device to a third computing device, … the third computing distinct from the first computing device and distinct from the second computing device / An electronic device comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to: / A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:" (claims 1, 14, and 18) “linking to a first database stored in a first memory of the second computing device, the second computing device distinct from the first computing device and distinct from the third computing device,” (claims 3 and 19), “storing the task record in a second database, wherein the second database is partitioned from the first database,” (claims 4 and 20), “linking to a first database stored in a first memory of the second computing device, the second computing device distinct from the first computing device and distinct from the third computing device,” (claim 8), “sending the task instruction to the third computing device via the second computing device,” (claims 10 and 16) however the aforementioned elements merely amount to generic components of a general purpose computer used to "apply" the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.0S(f)) and thus fails to integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application, furthermore the high-level recitation of receiving data from a generic "computing device" is at most an attempt to limit the abstract to a particular field of use (MPEP 2106.0S(h), e.g.: "For instance, a data gathering step that is limited to a particular data source (such as the Internet) or a particular type of data (such as power grid data or XML tags) could be considered to be both insignificant extra-solution activity and a field of use limitation. See, e.g., Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (limiting use of abstract idea to the Internet); Electric Power, 830 F.3d at 1354, 119 USPQ2d at 1742 (limiting application of abstract idea to power grid data); Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie lndem. Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1328-29, 121 USPQ2d 1928, 1939 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (limiting use of abstract idea to use with XML tags).") and/or merely insignificant extra-solution activity (MPE 2106.05(g)) and thus further fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application;
Step 2B: Claims 1-20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2 merely amount to a general purpose computer that attempts to apply the abstract idea in a technological environment (MPEP 2106.0S(f)), including merely limiting the abstract idea to a particular field of use of task management via a "computing device" and a GUI, as explained above, and/or performs insignificant extra-solution activity, e.g. data gathering or output, (MPEP 2106.0S(g)), as identified above, which is further found under step 2B to be merely well-understood, routine, and conventional activities as evidenced by MPEP 2106.0S(d)(II) (describing conventional activities that include transmitting and receiving data over a network, electronic recordkeeping, storing and retrieving information from memory, electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, and a web browser's back and forward button functionality). Therefore, similarly the combination and arrangement of the above identified additional elements when analyzed under Step 2B also fails to necessitate a conclusion that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea directed to task management.
Claims 1-20 are accordingly rejected under 35 USC§ 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea(s)) without significantly more.
Note: The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention. As such, the presentment of any claim otherwise styled as a machine or manufacture, for example, would be subject to the same analysis
For further authority and guidance, see:
MPEP § 2106
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/examination-policy/subject-matter-eligibility
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0210963 to Parash et al. (hereafter referred to as Dotan-Parash) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2005/0209903 to Hunter et al. (hereafter referred to as Hunter).
As per claim 1, Parash teaches:
A method, performed by a first computing device, for implementing a partitioned task management service, the method comprising: (Paragraph Number [0120] teaches integrated access, management and analysis to service operations data within one organization, and the interaction with other organizations. Also shown is the interaction with other corporate Management Information Systems (MIS). The figure shows server 152, using database 154 (which may be a set of synchronized databases) to support a client software operated by users concerned with some combination of the basic service management tasks. System 100 may include an analysis module 441, a forecasting module 442, a planning module 443, a scheduling module 444, and a database access module (not shown). Modules 441, 442, 443, and 444 may contain software instructions for execution by at least one processing device, e.g., processing device 202. Paragraph Number [0140] teaches each table may be partitioned according to the customer identity which enables the system to protect the security and privacy of the customer data. Although the same type of tables is used by a plurality of customers, the system includes a mechanism which enables providing different schema per customer, without the need to execute Data Definition Language (DDL) commands and simply using references to the relevant column as the customer defined).
receiving a task request, the task request indicating a task to be performed (Paragraph Number [0101] teaches the system may receive one or more requests for technical services. The term “request” includes, for example, an indication that a service (for example, a technical service) is needed. In one embodiment, the request may be initiated by a customer and received via a telephone call, an email, a support chat, a text message, or any form of communication. In another embodiment, the request may be initiated by device (for example, a connected device that can sense the need for a service and communicate that need to a service provider, sometimes referred to as an “IoT device”). The request may include information identifying the location where the technical service is requested (e.g., an address)).
generating a task record based on the task request (Paragraph Number [0212] teaches processing device 202 receives a set of requests reflecting a current demand for on-site services. Database 154 may be configured to store historical data associated with past demand for field professionals. Processing device 202 is connectable to network interface 206 for access database 154. The current demand may be a demand for on-site services that occur at a current time. Paragraph Number [0237] teaches process 800E starts with step 802 as described in FIG. 8A. In some embodiments, a memory (e.g., database 154 or memory interface 204) may be configured to store historical data associated with past demand for field professionals in a geographical area. The historical data may be data associated with past performed services and may reflect statistics of the past demand, the field professionals performing tasks associated with the past demands, and environments or circumstances when those tasks were performed).
sending the task form via a second computing device to a third computing device, wherein the task form is configurable to be displayed on a graphical user interface (GUI) of the third computing device (Paragraph Number [0112] teaches both communication device 180 and server 152 may include network interface 206 coupled to bus 200. Network interface 206 may provide a two-way data communication to a network, such as network 170. Paragraph Number [0116] teaches memory device 234 may also store communication instructions 238 to facilitate communicating with one or more additional devices, one or more computers and/or one or more servers. Memory device 234 can include graphical user interface instructions 240 to facilitate graphic user interface processing; Paragraph Number [0137] teaches presentation layer 502 may be responsible for manipulating data for the performance of an action. Such an action may include, for example, rendering the data for display on a graphical user interface (GUI). Paragraph Number [0179] teaches processing device 202 provides to at least one of the first field professional and the second field professional, using network interface 206, information reflecting the reassignment of the task. In some embodiments, processing device 202 may send the information to the communication devices associated with the first field professional and the second field professional, such as communication device 180A).
the third computing distinct from the first computing device and distinct from the second computing device (Paragraph Number [0113] teaches both communication device 180 and server 152 may also include peripherals interface 208 coupled to bus 200. Peripherals interface 208 be connected to sensors, devices, and subsystems to facilitate multiple functionalities. In one embodiment, peripherals interface 208 may be connected to I/O system 210 configured to receive signals or input from devices and providing signals or output to one or more devices that allow data to be received and/or transmitted by communication device 180 and server 152. Paragraph Number [0118] teaches server 152 received at 9:15, from network interface 206, real-time information for the first and second field professionals. In one embodiment, the real-time information may include current location information derived at least partially from location circuits of field professionals' communication devices 180A. For example, the real-time information may indicate that first field professional is stuck on the road to location “A.”).
receiving, via the task form, one or more task parameters (Paragraph Number [0267] teaches processing device 202 may further identify at least one detail from the plurality of records. Upon receiving the request for the new technical service, processing device 202 may obtain information associated with the at least one detail. In some embodiments, the detail may be stored as separate data entries from the plurality of records. In some embodiments, the details may be integrated into the plurality of records, such as additional attributes of the database entries of the records).
populating the task record based on the one or more task parameters (Paragraph Number [0202] teaches processing device 202 receives a request for on-site service. Step 712 may be implemented in a way similar to step 702 in process 700A. At step 714, processing device 202 may determine a task type for the request. In some embodiments, corresponding relationships between task types and on-site services may be stored in database 154, such as database record entries. Processing device 202 may inquire the database record entries to determine the task type for the received request. At step 716, processing device 202 selects a date for scheduling the task. In some embodiments, processing device 202 may select the date based on various factors, such as demand of the on-site service. For example, if the demand of the on-site service is not in an emergency (e.g., requested to be completed within five business days), processing device 202 may select a date not conflicting with the demand. FIG. 7C shows an example of selecting the date for scheduling the task. Paragraph Number [0256] teaches the records may be implemented as database entries in database 154. For example, in those database entries, relationships between the characteristics and the technical services may be stored as relational database entries. In some embodiments, information in each record may be derived from historical experience of completing each of the technical services. The information in a record may be implemented as a portion of a database record, such as an attribute of a relational database record in database 154. The historical experience may include any data reflecting statistics, performance records, customer reviews, customer feedbacks, comments, scores, or any previously stored data related to completing the technical services. Consistent with the present disclosure, the information in each record may be derived by using machine learning algorithms that identify patterns in the records of completed tasks. For example, the patterns may be indicative of skill sets of field professionals that have completed certain tasks in a single visit. In some embodiments, each services may include data reflecting multiple services completed by multiple field professionals).
Parash teaches task management and generating a task record related to the task but does not explicitly teach generating a task form based on the task request which is taught by the following citations from Hunter:
generating a task form based on the task request (Paragraph Number [0048] teaches after execution of the activity wizard module 316, the controller 312 transitions control to the task center module 320. The processor 302 thus launches and executes the task center module 320 to retrieve the corresponding form(s) and data, either from the data store 310 if available locally and/or from the databases 416, 417 of DSS 400 via the network 600. The computer 300 executes the task center module 320 to auto-populate data in any field of the form(s) indicating that data should be supplied from the DSS 400. Any such field(s) is associated with a network address or location (e.g., URL or URI) of the computer 402, as well as one or more metadata tags identifying the data sought for auto-population of the form(s). Paragraph Number [0052] teaches after the form(s) selected by the user are auto-populated with data, the processor 302 of the computer 300 executes the controller 312 to transition control from the task center module 320 to the form wizard module 322. The processor 302 executes the form wizard module 322 to generate and serve a web page with the form and auto-populated data to the user's computer 200 via the network 500. More specifically, the processor 302 auto-populates the form with data, retrieves form rule(s) from the database 422, and generates scripts incorporating these form rule(s) for inclusion in the web page served to the user. The processor 302 further executes the form wizard module 318 to store the form(s) with auto-populated and entered data in the user form database 417 to update the task(s) pending for the user. The processor 302 then executes the controller 312, which transitions control back to the task center module 320.).
Both Parash and Hunter are directed to task management. Parash discloses task management and generating a task record related to the task. Hunter improves upon Parash by disclosing generating a task form based on the task request. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include generating a task form based on the task request, to efficiently generate related documents and populate fields based on stored task information.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of task management and generating a task record related to the task in Parash to further utilize generating a task form based on the task request as disclosed in Hunter, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 14, Parash teaches:
An electronic device comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to: (Paragraph Number [0110] teaches processing device 202, shown in FIG. 2, may include at least one processor configured to execute computer programs, applications, methods, processes, or other software to perform embodiments described in the present disclosure. For example, the processing device may include one or more integrated circuits, microchips, microcontrollers, microprocessors, all or part of a central processing unit (CPU), graphics processing unit (GPU), digital signal processor (DSP), field programmable gate array (FPGA), or other circuits suitable for executing instructions or performing logic operations. The processing device may include at least one processor configured to perform functions of the disclosed methods such as a microprocessor manufactured by Intel™).
The remainder of the claim limitations are substantially similar to the claim language recited in regard to claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 18, Parash teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising: (Paragraph Number [0104] teaches server 152 may be coupled to one or more physical or virtual storage devices such as database 154. Server 152 may access database 154 to determine, for example, the availability of field professionals 110 and to use historical data to predict factors that may affect the completion of tasks. Database 154 may utilize a volatile or non-volatile, magnetic, semiconductor, tape, optical, removable, non-removable, or other type of storage device or tangible or non-transitory computer-readable medium. Database 154 may also be part of server 152 or separate from server 152 as shown. When database 154 is not part of server 152, for example, server 152 may exchange data with database 154 via a communication link as shown).
The remainder of the claim limitations are substantially similar to the claim language recited in regard to claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 2 the combination of Parash and Hunter teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Parash teaches:
wherein the one or more task parameters include a task description corresponding to the task, object identification data corresponding to an object on which a task is to be performed, geolocation data indicative of a location at which the task is to be performed, a first value indicating a requested initiation timeframe to initiate performance of the task, a second value indicating a requested completion timeframe to complete performance of the task, or a combination thereof (Paragraph Number [0200] teaches the information reflecting the assignment of the first task may include details about a customer associated with the first task. For example, the details may include a name, an account number, or a phone number of the customer. In some embodiments, the information reflecting the assignment of the first task may include description of the first task. For example, the description may include a tool, a spare part, or an existing infrastructure, which may be needed by the first task. In some embodiments, the information reflecting the assignment of the first task may include directional instructions to an identified location associated with the first task. For example, the directional instructions may include a location, an address, or a driving route of the customer. (Examiner asserts that this teaches at least the alternative limitation of a task description corresponding to the task)).
As per claims 3 and 19, the combination of Parash and Hunter teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 18 respectively.
In addition, Parash teaches:
linking to a first database stored in a first memory of the second computing device, the second computing device distinct from the first computing device and distinct from the third computing device (Paragraph Number [0102] teaches which shows an example of a system 100 for scheduling tasks to field professionals 110. In one embodiment, system 100 may represent a computer-based system that may include computer system components, desktop computers, workstations, tablets, handheld computing devices, memory devices, and/or internal network(s) connecting the components. System 100 may include or be connected to various network computing resources (e.g., servers, routers, switches, network connections, storage devices, etc.) necessary to support the services provided by system 100. In one embodiment, system 100 may include a customer service unit 120 configured to receive a set of requests for on-site technical assistance from users 130 and/or directly from IoT devices 140. Customer service unit 120 may also schedule appointments with field professionals 110 for providing the on-site service based on the availability of with field professionals 110 and system constraints. In another embodiment, system 100 may include a task scheduling unit 150 for processing the received requests in view of the existing schedule of tasks and provide recommendations for appointments that enable greater optimization of scheduling all the field professionals as a whole. In another embodiment, system 100 may provide service provider 160 statistics based on an analysis of information reflective of the service performances. Network 170 may facilitate communications and data exchange between different system components and the different entities associated with system 100).
in response to linking to the first database, extracting portions of data from the first database, the portions of data associated with the one or more task parameters, the task request, or a combination thereof (Paragraph Number [0121] teaches consistent with the present disclosure, server 152 may extract information, and convey management decisions, to other units, including: human resources 431 for interacting with information about available staff, their calendars (i.e., vacation, training, overtime, etc.) and their mix of skills (which may be affected by changes in training plans); finance 432 for examining, and reporting, the implications of decisions such as authorizing overtime or subcontracting some work; and customer relationship management 433 for interacting with past and current data of detailed and aggregated customer demands. FIG. 4 also shows how two or more organizations using the same system may make their operations and cooperation much more effective by automatically transmitting relevant information between their servers).
populating the task record based on the portions of data (Paragraph Number [0212] teaches processing device 202 receives a set of requests reflecting a current demand for on-site services. Database 154 may be configured to store historical data associated with past demand for field professionals. Processing device 202 is connectable to network interface 206 for access database 154. The current demand may be a demand for on-site services that occur at a current time. Paragraph Number [0237] teaches process 800E starts with step 802 as described in FIG. 8A. In some embodiments, a memory (e.g., database 154 or memory interface 204) may be configured to store historical data associated with past demand for field professionals in a geographical area. The historical data may be data associated with past performed services and may reflect statistics of the past demand, the field professionals performing tasks associated with the past demands, and environments or circumstances when those tasks were performed).
As per claims 4 and 20, the combination of Parash and Hunter teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 3, and 18 and 19 respectively.
In addition, Parash teaches:
storing the task record in a second database, wherein the second database is partitioned from the first database (Paragraph Number [0140] teaches each table may be partitioned according to the customer identity which enables the system to protect the security and privacy of the customer data. Although the same type of tables is used by a plurality of customers, the system includes a mechanism which enables providing different schema per customer, without the need to execute Data Definition Language (DDL) commands and simply using references to the relevant column as the customer defined. Paragraph Number [0105] teaches database 154 may include one or more memory devices that store data and instructions used to perform one or more features of the disclosed embodiments. In one embodiment, database 154 may include any suitable databases, ranging from small databases hosted on a workstation to large databases distributed among data centers. Database 154 may also include any combination of one or more databases controlled by memory controller devices (e.g., server(s), etc.) or software. For example, database 154 may include document management systems, Microsoft SQL databases, Share Point databases, Oracle™ databases, Sybase™ databases, other relational databases, or non-relational databases, such as mongoDB™ and others.).
As per claim 5, the combination of Parash and Hunter teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 3.
In addition, Parash teaches:
wherein the portions of data include a plurality of data types associated with the task, the plurality of data types including task data indicating a unique task identifier associated with the task, subtask data indicating one or more subtasks associated with the task, customer data associated with a customer for whom the task is to be performed, personnel data associated with one or more persons who is to perform the task, task status data indicating a status of the task, or a combination thereof (Paragraph Number [0200] teaches the information reflecting the assignment of the first task may include details about a customer associated with the first task. For example, the details may include a name, an account number, or a phone number of the customer. In some embodiments, the information reflecting the assignment of the first task may include description of the first task. For example, the description may include a tool, a spare part, or an existing infrastructure, which may be needed by the first task. In some embodiments, the information reflecting the assignment of the first task may include directional instructions to an identified location associated with the first task. For example, the directional instructions may include a location, an address, or a driving route of the customer).
As per claim 6, the combination of Parash and Hunter teaches each of the limitations of claims 1, 3, and 5.
In addition, Parash teaches:
wherein the task record includes a unique task identifier associated with the task and a task type associated with the task (Paragraph Number [0200] teaches the information reflecting the assignment of the first task may include details about a customer associated with the first task. For example, the details may include a name, an account number, or a phone number of the customer. In some embodiments, the information reflecting the assignment of the first task may include description of the first task. For example, the description may include a tool, a spare part, or an existing infrastructure, which may be needed by the first task. In some embodiments, the information reflecting the assignment of the first task may include directional instructions to an identified location associated with the first task. For example, the directional instructions may include a location, an address, or a driving route of the customer).
wherein the task type includes one or more addresses in a second memory of the first computing device, the one or more addresses storing the subtask data corresponding to the task (Paragraph Number [0200] teaches the information reflecting the assignment of the first task may include details about a customer associated with the first task. For example, the details may include a name, an account number, or a phone number of the customer. In some embodiments, the information reflecting the assignment of the first task may include description of the first task. For example, the description may include a tool, a spare part, or an existing infrastructure, which may be needed by the first task. In some embodiments, the information reflecting the assignment of the first task may include directional instructions to an identified location associated with the first task. For example, the directional instructions may include a location, an address, or a driving route of the customer)
As per claim 7, the combination of Parash and Hunter teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
Parash teaches task management and generating a task record related to the task but does not explicitly teach generating a task form based on the task request which is taught by the following citations from Hunter:
wherein the task form corresponds to a webpage, wherein the webpage includes a plurality of entries, and wherein the plurality of entries includes a task description entry, an object identification entry, a location entry, one or more scheduling entries, or a combination thereof (Paragraph Number [0060] teaches the web page 870 has a listing 871 of four tasks 852. These tasks 852 are listed by task name 874, task type 874, and status 878. The task name 874 indicates the nature of the task (e.g., "Fill form"), a task description (e.g., "Application for Lump-Sum Death Payment"), and a form identification (e.g., "Form SSA-8"). Paragraph Number [0052] teaches after the form(s) selected by the user are auto-populated with data, the processor 302 of the computer 300 executes the controller 312 to transition control from the task center module 320 to the form wizard module 322. The processor 302 executes the form wizard module 322 to generate and serve a web page with the form and auto-populated data to the user's computer 200 via the network 500. More specifically, the processor 302 auto-populates the form with data, retrieves form rule(s) from the database 422, and generates scripts incorporating these form rule(s) for inclusion in the web page served to the user. The processor 302 further executes the form wizard module 318 to store the form(s) with auto-populated and entered data in the user form database 417 to update the task(s) pending for the user. The processor 302 then executes the controller 312, which transitions control back to the task center module 320).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these references as described in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 8, the combination of Parash and Hunter teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Parash teaches:
further comprising updating the task record in response to receipt of task status data, wherein updating the task record comprises (Paragraph Number [0118] teaches the real-time information may include task status updates transmitted from field professionals' communication devices 180A. For example, the real-time information may indicate that the second field professional had finished the assignment earlier than the estimated time for the completion of the task associated with location “E.” Based on the real-time progress information, and as shown in FIG. 3B, server 152 may reassign the first field professional to a task associated location “F,” and reassign the second field professional to a task associated location “A.” Thus, the updated schedule of first field professional includes tasks associated with locations F, B, C, and D and the updated schedule of second field professional includes tasks associated with locations E, A, G, H).
linking to a first database stored in a first memory of the second computing device, the second computing device distinct from the first computing device and distinct from the third computing device (Paragraph Number [0113] teaches both communication device 180 and server 152 may also include peripherals interface 208 coupled to bus 200. Peripherals interface 208 be connected to sensors, devices, and subsystems to facilitate multiple functionalities. In one embodiment, peripherals interface 208 may be connected to I/O system 210 configured to receive signals or input from devices and providing signals or output to one or more devices that allow data to be received and/or transmitted by communication device 180 and server 152. Paragraph Number [0118] teaches server 152 received at 9:15, from network interface 206, real-time information for the first and second field professionals. In one embodiment, the real-time information may include current location information derived at least partially from location circuits of field professionals' communication devices 180A. For example, the real-time information may indicate that first field professional is stuck on the road to location “A.”).
in response to linking to the first database, extracting task status data from the first database, the task status data provided to the second computing device by the third computing device (Paragraph Number [0121] teaches consistent with the present disclosure, server 152 may extract information, and convey management decisions, to other units, including: human resources 431 for interacting with information about available staff, their calendars (i.e., vacation, training, overtime, etc.) and their mix of skills (which may be affected by changes in training plans); finance 432 for examining, and reporting, the implications of decisions such as authorizing overtime or subcontracting some work; and customer relationship management 433 for interacting with past and current data of detailed and aggregated customer demands).
As per claims 9 and 15, the combination of Parash and Hunter teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 14 respectively.
In addition, Parash teaches:
receiving, from the second computing device, a second task request, wherein the second task request indicates a second task to be performed on an object based on data received at the second computing device from the object (Paragraph Number [0101] teaches the system may receive one or more requests for technical services. The term “request” includes, for example, an indication that a service (for example, a technical service) is needed. In one embodiment, the request may be initiated by a customer and received via a telephone call, an email, a support chat, a text message, or any form of communication. In another embodiment, the request may be initiated by device (for example, a connected device that can sense the need for a service and communicate that need to a service provider, sometimes referred to as an “IoT device”). The request may include information identifying the location where the technical service is requested (e.g., an address)).
and wherein the second task request includes one or more second task parameters populated by the second computing device based on the data (Paragraph Number [0267] teaches processing device 202 may further identify at least one detail from the plurality of records. Upon receiving the request for the new technical service, processing device 202 may obtain information associated with the at least one detail. In some embodiments, the detail may be stored as separate data entries from the plurality of records. In some embodiments, the details may be integrated into the plurality of records, such as additional attributes of the database entries of the records).
generating a second task record based on the second task request (Paragraph Number [0212] teaches processing device 202 receives a set of requests reflecting a current demand for on-site services. Database 154 may be configured to store historical data associated with past demand for field professionals. Processing device 202 is connectable to network interface 206 for access database 154. The current demand may be a demand for on-site services that occur at a current time. Paragraph Number [0237] teaches process 800E starts with step 802 as described in FIG. 8A. In some embodiments, a memory (e.g., database 154 or memory interface 204) may be configured to store historical data associated with past demand for field professionals in a geographical area. The historical data may be data associated with past performed services and may reflect statistics of the past demand, the field professionals performing tasks associated with the past demands, and environments or circumstances when those tasks were performed).
populating the second task record based on the one or more second task parameters (Paragraph Number [0212] teaches processing device 202 receives a set of requests reflecting a current demand for on-site services. Database 154 may be configured to store historical data associated with past demand for field professionals. Processing device 202 is connectable to network interface 206 for access database 154. The current demand may be a demand for on-site services that occur at a current time. Paragraph Number [0237] teaches process 800E starts with step 802 as described in FIG. 8A. In some embodiments, a memory (e.g., database 154 or memory interface 204) may be configured to store historical data associated with past demand for field professionals in a geographical area. The historical data may be data associated with past performed services and may reflect statistics of the past demand, the field professionals performing tasks associated with the past demands, and environments or circumstances when those tasks were performed).
sending the second task form via the second computing device to the third computing device, wherein the task form is configurable to be displayed on the GUI of the third computing device (Paragraph Number [0112] teaches both communication device 180 and server 152 may include network interface 206 coupled to bus 200. Network interface 206 may provide a two-way data communication to a network, such as network 170. Paragraph Number [0116] teaches memory device 234 may also store communication instructions 238 to facilitate communicating with one or more additional devices, one or more computers and/or one or more servers. Memory device 234 can include graphical user interface instructions 240 to facilitate graphic user interface processing; Paragraph Number [0137] teaches presentation layer 502 may be responsible for manipulating data for the performance of an action. Such an action may include, for example, rendering the data for display on a graphical user interface (GUI). Paragraph Number [0179] teaches processing device 202 provides to at least one of the first field professional and the second field professional, using network interface 206, information reflecting the reassignment of the task. In some embodiments, processing device 202 may send the information to the communication devices associated with the first field professional and the second field professional, such as communication device 180A).
Parash teaches task management and generating a task record related to the task but does not explicitly teach generating a task form based on the task request which is taught by the following citations from Hunter:
generating a second task form, the second task form populated based on the one or more second task parameters (Paragraph Number [0048] teaches after execution of the activity wizard module 316, the controller 312 transitions control to the task center module 320. The processor 302 thus launches and executes the task center module 320 to retrieve the corresponding form(s) and data, either from the data store 310 if available locally and/or from the databases 416, 417 of DSS 400 via the network 600. The computer 300 executes the task center module 320 to auto-populate data in any field of the form(s) indicating that data should be supplied from the DSS 400. Any such field(s) is associated with a network address or location (e.g., URL or URI) of the computer 402, as well as one or more metadata tags identifying the data sought for auto-population of the form(s). Paragraph Number [0052] teaches after the form(s) selected by the user are auto-populated with data, the processor 302 of the computer 300 executes the controller 312 to transition control from the task center module 320 to the form wizard module 322. The processor 302 executes the form wizard module 322 to generate and serve a web page with the form and auto-populated data to the user's computer 200 via the network 500. More specifically, the processor 302 auto-populates the form with data, retrieves form rule(s) from the database 422, and generates scripts incorporating these form rule(s) for inclusion in the web page served to the user. The processor 302 further executes the form wizard module 318 to store the form(s) with auto-populated and entered data in the user form database 417 to update the task(s) pending for the user. The processor 302 then executes the controller 312, which transitions control back to the task center module 320).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these references as described in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 10, the combination of Parash and Hunter teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Parash teaches:
generating a task instruction based on the populated task record (Paragraph Number [0193] teaches processing device 202 generates a schedule for field professionals 110 based on the demand for services, the availability data, and the skills data. Consistent with the present disclosure, processing device 202 may determine scheduling policies based on available resources and wherein generating the schedule is based on the scheduling policies. For example, when a certain tool is temporary disable, avoid scheduling certain tasks. In this embodiment, the available resources may include the field professionals themselves, working hours, vehicles, tools, equipment, spare parts, office space, and more. The schedule may be generated as any data that includes instructions for field professionals 110 to complete work at specified locations and time).
sending the task instruction to the third computing device via the second computing device (Paragraph Number [0246] teaches using network interface 206, processing device 202 provides directional instructions to a field professional assigned to the certain daily schedule to a location in proximity to a service zone. For example, referencing to FIG. 8C, field professional P2 is assigned to a daily schedule to perform a task at a location proximate to S2 where demands in S2 are predicted to occur in the future. Processing device 202 may provide directional instructions to P2 using network interface 206. In some embodiments, P2 may receive the directional instructions via communication device 180A. In some embodiments, P2's vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle) may receive the directional instructions automatically without P2's intervention. The directional instructions may be instructions that are informative for the field professional to complete tasks associated with the predicted demands).
As per claim 11 the combination of Parash and Hunter teaches each of the limitations of claim 1 and 10.
Parash teaches task management and generating a task record related to the task but does not explicitly teach generating a task form based on the task request which is taught by the following citations from Hunter:
wherein, in response to receipt of the task instruction by the third computing device, the third computing device is configured to update one or more fillable fields of the task form based on data included in the task instruction (Paragraph Number [0048] teaches after execution of the activity wizard module 316, the controller 312 transitions control to the task center module 320. The processor 302 thus launches and executes the task center module 320 to retrieve the corresponding form(s) and data, either from the data store 310 if available locally and/or from the databases 416, 417 of DSS 400 via the network 600. The computer 300 executes the task center module 320 to auto-populate data in any field of the form(s) indicating that data should be supplied from the DSS 400. Any such field(s) is associated with a network address or location (e.g., URL or URI) of the computer 402, as well as one or more metadata tags identifying the data sought for auto-population of the form(s). Paragraph Number [0052] teaches after the form(s) selected by the user are auto-populated with data, the processor 302 of the computer 300 executes the controller 312 to transition control from the task center module 320 to the form wizard module 322. The processor 302 executes the form wizard module 322 to generate and serve a web page with the form and auto-populated data to the user's computer 200 via the network 500. More specifically, the processor 302 auto-populates the form with data, retrieves form rule(s) from the database 422, and generates scripts incorporating these form rule(s) for inclusion in the web page served to the user. The processor 302 further executes the form wizard module 318 to store the form(s) with auto-populated and entered data in the user form database 417 to update the task(s) pending for the user. The processor 302 then executes the controller 312, which transitions control back to the task center module 320).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these references as described in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 12, the combination of Parash and Hunter teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 10.
In addition, Parash teaches:
wherein the task instruction includes data, commands, or a combination thereof (Paragraph Number [0200] teaches the information reflecting the assignment of the first task may include details about a customer associated with the first task. For example, the details may include a name, an account number, or a phone number of the customer. In some embodiments, the information reflecting the assignment of the first task may include description of the first task. For example, the description may include a tool, a spare part, or an existing infrastructure, which may be needed by the first task. In some embodiments, the information reflecting the assignment of the first task may include directional instructions to an identified location associated with the first task. For example, the directional instructions may include a location, an address, or a driving route of the customer. (Examiner asserts that this teaches at least the alternative limitation of a task description corresponding to the task)).
wherein the third computing device, based on receipt of the task instruction, is configured to display the data on the GUI, perform one or more tasks in response to the command, or a combination thereof (Paragraph Number [0137] teaches presentation layer 502 may be responsible for manipulating data for the performance of an action. Such an action may include, for example, rendering the data for display on a graphical user interface (GUI). Paragraph Number [0139] teaches presentation layer 502 may include software modules and processes (collectively, “components”) of application programs that use data stored in data layer 506 to perform actions. Example actions may include, without limitation, rendering information for display on a GUI presented to users through a display monitor. Paragraph Number [0259] teaches the information in the records may be derived from feedback from a set of field professionals (such as field professionals 110). For example, when a field professional did not complete a service in a single visit, the field professional may provide feedback explaining one or more reasons why he or she could not complete the service in a single visit. The feedback may include quantized or non-quantized data. For example, the feedback may be textual comments drafted by the field professionals, such as via a graphical user interface (GUI) of communication device 180A. For another example, the field professional may be provided a list of selections to identify the reason why he or she could not complete the service in a single visit (e.g., via the GUI of communication device 180A), and the feedback may be the item selected by the field professional. For another example, each reason why the service cannot be completed in a single visit may be pre-assigned with a code, and the feedback may include the code provided by the field professional (e.g., via the GUI of communication device 180A)).
As per claims 13 and 17, the combination of Parash and Hunter teaches each of the limitations of claims 1 and 14 respectively.
In addition, Parash teaches:
receiving update data, the update data indicating a completion status of the task; and updating the task record based on the update data. (Paragraph Number [0118] teaches the real-time information may include task status updates transmitted from field professionals' communication devices 180A. For example, the real-time information may indicate that the second field professional had finished the assignment earlier than the estimated time for the completion of the task associated with location “E.” Based on the real-time progress information, and as shown in FIG. 3B, server 152 may reassign the first field professional to a task associated location “F,” and reassign the second field professional to a task associated location “A.” Thus, the updated schedule of first field professional includes tasks associated with locations F, B, C, and D and the updated schedule of second field professional includes tasks associated with locations E, A, G, H).
As per claim 16, the combination of Parash and Hunter teaches each of the limitations of claim 14. Additionally, the claim language of claim 16 is substantially similar to that found in claims 10 and 12 and is rejected for the same reasons put forth in regard to claims 10 and 12.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW H DIVELBISS whose telephone number is (571)270-0166. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30 am - 6:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jerry O'Connor can be reached on (571) 272-6787.
/M. H. D./
Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624