DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final rejection is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 2/5/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are currently amended. Claims 1, 12, and 20 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakamichi et al. (US 2005/0188073 A1, hereinafter Nakamichi).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamichi teaches a method, applied to a first network device in a first device cluster, and comprising:
obtaining first traffic information of the first network device, [Abstract describes a client side router collecting server load information, Figure 4 and associated description, Par.[0026] among others];
determining, based on the first traffic information, first load information of the first network device, [Abstract describes a client device collecting server load information; Figure 4 and associated description; Par.[0026] among others]; and
sending, to a second network device in a second network device cluster, the first load information for determining second load information of a path comprising a first subpath, and wherein the first subpath is from the second network device to the first network device, [Abstract describes a client device collecting server load information and individual link load states for a plurality of delivery paths between the client and a server via client side routers/clusters and servicer side routers/clusters; Figure 4 and associated description; Par.[0026] among others; the clause “for determining…” may not have patentable weight because it reads like intended result and recite the limitation directly as a process step for it to have patentable weight, see MPEP 2111.04].
Regarding claim 12, Nakamichi teaches a method, applied to a first network device in a first device cluster and the method comprising:
obtaining a target packet to be sent to a destination device in a second device cluster, [Abstract and Figure 4 and elsewhere, client side routers and server side routers];
determining a target path from a first path and a second path based on first load information of a second network device in the second device cluster and second load information of a third network device in a third network device cluster, wherein the first path is from the first network device to the destination device through the second network device, wherein the second path is from the first network device to the destination device through the third network device, wherein the first load information based on first traffic information of the second network device, and wherein the second load information is based on second traffic information of the third network device, [Abstract and Par.[0026] among others describe evaluating multiple path from a server cluster to a client side router using server load and link loads; second network device and third network devices are routers on the path from the first network device and a destination client]; and
sending the target packet to the destination device through the target path, [Abstract and Par.[0026] among others describe finding a minimum load state delivery path].
Claim 20 corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected as above.
Regarding claim 2, Nakamichi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first load information comprises at least one of third load information or fourth load information, wherein the third load information determines fifth load information of a first path, wherein the first path is a shortest path from the second network device to the first network device, wherein the third load information indicates a capability of the first network device to receive and forward a packet to a device in the first device cluster, wherein the fourth load information determines sixth load information of a second path, wherein the second path is from the second network device to a third network device through the first network device, wherein the fourth load information indicates a capability of the first network device to receive and forward a packet to a network device in a third device cluster, and wherein the third network device belongs to the third device cluster, [these convoluted claim limitations have no special significance or meaning; these claim limitations are verbose but simply state the fact pattern of collecting device load information and determining path/link load information and using it for multiple paths; Abstract, Par.[0026]; Par.[0156] for shortest path].
Claim 13 corresponds to claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Nakamichi teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the first traffic information comprises downlink traffic information of the first network device, and wherein determining the first load information comprises determining the third load information based on the downlink traffic information of the first network device, [Abstract: respective individual link load states for a plurality of delivery paths (includes downlink) and Par.[0033] and Par.[0026] among others and Figure 4 shows determining server load and link load for a particular path].
Claim 14 corresponds to claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Nakamichi teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the first traffic information comprises uplink traffic information and wherein determining the first load information comprises determining the fourth load information based on the uplink traffic information, [Abstract: respective individual link load states for a plurality of delivery paths (includes uplink) and Par.[0033] and Par.[0026] among others and Figure 4 shows determining server load and link load for a particular path].
Regarding claim 5, Nakamichi teaches the method according to claim 2, sending the first load information comprises sending a first packet to the second network device, wherein the first packet comprises a payload part carrying the first load information, [Par.[0133] among others describes load information collecting unit deployed in individual routers or elsewhere and implicit in it is the packet payload containing load information which is the data part of the packet unrelated to packet headers in a TCP/IP based network].
Claim 15 corresponds to claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Nakamichi teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the first packet further comprises first indication information, and wherein the first indication information indicates that the payload part carries the first load information, [it is not clear what this indication information is referring to; Par.[0133] among others describes load information collecting unit deployed in individual routers or elsewhere and implicit in it is the packet payload containing load information which is the data part of the packet unrelated to packet headers in a TCP/IP based network].
Claim 16 corresponds to claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Nakamichi teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the first packet further comprises a control protocol packet header carrying the first indication information, [Par.[0123] describes RSVP protocol which uses control packets/channel].
Claim 17 corresponds to claim 7.
Regarding claim 11, Nakamichi teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising receiving, from a fourth network device, fourth load information, based on second traffic information of the fourth network device wherein the fourth network device belongs to a fourth device cluster, [these convoluted claim limitations have no special significance or meaning; Abstract describes a client side router collecting server load information, Figure 4 and associated description, Par.[0026] among others].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamichi in view of Ferguson et al. (US 7,468,977 B1, hereinafter Ferguson).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamichi teaches the method according to claim 7, and does not explicitly teach wherein the control protocol packet header comprises a Neighbor Notification Protocol (NNP) packet header, and wherein the NPP packet header comprises a subtype field carrying the first indication information;
Ferguson teaches wherein the control protocol packet header comprises a Neighbor Notification Protocol (NNP) packet header, and wherein the NPP packet header comprises a subtype field carrying the first indication information, [Col. 6, lines 46-55 describes NNP and control headers are implicit; NNP is a well-known protocol from the early 90s]; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation/suggestion would have been to provide neighbor related information such as address or other data like the load information to propagate through the networks, [Ferguson: Col. 6, lines 46-55].
Claim 18 corresponds to claim 8 and is rejected as above.
Claims 9, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamichi in view of Nakamichi et al. (US 2002/0085498 A1, hereinafter Nakamichi2).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamichi teaches the method according to claim 7, and does not explicitly teach wherein the first packet further comprises a link-layer packet header, wherein the link-layer packet header carries second indication information, and wherein the second indication information indicates that the first packet comprises the control protocol packet header, [these cryptic claim limitations without indicating a protocol or what the terms like indication information are referring to have no special significance or meaning; any packet has many different headers and many different fields and types];
Nakamichi2 teaches wherein the first packet further comprises a link-layer packet header, wherein the link-layer packet header carries second indication information, and wherein the second indication information indicates that the first packet comprises the control protocol packet header, [Abstract describes receiving traffic information from other nodes; see Par.[0050] for LSA]; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation/suggestion would have been to exchange link state among neighbor nodes, [Nakamichi2: Abstract].
Regarding claim 10, Nakamichi and Nakamichi2 disclose the method according to claim 9, and Nakamichi2 teaches wherein the link-layer packet header further comprises a protocol field carrying the second indication information, [dependent claim is obvious over Nakamichi in view of Nakamichi2 as above; Abstract and Par.[0050]].
Claim 19 corresponds to claim 9 and is rejected as above.
Examiner’s Note: Examiner suggests crafting claims without the overuse of claim terms like first, second, third, fourth, fifth …and so on, instead clearly reciting a topology of the information flow with the network entities involved and characterize the information exchanged using named protocols. Convoluted, verbose, and cryptic claim limitations render no special significance or meaning.
Conclusion
/PADMA MUNDUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443