DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the Application filed on 01/17/2025. Claims 2-21 are pending in the case. Claims 2 and 12 are independent claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 9 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10063408 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are an obvious variant of the claim set from the '408 patent only including minor differences in inter-related media assets, suggesting a media asset to catch up and a time threshold, see chart below where bolded portions are similar. It would have been obvious to track watch progress for inter-related media assets so that more kinds of media assets could be supported by the finished product. It would have been obvious to suggest watching media assets to catch up with the group so that users are aware of their progress relative to others and to further ensure that no one user in the group falls too far behind. It would have been obvious to allow the user to set a time based threshold so that the user would have more options for determining if a user is caught up.
Application No. 19/028541
U.S. Patent No. 10063408 B2
2. A method comprising:
providing, by a server, a user interface on a client device associated with a first user;
receiving, by the server, an indication of an interaction with the user interface that identifies:(a) a second user, and (b) a set of inter-related media assets;
analyzing, by the server, relative progress between the first user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets and the second user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets; and
based at least in part on the analyzing the relative progress:
selecting at least one media asset from the set of inter-related media assets for catching up the first user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets to the second user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets; and
causing to be displayed on the user interface of the client device of the first user a selectable option for consuming the at least one media asset.
3. (New) The method of claim 2, further comprising, displaying a progress indicator relating to the second user's consumption of the second media asset.
4. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein analyzing the relative progress between the first user's consumption and the second user's consumption comprises comparing a first consumption progress of the first user for the set of inter-related media assets to a second consumption progress of the second user for the set of inter-related media assets.
5. (New) The method of claim 4, wherein the first consumption progress is determined by querying a first data structure associated with the first user and the second consumption progress is determined by querying a second data structure associated with the second user, wherein the second data structure includes information relating to consumption of the second user for the set of inter- related media assets.
6. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein analyzing the relative progress between the first user's consumption and the second user's consumption comprises:
calculating a difference by subtracting the first user's consumption progress from the second user's consumption progress;
comparing the calculated difference to a threshold criterion; and
determining that the first user's consumption progress as being caught up to the second user's consumption progress when the threshold criteria is satisfied.
7. (New) The method of claim 6, wherein the threshold criterion relates to a range of time proximity between the first and second user's consumption progress.
8. (New) The method of claim 2, further comprising, causing an alert to be displayed when the first user's consumption progress has caught up to the second user's consumption progress for the set of inter-related media assets.
9. (New) The method of claim 8, further comprising, in response to determining that the first user's consumption progress has caught up to the second user's consumption progress for the set of inter-related media assets, displaying an option on a user interface of the first user.
10. (New) The method of claim 9, wherein the displayed option allows the first user to continue consumption of a media asset from the set of inter-related media assets.
11. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein receiving, by the server, the indication of the interaction with the user interface comprises receiving an identification of a media asset from the set of inter-related media assets.
1. A method for enabling a first user to set up an alert that will notify the first user when the first user has caught up to a second user's progress in consuming media, the method comprising:
prior to the first user accessing a first media of a plurality of media, receiving a first selection, made by the first user of a media consumption application, of an identifier of a second user, wherein the media consumption application provides access to a plurality of media;
receiving a second selection, made by the first user, of an identifier of media, wherein the identifier corresponds to the first media of the plurality of media;
in response to receiving both the first selection and the second selection, monitoring for access of the first media by the first user;
detecting, during the monitoring, that the first user is accessing the first media;
retrieving a second consumption progress of the second user corresponding to the identifier of the second user selected by the first user prior to accessing the first media;
comparing, while the first user is accessing the first media, a first consumption progress of the first user with respect to the first media with the second consumption progress of the second user with respect to the first media;
determining, based on the comparing, that the first user has caught up to the second consumption progress of the second user; and
in response to determining that the first user has caught up to the second consumption progress of the second user, generating for display an alert indicating the first user has caught up to the second user.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein comparing the consumption progress of the first user with the consumption progress of the second user further comprises: querying a first data structure associated with the first user for the first consumption progress; retrieving the first consumption progress from the first data structure based on the querying; querying a second data structure associated with the second user for the second consumption progress; retrieving the second consumption progress from the second data structure based on the querying; and analyzing a relationship of the first consumption progress with respect to the second consumption progress.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein determining that the first user has caught up to the consumption progress of the second user further comprises: receiving a comparison result based on the comparing; comparing the comparison result with a threshold criterion, wherein the threshold criterion defines a range of relative consumption progress of the first user with respect to relative consumption progress of the second user that qualifies the first user's consumption progress as being caught up to the second user's consumption progress; and triggering the alert to be generated for display if the comparison result meets the threshold criterion.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein generating for display the displayed alert comprises: querying a second data structure associated with the second user to identify a second media the second user has accessed; determining whether the first user has accessed the second media; in response to determining that the first user has not accessed the second media, retrieving media consumption progress of the second user for the second media from the second data structure; determining whether a threshold criterion is met by the media consumption progress for the second media by the second user; in response to determining that the threshold criterion is met by the media consumption progress for the second media by the second user, generating for display with the alert a selectable option for the first user to access the second media, wherein the selectable option is accompanied by an indicator of the media consumption progress by the second user of the second media.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein generating for display the displayed alert comprises: generating for display an option to continue consumption of the first media; receiving a third selection from the first user of the option; and in response to receiving the third selection, transmitting an alert to the second user to indicate that the first user has caught up to the second user and is continuing media consumption.
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11146446 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are an obvious variant of the claim set from the '446 patent only including minor differences in inter-related media assets, suggesting a media asset to catch up and a time threshold, see chart below where bolded portions are similar. It would have been obvious to track watch progress for inter-related media assets so that more kinds of media assets could be supported by the finished product. It would have been obvious to suggest watching media assets to catch up with the group so that users are aware of their progress relative to others and to further ensure that no one user in the group falls too far behind. It would have been obvious to allow the user to set a time based threshold so that the user would have more options for determining if a user is caught up.
Application No. 19/028541
U.S. Patent No. 11146446 B2
2. A method comprising:
providing, by a server, a user interface on a client device associated with a first user;
receiving, by the server, an indication of an interaction with the user interface that identifies:(a) a second user, and (b) a set of inter-related media assets;
analyzing, by the server, relative progress between the first user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets and the second user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets; and
based at least in part on the analyzing the relative progress:
selecting at least one media asset from the set of inter-related media assets for catching up the first user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets to the second user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets; and
causing to be displayed on the user interface of the client device of the first user a selectable option for consuming the at least one media asset.
3. (New) The method of claim 2, further comprising, displaying a progress indicator relating to the second user's consumption of the second media asset.
4. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein analyzing the relative progress between the first user's consumption and the second user's consumption comprises comparing a first consumption progress of the first user for the set of inter-related media assets to a second consumption progress of the second user for the set of inter-related media assets.
5. (New) The method of claim 4, wherein the first consumption progress is determined by querying a first data structure associated with the first user and the second consumption progress is determined by querying a second data structure associated with the second user, wherein the second data structure includes information relating to consumption of the second user for the set of inter- related media assets.
6. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein analyzing the relative progress between the first user's consumption and the second user's consumption comprises:
calculating a difference by subtracting the first user's consumption progress from the second user's consumption progress;
comparing the calculated difference to a threshold criterion; and
determining that the first user's consumption progress as being caught up to the second user's consumption progress when the threshold criteria is satisfied.
7. (New) The method of claim 6, wherein the threshold criterion relates to a range of time proximity between the first and second user's consumption progress.
8. (New) The method of claim 2, further comprising, causing an alert to be displayed when the first user's consumption progress has caught up to the second user's consumption progress for the set of inter-related media assets.
9. (New) The method of claim 8, further comprising, in response to determining that the first user's consumption progress has caught up to the second user's consumption progress for the set of inter-related media assets, displaying an option on a user interface of the first user.
10. (New) The method of claim 9, wherein the displayed option allows the first user to continue consumption of a media asset from the set of inter-related media assets.
11. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein receiving, by the server, the indication of the interaction with the user interface comprises receiving an identification of a media asset from the set of inter-related media assets.
1. A method for alerting a user when the user has caught up to another user's progress in consuming media, the method comprising:
causing, by a server, a first electronic media consumption device associated with a first user to generate a user interface for receiving an indication from the first user of a second user and receiving an indication of a first media;
in response to a selection made by the first user via the user interface and prior to the first user accessing the first media of a plurality of media using the first electronic media consumption device, receiving, by a control circuitry of the server, a request to generate a notification when progress of the first user in the first media reached progress of the second user in the first media, wherein the request identifies: (a) the second user, and (b) the first media;
in response to receiving the request to generate the notification, receiving by the control circuitry of a server, a second progress point of the second user that has accessed the first media using a second electronic media consumption device;
detecting, by the control circuitry, that the first user is accessing the first media;
comparing, by the control circuitry, a first progress point of the first user with respect to the first media with the second progress point of the second user with respect to the first media;
determining, by the control circuitry, based on the comparing, whether the first progress point has reached the second progress point of the second user; and
in response to determining, by the control circuitry, that the first progress point has reached within the predetermined threshold of the second progress point of the second user, generating for display an alert indicating the first user has caught up to the second user.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: storing a unique media identifier of the first media in a first data structure associated with the first user; receiving an indication that the first user is using a media consumption application to consume a given media of the plurality of media; querying the first data structure to determine whether the given media corresponds to the unique media identifier.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein comparing the first progress point of the first user with respect to the first media with the second progress point of the second user with respect to the first media further comprises: retrieving, from a first data structure associated with the first user, the first progress point of the first user with respect to the first media; retrieving, from the second data structure, the second progress point of the second user with respect to the first media; and analyzing a relationship of the first progress point with respect to the second progress point.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein determining that the first progress point has reached the second progress point of the second user further comprises: determining a difference between the first progress point and the second progress point; comparing the difference with a threshold criterion, wherein the threshold criterion defines a range of relative progress point of the first user with respect to relative progress point of the second user that qualifies the first user's progress point as having reached the second user's progress point; and triggering the alert to be generated for display if the difference meets the threshold criterion.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein generating the displayed alert further comprises: querying a first data structure associated with the first user to identify a second media the first user has accessed; querying a second data structure associated with the second user to identify a third media the second user has accessed; comparing the respective metadata of the second media and the third media to determine whether the second media matches the third media; in response to determining that the second media matches the third media, determining whether the first progress point of the first user with respect to the second media is less than the second progress point of the second user with respect to the third media; and in response to determining that the first progress point is less than the second progress point, generating, for display on the alert, an indication that the first user has not caught up to the second user with respect to the second media.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein generating for display the displayed alert comprises: querying a second data structure associated with the second user to identify a second media the second user has accessed; determining whether the first user has accessed the second media; in response to determining that the first user has not accessed the second media, retrieving, from the second data structure, media progress point of the second user for the second media; determining whether a threshold criterion is met by the media progress point for the second media by the second user; in response to determining that the threshold criterion is met by the media progress point for the second media by the second user, generating, for display with the alert, a selectable option for the first user to access the second media, wherein the selectable option is accompanied by an indicator of the media progress point by the second user of the second media.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein generating for display the displayed alert comprises: generating, for display, an option to continue consumption of the first media; receiving, from the first user, a selection of the option; and in response to receiving the selection, transmitting to the second user an alert indicating that the first user has caught up to the second user and is continuing media consumption.
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1, 3, 9 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11539577 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are an obvious variant of the claim set from the '446 patent only including minor differences in inter-related media assets, suggesting a media asset to catch up, displaying a progress indicator, calculating relative consumption by calculating a difference, and displaying a notification with an option to continue media consumption when progress is caught up, see chart below where bolded portions are similar. It would have been obvious to track watch progress for inter-related media assets so that more kinds of media assets could be supported by the finished product. It would have been obvious to suggest watching media assets to catch up with the group so that users are aware of their progress relative to others and to further ensure that no one user in the group falls too far behind. It would have been obvious to display a progress indicator so that the user could more easily determine the progress of users in the watch group. It would have been obvious to calculate relative consumption using calculated differences between consumption statuses so that the relative consumption information could be accurate. It would have been obvious to display a notification to a user when consumption progresses are caught up so that the user could continue progress without needing to manually check the progress.
Application No. 19/028541
U.S. Patent No. 11539577 B2
2. A method comprising:
providing, by a server, a user interface on a client device associated with a first user;
receiving, by the server, an indication of an interaction with the user interface that identifies:(a) a second user, and (b) a set of inter-related media assets;
analyzing, by the server, relative progress between the first user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets and the second user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets; and
based at least in part on the analyzing the relative progress:
selecting at least one media asset from the set of inter-related media assets for catching up the first user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets to the second user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets; and
causing to be displayed on the user interface of the client device of the first user a selectable option for consuming the at least one media asset.
3. (New) The method of claim 2, further comprising, displaying a progress indicator relating to the second user's consumption of the second media asset.
4. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein analyzing the relative progress between the first user's consumption and the second user's consumption comprises comparing a first consumption progress of the first user for the set of inter-related media assets to a second consumption progress of the second user for the set of inter-related media assets.
5. (New) The method of claim 4, wherein the first consumption progress is determined by querying a first data structure associated with the first user and the second consumption progress is determined by querying a second data structure associated with the second user, wherein the second data structure includes information relating to consumption of the second user for the set of inter- related media assets.
6. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein analyzing the relative progress between the first user's consumption and the second user's consumption comprises:
calculating a difference by subtracting the first user's consumption progress from the second user's consumption progress;
comparing the calculated difference to a threshold criterion; and
determining that the first user's consumption progress as being caught up to the second user's consumption progress when the threshold criteria is satisfied.
7. (New) The method of claim 6, wherein the threshold criterion relates to a range of time proximity between the first and second user's consumption progress.
8. (New) The method of claim 2, further comprising, causing an alert to be displayed when the first user's consumption progress has caught up to the second user's consumption progress for the set of inter-related media assets.
9. (New) The method of claim 8, further comprising, in response to determining that the first user's consumption progress has caught up to the second user's consumption progress for the set of inter-related media assets, displaying an option on a user interface of the first user.
10. (New) The method of claim 9, wherein the displayed option allows the first user to continue consumption of a media asset from the set of inter-related media assets.
11. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein receiving, by the server, the indication of the interaction with the user interface comprises receiving an identification of a media asset from the set of inter-related media assets.
1. A method comprising:
generating, by a server, a user interface for display on a first electronic media consumption device associated with a first user;
receiving, by the server, a selection made on the user interface, wherein the selection identifies a second user and a first media;
in response to the received selection, and prior to the first user accessing the first media of a plurality of media using the first electronic media consumption device, receiving, by a control circuitry of the server, a request to generate a notification when progress of the first user in the first media reaches progress of the second user in the first media, wherein the request identifies: the second user, and the first media; and
in response to receiving the request to generate the notification, generating for display on the first electronic media consumption device an alert when the first user's progress of consumption of the first media has caught up to the second users progress of consumption of the first media.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein, determining that progress of the first user in the first media reached progress of the second user in the first media comprises: querying the first electronic media consumption device to obtain the first user's progress of consumption of the first media; querying a second electronic media consumption device that is associated with the second user to obtain the second users progress of consumption of the first media; and comparing the first user's progress with the second users progress to determine whether the progress of the first user in the first media reached progress of the second user in the first media.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein determining that the first user's progress has caught up to the second users progress comprises: determining if the first user's progress is within a threshold time frame of the second user's progress; and in response to determining that the first users progress is within the threshold time frame of the second users progress, associating the first user's progress as caught up with the second users progress.
10. The method of claim 9, further comprising, determining a relative consumption progress of the first user with respect to consumption progress of the second user based on the threshold time frame.
Claims 2-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 6 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12289197 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are an obvious variant of the claim set from the '446 patent only including minor differences in calculating relative consumption by calculating a difference, a time threshold and displaying a notification with an option to continue media consumption when progress is caught up, see chart below where bolded portions are similar. It would have been obvious to calculate relative consumption using calculated differences between consumption statuses so that the relative consumption information could be accurate. It would have been obvious to display a notification to a user when consumption progresses are caught up so that the user could continue progress without needing to manually check the progress. It would have been obvious to allow the user to set a time based threshold so that the user would have more options for determining if a user is caught up.
Application No. 19/028541
U.S. Patent No. 12289197 B2
2. A method comprising:
providing, by a server, a user interface on a client device associated with a first user;
receiving, by the server, an indication of an interaction with the user interface that identifies:(a) a second user, and (b) a set of inter-related media assets;
analyzing, by the server, relative progress between the first user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets and the second user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets; and
based at least in part on the analyzing the relative progress:
selecting at least one media asset from the set of inter-related media assets for catching up the first user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets to the second user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets; and
causing to be displayed on the user interface of the client device of the first user a selectable option for consuming the at least one media asset.
3. (New) The method of claim 2, further comprising, displaying a progress indicator relating to the second user's consumption of the second media asset.
4. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein analyzing the relative progress between the first user's consumption and the second user's consumption comprises comparing a first consumption progress of the first user for the set of inter-related media assets to a second consumption progress of the second user for the set of inter-related media assets.
5. (New) The method of claim 4, wherein the first consumption progress is determined by querying a first data structure associated with the first user and the second consumption progress is determined by querying a second data structure associated with the second user, wherein the second data structure includes information relating to consumption of the second user for the set of inter- related media assets.
6. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein analyzing the relative progress between the first user's consumption and the second user's consumption comprises:
calculating a difference by subtracting the first user's consumption progress from the second user's consumption progress;
comparing the calculated difference to a threshold criterion; and
determining that the first user's consumption progress as being caught up to the second user's consumption progress when the threshold criteria is satisfied.
7. (New) The method of claim 6, wherein the threshold criterion relates to a range of time proximity between the first and second user's consumption progress.
8. (New) The method of claim 2, further comprising, causing an alert to be displayed when the first user's consumption progress has caught up to the second user's consumption progress for the set of inter-related media assets.
9. (New) The method of claim 8, further comprising, in response to determining that the first user's consumption progress has caught up to the second user's consumption progress for the set of inter-related media assets, displaying an option on a user interface of the first user.
10. (New) The method of claim 9, wherein the displayed option allows the first user to continue consumption of a media asset from the set of inter-related media assets.
11. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein receiving, by the server, the indication of the interaction with the user interface comprises receiving an identification of a media asset from the set of inter-related media assets.
1. A method comprising:
generating, by a server, a user interface on a first electronic media consumption device associated with a first user;
receiving, by the server, a selection made via the user interface, wherein the selection identifies a second user and a first series of episodes being consumed by the first user;
generating, by the server, on the user interface of the first electronic media consumption device:
a) a first relative progress indicator that displays a relative progress between the first and the second user related to their consumption of the first series of episodes; and
b) a suggestion for the first user to consume a second series of episodes that are related to the first series of episodes, wherein the suggestion is accompanied by a second relative progress indicator that displays the second user's consumption progress related to consumption of the second series of episodes; and
generating for display, on the user interface of the first electronic media consumption device, an alert when the first user has caught up to the second user’s consumption either for the first or the second series of episodes.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to the server receiving both the selection of the second user and the first series of episodes, the server: monitoring for access of an episode in the first series of episodes by the first user; determining a first consumption progress of the first user corresponding to the first series of episodes; comparing the first consumption progress to a second consumption progress, wherein the second consumption progress relates to progress of the second user corresponding to the first series of episodes; and generating the first relative progress indicator based on the comparing of the first consumption progress to the second consumption progress.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein generating for display the alert further comprises: receiving, by the server, a request to generate a notification when progress of the first user in the first series of episodes reaches progress of the second user in the first series of episodes; and in response to receiving the request to generate the notification, generating for display on the first electronic media consumption device the alert when the first user's progress of consumption of the first series of episodes has caught up to the second users progress of consumption of the first series of episodes.
10. The method of claim 1, further comprising, suggesting, by the server, the second series of episodes for consumption to the first user if a determination is made that consumption of the second series of episodes by the second user is less than a predetermined threshold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eatedali et al. (US 20170171626 A1, hereinafter Eatedali) in view of Lewis (US 20170078758 A1, hereinafter Lewis).
As to claim 2, Eatedali discloses a method comprising:
providing, by a server, a user interface on a client device associated with a first user ("Computing device 110 may be a media server that provides media content 115 as part of a subscription or ad-supported video streaming service, e.g., Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu, etc., a content aggregation service, e.g., Disney Movies Anywhere, etc., or a transactional service, e.g., iTunes, Amazon Instant Video, etc., which monitors and tracks entertainment consumption. Alternatively, computing device 110 may be a third-party computing server that is in communication with the aforementioned media server through network 185," Eatedali paragraph 0008; "Computing device 110 may receive a user input from media device 193 via network 185 to add a user to a viewing group," Eatedali paragraph 0023);
receiving, by the server, an indication of an interaction with the user interface that identifies: (a) a second user, and (b) a set of inter-related media assets ("Flowchart 300 begins at 310, where executable code 140 establishes a viewing group having a plurality of users. Computing device 110 may receive a user input from media device 193 via network 185 to add a user to a viewing group. In some implementations, formation of a viewing group may include an interaction between a social media website and/or application and a media service. For example, executable code 140 may receive an input from the social media website and/or application to add a user to a viewing group associated with media contents 155, and executable code 140 may link the viewing group with a media service that provides the associated media content, such as an online streaming service. Each viewing group may have a plurality of users, and associated media contents, such as media contents 155. The viewing group may be a group of users viewing a television series, a movie series, or a genre of movies, or may be members of a book club, a study group, or other groups accessing the same media contents. In some implementations, viewing groups may be formed by a primary user. The primary user may select a media content to share in a viewing group," Eatedali paragraph 0023; "At 320, executable code 140 provides an ordered list of the plurality of media contents in media contents 155. Executable code 140 may determine the order of media contents 155 in the ordered list of media contents, and/or a user of the viewing group associated with the ordered list of media contents may assign the order of media contents 155 in the ordered list of media contents," Eatedali paragraph 0024, user creates a watch group for a specified TV show and invites users to the group);
analyzing, by the server, relative progress between the first user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets and the second user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets ("At 340, executable code 140 tracks a viewing progress of the first media content by each of the plurality of users in the viewing group. In some implementations, tracking module 143 may automatically track the progress of each user of the viewing group as the user progresses through the ordered list of media contents," Eatedali paragraph 0026; "At 350, executable code 140 makes a second media content in media contents 155 available for viewing by each of the plurality of users in the viewing group based on one or more rules related to the viewing progress of the first media content by each of the plurality of users in the viewing group. In some implementations, rules module 141 may require each user of the viewing group to view the first media content before making the second media content available, or rules module 143 may make the second content available to users as each user finishes the first media content, but prevent the users from continuing to a subsequent media content of the ordered list of media contents. Rules module 141 may include rules such as a gap limit to limit the number of episodes between the users in the viewing group," Eatedali paragraph 0027, comparing consumption progress between users to determine a episode gap between users (i.e., relative progress)); and
based at least in part on the analyzing the relative progress:
selecting at least one media asset from the set of inter-related media assets for catching up the first user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets to the second user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets ("Rules module 141 may include a plurality of rules governing the virtual shared media experience, such as a maximum episode gap between users in the viewing group, where an episode gap may refer to a number of episodes of a television show between a user who has watched the fewest number of episodes from the ordered list of media contents and a user who has viewed the greatest number of episodes from the ordered list of media contents. For example, when a viewing group is viewing a television show including five episodes and the viewing group has a two-episode gap rule, no user in the viewing group will be allowed to view episode three until all users have viewed episode one, and no user will be permitted to view episode four until all users have viewed episode one and episode two," Eatedali paragraph 0010; "The user interface may present a user who attempts to play the next episode with a message reminding the user that they are part of the viewing group and must wait for the other users. Once the other users in the viewing group have viewed the necessary episodes, the user who was previously blocked by the rule may receive a notification, either in app or via email, that other users in the viewing group have caught up and the user can continue watching," Eatedali paragraph 0029, user can set an episode gap threshold and in the example given there is a 0 episode gap for everyone to be considered caught up); and
causing to be displayed on the user interface of the client device of the first user a option for consuming the at least one media asset (“At 370, executable code 140 transmits a communication to each user of the plurality of users of the viewing group, including a viewing update based on a viewing activity of at least one other user of the plurality of users of the viewing group. For example, executable code 140 may provide an option for email-based notifications when other users have watched an episode… The communication may be a pop-up message, an email, an SMS message, etc.,” Eatedali paragraph 0032, sending a notification that lets the user know that someone else in the group completed an episode and thus letting the user know that they are now behind and there is an option to consume a media asset).
However Eatedali does not appear to explicitly disclose causing to be displayed on the user interface of the client device of the first user a selectable option for consuming the at least one media asset.
Lewis teaches causing to be displayed on the user interface of the client device of the first user a selectable option for consuming the at least one media asset (“The notification 302A may include a text indication 305A of the notifiable event (e.g., that Julie has liked Series X). The notification 302A includes a reference 306A. The reference 306A may be a link such as a Uniform Resource Locator (URL), in one implementation. In an implementation, the notification may include any of a combination of text, links, and/or graphics. Upon selection of the reference 306A, in the depicted embodiment, the device is directed to a video of the next episode in Series X, where the next episode has not been previously viewed by the user,” Lewis paragraph 0066).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Eatedali to display a selectable option for consuming the user’s next unwatched episode in Eatadali’s notification as taught by Lewis. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user would not need to manually find the episode and play it in order to catch up, thus reducing steps and resulting in greater ease of use for the user.
As to claim 3, Eatedali as modified by Lewis further discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising, displaying a progress indicator relating to the second user's consumption of the second media asset ("In some implementations, executable code 140 may include a visual representation of each user's viewing progress, such that any user may be able to check the progress of each of the other users. In some implementations, the visual representation may be a bar chart in which each user is assigned a progress bar," Eatedali paragraph 0026).
As to claim 4, Eatedali as modified by Lewis further discloses the method of claim 2, wherein analyzing the relative progress between the first user's consumption and the second user's consumption comprises comparing a first consumption progress of the first user for the set of inter-related media assets to a second consumption progress of the second user for the set of inter-related media assets ("At 350, executable code 140 makes a second media content in media contents 155 available for viewing by each of the plurality of users in the viewing group based on one or more rules related to the viewing progress of the first media content by each of the plurality of users in the viewing group. In some implementations, rules module 141 may require each user of the viewing group to view the first media content before making the second media content available, or rules module 143 may make the second content available to users as each user finishes the first media content, but prevent the users from continuing to a subsequent media content of the ordered list of media contents. Rules module 141 may include rules such as a gap limit to limit the number of episodes between the users in the viewing group," Eatedali paragraph 0027, comparing consumption progress between users to determine a episode gap between users (i.e., relative progress)).
As to claim 5, Eatedali as modified by Lewis further discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the first consumption progress is determined by querying a first data structure associated with the first user and the second consumption progress is determined by querying a second data structure associated with the second user, wherein the second data structure includes information relating to consumption of the second user for the set of inter-related media assets ("Memory 130 is a non-transitory storage device for storing computer code for execution by processor 120, and also storing various data and parameters," Eatedali paragraph 0008; "Tracking module 143 is a software module within executable code 140 for execution by processor 120 to track each user's progress in the ordered list of media contents. In some implementations, tracking module 143 may automatically track a user's viewing of media contents 155, or tracking module 143 may require a user to manually update the user's progress as the user views media contents 155. For example, when media contents 155 include a season of a television show available online or chapters of a digital book, tracking module 143 may automatically update the progress of a user when the user watches an episode of the television show or reads a chapter of the digital book," Eatadali paragraph 0013).
As to claim 6, Eatedali as modified by Lewis further discloses the method of claim 2, wherein analyzing the relative progress between the first user's consumption and the second user's consumption comprises:
calculating a difference by subtracting the first user's consumption progress from the second user's consumption progress ("Matrix 200 shows a scenario including n users viewing an ordered list of media contents including m episodes, where both n and m are integer numbers, and the scenario is governed by a rule that does not allow more than one episode gap between viewing users. As shown in FIG. 2, executable code 140 allows access by all users to episode 1, which all users have viewed, and allows access by all users to episode 2, which has been viewed by all users except user 2. As such, executable code 140 does not allow user 2 to access episode 3, even though Episode 3 is available to other users, because User 2 has not yet watched episode 2. Episode 4, however, is not available to any of the users, because allowing access to episode 4 would violate the one episode gap rule, based on the one episode gap existing between user 1, who has viewed episodes 1-3, and user 2, who has only viewed Episode 1. In the scenario depicted in FIG. 2, if user 2 views episode 2, executable code 140 updates the status of episode 4 to allow access to any user who has watched Episodes 1-3," Eatadali paragraph 0022, progress between users determined by a gap (i.e., difference) between the various users' watch progress);
comparing the calculated difference to a threshold criterion ("The user interface may present a user who attempts to play the next episode with a message reminding the user that they are part of the viewing group and must wait for the other users. Once the other users in the viewing group have viewed the necessary episodes, the user who was previously blocked by the rule may receive a notification, either in app or via email, that other users in the viewing group have caught up and the user can continue watching," Eatedali paragraph 0029, threshold of 0 episode gap for everyone to be caught up and thus continue to the next episode); and
determining that the first user's consumption progress as being caught up to the second user's consumption progress when the threshold criteria is satisfied ("Rules module 141 may include a plurality of rules governing the virtual shared media experience, such as a maximum episode gap between users in the viewing group, where an episode gap may refer to a number of episodes of a television show between a user who has watched the fewest number of episodes from the ordered list of media contents and a user who has viewed the greatest number of episodes from the ordered list of media contents. For example, when a viewing group is viewing a television show including five episodes and the viewing group has a two-episode gap rule, no user in the viewing group will be allowed to view episode three until all users have viewed episode one, and no user will be permitted to view episode four until all users have viewed episode one and episode two," Eatedali paragraph 0010; "The user interface may present a user who attempts to play the next episode with a message reminding the user that they are part of the viewing group and must wait for the other users. Once the other users in the viewing group have viewed the necessary episodes, the user who was previously blocked by the rule may receive a notification, either in app or via email, that other users in the viewing group have caught up and the user can continue watching," Eatedali paragraph 0029, user can set an episode gap threshold and in the example given there is a 0 episode gap for everyone to be caught up and thus continue to the next episode).
As to claim 7, Eatedali as modified by Lewis further discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the threshold criterion relates to a range of time proximity between the first and second user's consumption progress ("Rules module 141 may include a rule establishing a maximum amount of time each user of the viewing group has to view a next episode to remain in the viewing group, e.g., to remain in the viewing group, each user must watch the next available episode within the defined time, such as one day, one week, etc., and a user failing to watch the next available episode within the defined time will be removed from the viewing group," Eatedali paragraph 0011; "Tracking module 143 may consider a user to have finished media contents 155 when the user has viewed a certain or substantial portion of media contents 155, such as 80%, 90%, 95%, etc.," Eatedali paragraph 0026, determining if a user has completed an episode (and thus if the user has caught up in episodes or not) based on what percentage of the episode the user watched (i.e., how much time a user watched)).
As to claim 8, Eatedali as modified by Lewis further discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising, causing an alert to be displayed when the first user's consumption progress has caught up to the second user's consumption progress for the set of inter-related media assets ("Once the other users in the viewing group have viewed the necessary episodes, the user who was previously blocked by the rule may receive a notification, either in app or via email, that other users in the viewing group have caught up and the user can continue watching," Eatedali paragraph 0029).
As to claim 9, Eatedali as modified by Lewis further discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising, in response to determining that the first user's consumption progress has caught up to the second user's consumption progress for the set of inter-related media assets, displaying an option on a user interface of the first user ("Once the other users in the viewing group have viewed the necessary episodes, the user who was previously blocked by the rule may receive a notification, either in app or via email, that other users in the viewing group have caught up and the user can continue watching," Eatedali paragraph 0029, displaying a notification letting the user know they have the option to continue with the next episode).
As to claim 10, Eatedali as modified by Lewis further discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the displayed option allows the first user to continue consumption of a media asset from the set of inter-related media assets ("Once the other users in the viewing group have viewed the necessary episodes, the user who was previously blocked by the rule may receive a notification, either in app or via email, that other users in the viewing group have caught up and the user can continue watching," Eatedali paragraph 0029, displaying a notification letting the user know they have the option to continue with the next episode).
As to claim 11, Eatedali as modified by Lewis further discloses the method of claim 2, wherein receiving, by the server, the indication of the interaction with the user interface comprises receiving an identification of a media asset from the set of inter-related media assets ("Flowchart 300 begins at 310, where executable code 140 establishes a viewing group having a plurality of users. Computing device 110 may receive a user input from media device 193 via network 185 to add a user to a viewing group. In some implementations, formation of a viewing group may include an interaction between a social media website and/or application and a media service. For example, executable code 140 may receive an input from the social media website and/or application to add a user to a viewing group associated with media contents 155, and executable code 140 may link the viewing group with a media service that provides the associated media content, such as an online streaming service. Each viewing group may have a plurality of users, and associated media contents, such as media contents 155. The viewing group may be a group of users viewing a television series, a movie series, or a genre of movies, or may be members of a book club, a study group, or other groups accessing the same media contents. In some implementations, viewing groups may be formed by a primary user. The primary user may select a media content to share in a viewing group," Eatedali paragraph 0023; "At 320, executable code 140 provides an ordered list of the plurality of media contents in media contents 155. Executable code 140 may determine the order of media contents 155 in the ordered list of media contents, and/or a user of the viewing group associated with the ordered list of media contents may assign the order of media contents 155 in the ordered list of media contents," Eatedali paragraph 0024, user creates a watch group for a specified TV show and invites users to the group).
As to claim 11, Eatedali discloses a system comprising:
communications circuitry to access a set of inter-related media assets ("Computing device 110 may be a media server that provides media content 115 as part of a subscription or ad-supported video streaming service, e.g., Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu, etc., a content aggregation service, e.g., Disney Movies Anywhere, etc., or a transactional service, e.g., iTunes, Amazon Instant Video, etc., which monitors and tracks entertainment consumption. Alternatively, computing device 110 may be a third-party computing server that is in communication with the aforementioned media server through network 185," Eatedali paragraph 0008; "Computing device 110 may receive a user input from media device 193 via network 185 to add a user to a viewing group," Eatedali paragraph 0023); and
control circuitry configured to:
provide a user interface on a client device associated with a first user ("Computing device 110 may be a media server that provides media content 115 as part of a subscription or ad-supported video streaming service, e.g., Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu, etc., a content aggregation service, e.g., Disney Movies Anywhere, etc., or a transactional service, e.g., iTunes, Amazon Instant Video, etc., which monitors and tracks entertainment consumption. Alternatively, computing device 110 may be a third-party computing server that is in communication with the aforementioned media server through network 185," Eatedali paragraph 0008; "Computing device 110 may receive a user input from media device 193 via network 185 to add a user to a viewing group," Eatedali paragraph 0023);
receive an indication of an interaction with the user interface that identifies: (a) a second user, and (b) the set of inter-related media assets ("Flowchart 300 begins at 310, where executable code 140 establishes a viewing group having a plurality of users. Computing device 110 may receive a user input from media device 193 via network 185 to add a user to a viewing group. In some implementations, formation of a viewing group may include an interaction between a social media website and/or application and a media service. For example, executable code 140 may receive an input from the social media website and/or application to add a user to a viewing group associated with media contents 155, and executable code 140 may link the viewing group with a media service that provides the associated media content, such as an online streaming service. Each viewing group may have a plurality of users, and associated media contents, such as media contents 155. The viewing group may be a group of users viewing a television series, a movie series, or a genre of movies, or may be members of a book club, a study group, or other groups accessing the same media contents. In some implementations, viewing groups may be formed by a primary user. The primary user may select a media content to share in a viewing group," Eatedali paragraph 0023; "At 320, executable code 140 provides an ordered list of the plurality of media contents in media contents 155. Executable code 140 may determine the order of media contents 155 in the ordered list of media contents, and/or a user of the viewing group associated with the ordered list of media contents may assign the order of media contents 155 in the ordered list of media contents," Eatedali paragraph 0024, user creates a watch group for a specified TV show and invites users to the group);
analyze relative progress between the first user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets and the second user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets ("At 340, executable code 140 tracks a viewing progress of the first media content by each of the plurality of users in the viewing group. In some implementations, tracking module 143 may automatically track the progress of each user of the viewing group as the user progresses through the ordered list of media contents," Eatedali paragraph 0026; "At 350, executable code 140 makes a second media content in media contents 155 available for viewing by each of the plurality of users in the viewing group based on one or more rules related to the viewing progress of the first media content by each of the plurality of users in the viewing group. In some implementations, rules module 141 may require each user of the viewing group to view the first media content before making the second media content available, or rules module 143 may make the second content available to users as each user finishes the first media content, but prevent the users from continuing to a subsequent media content of the ordered list of media contents. Rules module 141 may include rules such as a gap limit to limit the number of episodes between the users in the viewing group," Eatedali paragraph 0027, comparing consumption progress between users to determine a episode gap between users (i.e., relative progress)); and
based at least in part on the analyzing the relative progress:
select at least one media asset from the set of inter-related media assets for catching up the first user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets to the second user's consumption of the set of inter-related media assets ("Rules module 141 may include a plurality of rules governing the virtual shared media experience, such as a maximum episode gap between users in the viewing group, where an episode gap may refer to a number of episodes of a television show between a user who has watched the fewest number of episodes from the ordered list of media contents and a user who has viewed the greatest number of episodes from the ordered list of media contents. For example, when a viewing group is viewing a television show including five episodes and the viewing group has a two-episode gap rule, no user in the viewing group will be allowed to view episode three until all users have viewed episode one, and no user will be permitted to view episode four until all users have viewed episode one and episode two," Eatedali paragraph 0010; "The user interface may present a user who attempts to play the next episode with a message reminding the user that they are part of the viewing group and must wait for the other users. Once the other users in the viewing group have viewed the necessary episodes, the user who was previously blocked by the rule may receive a notification, either in app or via email, that other users in the viewing group have caught up and the user can continue watching," Eatedali paragraph 0029, user can set an episode gap threshold and in the example given there is a 0 episode gap for everyone to be considered caught up); and
cause to be displayed on the user interface of the client device of the first user a selectable option for consuming the at least one media asset (“At 370, executable code 140 transmits a communication to each user of the plurality of users of the viewing group, including a viewing update based on a viewing activity of at least one other user of the plurality of users of the viewing group. For example, executable code 140 may provide an option for email-based notifications when other users have watched an episode… The communication may be a pop-up message, an email, an SMS message, etc.,” Eatedali paragraph 0032, sending a notification that lets the user know that someone else in the group completed an episode and thus letting the user know that they are now behind and there is an option to consume a media asset).
However Eatedali does not appear to explicitly disclose causing to be displayed on the user interface of the client device of the first user a selectable option for consuming the at least one media asset.
Lewis teaches causing to be displayed on the user interface of the client device of the first user a selectable option for consuming the at least one media asset (“The notification 302A may include a text indication 305A of the notifiable event (e.g., that Julie has liked Series X). The notification 302A includes a reference 306A. The reference 306A may be a link such as a Uniform Resource Locator (URL), in one implementation. In an implementation, the notification may include any of a combination of text, links, and/or graphics. Upon selection of the reference 306A, in the depicted embodiment, the device is directed to a video of the next episode in Series X, where the next episode has not been previously viewed by the user,” Lewis paragraph 0066).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Eatedali to display a selectable option for consuming the user’s next unwatched episode in Eatadali’s notification as taught by Lewis. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user would not need to manually find the episode and play it in order to catch up, thus reducing steps and resulting in greater ease of use for the user.
As to claim 13, it is substantially similar to claim 3 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 14, it is substantially similar to claim 4 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 15, it is substantially similar to claim 5 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 16, it is substantially similar to claim 6 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 17, it is substantially similar to claim 7 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 18, it is substantially similar to claim 8 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 19, it is substantially similar to claim 9 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 20, it is substantially similar to claim 10 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 21, it is substantially similar to claim 11 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20170154317 A1 to Bruce et al. discloses enhanced content interest and consumption communities where an alert is displayed when a user falls behind a threshold amount of progress when viewing content;
US 9692841 B1 to Chandler et al. discloses consuming content items collaboratively where users in a collaborative consumption group are alerted to the progress of other members in the group in consuming a content item;
US 9760254 B1 to Donnelley et al. discloses systems and methods for social book reading where users in a social book reading group are alerted the progress of other members in the group;
US 20160117067 A1 to Ghosh et al. discloses point of interest collaborative e-reading where a user can create a collaborative reading group and displaying notifications to the user about relative progress of the user compared to other members of the group;
US 20140101244 A1 to Klein et al. discloses processing content spoilers where progress information of each member in a content consumption group are displayed side-by-side;
US 20130254308 A1 to Rose et al. discloses a content provision system where users are alerted to content consumption progress of individual members in a watch group; and
US 20150249543 A1 to Tang et al. discloses systems and methods for connecting a plurality of users based on a common interest in an unpopular media asset where a user’s progress of a TV show relative to other users’ progress is shown.
/DANIEL SAMWEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171