DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The following is a non-Final office action. In response to Examiner's communication of May 21, 2026, Applicant, on July 13, 2026, elected Group I, claims 1-10, without traverse, amended claims 2-10, added claims 24-36 directed to Group I, and canceled claims 11-23, directed to Groups II and III, being directed to the non-elected invention. Claims 1-10 & 24-36 are now pending and have been rejected below.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on July 13, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “he first process flow” rather than “the” first process flow. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 & 24-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of "the common elements,” “the first processes,” and “the absent element,” while the claim respectively introduces “first elements common,” “a first process,” and “an absence of one or more element.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for "the common elements,” “the first processes,” and “the absent element” recited in the claim.
Claims 2-10 & 24-36 depend on claim 1 and fail to cure the aforementioned deficiencies, and thus, these claims are rejected for the reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 & 24-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims (claim 1, and similarly claims 2-10 & 24-36) recite the abstract elements of
providing a first process definition including a list of process steps and data associated with each step;
analysing a data set to determine first elements common to a same instance of the first process;
mapping the common elements within the same instance of the first processes to provide an estimated process instance flow;
evaluating the estimated process instance flow to determine an absence of one or more element common to the process definition; and
providing a notice of the absent element.
Claims 1-10 & 24-36, in view of the claim limitations, are directed to the abstract idea of providing a process definition including steps and data, analyzing a data set to determine elements common to the process, mapping the common elements within the processes to estimate a process flow, evaluating the estimated process flow to determine an absence of an element common to the process definition, and providing a notice of the absent element.
As a whole, in view of the claim limitations, but for the computer components and systems performing the claimed functions, the broadest reasonable interpretation of providing a process definition including steps and data, analyzing a data set to determine elements common to the process, mapping the common elements within the processes to estimate a process flow, evaluating the estimated process flow to determine an absence of an element common to the process definition, and providing a notice of the absent element could all be reasonably interpreted as a human mentally observing information regarding a process definition including steps and data and recording the definition mentally and/or with a pen and paper, a human evaluating information and using judgement to analyze data regarding a process to determine common elements, map common elements of the process to estimate a process flow, determine an absence of a common element of the definition, and a human outputting the results of the evaluation and judgement manually and/or using a pen and paper; therefore, the claims recite a mental process. Further, as a whole, each of the limitations above manage the human behavior of human implemented business processes; therefore, the claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity. In addition, with respect to the dependent claims, aside from the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea addressed below under the second prong of Step 2A and 2B, the limitations of dependent claims 2-10 & 24-36 recite similar further abstract limitations to those discussed above that narrow the abstract idea recited in the independent claims because, aside from the computer components and systems performing the claimed functions the limitations of claims recite mental processes that can be practically performed mentally by observing, evaluating, and judging information mentally and/or with a pen and paper and recite a certain method of organizing human activity that manages human behavior. Accordingly, since the claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity and mental processes, the claims recite an abstract idea under the first prong of Step 2A.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application under the second prong of Step 2A. In particular, the independent and dependent claims do not recite additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea. Further, the remaining elements of dependent claims 2-10 & 24-36 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because these claims merely recite further limitations that provide no more than simply narrowing the recited abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under Step 2B. As noted above, the independent and dependent claims do not recite additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea; therefore, the claims do not recite additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. Moreover, as noted above, the remaining elements of dependent claims 2-10 & 24-36 do not transform the recited abstract idea into a patent eligible invention because these claims merely recite further limitations that provide no more than simply narrowing the recited abstract idea.
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to apply the recited abstract idea. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claims as a whole amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Since there are no limitations in these claims that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that these claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, claims 1-10 & 24-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 10, 24-32, & 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sheldon, et al. (US 20160267268 A1), hereinafter Sheldon.
Regarding claim 1, Sheldon discloses a method comprising (Abstract, [0141]-[0144], fig. 5):
providing a first process definition including a list of process steps and data associated with each step ([0028], [0030], [0038]-[0039], unstructured activity training system 104 trains a set of models that identify processes of detected activities by accessing unstructured event records 200, such as email messages, phone calls, text messages, searches, etc., clustering the records 200 into unstructured activity patterns that correspond to a same process, activity patterns, entity, document, performing process model learning to learn the process, document, and unstructured activity pattern to which it belongs, and outputting the refined process models 206, [0054], wherein a user’s unstructured activity pattern is a series of steps, in order, that the user consistently performs);
analysing a data set to determine first elements common to a same instance of the first process ([0041]-[0042], [0044]-[0045], [0047], fig. 5, during run time, in block 320, event detection component 268, of the runtime unstructured activity processing system 108, first detects the occurrence of an unstructured event within computing system 102, such as emails, phone calls, text messages, social network interactions, searches, etc., in block 323, extraction component 270, runtime unstructured activity processing system 108, then extracts information indicative of the detected event into a schema or data structure in order to form the unstructured event records 292, and in block 324, event type identification system 274 then uses event type identifier model 202 to perform event type identification on the unstructured event record 292, [0024], [0026], at runtime, runtime unstructured activity processing system 108 detects user interactions or other unstructured events, such as email sent, other messaging communications through a messaging system or telephonic system, user initiated searches, identifies and extracts information, captures all of the activity and events, uses models trained by training system 104 to identify the type of event);
mapping the common elements within the same instance of the first processes to provide an estimated process instance flow ([0041]-[0042], [0051], fig. 5, in block 330, process model matching system 282 of the runtime unstructured activity processing system 108 then uses refined process models 206 in order to match the labeled event records 296/the detected event (represented by record 292 that now include an event label and case ID) to a particular process from process log store 278/in computing system 102 and identify whether it is part of an activity pattern for the user, [0026], in capturing the unstructured activity, processing system 108 detects patterns in the unstructured activity (such as sequences of operations, words or topics in various documents, email transmissions, inclusion of various different people, different documents, etc.) and identifies that an unstructured event or a pattern of unstructured activity relates to a process 160 or workflow 162 based on contacts, customers, words or topics, recipients or attendees, etc.);
evaluating the estimated process instance flow to determine an absence of one or more element common to the process definition ([0041]-[0042], conformance checking system 284 of the runtime unstructured activity processing system 108 checks to see whether those unstructured activities conform to pre-defined activity patterns [0051], [0054], fig. 5, after identifying the particular process and activity pattern of the detected event, process model matching system 282 then provides the unstructured event record 292, its event label and case ID, and an indication of the particular process to which it belong, to conformance checking system 284, which may identify that the user has deviated from the user's normal unstructured activity pattern under certain circumstances, e.g., a user always responds to an email from a certain sender, but has not yet done so, the user consistently performs a series of steps, in order, but the user has skipped one of those steps); and
providing a notice of the absent element ([0041]-[0042], runtime unstructured activity processing system 108 includes a process/workflow system 286 of the runtime that can initiate or direct a workflow or user experience and recommendation engine 288 that can recommend activities based on deviations from previously-detected patterns (or anomalies with respect to those patterns), [0051]-[0054], fig. 5, at block 332, conformance checking system 284, process/workflow prediction system 286 and recommendation engine 288 can control user interface component 290 to generate a user experience based on the event type, case ID, corresponding process (or activity pattern or both) identified for the detected event, e.g., in block 334 these systems control user interface component 290 to output the identity of the particular process to which the detected event corresponds, in block 342 any of the systems can also output alerts or notifications based on the detected event, and in block 344, when a user has deviated from the user's normal unstructured activity pattern under certain circumstances, e.g., a user always responds to an email from a certain sender, but has not yet done so, or the user consistently performs a series of steps, in order, but the user has skipped one of those steps, conformance checking system 284 can identify this and provide an anomaly notification 344 to the user indicating this).
Regarding claim 2, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 1 (as above) wherein providing comprises: analysing the data set to determine different instances of a same first process reflected thereby ([0028], [0030]-[0033], unstructured activity training system 104 trains a set of models that identify particular processes of detected activities by accessing unstructured event records 200, such as email messages, phone calls, text messages, searches, etc., providing records 200 to unsupervised event clustering component 174 that performs unsupervised event clustering to cluster the unstructured event records 200 based upon a type of event that they represent, unsupervised case ID conflation component 178 performing unsupervised processing on records 200 to group them into groups of records 200 that correspond to a same case identifier, wherein every event relating to the same case shares the same case ID, [0037]-[0038], process log store 182 stores logged data corresponding to different types of processes, wherein each of the unstructured event records 200 relates to at least one of the processes, store 182 can also store unstructured activity patterns, logged entities, documents, or a wide variety of other information, and system 104 combines the corrected event clusters 238, the corrected case ID groups 240, and the process log data in store 182);
determining common elements within the different instances of the first process;
forming a first process definition based on the determined common elements and an ordering thereof thereby ([0028], [0031], [0038]-[0039], unstructured activity training system 104 trains a set of models that identify processes of detected activities by the unsupervised process clustering component 186 clustering the accessed activity records 200 based on a process to which they are related and into unstructured activity patterns, and the output of component 186 is a set of clusters that cluster the records 200 into groups that are estimated to correspond to a same process, activity patterns, entity, document, etc., [0054], wherein a user’s unstructured activity pattern can be a user always responds to an email from a certain sender or a series of steps, in order, that the user consistently performs); and
providing the first process definition including a list of process steps and data associated with each step ([0028], [0031], [0038]-[0039], after clustering the accessed activity records 200 based on the process into unstructured activity patterns that correspond to a same process, activity patterns, document, the unstructured activity training system 104 trains a set of models that identify processes of detected activities by performing process model learning 188 to obtain a process model 206 that identifies the process, document, and unstructured activity pattern to which an unstructured event record belongs, and outputting the refined process models 206, [0054], wherein a user’s unstructured activity pattern is a series of steps, in order, that the user consistently performs).
Regarding claim 3, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 2 (as above) wherein the first process definition comprises common elements reflecting steps in a determined order ([0028], [0031], [0038]-[0039], training a set of models that identify processes of detected activities by performing process model learning 188 to obtain a process model 206 that identifies the process, document, and unstructured activity pattern to which an unstructured event record belongs, [0054], wherein a user’s unstructured activity pattern is a series of steps, in order, that the user consistently performs).
Regarding claim 7, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 2 (as above) wherein analysing the data set to determine different instances of a same first process reflected thereby comprises analysing a plurality of datasets ([0028], [0030]-[0033], unstructured activity training system 104 trains a set of models that identify particular processes of detected activities by accessing unstructured event records 200, such as email messages, phone calls, text messages, searches, etc., unsupervised case ID conflation component 178 groups of records 200 that correspond to a same case identifier, wherein every event relating to the same case shares the same case ID, [0037]-[0038], process log store 182 stores logged data corresponding to different types of processes, wherein each of the unstructured event records 200 relates to at least one of the processes, [0038]-[0039], the unsupervised process clustering component 186 clusters the accessed activity records 200 based on a process to which they are related).
Regarding claim 10, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 1 (as above) comprising determining a first process instance flow in process and other than complete and displaying a portion of the first process instance flow showing at least a portion of the process flow and the first process instance flow thereon ([0041]-[0042], runtime unstructured activity processing system 108 includes a process/workflow system 286 of the runtime that can initiate or direct a workflow or user experience and recommendation engine 288 that can recommend activities based on deviations from previously-detected patterns (or anomalies with respect to those patterns), [0051]-[0054], fig. 5, at block 332, conformance checking system 284, process/workflow prediction system 286 and recommendation engine 288 use user interface component 290 to generate a user experience based on the event type, case ID, corresponding process (or activity pattern or both) identified for the detected event, e.g., in block 334 these systems control user interface component 290 to output the identity of the particular process to which the detected event corresponds, in block 336 process/workflow prediction system 286 can output a process object, in proper context, given the detected event, in block 338 start or modify a given workflow for a user, and in block 344, when a user has deviated from the user's normal unstructured activity pattern under certain circumstances, e.g., a user always responds to an email from a certain sender, but has not yet done so, or the user consistently performs a series of steps, in order, but the user has skipped one of those steps, conformance checking system 284 can identify this and provide an anomaly notification 344 to the user indicating this).
Regarding claim 24, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 1 (as above) comprising:
evaluating data to extract an unidentified process ([0041]-[0042], [0044]-[0045], [0047], fig. 5, during run time, in block 320, event detection component 268, of the runtime unstructured activity processing system 108, first detects the occurrence of an unstructured event within computing system 102, such as emails, phone calls, text messages, social network interactions, searches, etc., in block 323, extraction component 270, runtime unstructured activity processing system 108, then extracts information indicative of the detected event into a schema or data structure in order to form the unstructured event records 292, and in block 324, event type identification system 274 then uses event type identifier model 202 to perform event type identification on the unstructured event record 292, [0024], [0026], at runtime, runtime unstructured activity processing system 108 detects user interactions or other unstructured events, such as email sent, other messaging communications through a messaging system or telephonic system, user initiated searches, identifies and extracts information, captures all of the activity and events, uses models trained by training system 104 to identify the type of event);
mapping the unidentified process against the estimated process instance flow and when the unidentified process is a potential match against a first portion of the estimated process instance flow ([0041]-[0042], [0051], fig. 5, in block 330, process model matching system 282 of the runtime unstructured activity processing system 108 then uses refined process models 206 in order to match the labeled event records 296/the detected event (represented by record 292 that now include an event label and case ID) to a particular process from process log store 278/in computing system 102 and identify whether it is part of an activity pattern for the user, [0026], in capturing the unstructured activity, processing system 108 detects patterns in the unstructured activity (such as sequences of operations, words or topics in various documents, email transmissions, inclusion of various different people, different documents, etc.) and identifies that an unstructured event or a pattern of unstructured activity relates to a process 160 or workflow 162 based on contacts, customers, words or topics, recipients or attendees, etc.), determining an absence of one or more common elements common to the estimated process instance flow ([0041]-[0042], conformance checking system 284 of the runtime unstructured activity processing system 108 checks to see whether those unstructured activities conform to pre-defined activity patterns [0051], [0054], fig. 5, after identifying the particular process and activity pattern of the detected event, process model matching system 282 then provides the unstructured event record 292, its event label and case ID, and an indication of the particular process to which it belong, to conformance checking system 284, which may identify that the user has deviated from the user's normal unstructured activity pattern under certain circumstances, e.g., a user always responds to an email from a certain sender, but has not yet done so, the user consistently performs a series of steps, in order, but the user has skipped one of those steps); and
providing a map of the estimated process instance flow indicating events and documents ([0027], patterns in the unstructured activity can include sequences of operations, words or topics used in various documents, email transmissions, the inclusion of various different people, the inclusion of various different documents, etc., [0039], process model 206 is configured to receive an unstructured event record and estimate a process/entity/document, etc. to which it relates and whether it belongs to an unstructured activity pattern) forming part of the unidentified process within the estimated process instance flow ([0051]-[0052], fig. 5, in block 330, process model matching system 282 then uses refined process models 206 in order to match the detected event to a process and whether it is part of an activity pattern for the user, process model matching system 282 then provides the unstructured event record 292 with the particular process to which it belongs to conformance checking system 284, process/workflow prediction system 286 and recommendation engine 288, and at block 332, conformance checking system 284, process/workflow prediction system 286 and recommendation engine 288 use user interface component 290 to generate a user experience based on the event type, case ID, corresponding process (or activity pattern or both) identified for the detected event, e.g., in block 334 these systems control user interface component 290 to output the identity of the particular process to which the detected event corresponds, in block 336 process/workflow prediction system 286 can output a process object, in proper context, given the detected event, e.g., process/workflow prediction system 286 can open a customer response form that allows a user of the organization to schedule a call or a conference, in block 338 process/workflow prediction system 286 can start or modify a given workflow for a user, and in block 340 recommendation engine 288 can generate recommendations e.g., if process/workflow prediction system 286 starts a workflow by which the user is to respond to a customer by sending the customer an email, then recommendation system 288 may recommend recipients or attachments for the email);
wherein providing a notice comprises providing at least one of events and documents ([0027], patterns in the unstructured activity can include sequences of operations, words or topics used in various documents, email transmissions, the inclusion of various different people, the inclusion of various different documents, etc., [0039], process model 206 is configured to receive an unstructured event record and estimate a process/entity/document, etc. to which it relates and whether it belongs to an unstructured activity pattern) within the estimated process instance flow and absent from the unidentified process ([0051]-[0054], fig. 5, at block 332, conformance checking system 284, process/workflow prediction system 286 and recommendation engine 288 use user interface component 290 to generate a user experience based on the corresponding process (or activity pattern or both) identified for the detected event (by the process model 206), e.g., in block 334 these systems control user interface component 290 to output the identity of the particular process to which the detected event corresponds, in block 344, when a user has deviated from the user's normal unstructured activity pattern under certain circumstances, e.g., a user always responds to an email from a certain sender, but has not yet done so, or the user consistently performs a series of steps, in order, but the user has skipped one of those steps, conformance checking system 284 can identify this and provide an anomaly notification 344 to the user indicating this).
Regarding claim 25, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 24 (as above) wherein the map includes a mapping of an unidentified process onto the first process flow highlighting at least one of missing common elements ([0051]-[0054], fig. 5, in block 334 these systems control user interface component 290 to output the identity of the particular process to which the detected event corresponds, in block 344, when a user has deviated from the user's normal unstructured activity pattern under certain circumstances, e.g., a user always responds to an email from a certain sender, but has not yet done so, or the user consistently performs a series of steps, in order, but the user has skipped one of those steps, conformance checking system 284 can identify this and provide an anomaly notification 344 to the user indicating this) and upcoming common elements within he first process flow ([0052], in block 336 process/workflow prediction system 286 can output a process object, in proper context, given the detected event, e.g., process/workflow prediction system 286 can open a customer response form that allows a user of the organization to schedule a call or a conference, in block 338 process/workflow prediction system 286 can start or modify a given workflow for a user, and in block 340 recommendation engine 288 can generate recommendations e.g., if process/workflow prediction system 286 starts a workflow by which the user is to respond to a customer by sending the customer an email, then recommendation system 288 may recommend recipients or attachments for the email, [0051], [0055], conformance checking system 284, process/workflow prediction system 286 and recommendation engine 288 can provide combinations of outputs, e.g., a key employee has called in sick and therefore a task assigned to that key employee may be late, system 286 can generate an alert that a particular task or project is going to miss a deadline, Conformance checking system 284 can output a notification indicating that they key employee did not perform certain steps that are part of a detected activity pattern for that key employee, and recommendation engine 288 may recommend that the task be reassigned to another employee, because the key employee has called in sick).
Regarding claim 26, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 25 (as above) wherein the mapping includes an indication of deficiencies within the process flow ([0051]-[0054], fig. 5, at block 332, conformance checking system 284, process/workflow prediction system 286 and recommendation engine 288 use user interface component 290 to generate a user experience based on the corresponding process (or activity pattern or both) identified for the detected event (by the process model 206), e.g., in block 334 these systems control user interface component 290 to output the identity of the particular process to which the detected event corresponds, in block 344, when a user has deviated from the user's normal unstructured activity pattern under certain circumstances, e.g., a user always responds to an email from a certain sender, but has not yet done so, or the user consistently performs a series of steps, in order, but the user has skipped one of those steps, conformance checking system 284 can identify this and provide an anomaly notification 344 to the user indicating this).
Regarding claim 27, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 26 (as above) wherein the mapping includes an indication of where within the estimated process flow, the indicated process is currently ([0051]-[0052], fig. 5, at block 332, conformance checking system 284, process/workflow prediction system 286 and recommendation engine 288 use user interface component 290 to generate a user experience based on the event type, case ID, process (or activity pattern or both) identified for the detected event, e.g., in block 334 these systems control user interface component 290 to output the identity of the particular process to which the detected event corresponds, in block 336 process/workflow prediction system 286 can output a process object, in proper context, given the detected event, e.g., process/workflow prediction system 286 can open a customer response form that allows a user of the organization to schedule a call or a conference, in block 338 process/workflow prediction system 286 can start or modify a given workflow for a user, and in block 340 recommendation engine 288 can generate recommendations e.g., if process/workflow prediction system 286 starts a workflow by which the user is to respond to a customer by sending the customer an email, then recommendation system 288 may recommend recipients or attachments for the email).
Regarding claim 28, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 24 (as above) comprising:
analysing a plurality of data sets to determine, from a number of process instances, second common elements forming part of a second process definition relating to at least a second process flow for a second process ([0028], [0030]-[0033], [0037]-[0039], unstructured activity training system 104 trains a set of models that identify processes of detected activities by accessing unstructured event records 200, such as email messages, phone calls, text messages, searches, etc., wherein each of the unstructured event records 200 relates to at least one of the processes (i.e. first and second process), providing records 200 to unsupervised event clustering component 174 that performs unsupervised event clustering to cluster the unstructured event records 200 based upon a type of event that they represent, unsupervised case ID conflation component 178 performing unsupervised processing on records 200 to group them into groups of records 200 that correspond to a same case identifier, wherein every event relating to the same case shares the same case ID, clustering the unstructured event records 200 into groups and unstructured activity patterns that correspond to a same process (i.e. first and second process), and outputting the refined process models 206 (i.e. first and second process), [0054], wherein a user’s unstructured activity pattern is a series of steps, in order, that the user consistently performs);
mapping the second common elements within the number of process instances to provide the second process flow for the second process ([0028], [0031], [0038]-[0039], unstructured activity training system 104 trains a set of models that identify processes of detected activities by the unsupervised process clustering component 186 clustering the accessed event records 200 based on a process to which they are related and into unstructured activity patterns, and the output of component 186 is a set of clusters that cluster the records 200 into groups that are estimated to correspond to a same process, activity patterns, entity, document, etc., and performing process model learning 188 to obtain a process model 206 that identifies the process, document, and unstructured activity pattern to which an unstructured event record belongs, and outputting the refined process models 206, [0054], wherein a user’s unstructured activity pattern can be a user always responds to an email from a certain sender or a series of steps, in order, that the user consistently performs);
evaluating data to extract a second unidentified process s ([0041]-[0042], [0044]-[0045], [0047], fig. 5, during run time, in block 320, event detection component 268, of the runtime unstructured activity processing system 108, first detects the occurrence of an unstructured event within computing system 102, such as emails, phone calls, text messages, social network interactions, searches, etc., in block 323, extraction component 270, runtime unstructured activity processing system 108, then extracts information indicative of the detected event into a schema or data structure in order to form the unstructured event records 292, and in block 324, event type identification system 274 then uses event type identifier model 202 to perform event type identification on the unstructured event record 292, [0024], [0026], at runtime, runtime unstructured activity processing system 108 detects user interactions or other unstructured events, such as email sent, other messaging communications through a messaging system or telephonic system, user initiated searches, identifies and extracts information, captures all of the activity and events, uses models trained by training system 104 to identify the type of event);
mapping the second unidentified process against the second process flow and when the second unidentified process is a potential match against a first portion of the second process flow ([0041]-[0042], [0051], fig. 5, in block 330, process model matching system 282 of the runtime unstructured activity processing system 108 then uses refined process models 206 in order to match the labeled event records 296/the detected event (represented by record 292 that now include an event label and case ID) to a particular process from process log store 278/in computing system 102 and identify whether it is part of an activity pattern for the user, [0026], in capturing the unstructured activity, processing system 108 detects patterns in the unstructured activity (such as sequences of operations, words or topics in various documents, email transmissions, inclusion of various different people, different documents, etc.) and identifies that an unstructured event or a pattern of unstructured activity relates to a process 160 or workflow 162 based on contacts, customers, words or topics, recipients or attendees, etc.), determining an absence of one or more common elements common to the second process flow ([0041]-[0042], conformance checking system 284 of the runtime unstructured activity processing system 108 checks to see whether those unstructured activities conform to pre-defined activity patterns [0051], [0054], fig. 5, after identifying the particular process and activity pattern of the detected event, process model matching system 282 then provides the unstructured event record 292, its event label and case ID, and an indication of the particular process to which it belong, to conformance checking system 284, which may identify that the user has deviated from the user's normal unstructured activity pattern under certain circumstances, e.g., a user always responds to an email from a certain sender, but has not yet done so, the user consistently performs a series of steps, in order, but the user has skipped one of those steps); and
providing a map of the second process flow indicating events and documents ([0027], patterns in the unstructured activity can include sequences of operations, words or topics used in various documents, email transmissions, the inclusion of various different people, the inclusion of various different documents, etc., [0039], process model 206 is configured to receive an unstructured event record and estimate a process/entity/document, etc. to which it relates and whether it belongs to an unstructured activity pattern) forming part of the second unidentified process within the second process flow ([0051]-[0054], fig. 5, in block 330, process model matching system 282 then uses refined process models 206 in order to match the detected event to a process and whether it is part of an activity pattern for the user, process model matching system 282 then provides the unstructured event record 292 with the particular process to which it belongs to conformance checking system 284, process/workflow prediction system 286 and recommendation engine 288, and at block 332, conformance checking system 284, process/workflow prediction system 286 and recommendation engine 288 use user interface component 290 to generate a user experience based on the event type, case ID, corresponding process (or activity pattern or both) identified for the detected event, e.g., in block 334 these systems control user interface component 290 to output the identity of the particular process to which the detected event corresponds, in block 336 process/workflow prediction system 286 can output a process object, in proper context, given the detected event, e.g., process/workflow prediction system 286 can open a customer response form that allows a user of the organization to schedule a call or a conference, in block 338 process/workflow prediction system 286 can start or modify a given workflow for a user, and in block 340 recommendation engine 288 can generate recommendations e.g., if process/workflow prediction system 286 starts a workflow by which the user is to respond to a customer by sending the customer an email, then recommendation system 288 may recommend recipients or attachments for the email, in block 344, when a user has deviated from the user's normal unstructured activity pattern under certain circumstances, e.g., a user always responds to an email from a certain sender, but has not yet done so, or the user consistently performs a series of steps, in order, but the user has skipped one of those steps, conformance checking system 284 can identify this and provide an anomaly notification 344 to the user indicating this).
Regarding claim 29, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 28 (as above) wherein common elements include at least some of steps, documents, document classes, fields, fields within documents, and documents including a plurality of known fields ([0027], processing system 108 detects patterns in the unstructured activity, such as words or topics used in various documents, email transmissions, the inclusion of various different people, the inclusion of various different documents, etc., identifies also identifies unstructured event or a pattern of unstructured activity relates to a process based on contacts, customers, words or topics, recipients or attendees, etc., and identifies anomalies in the patterns or unstructured activity that have been detected, and it can trigger workflow or user experience to respond to anomalies, e.g., suggest or automatically include recipients of messages on a message template opened for the user, or show a particular process object, from systems 122, in the proper context, etc., [0051]-[0052], fig. 5, at block 332 user interface component 290 generates a user experience based on the event type, case ID, corresponding process (or activity pattern or both) identified for the detected event, e.g., in block 336 process/workflow prediction system 286 can output a process object, in proper context, given the detected event, e.g., process/workflow prediction system 286 can open a customer response form that allows a user of the organization to schedule a call or a conference, and in block 340 recommendation engine 288 can generate recommendations e.g., if process/workflow prediction system 286 starts a workflow by which the user is to respond to a customer by sending the customer an email, then recommendation system 288 may recommend recipients or attachments for the email).
Regarding claim 30, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 28 (as above) wherein common elements includes each of steps, fields within documents, and documents each including a plurality of known fields ([0027], processing system 108 detects patterns in the unstructured activity, such as words or topics used in various documents, email transmissions, the inclusion of various different people, the inclusion of various different documents, etc., identifies also identifies unstructured event or a pattern of unstructured activity relates to a process based on contacts, customers, words or topics, recipients or attendees, etc., and identifies anomalies in the patterns or unstructured activity that have been detected, and it can trigger workflow or user experience to respond to anomalies, e.g., suggest or automatically include recipients of messages on a message template opened for the user, or show a particular process object, from systems 122, in the proper context, etc., [0051]-[0052], fig. 5, at block 332 user interface component 290 generates a user experience based on the event type, case ID, corresponding process (or activity pattern or both) identified for the detected event, e.g., in block 336 process/workflow prediction system 286 can output a process object, in proper context, given the detected event, e.g., process/workflow prediction system 286 can open a customer response form that allows a user of the organization to schedule a call or a conference, and in block 340 recommendation engine 288 can generate recommendations e.g., if process/workflow prediction system 286 starts a workflow by which the user is to respond to a customer by sending the customer an email, then recommendation system 288 may recommend recipients or attachments for the email).
Regarding claim 31, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 30 (as above) comprising: linking the document fields to a primary source of truth ([0027], processing system 108 detects patterns in the unstructured activity, such as sequences of operations, words or topics used in various documents, email transmissions, the inclusion of various different people, the inclusion of various different documents, etc., and identifies anomalies in the patterns or unstructured activity that have been detected, and it can trigger workflow or user experience to respond to anomalies, e.g., suggest or automatically include recipients of messages on a message template opened for the user, [0051]-[0052], fig. 5, at block 332 user interface component 290 generates a user experience based on process or activity pattern or both identified for the detected event, e.g., in block 340 recommendation engine 288 can generate recommendations e.g., if process/workflow prediction system 286 starts a workflow by which the user is to respond to a customer by sending the customer an email, then recommendation system 288 may recommend recipients or attachments for the email).
Regarding claim 32, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 30 (as above) comprising: linking the steps and document fields ([0044]-[0046], in block 320, event detection component 268 first detects the occurrence of an unstructured event, wherein the unstructured events can take a wide variety of different forms, such as emails, text messages, social network interactions, searches, in block 323, Data extraction component 270 then extracts information indicative of the detected even, e.g., if the event is an email message, the detected information may include the author, recipients, time of day, content, subject matter line, or a wide variety of other information, NLP can identify the meaning or semantic content of any textual items, e.g., meaning of textual content in email messages, in attachments to emails, in a transcription of a telephone call, in messages, in the content of search results, textual content within a meeting notice (such as the subject matter content of a meeting, any documents attached to a meeting request), etc., [0051], in 330, process model matching system 282 then uses refined process models 206 to match the detected event to a process and identify whether it is part of an activity pattern, [0027], processing system 108 detects patterns in the unstructured activity, such as words or topics used in various documents, email transmissions, the inclusion of various different people, the inclusion of various different documents, etc., identifies also identifies unstructured event or a pattern of unstructured activity relates to a process based on contacts, customers, words or topics, recipients or attendees) to an anchor value ([0048]-[0049], in 326, Case ID conflation system 276 uses case ID conflation model 204 in order to estimate a case identifier to which the detected event relates, in 328, the labeled event records, case ID assignments with the structured event records, and process log data are combined, [0051], in 330, process model matching system 282 then uses refined process models 206 to match the detected event (represented by record 292, which now includes an event label and case ID) to a process and identify whether it is part of an activity pattern for the user).
Regarding claim 34, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 1 (as above) wherein providing a notice comprises: providing a reminder indication relating to at least one of an overdue common element and an upcoming common element within the estimated process instance flow ([0052], in block 336 process/workflow prediction system 286 can output a process object, in proper context, given the detected event, e.g., process/workflow prediction system 286 can open a customer response form that allows a user of the organization to schedule a call or a conference, in block 340 recommendation engine 288 can generate recommendations e.g., if process/workflow prediction system 286 starts a workflow by which the user is to respond to a customer by sending the customer an email, then recommendation system 288 may recommend recipients or attachments for the email, [0051], [0055], conformance checking system 284, process/workflow prediction system 286 and recommendation engine 288 can provide combinations of outputs, e.g., a key employee has called in sick and therefore a task assigned to that key employee may be late, system 286 can generate an alert that a particular task or project is going to miss a deadline, Conformance checking system 284 can output a notification indicating that they key employee did not perform certain steps that are part of a detected activity pattern for that key employee, and recommendation engine 288 may recommend that the task be reassigned to another employee, because the key employee has called in sick).
Regarding claim 35, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 34 (as above) wherein common elements include potential common elements and wherein the reminder indication includes an indication when a common element is a potential common element ([0052], in block 336 process/workflow prediction system 286 can output a process object, in proper context, given the detected event, e.g., process/workflow prediction system 286 can open a customer response form that allows a user of the organization to schedule a call or a conference, in block 340 recommendation engine 288 can generate recommendations e.g., if process/workflow prediction system 286 starts a workflow by which the user is to respond to a customer by sending the customer an email, then recommendation system 288 may recommend recipients or attachments for the email, [0051], [0055], conformance checking system 284, process/workflow prediction system 286 and recommendation engine 288 can provide combinations of outputs, e.g., a key employee has called in sick and therefore a task assigned to that key employee may be late, system 286 can generate an alert that a particular task or project is going to miss a deadline, Conformance checking system 284 can output a notification indicating that they key employee did not perform certain steps that are part of a detected activity pattern for that key employee, and recommendation engine 288 may recommend that the task be reassigned to another employee, because the key employee has called in sick).
Regarding claim 36, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 34 (as above) wherein common elements include potential common elements and wherein the reminder indication includes an indication when a common element is a potential common element and a relative value related to expected changes in outcome when the potential common element occurs ([0052], in block 336 process/workflow prediction system 286 can output a process object, in proper context, given the detected event, e.g., process/workflow prediction system 286 can open a customer response form that allows a user of the organization to schedule a call or a conference, in block 340 recommendation engine 288 can generate recommendations e.g., if process/workflow prediction system 286 starts a workflow by which the user is to respond to a customer by sending the customer an email, then recommendation system 288 may recommend recipients or attachments for the email, [0051], [0055], conformance checking system 284, process/workflow prediction system 286 and recommendation engine 288 can provide combinations of outputs, e.g., a key employee has called in sick and therefore a task assigned to that key employee may be late, system 286 can generate an alert that a particular task or project is going to miss a deadline, Conformance checking system 284 can output a notification indicating that they key employee did not perform certain steps that are part of a detected activity pattern for that key employee, and recommendation engine 288 may recommend that the task be reassigned to another employee, because the key employee has called in sick).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheldon, et al. (US 20160267268 A1), hereinafter Sheldon, in view of Cope, et al. (US 20150032500 A1), hereinafter Cope.
Regarding claim 4, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 2 (as above). Further, while Sheldon discloses all of the above and wherein the first process definition comprises a common elements reflecting steps within a flow … ([0028], [0031], [0038]-[0039], training a set of models that identify processes of detected activities by performing process model learning 188 to obtain a process model 206 that identifies the process, document, and unstructured activity pattern to which an unstructured event record belongs, [0054], wherein a user’s unstructured activity pattern is a series of steps, in order, that the user consistently performs), the steps presented within the flow ([0051]-[0054], fig. 5, at block 332 generates a user experience based on the event type, case ID, corresponding process (or activity pattern or both) identified for the detected event, e.g., in block 334 these systems control user interface component 290 to output the identity of the particular process to which the detected event corresponds, in block 336 process/workflow prediction system 286 can output a process object, in proper context, given the detected event, in block 338 start or modify a given workflow for a user, and in block 344, when a user has deviated from the user's normal unstructured activity pattern under certain circumstances, e.g., a user always responds to an email from a certain sender, but has not yet done so, or the user consistently performs a series of steps, in order, but the user has skipped one of those steps, conformance checking system 284 can identify this and provide an anomaly notification 344 to the user indicating this), Sheldon does not expressly disclose the following remaining of this limitation, which however, are taught by further teachings in Cope.
Cope teaches wherein the first process definition comprises a common elements reflecting steps within a flow diagram, the steps presented within the flow diagram with alternative and repeating order ([0072], [0078], Business Process Modeling Notation (BPMN) activity semantics are modified as shown in FIG. 3, wherein activities are broken up into subcomponents corresponding to precondition checking and execution, the failure of pre-conditions to hold can lead to alternative remediation actions, and procedural and execution errors are represented as branches leading to alternative precondition checks and varieties of execution, procedural errors 17 may lead to the execution of an activity even if not all the preconditions are met, and conditional branching 90 is used to indicate the various alternative precondition sets that could be used in place of the correct precondition set, [0101], a graphical notation for displaying the BPMN classes, group of modeling classes, relations, constraints on the relationships among these entities on a computing device is provided in view of FIG. 4 which depicts a key 100 to graphical vocabulary e.g., icons for the extended meta model, [0151], [0153]-[0154], figs. 5A and 5B depict high-level and detailed views of example risk-related interactions among model elements modeled in accordance with the present invention, wherein e.g., Task 1 in the process, and this resource is susceptible to the risk event, and fig. 5B, reproduced below, provides more detail on the states and state changes of the resources and environmental factors, and how these are triggered through the risk event to the resource, the activity supported by the resource, and exception handlers for activity execution errors, each input and error node is connected to each output node for each activity, nodes for risk events that specify whether the risk event occurs or not, these nodes are linked with each other and the existing nodes in the network according to the Can Affect associations among them, and the "Can Cause" and "Inspects" associations are used in these diagrams to document more precisely the nature of the relations among the model entities,
Sheldon and Cope are analogous fields of invention because both address the problem of modeling business processes including managing deviations within the modeled business processes. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system of Sheldon the ability for the first process definition to comprise a common elements reflecting steps within a flow diagram, the steps presented within the flow diagram with alternative and repeating order, as taught by Cope, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would produce the predictable results of the first process definition comprising a common elements reflecting steps within a flow diagram, the steps presented within the flow diagram with alternative and repeating order, as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sheldon with the aforementioned teachings of Cope in order to produce the added benefit of providing support to risk managers who must make decisions regarding investments in risk countermeasures, process reengineering, control improvements, optimal risk responses, and root cause inference. [0016].
Regarding claim 5, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 2 (as above). Further, while Sheldon discloses all of the above and wherein the first process definition comprises potential elements that are common to a plurality of instances …, the potential elements within the determined order ([0028], [0031], [0038]-[0039], training a set of models that identify processes of detected activities by performing process model learning 188 to obtain a process model 206 that identifies the process, document, and unstructured activity pattern to which an unstructured event record belongs, [0054], wherein a user’s unstructured activity pattern is a series of steps, in order, that the user consistently performs), Sheldon does not expressly disclose the following remaining of this limitation, which however, are taught by further teachings in Cope.
Cope teaches wherein the first process definition comprises potential elements that are common to a plurality of instances but other than common to all instances, the potential elements within the determined order ([0072], [0078], Business Process Modeling Notation (BPMN) activity semantics are modified as shown in FIG. 3, wherein activities are broken up into subcomponents corresponding to precondition checking and execution, the failure of pre-conditions to hold can lead to alternative remediation actions, and procedural and execution errors are represented as branches leading to alternative precondition checks and varieties of execution, procedural errors 17 may lead to the execution of an activity even if not all the preconditions are met, and conditional branching 90 is used to indicate the various alternative precondition sets that could be used in place of the correct precondition set, [0101], a graphical notation for displaying the BPMN classes, group of modeling classes, relations, constraints on the relationships among these entities on a computing device is provided in view of FIG. 4 which depicts a key 100 to graphical vocabulary e.g., icons for the extended meta model, [0151], [0153]-[0154], figs. 5A and 5B depict high-level and detailed views of example risk-related interactions among model elements modeled in accordance with the present invention, wherein e.g., Task 1 in the process, and this resource is susceptible to the risk event, and fig. 5B, reproduced below, provides more detail on the states and state changes of the resources and environmental factors, and how these are triggered through the risk event to the resource, the activity supported by the resource, and exception handlers for activity execution errors, each input and error node is connected to each output node for each activity, nodes for risk events that specify whether the risk event occurs or not, these nodes are linked with each other and the existing nodes in the network according to the Can Affect associations among them, and the "Can Cause" and "Inspects" associations are used in these diagrams to document more precisely the nature of the relations among the model entities,
Sheldon and Cope are analogous fields of invention because both address the problem of modeling business processes including managing deviations within the modeled business processes. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system of Sheldon the ability for the first process definition to comprise potential elements that are common to a plurality of instances but other than common to all instances, the potential elements within the determined order, as taught by Cope, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would produce the predictable results of the first process definition comprising potential elements that are common to a plurality of instances but other than common to all instances, the potential elements within the determined order, as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sheldon with the aforementioned teachings of Cope in order to produce the added benefit of providing support to risk managers who must make decisions regarding investments in risk countermeasures, process reengineering, control improvements, optimal risk responses, and root cause inference. [0016].
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings of Sheldon and Cope teaches the method of claim 5 (as above). Further, Sheldon discloses wherein the potential elements are within the first process definition as potential elements different from other than potential elements ([0028], [0031], [0038]-[0039], training a set of models that identify processes of detected activities by performing process model learning 188 to obtain a process model 206 that identifies the process, document, and unstructured activity pattern to which an unstructured event record belongs, [0054], wherein a user’s unstructured activity pattern is a series of steps, in order, that the user consistently performs).
Regarding claim 9, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 5 (as above). Further, Sheldon discloses wherein a first potential element is stored ([0039]-[0040], process model 206 identifies the process, document, and unstructured activity pattern to which an unstructured event record belongs, and when the processing is completed, system 104 illustratively outputs the refined process models 206 that be used in runtime unstructured activity processing system 108, [0071], [0075], fig. 7 is a block diagram of architecture 100, wherein software or components of architecture 100 as well as the corresponding data, can be stored on servers, wherein the architecture includes systems 104 and 108) with potential results indicative of one of improved process flow outcome and inferior process flow outcome to the process flow absent the first potential element ([0042], recommendation engine 288 can recommend activities based on deviations from previously-detected patterns (or anomalies with respect to those patterns), [0052], in block 336 process/workflow prediction system 286 can output a process object, in proper context, given the detected event, e.g., if a customer provides a social network communication that indicates a negative feedback, process/workflow prediction system 286 can open a customer response form that allows a user of the organization to schedule a call or a conference, in block 340 recommendation engine 288 can generate recommendations e.g., if process/workflow prediction system 286 starts a workflow by which the user is to respond to a customer by sending the customer an email, then recommendation system 288 may recommend recipients or attachments for the email, [0051], [0055], conformance checking system 284, process/workflow prediction system 286 and recommendation engine 288 can provide combinations of outputs, e.g., a key employee has called in sick and therefore a task assigned to that key employee may be late, system 286 can generate an alert that a particular task or project is going to miss a deadline, Conformance checking system 284 can output a notification indicating that they key employee did not perform certain steps that are part of a detected activity pattern for that key employee, and recommendation engine 288 may recommend that the task be reassigned to another employee, because the key employee has called in sick).
Claims 8 & 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheldon, et al. (US 20160267268 A1), hereinafter Sheldon, in view of Sproule (US 20100106546 A1), hereinafter Sproule.
Regarding claim 8, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 2 (as above). Further, while Sheldon discloses all of the above and wherein analysing the data set to determine different instances of a same first process reflected thereby comprises analysing a plurality of datasets ([0028], [0030]-[0033], unstructured activity training system 104 trains a set of models that identify particular processes of detected activities by accessing unstructured event records 200, such as email messages, phone calls, text messages, searches, etc., unsupervised case ID conflation component 178 groups of records 200 that correspond to a same case identifier, wherein every event relating to the same case shares the same case ID, [0037]-[0038], process log store 182 stores logged data corresponding to different types of processes, wherein each of the unstructured event records 200 relates to at least one of the processes, [0038]-[0039], the unsupervised process clustering component 186 clusters the accessed activity records 200 based on a process to which they are related) comprising at least an email dataset and a … dataset ([0024], unstructured interactions can include an email sent through email system 130, other messaging communications (e.g., using a mobile device such as a tablet or smart phone) through messaging system 132, telephonic/cellular system 134, or interactions with social network system 136 or business network system 138, search results based on automatic or user initiated searches conducted by search engine 125), Sheldon does not expressly disclose the following remaining of this limitation, which however, are taught by further teachings in Sproule.
Sproule teaches analysing a plurality of datasets ([0091], values of an attribute are recorded using the processes and the activities, and a database maintains the complete collection of the values of the attributes) comprising at least an email dataset ([0265]-[0266], [0268], a process is a collection of related activities in a defined workflow, and types of activities include: message activities allowing a message to be sent to one or more people, such as an activity to notify a customer by e-mail that his application has been approved) and a financial dataset ([0063], the data attribute is a piece of information collected by the organization and is an element of the attribute library, e.g., information may be an invoice number, [0090], to support the applications, the processes, and the activities, data structures necessary to record and retrieve the attributes, e.g., an invoicing process needs includes data such as invoice number, invoice date, line items, amounts, etc.).
Sheldon and Sproule are analogous fields of invention because both address the problem of modeling business processes including managing deadlines of the modeled business processes. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system of Sheldon the ability for analyzing a plurality of datasets to comprise at least an email dataset and a financial dataset, as taught by Sproule, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would produce the predictable results of analyzing a plurality of datasets to comprising at least an email dataset and a financial dataset, as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sheldon with the aforementioned teachings of Sproule in order to produce the added benefit of allowing businesses to rapidly and directly implement a custom response to a business opportunity, fine-tune the custom response as the business learns, and adapt that response as business requirements evolve by enabling the authoring and composition of business process models without coding, programming or scripting. [0006].
Regarding claim 33, Sheldon discloses the method of claim 32 (as above). Further, while Sheldon discloses all of the above and wherein the anchor value is an … reference number ([0048]-[0049], in 326, Case ID conflation system 276 uses case ID conflation model 204 in order to estimate a case identifier to which the detected event relates, in 328, the labeled event records, case ID assignments with the structured event records, and process log data are combined, [0051], in 330, process model matching system 282 then uses refined process models 206 to match the detected event (represented by record 292, which now includes an event label and case ID) to a process and identify whether it is part of an activity pattern for the user), Sheldon does not expressly disclose the following remaining of this limitation, which however, are taught by further teachings in Sproule.
Sproule teaches wherein the anchor value is an invoice reference number ([0063], the data attribute is a piece of information collected by the organization and is an element of the attribute library, e.g., information may be an invoice number, [0090], to support the applications, the processes, and the activities, data structures necessary to record and retrieve the attributes, e.g., an invoicing process needs includes data such as invoice number, invoice date, line items, amounts, etc.).
Sheldon and Sproule are analogous fields of invention because both address the problem of modeling business processes including managing deadlines of the modeled business processes. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system of Sheldon the ability for the anchor value to be an invoice reference number, as taught by Sproule, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would produce the predictable results of the anchor value is an invoice reference number, as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sheldon with the aforementioned teachings of Sproule in order to produce the added benefit of allowing businesses to rapidly and directly implement a custom response to a business opportunity, fine-tune the custom response as the business learns, and adapt that response as business requirements evolve by enabling the authoring and composition of business process models without coding, programming or scripting. [0006].
Conclusion
CHARLES GUILIANO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3623
/CHARLES GUILIANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623