DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-12, 17-18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. 20230292380).
For claim 1, Kim et al. disclose a method of providing a backhaul connection for a communication network, the method comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, backhaul data from a mobile terminal (MT) associated with the communication network (at least Fig. 8, [0016], [0052] and [0080]-[0084]. An access network (AN) node of a wireless communication system may include selecting an access and mobility management function (AMF) upon receiving a registration request message from a user equipment (UE); selecting one transport network layer association (TNLA) from among candidate TNLAs for the selected AMF by considering a type of a backhaul network of a control plane; transmitting an initial UE message to the selected AMF by using the selected TNLA; and performing a registration procedure of the UE upon receiving a selected TNLA response signal from the selected AMF.);
selecting, by the terminal device, a backhaul link from among a plurality of backhaul links, wherein the plurality of backhaul links comprise a first backhaul link associated with a first satellite orbit, and a second backhaul link associated with a second satellite orbit (at least Fig. 8, [0016], [0019], [0052] and [0080]-[0087]. An access network (AN) node of a wireless communication system may include selecting an access and mobility management function (AMF) upon receiving a registration request message from a user equipment (UE); selecting one transport network layer association (TNLA) from among candidate TNLAs for the selected AMF by considering a type of a backhaul network of a control plane; transmitting an initial UE message to the selected AMF by using the selected TNLA; and performing a registration procedure of the UE upon receiving a selected TNLA response signal from the selected AMF. The candidate TNLAs may include at least one of low earth orbits (LEO) and a geosynchronous earth orbit (GEO).); and
transmitting, by the terminal device, the backhaul data to a gateway device associated with the communication network using the selected backhaul link (at least Fig. 8, [0016], [0052] and [0080]-[0084]. An access network (AN) node of a wireless communication system may include selecting an access and mobility management function (AMF) upon receiving a registration request message from a user equipment (UE); selecting one transport network layer association (TNLA) from among candidate TNLAs for the selected AMF by considering a type of a backhaul network of a control plane; transmitting an initial UE message to the selected AMF by using the selected TNLA; and performing a registration procedure of the UE upon receiving a selected TNLA response signal from the selected AMF. The initial UE message may include the registration request message received from the UE).
For claim 2, Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of backhaul links further comprise a third backhaul link associated with a third satellite orbit, wherein the first satellite orbit, the second satellite orbit, and the third satellite orbit comprise a low Earth orbit (LEO), a medium Earth orbit (MEO), and a geostationary Earth orbit (GEO) (at least [0048] and [0077]. The backhaul network may provide a connection between the RAN and the core network, and different types of communication protocols may be applied to the control plane and the user plane. As such backhaul networks, FIG. 7 exemplarily shows a terrestrial backhaul network 7-11, a geosynchronous earth orbits (GEO) satellite backhaul network 7-12, and a low earth orbits (LEO) satellite backhaul network 7-13. The backhaul networks may be further subdivided into low earth orbits (LEO), medium earth orbits (MEO), and geosynchronous earth orbits (GEO) corresponding to high earth orbits, as described in the above first to third scenarios.)
For claim 3, Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the backhaul data is transmitted by the gateway device to a core network associated with the communication network (at least [0021] and [0077]. When the UE requests registration and PDU session establishment to the core network through the AN connected via one or several backhaul networks in the 3GPP 5G system, the AMF can efficiently determine whether to use a QoS-limited backhaul network (e.g., a satellite backhaul network).)
For claim 4, Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the terminal device comprises a plurality of node modules associated with the plurality of backhaul links (at least Fig. 8. The RAN includes a number of node that connect with each of the TNLA), and a first trunking module configured to provide the backhaul data to a node module associated with the selected backhaul link from among the plurality of node modules (at least Fig. 8. The RAN includes an interface that connects between the UE and RAN), and wherein the gateway device comprises a plurality of donor modules associated with the plurality of backhaul links (at least Fig. 8. The AMF includes a number of interfaces that connect with each of the TNLA), and a second trunking module configured to receive the backhaul data from a donor module associated with the selected backhaul link from among the plurality of donor modules (at least Fig. 8. The AMF includes a receiver for receiving the registration message from the RAN).
For claims 9-12, the claims have features similar claims 1-4. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason as claims 1-4.
For claims 17-18, the claims have features similar claims 1-2. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason as claims 1-2.
For claims 19, the claim has features similar claim 4. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason as claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. 20230292380) in view of Hampel et al. (U.S. 20230171669).
For claim 5, Kim et al. do not disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the communication network comprises a fifth generation (5G) cellular network, wherein the MT is included in at least one of a user equipment (UE) device and integrated access and backhaul (IAB)-node, wherein the plurality of node modules comprise a plurality of IAB-node MTs, and wherein the plurality of donor modules comprise a plurality of IAB-donor gNodeB (gNB)-distributed units (DUs).
In the same field of endeavor, Hampel et al. disclose the MT is included in at least one of a user equipment (UE) device and integrated access and backhaul (IAB)-node (at least Fig. 5 and [0086]. The IAB network 500 includes an IAB-donor 510 and IAB-nodes 520. The IAB-nodes, as well as the IAB-donor, may provide wireless access links to UEs 530.), wherein the plurality of node modules comprise a plurality of IAB-node MTs (at least Fig. 5 and [0086]. The IAB-nodes 520a, 520b may include a mobile termination (MT) and a DU.), and wherein the plurality of donor modules comprise a plurality of IAB-donor gNodeB (gNB)-distributed units (DUs) (at least Fig. 5 and [0086]. The IAB-nodes 520a, 520b may include a mobile termination (MT) and a DU.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Kim et al. as taught by Hampel et al. or purpose of transmitting the data packet to the multi-hop transmission.
For claim 6, the combination of Kim et al. and Hampel et al. disclose the method of claim 5. Hampel et al. disclose wherein the backhaul data is received from the MT using an IAB-node gNB-DU included in the terminal device, and wherein the backhaul data is transmitted to a core network associated with the communication network using an IAB-donor gNB-centralized unit (CU) included in the gateway device (at least Fig. 5 and [0087]. The IAB-donor 510 may be considered a root node of the tree structure of the IAB network 500. The IAB-donor 510 may be connected to the core network 590 via a wired connection 591. The wired connection may include, e.g., a wireline fiber. The IAB-donor 510 may provide a connection to one or more IAB-nodes 520a. The IAB-nodes 520a may each be referred to as a child node of the IAB-donor 510. The IAB-donor 510 may also provide a connection to one or more UEs 530a, which may be referred to as a child UE of IAB-donor 510.)
For claims 13-14, the claims have features similar claims 5-6. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason as claims 5-6.
Claims 8, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. 20230292380) in view of Hampel et al. (U.S. 20230171669) further in view of Misra et al. (U.S. 20240129353).
For claim 8, the combination Kim et al. and Hampel et al. do not disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the plurality of backhaul links further comprise a 5G cellular backhaul link.
In the same field of endeavor, Misra et al. disclose the plurality of backhaul links further comprise a 5G cellular backhaul link (at least Fig. 19, [0237] and [0245]. Multiple types of backhaul options are illustrated, including a geosynchronous (GEO) satellite network 2101 (discussed below with reference to FIGS. 22A and/or 22B), a low earth orbit (LEO) satellite network 2102 (discussed below with reference to FIG. 24A), and a low earth orbit 5G (LEO 5G) satellite network 2103 (discussed below with reference to FIG. 24B). In each of these cases, a remote edge RAN access point 2111, connected to a 5G core network, uses one or more of the satellite networks 2101, 2102, 2103 to provide backhaul connectivity to a larger communications network (e.g., the Internet). The use of satellite backhaul may be in addition to other types of wired or wireless backhauls, including terrestrial backhaul to other 5G RAN wireless networks (e.g., peer-to-peer to wireless network 2104), or control information communicated or obtained via telemetry tracking and control (TTAC) network 2105.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Kim et al. as taught by Misra et al. purpose of providing alternate path to access the wide area networks and the Internet.
For claim 16, the claim has features similar claim 8. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason as claim 8.
For claim 20, the claim has features similar claims 5 and 8. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason as claims 5 and 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base
Conclusion
/DAI PHUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644