DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 7, 9 – 13, 15 and 17 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nomura (US 2010/0328786).
Regarding claim 1, Nomura discloses, in at least figures 6 and 11, a variable aperture (70) for a camera of a mobile computing device, the variable aperture comprising: a plurality of aperture blades (74), a position of the plurality of aperture blades controlling an amount of light that reaches a sensor of the camera (¶49, 51: a set of three aperture blades 74 rotate to open and close); a rotator (71/72/73) configured to rotate the plurality of aperture blades along a rotational arc, wherein rotation of the plurality of aperture blades along the rotational arc adjusts the position of the plurality of aperture blades (¶51-53: the base member 73, the opening/closing ring 72 and the set of three aperture blades 74 constitute an aperture blade opening/closing mechanism; the opening/closing ring 72 rotate with the zoom rotational ring 71 when a rotational force is applied to the zoom rotational ring 71;); and a base (80) configured to house the rotator, the base defining a plurality of circumferentially distributed recesses (8a) (¶53: base member 73 is provided with a plurality of guide projections 73a (see FIG. 6) which project radially outwards to be slidably engaged in a plurality of linear guide grooves 8a, respectively, which are formed on an inner peripheral surface of the second lens group moving ring 8),wherein the rotator comprises a plurality of projections (73a) configured to move within the plurality of recesses (¶53: base member 73 is provided with a plurality of guide projections 73a (see FIG. 6) which project radially outwards to be slidably engaged in a plurality of linear guide grooves 8a, respectively, which are formed on an inner peripheral surface of the second lens group moving ring 8).
Regarding claim 2, Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 1. Nomura also teaches wherein the base defines a plurality of slots, each slot of the plurality of slots configured to enable insertion of a projection of the plurality of projections into a corresponding recess of the plurality of recesses (fig. 6, 11: ¶53: base member 73 is provided with a plurality of guide projections 73a (see FIG. 6) which project radially outwards to be slidably engaged in a plurality of linear guide grooves 8a, respectively, which are formed on an inner peripheral surface of the second lens group moving ring 8).
Regarding claim 3, Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 2. Nomura also teaches wherein the plurality of recesses include material configured to surround the projections for at least a portion of the rotational arc (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 3. Nomura also teaches further comprising a plurality of plugs configured to be inserted into the plurality of slots after assembly of the rotator within the base, wherein the plurality of plugs are configured to retain the projections within the recesses (fig. 12; ¶54: grooves and protrusions of 75 lock the position of the mechanism).
Regarding claim 7, Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 1. Nomura also teaches further comprising an actuator (150) configured to rotate the rotator along the rotational arc (¶40-41).
Regarding claim 9, Nomura discloses, in at least figures 6 and 11, a camera of a mobile computing device, the camera comprising: a lens (LG) configured to image light to a sensor (26); a variable aperture comprising: a plurality of aperture blades (74), a position of the plurality of aperture blades controlling an amount of light that reaches a sensor of the camera (¶49, 51: a set of three aperture blades 74 rotate to open and close); a rotator (71/72/73) configured to rotate the plurality of aperture blades along a rotational arc, wherein rotation of the plurality of aperture blades along the rotational arc adjusts the position of the plurality of aperture blades (¶51-53: the base member 73, the opening/closing ring 72 and the set of three aperture blades 74 constitute an aperture blade opening/closing mechanism; the opening/closing ring 72 rotate with the zoom rotational ring 71 when a rotational force is applied to the zoom rotational ring 71;); and a base (80) configured to house the rotator, the base defining a plurality of circumferentially distributed recesses (8a) (¶53: base member 73 is provided with a plurality of guide projections 73a (see FIG. 6) which project radially outwards to be slidably engaged in a plurality of linear guide grooves 8a, respectively, which are formed on an inner peripheral surface of the second lens group moving ring 8),wherein the rotator comprises a plurality of projections (73a) configured to move within the plurality of recesses (¶53: base member 73 is provided with a plurality of guide projections 73a (see FIG. 6) which project radially outwards to be slidably engaged in a plurality of linear guide grooves 8a, respectively, which are formed on an inner peripheral surface of the second lens group moving ring 8).
Regarding claim 10, Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 9. Nomura also teaches wherein the base defines a plurality of slots, each slot of the plurality of slots configured to enable insertion of a projection of the plurality of projections into a corresponding recess of the plurality of recesses (fig. 6, 11: ¶53: base member 73 is provided with a plurality of guide projections 73a (see FIG. 6) which project radially outwards to be slidably engaged in a plurality of linear guide grooves 8a, respectively, which are formed on an inner peripheral surface of the second lens group moving ring 8).
Regarding claim 11, Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 10. Nomura also teaches wherein the plurality of recesses include material configured to surround the projections for at least a portion of the rotational arc (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 11. Nomura also teaches further comprising a plurality of plugs configured to be inserted into the plurality of slots after assembly of the rotator within the base, wherein the plurality of plugs are configured to retain the projections within the recesses (fig. 12; ¶54: grooves and protrusions of 75 lock the position of the mechanism).
Regarding claim 15, Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 9. Nomura also teaches further comprising an actuator (150) configured to rotate the rotator along the rotational arc (¶40-41).
Claims 17 – 18 rejected as applied to claim 1 and 2, above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Nomura.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 – 6 and 13 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura in view of Kuo (US 2023/0283157).
Regarding claim 5, Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 3. Nomura fails to explicitly disclose further comprising grease disposed within the plurality of recesses.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nomura with the teachings of Kuo. Nomura discloses variable aperture assembly with grooves/recesses that receive projections. Kuo teaches a VCM camera module that includes a friction surface of the sliding shaft and/or the groove is coated with grease, so that a friction force between the sliding shaft and/or the groove can be reduced, and the movable base slides smoothly on the base (¶13, 132). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of using applying a lubricant/grease, as taught by Kuo, with the invention of Nomura would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system that slides smoothly and reduces friction between parts.
Regarding claim 6, Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 1. Nomura fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of projections are formed via a molding process, and wherein the plurality of projections are molded around a strengthening component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nomura with the teachings of Kuo. Nomura discloses variable aperture assembly with grooves/recesses that receive projections, but is silent as to the materials used. Kuo teaches a VCM camera module that includes reinforced brackets that have metal and plastic formed via injection molding (¶184, 190-191). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of using injection molding process to form device components, as taught by Kuo, with the invention of Nomura would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system that increases the mechanical strength of the component and device as a whole.
Regarding claim 13, Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 11. Nomura fails to explicitly disclose further comprising grease disposed within the plurality of recesses.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nomura with the teachings of Kuo. Nomura discloses variable aperture assembly with grooves/recesses that receive projections. Kuo teaches a VCM camera module that includes a friction surface of the sliding shaft and/or the groove is coated with grease, so that a friction force between the sliding shaft and/or the groove can be reduced, and the movable base slides smoothly on the base (¶13, 132). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of using applying a lubricant/grease, as taught by Kuo, with the invention of Nomura would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system that slides smoothly and reduces friction between parts.
Regarding claim 14, Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 9. Nomura fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of projections are formed via a molding process, and wherein the plurality of projections are molded around a strengthening component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nomura with the teachings of Kuo. Nomura discloses variable aperture assembly with grooves/recesses that receive projections, but is silent as to the materials used. Kuo teaches a VCM camera module that includes reinforced brackets that have metal and plastic formed via injection molding (¶184, 190-191). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of using injection molding process to form device components, as taught by Kuo, with the invention of Nomura would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system that increases the mechanical strength of the component and device as a whole.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura in view of Knoedgen (US 2011/0176053).
Regarding claim 8, Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 1. Nomura fails to explicitly disclose further comprising a magnetic yoke configured to fix a nominal TO rotational position of the rotator along the rotational arc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nomura with the teachings of Knoedgen. Nomura discloses variable aperture assembly that uses a motor actuator. Knoedgen teaches a variable aperture shutter that uses linear motors with magnets, coils and a movable yoke to move the shutter blades (¶38,42). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of using injection molding process to form device components, as taught by Knoedgen, with the invention of Nomura would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system that reduces size.
Regarding claim 16, Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 9. Nomura fails to explicitly disclose further comprising a magnetic yoke configured to fix a nominal TO rotational position of the rotator along the rotational arc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nomura with the teachings of Knoedgen. Nomura discloses variable aperture assembly that uses a motor actuator. Knoedgen teaches a variable aperture shutter that uses linear motors with magnets, coils and a movable yoke to move the shutter blades (¶38,42). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of using injection molding process to form device components, as taught by Knoedgen, with the invention of Nomura would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system that reduces size.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639