DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/17/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1 -- a first power supply terminal electrically coupled to a first bus bar;
a second power supply terminal electrically coupled to the first bus bar.
Claim 4 -- the third bus bar is coupled to the first transparent conductive layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al (US 6795226),
Regarding Claim 1, Agrawal teaches an apparatus comprising an electrochromic device (abstract; figs. 2-13),
wherein the electronic device comprises
a power supply terminal electrically coupled to a first bus bar (fig. 2A-C, 22- first bus bar, 26- power supply terminal);
a first transparent conductive layer (fig. 2A-C, 21, 21’ 28; col. 9, line 15-18, The transparent conductive 15, 21, 28 substrates);
wherein the first bus bar is coupled to the first transparent conductive layer (fig. 2A-C, 22, 21/28);
a second bus bar that is coupled to the first transparent conductive layer (fig. 2A-C, 24, 21’/28);
a substrate (fig. 2A-C, 10); and
a third bus bar (fig. 2A-C, 17) disposed between the substrate and the first transparent conductive layer (fig. 2C, 10, 17, 21/28);
wherein:
the first bus bar, the second bar, or each of the first and second bus bars overlies a second transparent conductive layer (fig. 2A-C, 22, 24, 15),
the first and second bus bars are offset from each other by a gap along a length of a side of the apparatus (fig. 2A-C, 22, 24, 25- gap), and
the gap is at least 10% of the length (fig. 2A-C, 25-gap; fig. 3B, 47, 48, 49-gap—is more than 10% of the length; fig. 4, 47, 48, 51-gap-- is about 10% of the length).
But Agrawal in embodiments of figs. 2-4 does not specifically disclose that wherein a first power supply terminal electrically coupled to a first bus bar; a second power supply terminal electrically coupled to the first bus bar.
However, Agrawal teaches in embodiments of figs. 11-13 that wherein a first power supply terminal electrically coupled to a first bus bar; a second power supply terminal electrically coupled to the first bus bar (fig. 13, 187 - first bus bar; 189(A)/190(B)-- power supply terminal; fig. 11, A. B - terminal; EC controller - first power supply terminal; Heater controller - second power supply terminal; --- power supply terminals(A/B) of first bus bars can be electrically coupled to power supply of EC controller and Heater controller).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparats of Agrawal to have electrical power connection as claimed for a purpose to achieve the degree of tunability in color and transmissivity desired for automobile glazing (col. 5, line 18-25).
Regarding Claim 2, Agrawal teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the first bus bar, the second bus bar, or each of the first and second bus bars includes an arm extending from a portion of the corresponding bus bar (fig. 2A-C, 22, 24), and
the gap is closer to the arm as compared to the portion (fig. 2A-C, 22, 24, 25).
Regarding Claim 3, Agrawal teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the first bus bar has a main body, the second bus bar, or each of the first and second bus bars includes an arm (fig. 2A-C, 22, 24), and
the gap is between the arm of the first bus bar and the second bus bar, the arm of the second bus bar and the first bus bar, or the arm of the first bus bar and the arm of the second bus bar (fig. 2A-C, 22, 24, 25).
Regarding Claim 5, Agrawal teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
the second transparent conductive layer (fig. 2A-C, 15);
the third bus bar coupled to the second transparent conductive layer (fig. 2C, 17, 15); and
an electrochromic layer disposed between the first and second transparent conductive layers (fig. 2C, 28, 15, 21; col. 12, line 30-33, a tungsten oxide containing electrochromic layer 28; fig. 13, TC-183, 184, EC-185).
Regarding Claim 6, Agrawal teaches the apparatus of claim 5, further comprising a fourth bus bar coupled to the second transparent conductive layer (fig. 2A-C, 18, 15).
Regarding Claim 7, Agrawal teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the first bus bar is above the third bus bar and the second bus bar is above the fourth bus bar (fig. 2C, 22, 17, 24, 18).
Regarding Claim 8, Agrawal teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an electrochromic layer on the first transparent conductive layer (fig. 2C, 28, 21).
Regarding Claim 9, Agrawal teaches the apparatus of claim 8, further comprising a counter electrode layer and an ion conducting layer between the electrochromic layer and the counter electrode layer (fig. 2C, 19- counter electrode, 29-electrolyte (ion conducting), 28- electrochromic layer; fig, 13, 185, 193, 186).
Regarding Claim 10, Agrawal teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the first bus bar has a main body (fig. 2A-C, 22),
the second bus bar has a main body (fig. 2A-C, 22), and
the gap is between the main bodies of the first and second bus bars (fig. 2A-C, 22, 24, 25).
Regarding Claim 11, Agrawal teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein:
the first bus bar, the second bus bar, or each of the first and second bus bars includes an arm extending from a portion of the corresponding bus bar extending from the main body (fig. 2A-C, 22, 24), and
the gap is closer to the arm as compared to the main body (fig. 2A-C, 22, 24, 25).
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rukavina et al (US 20030047457).
Regarding Claim 1, Rukavina teaches an apparatus comprising an electrochromic device (abstract; figs. 1-10), wherein the electronic device comprises
a first power supply terminal electrically coupled to a bus bar (fig. 3, 65, 60; fig. 10, 390, 260a);
a first transparent conductive layer (fig. 3, 29; fig. 7, 229), wherein the first bus bar is coupled to the first transparent conductive layer (fig. 3, 60, 29; fig. 7, 260a, 229);
a second bus bar that is coupled to the first transparent conductive layer (fig. 7, 260b, 229);
a substrate (fig. 3, 30; fig. 7, 230), ; and
a third bus bar (fig. 3, 80) disposed between the substrate (fig. 3, 30) and the first transparent conductive layer (fig. 3, 29),
wherein:
the first bus bar, the second bar, or each of the first and second bus bars overlies a second transparent conductive layer (fig. 7, 260a, 260b, 239),
the first and second bus bars are offset from each other by a gap along a length of a side of the apparatus (fig. 7, 260a, 260b), and
the gap is at least 10% of the length (fig. 7, 260a, 260b; and space between 260a and 260b).
But Rukavina in embodiments of figs. 1-7 does not specifically disclose that wherein a first power supply terminal electrically coupled to a first bus bar; a second power supply terminal electrically coupled to the first bus bar.
However, Rukavina teaches in ¶[0045], line 1-21 that “the color of the dye can be of a constant darkness or shade upon application of an electrical potential” and “the window assembly can include varying degrees of light transmittance upon varying of the electrical potential. The window assembly can, therefore, be adjusted to a desired level of darkness or shading based upon the amount of electrical potential applied thereto. This can be easily accomplished, for example, by incorporating a switch or some other control between the electrical power source and the window assembly”, ---that is, the first bus bar can be coupled to a first power supply (--the electrical potential) and a second power supply (--some other control).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparats of Rukavina to have electrical power connection as claimed for a purpose of providing of electrochromic devices that are capable of uniform switching throughout the entire structure and of preferential switching to selected areas (¶[0002], line 1-5).
Regarding Claim 4, Rukavina teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the third bus bar is coupled to the first transparent conductive layer (fig. 7, 260c, 229),
the first bus bar is spaced apart from the third bus bar by the gap (fig. 7, 260a, 260c), and
the second bus bar is spaced apart from the third bus bar by a second gap (fig. 7, 260b, 260c).
first bus bar, the second bus bar, or each of the first and second bus bars includes an arm extending from a portion of the corresponding bus bar (fig. 7, 260a, 260b), and
the gap is closer to the arm as compared to the portion (fig. 7, 260a, 260b).
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872