Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9, 11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al (US Patent No. 12581005 B2 and Seo hereinafter) in view of Kim et al (US Patent No. 12493325 B2 and Kim hereinafter)
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses (Figs. 1-7B) a display apparatus comprising: a display panel (DP) including a non-bending area (NFA1-NFA2) and a bending area (FA) adjacent to the non- bending area; and a support member (UM) located below the display panel and including a plurality of fiber bundles (ML) and a resin (BS) surrounding the plurality of fiber bundles (fig.5). Seo does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of fiber bundles are woven to have a first pattern in the non-bending area and are woven to have a second pattern in at least a partial area of the bending area, and wherein at least one of a weave form or a fiber density of the first pattern is different from at least one of a weave form or a fiber density of the second pattern. However, Kim teaches (figs. 1-13) wherein the plurality of fiber bundles (FB and FP) are woven to have a first pattern in the non-bending area (NFA1) and are woven to have a second pattern (C) in at least a partial area of the bending area (FA), and wherein at least one of a weave form or a fiber density of the first pattern is different from at least one of a weave form or a fiber density of the second pattern (figs.7-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the plurality of fiber bundles having first/second patterns of Kim to device of Seo in order to improve folding properties of the display device (Kim and Col 12, lines 45-50)
Regarding claim 2, Seo/Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 1. Kim further teaches (figs. 1-13) wherein the first pattern is a plain weave form or a twill weave form (fig.7), and the second pattern is a satin weave form (fig.8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Plain/Satin weave of Kim to device of Seo in order to improve folding properties of the display device (Kim and Col 12, lines 45-50)
Regarding claim 3, Seo/Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 1. Kim further teaches (figs. 1-13) wherein the first pattern and the second pattern are a plain weave form or a twill weave form, and wherein a density of the plurality of fiber bundles included in the second pattern is lower than a density of the plurality of fiber bundles included in the first pattern (figs. 7-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Plain/Satin weave of Lee to device of Seo in order to improve folding properties of the display device (Kim and Col 12, lines 45-50)
Regarding claim 9, Seo/Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 1. Seo discloses (figs. 1-7B) a back plate (PF) disposed between the display panel and the support member, wherein the support member contacts a lower surface of the back plate.
Regarding claim 11, Seo/Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 1. Seo discloses (figs. 1-7B) wherein a width in a horizontal direction of the support member is equal to a width in the horizontal direction of the display panel.
Regarding claim 13, Seo/Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 1. Seo discloses (figs. 1-7B) wherein the plurality of fiber bundles include first fibers (ML1)and second fibers (ML2) , and wherein the first fibers arranged in the bending area are connected to the first fibers arranged in the non-bending area, and the second fibers arranged in the bending area are connected to the second fibers arranged in the non-bending area (shows in figs 6A-C).
Regarding claim 14, Seo discloses (Figs. 1-7B) a display apparatus comprising: a display panel (DP) including a first area (NFA1-NFA2) and a second area (FA) adjacent to the first area; and a support member (UM) disposed on a back surface of the display panel and including a plurality of fiber bundles (ML).
Seo does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of fiber bundles are woven in a first pattern in an area overlapping the first area and are woven in a second pattern in an area overlapping at least a part of the second area, wherein the first pattern and the second pattern are different weave type or the plurality of fiber bundles included in the first pattern and the plurality of fiber bundles included in the second pattern have different density. However, Kim teaches (figs. 1-13) wherein the plurality of fiber bundles (FB and FP) are woven in a first pattern (B) in an area overlapping the first area (NFA1) and are woven in a second pattern (C) in an area overlapping at least a part of the second area (FA), wherein the first pattern and the second pattern are different weave type or the plurality of fiber bundles included in the first pattern and the plurality of fiber bundles included in the second pattern have different density (shows in figs 7-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the plurality of fiber bundles having first/second patterns of Kim to device of Seo in order to improve folding properties of the display device (Kim and Col 12, lines 45-50)
Regarding claim 15, Seo/Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 14. Seo further teaches (Figs. 1-7B) wherein the first area is flat, and at least a part of the second area is bent.
Regarding claim 16, Seo/Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 14. Kim further teaches (figs. 1-13) wherein the first pattern is a plain weave form or a twill weave form (fig.7), and the second pattern is a satin weave form (fig.8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Plain/Satin weave of Kim to device of Seo in order to improve folding properties of the display device (Kim and Col 12, lines 45-50)
Regarding claim 17, Seo/Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 14. Kim further teaches (figs. 1-13) wherein the first pattern and the second pattern are a plain weave form or a twill weave form, and wherein a density of the plurality of fiber bundles included in the second pattern is lower than a density of the plurality of fiber bundles included in the first pattern (shows in figs 7-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Plain/Satin weave of Kim to device of Seo in order to improve folding properties of the display device (Kim and Col 12, lines 45-50)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al in view of Kim et al and further in view of Yoo et al ( US Pub No. 2021/0349242 A1 and Yoo hereinafter)
Regarding claim 10, Seo/Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the support member further includes a tackifier. However, Yoo teaches (figs. 1-3) wherein the support member (2) further includes a tackifier ([0078]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the support member having a tackifier of Yoo to device of Seo/Kim in order to provides a protective film for a foldable display (Yoo and [0078])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 12 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art fails to disclose, “ wherein the support member is woven to have a third pattern, in at least another partial area of the bending area, at least one of the weave form or the fiber density of the third pattern being different from at least one of the weave form or the fiber density of the second pattern.”
Claims 5-8 and 12 are objected being depend on claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art fails to disclose, “wherein the support member is woven to have a third pattern different from the second pattern in an area overlapping at least another part of the second area”.
Claims 19-20 are objected being depend on claim 18.
However, the prior art (Included in PTO 892 and IDS) , when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841