Information Disclosure Statement
Since this application is a continuation of US Application 18/322,308 and 17/138,117, the examiner has considered the information provided in the parent application (per MPEP 609.02). Should applicant desire the information to be printed on any patent issuing from this application, a new listing of the information must be separately submitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alpern et al. (US 5,325,987) in view of Char et al. (US 5,833,057).
Regarding claim 20, Alpern discloses a system (See Fig. 1) capable of packaging a kit for a radiofrequency ablation procedure, the system comprising: an introducer tray (tray at 15 in Fig. 1 – See Fig. 1 labeled below) configured to hold at least one introducer (tray at 15 in Fig. 1 is considered an introducer tray since it is capable of holding an introducer element therein); a probe tray (tray at 16 in Fig. 1 – See Fig. 1 labeled below) configured to hold at least one radiofrequency ablation probe assembly (tray at 16 in Fig. 1 is considered a probe tray since it is capable of holding an radiofrequency ablation probe assembly therein); an outer carrier tray (at 21 in Fig. 1 - See Fig. 1 labeled below), wherein the introducer tray and the probe tray are held within the outer carrier tray (as shown in Fig. 1); a pouch (bag 11 in Fig. 1) configured to hold a tubing assembly (element 11 in Fig. 1 is fully capable of holding a tubing assembly therein); wherein the probe tray and introducer tray are arranged in a stacked configuration within the outer carrier tray (as shown in Fig. 1), and wherein the pouch is positioned outside of the outer carrier tray (as shown in Fig. 1).
Alpern discloses the claimed invention except for the dispenser carton. However, Char teaches a packaging kit (14 — See Fig. 1) disposed within a dispenser carton (carton at the bottom of Fig. 1 and shown at 12 in Fig. 2) for the purpose of surrounding and protecting a packaging kit during transport (see column 3, lines 55-57). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the kit of Alpern within a carton as taught by Char in order to surround and protect the kit during transport.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,684,443. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 1) discloses a system for packaging a kit for a radiofrequency ablation procedure, the system comprising: an introducer tray for receiving at least one introducer; a probe tray for receiving at least one radiofrequency ablation probe assembly; and a probe sleeve formed from a single piece of material folded into a rectangular shape configured to surround the at least one radiofrequency ablation probe assembly, wherein the probe sleeve facilitates a secure fit of the at least one radiofrequency ablation probe assembly within the probe tray; an outer carrier tray, wherein the introducer tray and the probe tray are held within the outer carrier tray; a pouch configured to hold a tubing kit; and a dispenser carton, wherein the outer carrier tray and the pouch are configured to be held within the dispenser carton.
Regarding claim 2, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 2) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 3, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 3) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 4, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 4) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 5, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 5) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 6, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 6) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 7, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 7) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 8, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 8) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 9, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 9) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 10, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 10) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 11, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 11) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 12, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 12) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 13, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 13) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 14, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 14) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 15, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 15) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 16, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 16) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 17, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 1) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 18, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 17) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 19, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 18) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 20, Patent No. 11,684,443 (claim 1) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
/STEVEN A. REYNOLDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735