DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhyu et al. (US Publication Number 2023/0176915 A1, hereinafter “Rhyu”) in view of Bouazizi et al. (US Publication Number 2022/0369000 A1, hereinafter “Bouazizi”).
(1) regarding claim 1:
As shown in fig. 11, Rhyu disclosed a method for video decoding (para. [0088], note that in AR split rendering, the UE performs processes, such as decoding and pose correction, on the received content), the method performed by at least one processor and comprising:
determining capabilities of an augmented reality (AR) device, the capabilities indicating, as part of the AR device serving as a split rendering client (SRC), any of an audio encoder or decoder of the AR device and a video encoder or decoder of the AR device (para. [0197], note that in the provisioning phase for service initiation, operation 1407 for application initialization may include operations 1407a and 1407b. In operation 1407a, the UE's application (e.g., 5GMS-aware application) may identify device capability for the application provider to be able to distribute processes through the UE and the server i.e. SRC considering UE capability i.e. for split rendering, see para. [0200]);
obtaining AR data of a media component of at least one of audio and video based on a request signaling the capabilities of the AR device to a server, (para. [0197], note that the 5GMS-aware application may share the identified device capability with the AC in the 5GMS-aware application. In operation 1408, the AC may transfer the device capability to the edge enabler client (EEC) in the media session handler), acting as a split rendering server (SRS) for split rendering of the media component between the SRS and the SRC, providing the AR data (para. [0203], AR/MR application may transfer an EAS server resource allocation requirement including information (e.g., UE capability information) indicating the UE's device capability to the EEC (e.g., media session handler) through the EEC. The AR/MR application may transfer the device capability to the EEC to request start of a session for split rendering); and
decoding the AR data based on the capabilities of the AR device signaled to the SRC (para. [0289], note that the media client may decode and process the media data. For encrypted media data, the media client may additionally perform decoding. In operation 2322, the media client may transfer the media data to the AR/MR scene manager).
Rhyu disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching obtaining AR data of a media component of at least one of audio and video.
However, Bouazizi disclosed obtaining AR data of a media component of at least one of audio and video (para. [0030], note that streaming 3GPP data using HTTP streaming, there may be multiple representations for video and/or audio data of multimedia content).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach obtaining AR data of a media component of at least one of audio and video. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide split rendering of media data including dynamic virtual objects (para. [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rhyu with Bouazizi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
(2) regarding claim 2:
Rhyu disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device comprises a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType".
However, Bouazizi disclosed wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device comprises a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType" (para. [0098], note that various types of client devices (also referred to as “user equipment” or “UE”) may perform XR. XR client device 140 may conform to one of these various types, or another type. Table 1 below describes several different types of client devices that may perform split rendering of XR data over a 5G network. Also see para. [0033], the MPD may also provide byte ranges in the form of a range attribute, which may correspond to the data for a segment within a file accessible by the URL, URN, or URI.).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device comprises a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType". The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide split rendering of media data including dynamic virtual objects (para. [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rhyu with Bouazizi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
(3) regarding claim 3:
Rhyu further disclosed the method according to claim 2, wherein the profile identifier indicates an eXtended reality (XR) runtime and scene manager capabilities (para. [0108], note that AR scene manager 810 (or lightweight scene manager or basic scene manager) for AR service, i.e., a set of functions that support an application for arranging a logical spatial representation of a multisensorial scene based on support by the AR runtime function block 808).
(4) regarding claim 4:
Rhyu further disclosed the method according to claim 1, wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device comprises a list of at least some of the capabilities of the AR device (para. [0078], note that an integrated process system including a power model and device capability determining unit (capability & performance evaluator) for a device (e.g., UE or UE device) and an integrated management process for a server (e.g., cloud/edge server).), and the at least some of the capabilities of the AR device indicating optional codecs of the AR device (para. [0083], note that the UE 402 may have the capability for performance sufficient to play the received content without the aid of another device or, in may request content from the content server 404).
(5) regarding claim 5:
Rhyu further disclosed the method according to claim 4, wherein the at least some of the capabilities of the AR device further indicating a number of instances of and interfaces of the optional codecs of the AR device, eXtended reality (XR) runtime profiles, optional extensions, a scene description format, and a profile supported by the scene description format (para. [0101], note that the performance evaluating unit 606 (FIG. 6) of the process or the device 602 may report UE capability information 610 indicating the performance and change in performance of the device 602 or the process to the integrated management process 614. Also see para. [0113], the AR scene manager 810 may include at least one of the following functions (or processes): [0114] Scene graph handler; [0116] The AR runtime function block 808 may include at least one of the following functions (or processes): [0117] Vision engine (or SLAM, or spatial computing, or XR spatial compute), i.e., AR functions that process sensor data to generate information about the 3D space surrounding AR users; [0118] Pose correction: a function that helps the user to stabilize AR media, [0119] Soundfield mapping; [0120] Power model 804 (e.g., the power model 604); or [0121] Performance evaluating unit (capability & performance evaluator) 806 (e.g., the performance evaluating unit 606)).
(6) regarding claim 6:
Rhyu disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device further comprises a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType", and a syntax indicating the list of the at least some of the capabilities is "device Detailed Capabilities".
However, Bouazizi disclosed wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device further comprises a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType", and a syntax indicating the list of the at least some of the capabilities is "device Detailed Capabilities" (Table 1, para. [0100], note that 0100] Table 1 shows, for various examples of device types that participate in XR, how the devices are connected to get access to information, where the 5G Uu modem is expected to be placed, where the basic AR functions are placed, where the AR/MR functions are placed, where the AR/MR application is running, and where the power supply/battery is placed. In all glass device types, sensors, cameras, and microphones are assumed to be on the device (UE) itself. Also see para. [0033], the MPD may also provide byte ranges in the form of a range attribute, which may correspond to the data for a segment within a file accessible by the URL, URN, or URI.).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device further comprises a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType", and a syntax indicating the list of the at least some of the capabilities is "device Detailed Capabilities". The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide split rendering of media data including dynamic virtual objects (para. [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rhyu with Bouazizi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
(7) regarding claim 7:
Rhyu further disclosed the method according to claim 6, wherein the profile identifier indicates an eXtended reality (XR) runtime and scene manager capabilities other than of the at least some of the capabilities of the AR device (para. [0108], note that AR scene manager 810 (or lightweight scene manager or basic scene manager) for AR service, i.e., a set of functions that support an application for arranging a logical spatial representation of a multisensorial scene based on support by the AR runtime function block 808).
(8) regarding claim 8:
As shown in fig. 11, Rhyu disclosed a method for video encoding (para. [0086], note that the encoder process of the server may image-compress (i.e., encode) the rendering image and transfer it to the UE), the method performed by at least one processor and comprising:
determining capabilities of an augmented reality (AR) device, the capabilities indicating, as part of the AR device serving as a split rendering client (SRC), any of an audio encoder or decoder of the AR device and a video encoder or decoder of the AR device (para. [0197], note that in the provisioning phase for service initiation, operation 1407 for application initialization may include operations 1407a and 1407b. In operation 1407a, the UE's application (e.g., 5GMS-aware application) may identify device capability for the application provider to be able to distribute processes through the UE and the server i.e. SRC considering UE capability i.e. for split rendering, see para. [0200]);
obtaining AR data of a media component of at least one of audio and video based on a request signaling the capabilities of the AR device to a server, (para. [0197], note that the 5GMS-aware application may share the identified device capability with the AC in the 5GMS-aware application. In operation 1408, the AC may transfer the device capability to the edge enabler client (EEC) in the media session handler), acting as a split rendering server (SRS) for split rendering of the media component between the SRS and the SRC, providing the AR data (para. [0203], AR/MR application may transfer an EAS server resource allocation requirement including information (e.g., UE capability information) indicating the UE's device capability to the EEC (e.g., media session handler) through the EEC. The AR/MR application may transfer the device capability to the EEC to request start of a session for split rendering); and
encoding the AR data based on the capabilities of the AR device signaled to the SRC (para. [0304], note that the pre-rendering may include decoding and rendering of immersive media and encoding of the rendered (2D) media. In operation 2625, the pre-rendered media may be transmitted the media client by the 5GMSd AS).
Rhyu disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching obtaining AR data of a media component of at least one of audio and video.
However, Bouazizi disclosed obtaining AR data of a media component of at least one of audio and video (para. [0030], note that streaming 3GPP data using HTTP streaming, there may be multiple representations for video and/or audio data of multimedia content).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach obtaining AR data of a media component of at least one of audio and video. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide split rendering of media data including dynamic virtual objects (para. [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rhyu with Bouazizi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
(9) regarding claim 9:
Rhyu disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device comprises a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType".
However, Bouazizi disclosed wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device comprises a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType" (para. [0098], note that various types of client devices (also referred to as “user equipment” or “UE”) may perform XR. XR client device 140 may conform to one of these various types, or another type. Table 1 below describes several different types of client devices that may perform split rendering of XR data over a 5G network. Also see para. [0033], note that the MPD may provide the identifiers for each segment. In some examples, the MPD may also provide byte ranges in the form of a range attribute, which may correspond to the data for a segment within a file accessible by the URL, URN, or URI.).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device comprises a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType". The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide split rendering of media data including dynamic virtual objects (para. [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rhyu with Bouazizi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
(10) regarding claim 10:
Rhyu further disclosed the method according to claim 9, wherein the profile identifier indicates an eXtended reality (XR) runtime and scene manager capabilities (para. [0108], note that AR scene manager 810 (or lightweight scene manager or basic scene manager) for AR service, i.e., a set of functions that support an application for arranging a logical spatial representation of a multisensorial scene based on support by the AR runtime function block 808).
(11) regarding claim 11:
Rhyu further disclosed the method according to claim 8, wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device comprises a list of at least some of the capabilities of the AR device, and the at least some of the capabilities of the AR device indicating optional codecs of the AR device (para. [0078], note that an integrated process system including a power model and device capability determining unit (capability & performance evaluator) for a device (e.g., UE or UE device) and an integrated management process for a server (e.g., cloud/edge server).), and the at least some of the capabilities of the AR device indicating optional codecs of the AR device (para. [0083], note that the UE 402 may have the capability for performance sufficient to play the received content without the aid of another device or, in may request content from the content server 404).
(12) regarding claim 12:
Rhyu further disclosed the method according to claim 11, wherein the at least some of the capabilities of the AR device further indicating a number of instances of and interfaces of the optional codecs of the AR device, eXtended reality (XR) runtime profiles, optional extensions, a scene description format, and a profile supported by the scene description format (para. [0101], note that the performance evaluating unit 606 (FIG. 6) of the process or the device 602 may report UE capability information 610 indicating the performance and change in performance of the device 602 or the process to the integrated management process 614. Also see para. [0113], the AR scene manager 810 may include at least one of the following functions (or processes): [0114] Scene graph handler; [0116] The AR runtime function block 808 may include at least one of the following functions (or processes): [0117] Vision engine (or SLAM, or spatial computing, or XR spatial compute), i.e., AR functions that process sensor data to generate information about the 3D space surrounding AR users; [0118] Pose correction: a function that helps the user to stabilize AR media, [0119] Soundfield mapping; [0120] Power model 804 (e.g., the power model 604); or [0121] Performance evaluating unit (capability & performance evaluator) 806 (e.g., the performance evaluating unit 606)).
(13) regarding claim 13:
Rhyu disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device further comprises a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType", and a syntax indicating the list of the at least some of the capabilities is "device Detailed Capabilities".
However, Bouazizi disclosed wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device further comprises a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType", and a syntax indicating the list of the at least some of the capabilities is "device Detailed Capabilities" (Table 1, para. [0100], note that 0100] Table 1 shows, for various examples of device types that participate in XR, how the devices are connected to get access to information, where the 5G Uu modem is expected to be placed, where the basic AR functions are placed, where the AR/MR functions are placed, where the AR/MR application is running, and where the power supply/battery is placed. In all glass device types, sensors, cameras, and microphones are assumed to be on the device (UE) itself. Also see para. [0033], note that the MPD may provide the identifiers for each segment. In some examples, the MPD may also provide byte ranges in the form of a range attribute, which may correspond to the data for a segment within a file accessible by the URL, URN, or URI).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device further comprises a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType", and a syntax indicating the list of the at least some of the capabilities is "device Detailed Capabilities". The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide split rendering of media data including dynamic virtual objects (para. [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rhyu with Bouazizi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
(14) regarding claim 14:
Rhyu further disclosed the method according to claim 13, wherein the profile identifier indicates an eXtended reality (XR) runtime and scene manager capabilities other than of the at least some of the capabilities of the AR device (para. [0108], note that AR scene manager 810 (or lightweight scene manager or basic scene manager) for AR service, i.e., a set of functions that support an application for arranging a logical spatial representation of a multisensorial scene based on support by the AR runtime function block 808).
(15) regarding claim 15:
As shown in fig. 8A, Rhyu disclosed a method for processing visual media data (para. [0105], note that [0105] The UE device 802 may include at least one of the following function blocks: [0106] 5G media streaming (5GMS) client 812 (or media access function or interactive immersive client) for communicating with 5G system, i.e., a set of functions that enable access to media and other AR-related data necessary to provide an AR experience), the method performed by at least one processor and comprising:
performing a conversion between a visual media file and a bitstream of a visual media data according to a format rule (para. [0085], note that the cloud/edge server 506 may receive content according to the request, convert the image of the received content, and transmit it to the UE 502. The UE 502 may play the converted content based on its own processing capability), the format rule indicating to:
determine capabilities of an augmented reality (AR) device, the capabilities indicating, as part of the AR device serving as a split rendering client (SRC), any of an audio encoder or decoder of the AR device and a video encoder or decoder of the AR device (para. [0197], note that in the provisioning phase for service initiation, operation 1407 for application initialization may include operations 1407a and 1407b. In operation 1407a, the UE's application (e.g., 5GMS-aware application) may identify device capability for the application provider to be able to distribute processes through the UE and the server i.e. SRC considering UE capability i.e. for split rendering, see para. [0200]);
obtain AR data of a media component of at least one of audio and video based on a request signaling the capabilities of the AR device to a server, (para. [0197], note that the 5GMS-aware application may share the identified device capability with the AC in the 5GMS-aware application. In operation 1408, the AC may transfer the device capability to the edge enabler client (EEC) in the media session handler), acting as a split rendering server (SRS) for split rendering of the media component between the SRS and the SRC, providing the AR data (para. [0203], AR/MR application may transfer an EAS server resource allocation requirement including information (e.g., UE capability information) indicating the UE's device capability to the EEC (e.g., media session handler) through the EEC. The AR/MR application may transfer the device capability to the EEC to request start of a session for split rendering); and
process the AR data based on the capabilities of the AR device signaled to the SRC (para. [0191], note that the AR/MR application may report the UE status (e.g., as UE capability information) including the adjusted device capability through communication (e.g., the M4 interface) between the 5GMSd AS (e.g., media AS) of the cloud/edge server 850 and the media client in the UE's media access function (e.g., the media access function 812).).
Rhyu disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching obtaining AR data of a media component of at least one of audio and video.
However, Bouazizi disclosed obtaining AR data of a media component of at least one of audio and video (para. [0030], note that streaming 3GPP data using HTTP streaming, there may be multiple representations for video and/or audio data of multimedia content).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach obtaining AR data of a media component of at least one of audio and video. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide split rendering of media data including dynamic virtual objects (para. [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rhyu with Bouazizi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
(16) regarding claim 16:
Rhyu disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device comprises a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType".
However, Bouazizi disclosed wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device comprises a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType" (para. [0098], note that various types of client devices (also referred to as “user equipment” or “UE”) may perform XR. XR client device 140 may conform to one of these various types, or another type. Table 1 below describes several different types of client devices that may perform split rendering of XR data over a 5G network. Also see para. [0033], note that the MPD may provide the identifiers for each segment. In some examples, the MPD may also provide byte ranges in the form of a range attribute, which may correspond to the data for a segment within a file accessible by the URL, URN, or URI.).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device comprises a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType". The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide split rendering of media data including dynamic virtual objects (para. [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rhyu with Bouazizi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
(17) regarding claim 17:
Rhyu further disclosed the method according to claim 16, wherein the profile identifier indicates an eXtended reality (XR) runtime and scene manager capabilities (para. [0108], note that AR scene manager 810 (or lightweight scene manager or basic scene manager) for AR service, i.e., a set of functions that support an application for arranging a logical spatial representation of a multisensorial scene based on support by the AR runtime function block 808).
(18) regarding claim 18:
Rhyu further disclosed the method according to claim 15, wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device comprises a list of at least some of the capabilities of the AR device, (para. [0078], note that an integrated process system including a power model and device capability determining unit (capability & performance evaluator) for a device (e.g., UE or UE device) and an integrated management process for a server (e.g., cloud/edge server).), and the at least some of the capabilities of the AR device indicating optional codecs of the AR device (para. [0083], note that the UE 402 may have the capability for performance sufficient to play the received content without the aid of another device or, in may request content from the content server 404).
(19) regarding claim 19:
Rhyu further disclosed the method according to claim 18, wherein the at least some of the capabilities of the AR device further indicating a number of instances of and interfaces of the optional codecs of the AR device, eXtended reality (XR) runtime profiles, optional extensions, a scene description format, and a profile supported by the scene description format (para. [0101], note that the performance evaluating unit 606 (FIG. 6) of the process or the device 602 may report UE capability information 610 indicating the performance and change in performance of the device 602 or the process to the integrated management process 614. Also see para. [0113], the AR scene manager 810 may include at least one of the following functions (or processes): [0114] Scene graph handler; [0116] The AR runtime function block 808 may include at least one of the following functions (or processes): [0117] Vision engine (or SLAM, or spatial computing, or XR spatial compute), i.e., AR functions that process sensor data to generate information about the 3D space surrounding AR users; [0118] Pose correction: a function that helps the user to stabilize AR media, [0119] Soundfield mapping; [0120] Power model 804 (e.g., the power model 604); or [0121] Performance evaluating unit (capability & performance evaluator) 806 (e.g., the performance evaluating unit 606)).
(20) regarding claim 20:
Rhyu further disclosed the method according to claim 19, wherein the request signaling the capabilities of the AR device further comprises the profile identifier indicates an eXtended reality (XR) runtime and scene manager capabilities other than of the at least some of the capabilities of the AR device (para. [0108], note that AR scene manager 810 (or lightweight scene manager or basic scene manager) for AR service, i.e., a set of functions that support an application for arranging a logical spatial representation of a multisensorial scene based on support by the AR runtime function block 808).
Rhyu disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType", and a syntax indicating the list of the at least some of the capabilities is "deviceDetailedCapabilities".
However, Bouazizi disclosed a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType", and a syntax indicating the list of the at least some of the capabilities is "deviceDetailedCapabilities" (see para. [0042], Table 1, para. [0100], note that 0100] Table 1 shows, for various examples of device types that participate in XR, how the devices are connected to get access to information, where the 5G Uu modem is expected to be placed, where the basic AR functions are placed, where the AR/MR functions are placed, where the AR/MR application is running, and where the power supply/battery is placed. In all glass device types, sensors, cameras, and microphones are assumed to be on the device (UE) itself. Also see para. [0033], note that the MPD may provide the identifiers for each segment. In some examples, the MPD may also provide byte ranges in the form of a range attribute, which may correspond to the data for a segment within a file accessible by the URL, URN, or URI).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach a profile identifier in a form of a uniform resource indicator (URI) and comprising a syntax of "deviceType", and a syntax indicating the list of the at least some of the capabilities is "deviceDetailedCapabilities". The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide split rendering of media data including dynamic virtual objects (para. [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rhyu with Bouazizi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Budagavi et al. (US Publication Number 2022/0172440 A1) disclosed extended field of view generation for split-rendering for virtual reality streaming.
VRCELJ et al. (US Publication Number 2021/0312701 A1) disclosed method and apparatus for handing occlusions in split rendering.
/HILINA K DEMETER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617