DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and prosecuted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al., US Patent Publication 2021/0191460, henceforth known as Lee.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a foldable electronic device (Abstract; a electronic device) comprising:
a foldable housing comprising a first housing, a second housing, and a hinge part configured to connect the first housing and the second housing (Figure 4; [0064]; [0104-0105]; a first housing 211, a second housing 212, a connection structure 400 that is a hinge assembly (hinge part) that pivotably connects the first and second housing);
a flexible display module comprising a third display area corresponding to the hinge part, a first display area extending from the third display area and disposed in the first housing, and a second display area extending from the third display area and disposed in the second housing (Figure 4; [0092-0109]; a display 230 comprising of a folding area 233 (a third display area corresponding to the hinge part), a first area 231 (a first display area extending from the third display area and disposed in the first housing), and a second area 232 (a second display area extending from the third display area and disposed in the second housing) ); and
a flexible film between the foldable housing and the flexible display module (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; a protection film 300 disposed between the “foldable housing” and the display 230),
wherein the hinge part comprises a center plate comprising a recess on one surface thereof, the one surface facing the third display area (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; a hinge housing 410 and first and second hinge plates 431 and 432 are considered as being a “center plate”, where the hinge housing 410 has a “recess” on a surface that faces the folding area 233) ),
wherein a part or all of the flexible film is flat and supported by the center plate between the third display area and the center plate (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; the protection film 300 is shown in Figure 6 and flat and supported by the first and second hinge plates 431 and 432 of the “center plate” between the display 230 and the “center plate” ), and
wherein a part or all of the flexible film overlaps the recess (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; the protection film has a part that overlaps the “recess” as shown in Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses wherein one surface of the center plate facing the third display area comprises a surface area providing the recess (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; the examiner considers that the “one surface” of the hinge housing 410 has a “surface area providing the recess”), and
wherein, in a state in which the foldable housing is in a folded state, the surface area comprises a curved-surface shape matching a part of a rear surface of the third display area disposed in a bent shape, the part of the rear surface of the third display area being aligned with the surface area (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; as seen in Figure 7, in a folded state, the “surface area” comprises of a “curved-surface” matching a part of the “rear surface” of the folding area 233 disposed in a “bent shape”, where the “part of the rear surface” is “aligned with the surface area”).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee discloses wherein the hinge part comprises:
a hinge module comprising a first bracket fixed to the first housing, a second bracket fixed to the second housing, and a bracket connection part configured to connect the first bracket and the second bracket and comprising the center plate (Figures5, 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; a “hinge module” comprising of a first bracket 215 disposed in (fixed) the first housing, a second bracket 216 disposed in (fixed) the second housing , and a connection module 400 (bracket connection part) that connects the first bracket 215 and the second bracket 215 and comprises of the “center plate”); and
a first plate and a second plate each coupled to the bracket connection part ( Figures 5, 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; first and second hinge plates 431 and 432 are coupled to the “connection module 400”),
wherein in an unfolded state of the foldable housing, a first surface of the first plate is configured to support a first part of the third display area, and a second surface of the second plate is configured to support a second part of the third display area (Figures 5, 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; in an unfolded state, as shown in Figure 6, a “first surface” of the first hinge plate 431 supports a “first part” of the folding area 233, and a “second surface” of the second hinge plate 432 supports a “second part” of the folding area 233),
wherein in the unfolded state of the foldable housing, the flexible film is configured to support a third part of the third display area, the third part corresponding to a portion between the first surface and the second surface (Figures 5, 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; in an unfolded state, as shown in Figure 6, the protective layer 300 is configured to support a “third part” of the folding area 233 that is corresponding to a portion between “the first surface and the second surface”), and
wherein in a folded state of the foldable housing, the first surface and the second surface face each other and are spaced apart from each other, and the third display area is disposed in a bent shape in a space between the first surface, the second surface, and the center plate (Figures 5, 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; in a folded state, as shown in Figure 7, “the first surface” and the “second surface” faced each other and are spaced apart form each other, and the folding area 233 is disposed in a “bent shape” in a space between the “first surface”, the “second surface”, and “the center plate”).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee teaches wherein in the folded state of the foldable housing, the first surface and the second surface are parallel to each other (Figures 5, 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; in a folded state, as shown in Figure 7, “the first surface” and the “second surface” are parallel to each other)
Regarding Claim 16, Lee discloses wherein the hinge part comprises a hinge module and a hinge housing (Figures 5, 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; a “hinge module” and a hinge housing 410),
wherein the hinge module comprises a first bracket fixed to the first housing, a second bracket fixed to the second housing, and a bracket connection part connecting the first bracket and the second bracket, wherein the bracket connection part comprises the center plate (Figures 5, 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; a “hinge module” comprising of a first bracket 215 disposed in (fixed) the first housing, a second bracket 216 disposed in (fixed) the second housing , and a connection module 400 (bracket connection part) that connects the first bracket 215 and the second bracket 215 and comprises of the “center plate”);), and
wherein in a folded state of the foldable housing, the hinge housing is coupled to the bracket connection part, exposed to the outside through the first housing and the second housing, and provides a part of an outer surface of the foldable electronic device (Figures 5, 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; a hinge housing 410, shown in Figure 7, in a foldable state, that is part of the connection module, is exposed to the outside via the first and second housings 211 and 212).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee discloses further comprising a buffer material disposed in the recess (Figures 5, 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; there is inherently air in the “recess”, which the examiner considers as a “buffer material”).
Regarding Claim 18, Lee discloses a foldable electronic device (Abstract; a electronic device) comprising:
a foldable housing comprising a first housing, a second housing, and a hinge part configured to connect the first housing and the second housing (Figure 4; [0064]; [0104-0105]; a first housing 211, a second housing 212, a connection structure 400 that is a hinge assembly (hinge part) that pivotably connects the first and second housing);
a flexible display module comprising a third display area corresponding to the hinge part, a first display area extending from the third display area and disposed in the first housing, and a second display area extending from the third display area and disposed in the second housing (Figure 4; [0092-0109]; a display 230 comprising of a folding area 233 (a third display area corresponding to the hinge part), a first area 231 (a first display area extending from the third display area and disposed in the first housing), and a second area 232 (a second display area extending from the third display area and disposed in the second housing) ); and
a flexible film between the foldable housing and the flexible display module (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; a protection film 300 disposed between the “foldable housing” and the display 230),
wherein the hinge part comprises a center plate comprising a recess on one surface thereof, the one surface facing the third display area (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; a hinge housing 410 and first and second hinge plates 431 and 432 are considered as being a “center plate”, where the hinge housing 410 has a “recess” on a surface that faces the folding area 233) ),
wherein a part or all of the flexible film is flat and supported by the center plate between the third display area and the center plate (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; the protection film 300 is shown in Figure 6 and flat and supported by the first and second hinge plates 431 and 432 of the “center plate” between the display 230 and the “center plate” ),
wherein a part or all of the flexible film overlaps the recess (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; as seen in Figure 7, in a folded state, the “surface area” comprises of a “curved-surface” matching a part of the “rear surface” of the folding area 233 disposed in a “bent shape”, where the “part of the rear surface” is “aligned with the surface area”), and
wherein the recess is a curved surface and is symmetrical to a centerline of the foldable electronic device (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; the “recess”, as shown in Figure 6, is a “curved surface” and is symmetrical to a “centerline of the foldable electronic device)).
Regarding Claim 19, Lee discloses wherein in a folded state of the foldable electronic device, a shape of the one surface of the center plate matches a shape of a rear surface of the third display area (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; as seen in Figure 7, the folded state, a shape of the “one surface” matches a “a shape of the “rear surface of the third display area”)
Regarding Claim 20, Lee A foldable electronic device Abstract; a electronic device), comprising:
a foldable housing comprising a first housing, a second housing, and a hinge part configured to connect the first housing and the second housing (Figure 4; [0064]; [0104-0105]; a first housing 211, a second housing 212, a connection structure 400 that is a hinge assembly (hinge part) that pivotably connects the first and second housing);
a flexible display module comprising a third display area corresponding to the hinge part, a first display area extending from the third display area and disposed in the first housing, and a second display area extending from the third display area and disposed in the second housing (Figure 4; [0092-0109]; a display 230 comprising of a folding area 233 (a third display area corresponding to the hinge part), a first area 231 (a first display area extending from the third display area and disposed in the first housing), and a second area 232 (a second display area extending from the third display area and disposed in the second housing) ); and
a flexible film between the foldable housing and the flexible display module (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; a protection film 300 disposed between the “foldable housing” and the display 230),
wherein the hinge part comprises a center plate comprising a recess on one surface thereof, the one surface facing the third display area (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; a hinge housing 410 and first and second hinge plates 431 and 432 are considered as being a “center plate”, where the hinge housing 410 has a “recess” on a surface that faces the folding area 233) ),
wherein a part or all of the flexible film is flat and supported by the center plate between the third display area and the center plate (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; the protection film 300 is shown in Figure 6 and flat and supported by the first and second hinge plates 431 and 432 of the “center plate” between the display 230 and the “center plate” ),
wherein a part or all of the flexible film overlaps the recess (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; the protection film has a part that overlaps the “recess” as shown in Figure 6), and
wherein the flexible film is a polymer or at least partially a metal (Figures 6 and 7; [0111-0137]; the protection layer may formed of polyethylene terephthalate but is not limited thereto).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US Patent Publication 2021/0191460, henceforth known as Lee, in further view of Lee et al., US Patent Publication 2022/0150847, henceforth known as Lee ‘847.
Regarding Claim 14, Lee doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the flexible film comprises a lattice structure comprising a plurality of openings corresponding to the third display area.
However, Lee et al., US Patent Publication 2022/0150847, teaches wherein a support sheet may include a lattice structure comprising of a plurality of openings or slits ([0097];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the disclosure of Lee to further include the teaching of Lee ‘847, in order to provide wherein the flexible film comprises a lattice structure comprising a plurality of openings corresponding to the third display area. The motivation to combine these arts is because Lee ‘847 teaches that the lattice structure contributes to the flexibility of the display (Lee ‘847: [0097];)
Regarding Claim 15, Lee doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the flexible display module comprises a flexible display and a support sheet disposed on a rear surface of the flexible display, and wherein the support sheet comprises a lattice structure comprising a plurality of openings corresponding to the third display area.
However, Lee et al., US Patent Publication 2022/0150847, teaches wherein a support sheet may include a lattice structure comprising of a plurality of openings or slits ([0097];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the disclosure of Lee to further include the teaching of Lee ‘847, in order to provide wherein the flexible display module comprises a flexible display and a support sheet disposed on a rear surface of the flexible display, and wherein the support sheet comprises a lattice structure comprising a plurality of openings corresponding to the third display area. The motivation to combine these arts is because Lee ‘847 teaches that the lattice structure contributes to the flexibility of the display (Lee ‘847: [0097];)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F MARINELLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699