DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed June 11, 2026 in which claims 1-5 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynd (US 5258293-appears on PTO-1449).
Lynd teaches a method of continuously producing ethanol from lignocellulosic substrates is provided. The method involves providing a suitable microbial system within a reaction vessel and adding fermentable substrate to the reactor to form a reaction mixture (see abstract). As the reaction proceeds, there results within the reaction vessel the formation of at least three clearly defined zones. The uppermost zone in the reaction vessel is a gaseous region while the intermediate zone comprises a clarified liquid containing the produced ethanol (see col. 1, lines 67 through col. 2, lines 1-4), Lynd meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences that are set forth below.
Lynd does not teach that the GC/MS analysis of the ethanol of his invention has at least one peak with a retention time as set forth in the claims, nor does Lynd teach from where the peaks are derived or their concentrations. However, no unobviousness is seen in these differences because ethanol has a specific chemical formula and the prior art teaches that ethanol of this specific chemical formula is produced in this method. It is the examiner’s position that the ethanol of the instant claims is not patentably distinct by virtue of its method of production. Notwithstanding, the prior art cited teaches ethanol derived from waste sources (see col. 7, lines 24-28) and as such it would be reasonable to expect that the ethanol would possess the claimed GC/MS analysis or in the least overlap the retention times of the instantly claimed features. No evidence has been presented to establish that the properties of the ethanol of the instant claims will materially differ from the ethanol of the cited prior art.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoge(US 4,009,075- appears on previous PTO-892) .
Hoge teaches a process for making alcohol from cellulosic material by hydrolyzing the material to sugars and subjecting the resultant reaction mixture to digestion and fermentation to convert the sugars to alcohol (see abstract). Various microbiological systems for fermenting the sugars to form alcohol can be used with this invention. For example, certain strains of bacteria are known to produce alcohol from sugars (see col. 5, lines 3-6).
Alcohol forms a useful fuel and may be utilized in admixture with other fuels, for example, gasoline to produce a low cost fuel. Ethyl alcohol, as produced from cellulosic waste materials in accordance with the present invention, also is useful as a solvent; extractant; antifreeze; intermediate in the synthesis of innumerable organic chemicals, and as an essential ingredient of alcoholic beverages and pharmaceuticals (see col. 1, lines 29-36). Hoge meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences that are set forth below.
Hoge does not teach that the GC/MS analysis of the ethanol of his invention has at least one peak with a retention time as set forth in the claims, nor does Hoge teach from where the peaks are derived or their concentrations. However, no unobviousness is seen in these differences because ethanol has a specific chemical formula and the prior art teaches that ethanol of this specific chemical formula is produced in this method. It is the examiner’s position that the ethanol of the instant claims is not patentably distinct by virtue of its method of production. Notwithstanding, the prior art cited teaches ethanol derived from waste sources (see col. 7, lines 24-28) and as such it would be reasonable to expect that the ethanol would possess the claimed GC/MS analysis or in the least overlap the retention times of the instantly claimed features. No evidence has been presented to establish that the properties of the ethanol of the instant claims will materially differ from the ethanol of the cited prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the product of the present invention and that of the Lynd and Hoge differ in the purification process and that it cannot be assumed that substantially the same ethanol composition is produced. Applicant argues that unexpectedly advantageous effects are achieved with use of the present ethanol composition wherein trace amounts of alkanes are present. Applicant refers to Tables B1 to B3, C1 to C3 and D1 to D3.
The examiner has reviewed the data in the tables. The results are not markedly better such that the results would be unexpected. Although applicant compared the claimed invention to prior art ethanol compounds, the examiner finds this evidence insufficient to rebut the prima facie case of obviousness because the evidence did not show relative effectiveness over ethanol made from lignocellulosic materials such as used in Lynd and Hoge. The examiner cannot ascertain if the same results would be obtained when Lynd and Hoge are compared to the ethanol composition of the present invention. Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CEPHIA D TOOMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 19028770/20260807