DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on November 14, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynd (US 5258293-appears on PTO-1449).
Lynd teaches a method of continuously producing ethanol from lignocellulosic substrates is provided. The method involves providing a suitable microbial system within a reaction vessel and adding fermentable substrate to the reactor to form a reaction mixture (see abstract). As the reaction proceeds, there results within the reaction vessel the formation of at least three clearly defined zones. The uppermost zone in the reaction vessel is a gaseous region while the intermediate zone comprises a clarified liquid containing the produced ethanol (see col. 1, lines 67 through col. 2, lines 1-4), Lynd meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences that are set forth below.
Lynd does not teach that the GC/MS analysis of the ethanol of his invention has at least one peak with a retention time as set forth in the claims, nor does Lynd teach from where the peaks are derived or their concentrations. However, no unobviousness is seen in these differences because ethanol has a specific chemical formula and the prior art teaches that ethanol of this specific chemical formula is produced in this method. It is the examiner’s position that the ethanol of the instant claims is not patentably distinct by virtue of its method of production. Notwithstanding, the prior art cited teaches ethanol derived from waste sources (see col. 7, lines 24-28) and as such it would be reasonable to expect that the ethanol would possess the claimed GC/MS analysis or in the least overlap the retention times of the instantly claimed features. No evidence has been presented to establish that the properties of the ethanol of the instant claims will materially differ from the ethanol of the cited prior art.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoge(US 4,009,075- appears on PTO-892) .
Hoge teaches a process for making alcohol from cellulosic material by hydrolyzing the material to sugars and subjecting the resultant reaction mixture to digestion and fermentation to convert the sugars to alcohol (see abstract). Various microbiological systems for fermenting the sugars to form alcohol can be used with this invention. For example, certain strains of bacteria are known to produce alcohol from sugars (see col. 5, lines 3-6).
Alcohol forms a useful fuel and may be utilized in admixture with other fuels, for example, gasoline to produce a low cost fuel. Ethyl alcohol, as produced from cellulosic waste materials in accordance with the present invention, also is useful as a solvent; extractant; antifreeze; intermediate in the synthesis of innumerable organic chemicals, and as an essential ingredient of alcoholic beverages and pharmaceuticals (see col. 1, lines 29-36). Hoge meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences that are set forth below.
Hoge does not teach that the GC/MS analysis of the ethanol of his invention has at least one peak with a retention time as set forth in the claims, nor does Hoge teach from where the peaks are derived or their concentrations. However, no unobviousness is seen in these differences because ethanol has a specific chemical formula and the prior art teaches that ethanol of this specific chemical formula is produced in this method. It is the examiner’s position that the ethanol of the instant claims is not patentably distinct by virtue of its method of production. Notwithstanding, the prior art cited teaches ethanol derived from waste sources (see col. 7, lines 24-28) and as such it would be reasonable to expect that the ethanol would possess the claimed GC/MS analysis or in the least overlap the retention times of the instantly claimed features. No evidence has been presented to establish that the properties of the ethanol of the instant claims will materially differ from the ethanol of the cited prior art.
/CEPHIA D TOOMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 19028770/20260206