DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to the claims filed January 17, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Potucek et al (US 2017/0212532).
As per claim 1, Potucek et al teach a method for actuating a valve included in a pool or spa system, comprising:
outputting, by a pool automation system using a first wireless interface of the pool automation system, a first wireless signal to a valve actuator operably connected to the valve, the first wireless signal received at a second wireless interface of the valve actuator and comprising a position change signal configured to cause the valve actuator to actuate the valve from a previous position to a new position (see at least figs, 4, 5, 7, paragraphs [0057, 0060, 0065, 0154]); controlling the valve actuator via remote control by sending commands to change position); and
receiving, from the valve actuator, by the first wireless interface of the pool automation system, a second wireless signal comprising valve position state information relating to the new position of the valve (see at least figs 5-7, paragraphs [0053, 0117, 0120]); receiving operational and status data including valve positions).
As per claim 2, Potucek et al teach receiving, by the pool automation system, position setting information including one or more specifications of a stop location, wherein: the one or more specifications of a stop location include at least one of a valve displacement, a predefined location, or a maximum extent; and the position change signal is based on at least one of the one or more specifications of a stop location (see at least paragraphs [0157, 0076]).
As per claim 3, Potucek et al teach wherein the position setting information is input using a portable user device (see at least fig 5 [120]).
As per claim 4, Potucek et al teach the position change signal is based on a first specification of a stop location; and the position change signal is associated with a predefined mode of operation for the pool or spa system (see at least paragraph [0093]).
As per claim 5, Potucek et al teach outputting, by the pool automation system to the valve actuator, electrical power for actuating the valve and for determining the valve position state information; and receiving, by the first wireless interface of the pool automation system from the valve actuator, a third wireless signal comprising initial valve position state information for an initial valve position, wherein the previous position is the initial valve position (see at least figs 5-7, paragraphs [0053, 0117, 0120]).
As per claim 6, Potucek et al teach determining a target valve position for the valve based on a mode of operation for the pool or spa system; computing a valve position change based on the previous position and the target valve position; and generating the position change signal based on the valve position change (see at least paragraphs [0053, 0117, 0120]).
As per claim 7, Potucek et al teach receiving, by the first wireless interface of the pool automation system from the valve actuator, a third wireless signal comprising an indication of the new position of the valve; comparing the new position of the valve with the target valve position; computing a fine valve position change based on the new position and the target valve position; generating a second position change signal based on the fine valve position change; and outputting, by the pool automation system using the first wireless interface, a fourth wireless signal to the valve actuator, the fourth wireless signal received at the second wireless interface of the valve actuator and comprising the second position change signal configured to cause the valve actuator to actuate the valve from the new position to the target valve position (see at least paragraphs [0154-0156]).
Claims 8-20 contain similar limitations as the claims above and therefore are rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
RAMSEY REFAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3664
/RAMSEY REFAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664