DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection to claims 27, 29, 33-34, 38, and 40 has been withdrawn in view of the approval of the terminal disclaimer filed April 20, 2026.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would be obvious to modify the generation of an altered image of Chen with the generation of the altered image of Wingle because such incorporation will provide an improved system and method for quick response information management (col.1, 30-32).
Applicant's arguments filed April 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues US Patent No. 9,582,810 (hereinafter “Wingle”) fails to teach or suggest the limitations of claim 29. Specifically, the Applicant argues Wingle does not teach nor suggest generating a log file to record the occurrence of generating an altered image. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a log file is a file or digital record of events from certain software and operating systems. In Wingle a content server 722 stores aggregated content associated with each tag, including, without limitation, EID banner advertisements, contact information and an EID website that was created (par. 0049). Wingle also generates a consumer content display (being interpreted as the altered image) (Figure 8). In Wingle a file is created for each consumer content display that is generated, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a file is generated that contains information related to the creation of consumer content displays.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-30 and 33-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Patent No. 11,288,789) in view of Wingle (US Patent No. 9,582,810).
Regarding claim 27 Chen discloses a system for developing modified images of vehicles, comprising:
at least one front-end image acquisition device for acquiring one or more images of at least a first one of a plurality of vehicles, the acquired images each comprising a foreground displaying the first one of the plurality of vehicles and a background displaying one or more objects other than the first one of the plurality of vehicles (Figure 7 shows an image of a vehicle, the image shows a foreground that includes the vehicle and a background including multiple objects; note the images are taken with a camera – col.11, 59-60);
at least one processor coupled to the at least one front-end image acquisition device; and at least one computer-readable storage device coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one computer-readable storage device storing processor-executable instructions (at least some of the operations of a method may be performed by one or more processors or processor-implemented hardware modules – col.45, 22-23), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor:
receive the acquired images of the first one of the plurality of vehicles via the at least one front-end image acquisition device (Figure 3 shows a method in which the target vehicle images are received),
superimpose an indicia on at least one of the acquired images of the first one of the plurality of vehicles (Figures 9 and 10 show landmarks on the vehicle images),
generate an altered image from the at least one of the acquired images (Figure 12 shows an altered image in which the background (from Fig. 7) has been removed).
However, fails to explicitly disclose superimpose an indicia from an indicia file, the indicia being located in the acquired image outside the region of the first one of the plurality of vehicles such that the indicia is visible without blocking the view of the first one of the plurality of vehicles, generate an altered image from the at least one of the acquired images, the altered image including the superimposed indicia and the first one of the plurality of vehicles, and add the altered image of the first one of the plurality of vehicles to a website.
In his disclosure Wingle teaches superimpose an indicia from an indicia file, the indicia being located in the acquired image outside the region of the first one of the plurality of vehicles such that the indicia is visible without blocking the view of the first one of the plurality of vehicles, generate an altered image from the at least one of the acquired images, the altered image including the superimposed indicia and the first one of the plurality of vehicles, and add the altered image of the first one of the plurality of vehicles to a website (Figure 4 shows a website in which an altered image is shown, the altered image includes a captured image of a vehicle and multiple indicia; note the multiple indicia do not block the view of the vehicle in the altered image).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Wingle into the teachings of Chen because such incorporation will provide an improved system and method for quick response information management (col.1, 30-32).
Regarding claim 28 Chen discloses the system of claim 27, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, generate the altered image by altering one or more of the objects from the background of the at least one of the acquired images such that the one or more objects are removed from and not visible in the altered image (Figure 7 shows an image of a vehicle and Figure 12 shows an altered image of Figure 7 in which the background has been removed).
Regarding claim 29 Chen discloses the system of claim 27. However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, generate a log file, the log file recording an occurrence of generating the altered image.
In his disclosure Wingle teaches to generate a log file, the log file recording an occurrence of generating the altered image (a content server 722 stores aggregated content associated with each tag, including, without limitation, EID banner advertisements, contact information and an EID website – [0049]; sending the generated consumer content display (altered image) to a print server – Figure 8; a person with ordinary skill in the art would know the digital information is sent/received/shared via files).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Wingle into the teachings of Chen because such incorporation will provide an improved system and method for quick response information management (col.1, 30-32).
Regarding claim 30 Chen discloses the system of claim 29. However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the log file is used for generating an amount of payment associated with the altered image of the plurality of vehicles.
In his disclosure Wingle teaches the log file is used for generating an amount of payment associated with the altered image of the plurality of vehicles (Figure 5 shows the cost of a selected vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Wingle into the teachings of Chen because such incorporation will provide an improved system and method for quick response information management (col.1, 30-32).
Regarding claim 33 Chen discloses a method for developing vehicle images, comprising:
acquiring, via a front-end image acquisition device, one or more images of a vehicle, the acquired images each comprising a foreground displaying the vehicle and a background displaying one or more objects other than the vehicle (Figure 7 shows an image of a vehicle, the image shows a foreground that includes the vehicle and a background including multiple objects; note the images are taken with a camera – col.11, 59-60);
generating, by an image alteration computing device, an altered image of at least one of the acquired images, wherein the generating includes (i) removing the one or more objects from the background from the at least one acquired image (Figure 7 shows an image of a vehicle and Figure 12 shows an altered image of Figure 7 in which the background has been removed) and (ii) superimposing an indicia on the acquired image to be altered (Figures 9 and 10 show landmarks on the vehicle images).
However, fails to explicitly disclose superimposing an indicia from an indicia file, and wherein the superimposed indicia is visible in the altered image on the background thereof such that the superimposed indicia does not block the view of the vehicle in the altered image; and transmitting, by the image alteration computing device, the altered image to a server computing device, the server computing device hosting a website in which the altered image of the vehicle is presented.
In his disclosure Wingle teaches superimposing an indicia from an indicia file, and wherein the superimposed indicia is visible in the altered image on the background thereof such that the superimposed indicia does not block the view of the vehicle in the altered image (Figure 4 shows a website in which an altered image is shown, the altered image includes a captured image of a vehicle and multiple indicia; note the multiple indicia do not block the view of the vehicle in the altered image); and transmitting, by the image alteration computing device, the altered image to a server computing device, the server computing device hosting a website in which the altered image of the vehicle is presented (Figure 5 shows an altered image that has been created and sent to be displayed on a website such as the one in Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Wingle into the teachings of Chen because such incorporation will provide an improved system and method for quick response information management (col.1, 30-32).
Regarding claim 34 Chen discloses the method of claim 33. However, fails to explicitly disclose further comprising generating, by the image alteration computing device, a log file that records an occurrence of generating the altered image.
In his disclosure Wingle teaches generating a log file that records an occurrence of generating the altered image (a content server 722 stores aggregated content associated with each tag, including, without limitation, EID banner advertisements, contact information and an EID website – [0049]; sending the generated consumer content display (altered image) to a print server – Figure 8; a person with ordinary skill in the art would know the digital information is sent/received/shared via files).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Wingle into the teachings of Chen because such incorporation will provide an improved system and method for quick response information management (col.1, 30-32).
Regarding claim 35 Chen discloses the system of claim 34. However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the log file is used for generating an amount of payment associated with the altered image.
In his disclosure Wingle teaches the log file is used for generating an amount of payment associated with the altered image (Figure 5 shows the cost of a selected vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Wingle into the teachings of Chen because such incorporation will provide an improved system and method for quick response information management (col.1, 30-32).
Regarding claim 36 Chen discloses the method of claim 35, wherein removing the one or more objects from the background creates a uniform background (Figure 7 shows an image of a vehicle and Figure 12 shows an altered image of Figure 7 in which the background has been removed and made said background a uniform background).
Regarding claim 37 Chen discloses the method of claim 36. Chen discloses the superimposed indicia is partially in the uniform background (refer to Figure 9 shows superimposed markings that are placed partially in the uniform background).
However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the indicia is in the uniform background.
In his disclosure Wingle teaches wherein the indicia is in the uniform background (figures 4 and 6 show indicia in the uniform background).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Wingle into the teachings of Chen because such incorporation will provide an improved system and method for quick response information management (col.1, 30-32).
Regarding claim 38 Chen discloses a system for developing vehicle images, comprising:
at least one front-end image acquisition device for acquiring one or more images of each of a plurality of vehicles, the acquired images each comprising a foreground displaying a selected vehicle and a background displaying one or more objects other than the selected vehicle (Figure 7 shows an image of a vehicle, the image shows a foreground that includes the vehicle and a background including multiple objects; note the images are taken with a camera – col.11, 59-60);
at least one processor coupled to the at least one front-end acquisition device; and at least one computer-readable storage device coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one computer-readable storage device storing processor-executable instructions (at least some of the operations of a method may be performed by one or more processors or processor-implemented hardware modules – col.45, 22-23), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor:
receive the acquired images of the plurality of vehicles via the at least one front- end image acquisition device (Figure 3 shows a method in which the target vehicle images are received),
generate an altered image for each of the plurality of vehicles by altering one or more of the objects from the background of at least one of the acquired images to be altered such that the one or more objects are removed from and not visible in the altered image (Figure 7 shows an image of a vehicle and Figure 12 shows an altered image of Figure 7 in which the background has been removed),
superimpose an indicia on the altered image, the altered image including the superimposed indicia (Figures 9 and 10 show landmarks on the vehicle images).
However, fails to explicitly disclose an indicia from an indicia file, wherein the indicia does not overlap with the view of a selected vehicle in the altered image, and add the altered image to a website, the website displaying the altered images for the plurality of vehicles.
In his disclosure Wingle teaches an indicia from an indicia file, wherein the indicia does not overlap with the view of a selected vehicle in the altered image, and add the altered image to a website, the website displaying the altered images for the plurality of vehicles (Figure 4 shows a website in which an altered image is shown, the altered image includes a captured image of a vehicle and indicia; note the indicia do not block the view of the vehicle in the altered image).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Wingle into the teachings of Chen because such incorporation will provide an improved system and method for quick response information management (col.1, 30-32).
Regarding claim 39 Chen discloses the system of claim 38. However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, generate a vehicle banner file.
In his disclosure Wingle teaches to generate a vehicle banner file (figures 2, 4, 6, 10 show banner files associated with the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Wingle into the teachings of Chen because such incorporation will provide an improved system and method for quick response information management (col.1, 30-32).
Regarding claim 40 Chen discloses the system of claim 38. However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, generate a log file, the log file recording an occurrence of generating the altered image.
In his disclosure Wingle teaches to generate a log file, the log file recording an occurrence of generating the altered image (a content server 722 stores aggregated content associated with each tag, including, without limitation, EID banner advertisements, contact information and an EID website – [0049]; sending the generated consumer content display (altered image) to a print server – Figure 8; a person with ordinary skill in the art would know the digital information is sent/received/shared via files).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Wingle into the teachings of Chen because such incorporation will provide an improved system and method for quick response information management (col.1, 30-32).
Regarding claim 41 Chen discloses the system of claim 40. However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, generate an invoice for an amount of payment based on the log file.
In his disclosure Wingle teaches to generate an invoice for an amount of payment based on the log file (Figure 5 shows the cost of a selected vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Wingle into the teachings of Chen because such incorporation will provide an improved system and method for quick response information management (col.1, 30-32).
Claim(s) 42-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Patent No. 11,288,789) in view of Wingle (US Patent No. 9,582,810) Webb et al. (US Patent No. 7,889,931).
Regarding claim 42 Chen discloses the system of claim 38. However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the front-end image acquisition device includes at least six peripheral cameras, wherein a first peripheral camera is configured to acquire front image data of a front of at least one of the plurality of vehicles and a second peripheral camera is configured to acquire rear image data of a rear of at least one of the plurality of vehicles.
In his disclosure Webb teaches the front-end image acquisition device includes at least six peripheral cameras, wherein a first peripheral camera is configured to acquire front image data of a front of at least one of the plurality of vehicles and a second peripheral camera is configured to acquire rear image data of a rear of at least one of the plurality of vehicles (Figure 5 shows an arrangement of image capturing devices that includes a camera to capture image data of a front of the vehicle and a second camera that acquires a rear image of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the multiple cameras to acquire images of the vehicle as taught by Webb into the image processing of Chen because such incorporation enhances the experience of the user by decreasing the image taking time.
Regarding claim 43 Chen discloses the system of claim 42. However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein a third peripheral camera is configured to acquire first side image data of a first side of at least one of the plurality of vehicles and a fourth peripheral camera is configured to acquire second side image data of a second side of at least one of the plurality of vehicles.
In his disclosure Webb teaches a third peripheral camera is configured to acquire first side image data of a first side of at least one of the plurality of vehicles and a fourth peripheral camera is configured to acquire second side image data of a second side of at least one of the plurality of vehicles (Figure 5 shows an arrangement of image capturing devices that includes a camera to capture image data of a first side of the vehicle and a fourth camera to capture image data if a second side of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the multiple cameras to acquire images of the vehicle as taught by Webb into the image processing of Chen because such incorporation enhances the experience of the user by decreasing the image taking time.
Regarding claim 44 Chen discloses the system of claim 43. However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein a fifth peripheral camera is configured to acquire bottom image data of a bottom of at least one of the plurality of vehicles and a sixth peripheral camera is configured to acquire top image data of a top of at least one of the plurality of vehicles.
In his disclosure Webb teaches a fifth peripheral camera is configured to acquire bottom image data of a bottom of at least one of the plurality of vehicles and a sixth peripheral camera is configured to acquire top image data of a top of at least one of the plurality of vehicles (image data associated with a vehicle's exterior, interior, undercarriage, wheels, and tires can be captured, archived, assessed, and compared by a vehicle inspection engine – col.12, 53-56).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the multiple cameras to acquire images of the vehicle as taught by Webb into the image processing of Chen because such incorporation enhances the experience of the user by decreasing the image taking time.
Regarding claim 45 Chen discloses the system of claim 42. However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the front-end image acquisition device further includes an interior camera configured to acquire interior image data of an interior of at least one of the plurality of vehicles.
In his disclosure Webb teaches an interior camera configured to acquire interior image data of an interior of at least one of the plurality of vehicles (image data associated with a vehicle's exterior, interior, undercarriage, wheels, and tires can be captured, archived, assessed, and compared by a vehicle inspection engine – col.12, 53-56).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the multiple cameras to acquire images of the vehicle as taught by Webb into the image processing of Chen because such incorporation enhances the experience of the user by decreasing the image taking time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31-32, 46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIA E VAZQUEZ COLON/Examiner, Art Unit 2482