DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Suggestion
As to claim 16, line 2, the examiner suggests amending the phrase “cause the one or more processors to based on the received set of calls” to “cause the one or more processors to, based on the received set of calls” for improved readability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 19, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Russello et al. (hereafter referred to as Russello), U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2014/0137184 A1.
As to claim 1, Russello discloses a non-transitory machine readable medium storing instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a data processing system, cause the one or more processors (¶ [0440]) to:
establish a software entity at the data processing system configured to act as a local monitoring entity for the data processing system, the entity having access to data indicating, for each user space application of a plurality of user space applications, an association between (i) a set of multiple calls by the user space application to one or more software functions and (ii) a specific operation of the user space application (Fig. 15; ¶¶ [0182] through [0185], [0394], and [0433]);
receive, at the local monitoring entity, a set of calls by a given user space application of the plurality of user space applications to one or more software functions (Fig. 15; ¶¶ [0182] through [0185], [0394], and [0433]);
determine the set of calls are characteristic of a specific operation of the given user space application by processing the set of calls based on the data (Fig. 15; ¶¶ [0182] through [0185], [0394], and [0433]); and
perform one or both of generating a report regarding the specific operation and influencing functioning of the given user space application (Fig. 15; ¶¶ [0182] through [0185], [0394], and [0433]).
As to claim 2, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as those given for claim 1 above.
As to claim 3, Russello discloses wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to signal the OS kernel to determine the set of calls by the given user space application using a kernel mode hook (¶¶ [0378] and [0392]).
As to claim 4, Russello discloses wherein at least one of the set of calls is determined using an event tracing application (¶¶ [0274] and [0280]).
As to claim 6, Russello discloses wherein the specific operation of the given user space application comprises an application programming interface call of the given user space application (¶¶ [0005] and [0006]).
As to claim 7, Russello discloses wherein said processing the set of calls based on the data comprises processing memory addresses specified by the set of calls (¶¶ [0268], [0319], [0334], and [0337]).
As to claims 9 and 19, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as those given for claim 1 above.
As to claim 21, Russello discloses wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to terminate the given user space application (¶ [0322]).
As to claim 22, Russello discloses wherein the specific operation of the user space application comprises one or more of opening a file, copying a file, exfiltrating a file and opening a network connection (¶ [0031]).
As to claims 23 and 24, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as those given for claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russello, in view of Yu et al. (hereafter referred to as Yu), U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2022/0050895 A1.
As to claim 5, Russello is silent on wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to receive an event trace log file from the event tracing application and determine the set of calls from the event trace log file.
However, Yu discloses wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to receive an event trace log file from the event tracing application and determine the set of calls from the event trace log file (¶¶ [0003] and [0041]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teachings of Russello in the aforementioned manner as taught by Yu in order to utilize event tracing which is a standardized means of tracking events.
As to claim 8, Russello is silent on wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to learn one or more specific operations and respective associated sets of multiple calls based on user activity at the data processing system.
However, Yu discloses wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to learn one or more specific operations and respective associated sets of multiple calls based on user activity at the data processing system (¶¶ [0024], [0041], and [0043]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teachings of Russello in the aforementioned manner as taught by Yu in order to gain the benefits of machine learning such as pattern recognition.
As to claim 10, Russello is silent on wherein the data comprises a trained machine learning model and wherein the trained machine learning model is implemented by the one or more processors to process the set of calls to determine whether the set of calls are characteristic of the specific operation of the given user space application.
However, Yu discloses wherein the data comprises a trained machine learning model and wherein the trained machine learning model is implemented by the one or more processors to process the set of calls to determine whether the set of calls are characteristic of the specific operation of the given user space application (¶¶ [0024] and [0043]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teachings of Russello in the aforementioned manner as taught by Yu in order to gain the benefits of machine learning such as pattern recognition.
As to claim 11, the claim is rejected for reasons similar to those given for claim 10 above.
As to claim 12, Russello is silent on wherein the data comprises one or more trained classifiers.
However, Yu discloses wherein the data comprises one or more trained classifiers (¶ [0062]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teachings of Russello in the aforementioned manner as taught by Yu in order to gain the benefits of machine learning such as pattern recognition.
As to claim 13, Russello is silent on wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to detect one or more patterns in the set of calls and compare the one or more pattern to patterns specified in the data.
However, Yu discloses wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to detect one or more patterns in the set of calls and compare the one or more pattern to patterns specified in the data (¶¶ [0043], [0058], and [0068]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teachings of Russello in the aforementioned manner as taught by Yu in order to gain the benefits of machine learning such as pattern recognition.
Claims 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russello, in view of ERMEY (hereafter referred to as Ermey), U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2023/0289444 A1.
As to claim 14, Russello is silent on wherein the data comprises a library of patterns of calls, each pattern having a corresponding associated specific operation of a particular user space application of the plurality of user space applications.
However, Ermey discloses wherein the data comprises a library of patterns of calls, each pattern having a corresponding associated specific operation of a particular user space application of the plurality of user space applications (¶¶ [0203], [0213], [0220], [0224], [0227] through [0229], [0232], [0235] through [0239], [0241], [0244], [0245], [0249], [0252], and [0254]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teachings of Russello in the aforementioned manner as taught by Ermey in order to utilize a standardized means for organizing data such as libraries.
As to claim 15, Russello is silent on wherein a given specific operation and an associated patterns of calls are determined using application programming interface probes.
However, Ermey discloses wherein a given specific operation and an associated patterns of calls are determined (¶¶ [0203], [0213], [0220], [0224], [0227] through [0229], [0232], [0235] through [0239], [0241], [0244], [0245], [0249], [0252], and [0254]) using application programming interface probes (¶ [0026]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teachings of Russello in the aforementioned manner as taught by Ermey in order to utilize a standardized means for communicating data between computers or computer programs.
As to claim 16, Russello is silent on wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to based on the received set of calls differing from one of the patterns specified in the data by less than a threshold number of calls, determine the received set of calls as being characteristic of the corresponding associated specific operation of the particular user space application corresponding to that one pattern of the patterns and perform one or both of generating a report of the corresponding associated specific operation and influencing functioning of the particular user space application.
However, Ermey discloses wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to based on the received set of calls differing from one of the patterns specified in the data by less than a threshold number of calls (¶¶ [0072] and [0133]), determine the received set of calls as being characteristic of the corresponding associated specific operation of the particular user space application corresponding to that one pattern of the patterns and perform one or both of generating a report of the corresponding associated specific operation and influencing functioning of the particular user space application (¶¶ [0203], [0213], [0220], [0224], [0227] through [0229], [0232], [0235] through [0239], [0241], [0244], [0245], [0249], [0252], and [0254]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teachings of Russello in the aforementioned manner as taught by Ermey in order to ensure adequate similarity between compared elements before taking appropriate action.
As to claim 17, Russello is silent on wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to store the received set of calls as a new pattern in the data indicating an association between (i) the received set of calls and (ii) the specific operation of the particular user space application corresponding to that one pattern.
However, Ermey discloses wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to store the received set of calls as a new pattern in the data indicating an association between (i) the received set of calls and (ii) the specific operation of the particular user space application corresponding to that one pattern (¶¶ [0061] and [0127]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teachings of Russello in the aforementioned manner as taught by Ermey in order to compare traffic in order to create new ways of handling new traffic patterns.
As to claims 18 and 20, the claims are rejected for reasons similar to those given for claim 17 above.
Conclusion
/Brian Whipple/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2447
5/30/26