Examiner notes that the claims fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.75(g) because the least restrictive claim, claim 16, is not presented as claim number 1. However, in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126, claim numbering must be preserved during prosecution. Therefore correction will be held in abeyance.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed August 7, 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(b)(5), which requires the publication date of each non-patent literature publication listed. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
The information disclosure statement filed August 7, 2025 is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlinks and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
See MPEP 707.05(e)IV for the way to list a citation that has been retrieved from the internet.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they fail to show the following claim features:
Claim 1 an elsewhere: a first hollow body having an inner face, the first hollow body being rotatably mounted to the main body.
Claim 1 and elsewhere: a biasing body mounted to the main body and the first hollow body for applying a biasing rotational force on the first hollow body in a first rotational direction.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it begins with a phrase that can be implied. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 11, 17 & 18 are objected to because:
Claims 2, 11 & 17, “plurality of electrical connector” should be changed to “plurality of electrical connectors”.
Claim 18, “beveled” is misspelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 & 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lambert, US 7,681,923. Lambert discloses a connector (18) comprising: a first hollow body (80) provided with two radially opposed recesses (108), each recess configured for receiving at least one connection protrusion of a connection device therein, the first hollow body comprising at least one engaging protrusion (see Fig. 2) projecting within the at least one recess and comprising a sloping face (114), the sloping face defining a retaining slot (112) within the at least one recess,
wherein the sloping face (114) is linearly beveled.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ilie, US 2024/0413572. Ilie discloses a connector (12) comprising: a first hollow body (16, 26) provided with at least one recess (84) configured for receiving at least one connection protrusion of a connection device therein, the first hollow body comprising at least one engaging protrusion (89) projecting within the at least one recess and comprising a sloping face (86, 88), the sloping face defining a retaining slot (90) within the at least one recess,
wherein a hybrid connector (24, 34) fixedly is mounted within the first hollow body, the hybrid connector being configured to operatively house therethrough at least one of: a plurality of electrical connectors (see Fig. 3),
wherein the sloping face (88) is linearly beveled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilie. At paragraph 0045, Ilie discloses the first hollow body (26) comprising a groove (40) to cooperate with a rail (42), but does not expressly disclose the first hollow body comprising a rail to cooperate with a groove. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connector (12) of Ilie such that the first hollow body comprises a rail to cooperate with groove, since such a modification would have involved a mere reversal of parts. A reversal of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In Re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400, (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-10 & 12-15 are allowed because the prior art fails to show or suggest a connector assembly comprising every limitation of the claims. Ilie shows a connector assembly (10) comprising most of the limitation of the claims, including a connector (14) with a hollow body (66), a protrusion (46) projecting radially inwardly and a spring (47). However the spring (47) does not apply a biasing rotational force.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Davidson, Hannagan and Olszewski disclose connector assemblies.
/Greg Binda/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679