DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 6/19/2026 is entered and fully considered. In view of the amendment the 102 rejections are removed and additional art is applied.
Response to Arguments
In view of the amendment, the previous rejections are removed and new rejections are made. The arguments regarding the previous rejection are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONG et al. (US 2022/0173370) in view of SATO et al. (US 2022/0285668).
Regarding claims 18 and 21,
KONG teaches a system for making an electrode for a battery by spraying (wet coating) a current collector 314 which is sprayed with conductive adhesive by sprayers 342 [0115] and shown in Fig. 8. The rollers 322 press and heat by hot lamination [0117] the electrode films that are applied as free-standing films [0115]. The rollers are interpreted to be the applying station and heat roll pressing station.
KONG teaches applying adhesive to a current collector by sprayers but does not teach slot die coating, gravure coating or reverse comma coating. However, SATO applying adhesive to a moving current collector prior to applying a sheet-shaped electrode [0060]-[0070]. The liquid adhesive can be applied by slot die, gravure coating, or comma coating [0061]. Gravure can be performed at high speed [0061]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to use a gravure coating station of SATO to coat adhesive liquid to a current collector prior to attaching an electrode sheet because it allows for high speed processing.
Regarding claims 19, 20, and 22-24,
The limitations in claims 19 and 20 define the wet coating material and free standing material. However, the apparatus only needs to be capable of performing the function (i.e. the specific materials used). The gravure coater in SATO does not know or care what liquid composition it is applying and can apply any liquid material with or without particles of various sizes. Likewise, the free standing material can be any self-standing film.
Claim(s) 18-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAO et al. (US 2022/0166000) in view of SATO et al. (US 2022/0285668).
Regarding claim 18,
YAO teaches a sprayers 36 for wet depositing material onto a preformed electrode films from dry mix 314, Fig. 3 and [0084]-[0089]. The embodiment shown in fig. 3 shows how the free-standing sheets are “applied” before being pressed between rollers 322 and 320 which can be heated [0046].
YAO teaches applying adhesive to a current collector by sprayers but does not teach slot die coating, gravure coating or reverse comma coating. However, SATO applying adhesive to a moving current collector prior to applying a sheet-shaped electrode [0060]-[0070]. The liquid adhesive can be applied by slot die, gravure coating, or comma coating [0061]. Gravure can be performed at high speed [0061]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to use a gravure coating station of SATO to coat adhesive liquid to a current collector prior to attaching an electrode sheet because it allows for high speed processing.
Regarding claims 19, 20, and 22-24,
The limitations in these claims define the wet coating material and free standing material. However, the apparatus only needs to be capable of performing the function (i.e. the specific materials used). The gravure coater in SATO does not know or care what liquid composition it is applying and can apply any liquid material with or without particles of various sizes. Likewise, the free standing material can be any self-standing film.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUSTIN MURATA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712