DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 05/20/2026 and the telephone interview conducted on May 19,2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 7, 9, 12-14 and 17 have been amended, no claims have been canceled, and claims 19-21 have been added. Thus, claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Drawings
3. In light of Applicants’ amendments of 05/20/2026, the objection to the drawings
set forth in the Office Action of 04/07/2026, is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 7-8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. (hereinafter “WU”) (Pub. No.: US 2010/0078948 A1) in view of Ehlen (Patent No.: US 10, 372,175 B2).
Regarding claim 1, WU discloses a computer system (server 110 on which various devices can be mounted, as stated in Paragraph [0029]), comprising:
a chassis (chassis 112 and/or device chassis 222, as discussed in Paragraphs [0029]-[0030]) having a bottom panel (lower wall, see Paragraph [0030]) and side walls (as the device chassis 222 being a box-like chassis of sheet material having an upper wall, a lower wall, and side walls, as stated in Paragraph [0030]);
a top cover (upper wall of the device chassis) joined to the side walls to cover the chassis (as stated in Paragraph [0030], the top cover or upper wall between the side walls to enclose the box-like chassis 222 of sheet material);
a releasable fan module (defined by a hot swappable fan 242, as presented in annotated Figure 2A and Paragraph [0030]) being located on the bottom panel (hot swappable fan 242 is undoubtedly located on the lower wall of device chassis 222, as best seen in annotated Figure 2A) in proximity to an edge of the top cover, the releasable fan module (hot swappable fan module FM242) including a fan (the hot swappable fan module FM242 is surely comprising a fan 242 and a fan part or fan housing 270, as best seen in annotated Figure 2A) a fan housing (fan housing or fan part 270, as presented in Paragraph [0031]) holding the fan (the fan part or housing is inherently holding the fan 242), and a handle (handle part 272 that is connected to the tray part 274, as best seen immediately below) moveable (the handle 272 is engaged with the fan module FM242 and certainly moves in conjunction with it) between a retracted position and an extended position to allow a user to remove the releasable fan module from the chassis (the handle 272 in mechanically connected to the fan module FM242 and surely being moveable between a retracted position and an extended position to allow a user to further remove the releasable fan module or hot swappable fan FM242 from the chassis 112, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate); and
a latch mechanism (the latch apparatus comprising the latch supporting member 236 and the latch member 398, and further, as discussed in Paragraph [0033], the latch member 398 being partially contained in the latch supporting member 236) positioned on the edge of the top cover (the latch apparatus having the latch supporting member 236 and the latch member 398 is clearly positioned on the edge of the top cover, as best seen immediately below).
Particularly, WU demonstrates as how: The tray body 232 and the two upwardly protruding rails 246 and 248 may be integrally formed. Alternatively, the tray body 232 and the two upwardly protruding rails 246 and 248 may be assembled by screws. By using conventional railing technology, the rails 246 and 248 can cooperate with trenches of the device chassis 222 such that the tray 230 and the hot swappable disk 228 fastened thereto can slide with respect to the device chassis 222. According to the above arrangement, the hot swappable hard disks 226 and 228 may be respectively mounted on the trays 260 and 230, and the hot swappable hard disks 226 and 228 may be hot swappable by using conventional hot swappable device technology (see Paragraph [0032]).
Further, in Paragraph [0033], WU especially notes that: the latch member 398 comprises an extendable handle arm 380, an engagement arm 382, and a linkage member comprising a first linkage part 386 and a second linkage part 387. The extendable handle arm 380 and the engagement arm 382 each may be made of rigid material such as metal or plastic. The first linkage part 386 and the second linkage part 387 are connected to the extendable handle arm 380 and the engagement arm 382.
As best seen in annotated Figure 2A, WU evidently illustrates as how the latch mechanism, including the latch supporting member 236 and the latch member 398, is directly and/or indirectly engaging the handle 272 while being secured to the connecting extension or tray part 274.
Clearly, with reference to annotated Figure 2A again, the latch mechanism is directly and/or indirectly engaging the handle 272 to further keep the handle 272 in the retracted position (the latch apparatus comprising the latch supporting member 236 and the latch member 398 is clearly engaging the handle to keep the handle in the retracted position, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
However, although WU discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, he does not explicitly disclose that the handle is moveable relative to the fan housing between a retracted position and an extended position to allow a user to pull the handle and remove the attached releasable fan module from the chassis.
Nonetheless, Ehlen in the same field of endeavor teaches another computer system, very similar to that seen in annotated figure 2A, and performs as how “the latch handle is pivotable between a latched position where the latch pawl is positioned to engage a latch feature of a cubby chassis, thereby preventing movement of the sled chassis with respect to the cubby chassis, and an unlatched position where the latch pawl is disengaged from the latch feature of the cubby chassis. A handle lock is disposed on a distal end portion of the latch handle to selectively lock the latch handle in the latched position” (see Abstract).
Notably, in column 3 lines 40-55, Ehlen teaches as how: the server sleds can include a removable fan cartridge to facilitate efficient fan replacement. In a representative embodiment, a pair of spaced apart channels can each be coupled to the bottom wall of the device chassis. Each channel can include an associated latch aperture. The fan cartridge is removably inserted between the pair of spaced apart channels. In some embodiments, the fan cartridge can include a cartridge frame and one or more fans coupled to the cartridge frame. One or more latches are positioned on the cartridge frame to engage a corresponding latch aperture when the fan cartridge is inserted between the pair of spaced apart channels.
Ehlen, in column 5 lines 38-80, then goes on to describe how: As shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B, the latch handle mechanism 300 can include a latch handle 302 and a handle lock 304 to selectively lock the latch handle in the latched position (e.g., FIG. 6A). A strike bracket 320 is mounted to the sidewall 204 and positioned such that the handle lock 304 releasably engages a bracket aperture 322 formed in the strike bracket 320 when the latch handle 302 is in the latched position. The latch handle 302 includes a proximal end portion 306 movably coupled to the sidewall 204 proximate the front sled portion 230. In some embodiments, the proximal end portion 306 is coupled to the sidewall 204 with a pivot pin 305, for example. The latch handle 302 is pivotable or otherwise movable between the latched position (FIG. 6A) and an unlatched position (FIG. 6B). In some embodiments, the proximal end portion 306 can include a limit slot 312 positioned on a stop pin 314 secured to the sidewall 204, whereby rotational movement of the latch handle 302 toward the latched and unlatched positions is limited. In some embodiments, the proximal end portion 306 can include a detent configuration, such as a detent spring 316 positioned for engaging detent holes 318, to help hold the latch handle 302 in different rotational positions.
In fact, Ehlen explicitly exhibits as how the latch handle 302 is being pivotally attached to the fan housing and/or fan cartridge while being rotated into the extended position. In other words, this latch handle 302 is being movable relative to the fan housing.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a latch handle, as taught by Ehlen, in the computer system of WU, in order to further facilitate efficient fan replacement, as motivated by Ehlen in column 3 lines 40-44.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the handle would be further attached to the fan housing and/or the handle would be further moveable relative to the fan housing between a retracted position and an extended position to allow a user to pull the handle and remove the attached releasable fan module from the chassis, as instantly claimed.
Thus, the combination WU and Ehlen appears to disclose all aspects of Applicant’s claimed invention.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, WU and Ehlen substantially discloses the computer system, as claimed and as detailed above. Additionally, in Abstract, WU expressly states that: the latch member further comprises a resilient member comprising a first engaging member.
In addition, in Paragraphs [0042], WU further discloses that: The latch member 698 comprises an extendable handle arm 680 and a resilient member 666. The extendable handle arm 680 and the resilient member 666 may be made of rigid material such as stainless steel or plastic. The components of the latch member 698 may comprise a first engaging member and a third engaging member, and the latch supporting member 636 may comprise a second engaging member and a fourth engaging member. The resilient member 666 may comprise the first engaging member, e.g., a first hook 681 mounted on one end of the resilient member 666. The first hook 681 may comprise a guiding edge 684 and an engaging edge 683. The first engaging member may cooperatively work with the third engaging member, e.g., a pair of first engagement holes (not shown) formed on the latch supporting member 636. A handle hook 692 is mounted on one end of the extendable handle arm 680 so that a user can exert a force thereon via a finger or other means. The extendable handle arm 680 comprises the second engaging member, e.g., a second engagement hole 680-1. The second engaging member may cooperatively work with the fourth engaging member, e.g., a second hook 636-1 of the latch supporting member 636.
Surely, the resilient member 666 is biasing the latch mechanism toward the retracted position while functioning as a spring. Then, as best seen in annotated Figure 2A, WU evidently illustrates as how the latch mechanism comprising the latch supporting member 236 and the latch member 398 includes a cage C238 that is certainly located under the top cover C112 or upper wall of the device chassis.
Then, in column 5 lines 38-45, Ehlen specifically teaches as how: the latch handle mechanism 300 can include a latch handle 302 and a handle lock 304 to selectively lock the latch handle in the latched position (e.g., FIG. 6A). A strike bracket 320 is mounted to the sidewall 204 and positioned such that the handle lock 304 releasably engages a bracket aperture 322 formed in the strike bracket 320 when the latch handle 302 is in the latched position. Likewise, as best seen immediately below, Ehlen details: The handle lock 304 is disposed on the distal end portion 324 and includes a lock plunger 330 and a button 332 operative to move the plunger 330 toward a retracted (i.e., unlocked) position when the button is depressed by a user. When the latch handle 302 is in the latched position, the plunger 330 engages the bracket aperture 322 (FIG. 6B), thereby locking the latch handle 302 in the latched position. The distal end portion 324 can include orthogonally oriented mounting flanges 325 and 327. The handle lock 304 is attached to the mounting flanges 325 and 327 with fasteners 329. As shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B, the handle lock 304 includes a housing 340 and a mating side cover 342. In some embodiments, a resilient member, such as a compression spring 344, is positioned between the housing 340 and the lock plunger 330 to urge the plunger 330 toward an extended (i.e., locked) position. In some embodiments, the plunger includes a shoulder 331 to capture the spring 344 in a pocket (not shown) formed in the housing 340 (see column 6 lines 18-36).
More specifically, in column 6 lines 10-7, Ehlen further states: As shown in FIG. 8, the latch handle 302 extends from the proximal end portion 306 to a distal end portion 324. In some embodiments, the latch handle 302 includes an arcuate portion 326. As best shown in FIG. 8, the detent spring 316 can comprise a leaf spring with a centrally positioned protrusion 317 adapted to engage the detent holes 318 (FIGS. 6A and 6B). In some embodiments, the detent spring 316 can be mounted in a slot 321 with fasteners 323.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a spring, as taught by Ehlen, to the handle of WU/Ehlen, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of springs in handle to achieve predictable results, in this case, to further help hold the latch handle 302 in different rotational positions, as motivated by Ehlen in column 5 lines 58-60.
As such, according to the combination, with reference to annotated Figures 8& 9B above, Ehlen evidently illustrates as how the latch mechanism of the handle includes a cage or housing 340 mounted under the top cover TC and/or the cage or housing 340 including a spring 344 coupled to the latch mechanism or latch handle mechanism 300 to directly and/or indirectly engage the latch mechanism with the handle when the handle is in the retracted position and/or the handle would be further including a slot, and the latch mechanism would be further including a tab that would be further engaging the slot., as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, WU and Ehlen substantially disclose the computer system, as claimed and as detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0032], WU specifically teaches that: two upwardly protruding rails 246 and 248 are respectively mounted on two sides of the tray body 232. The tray body 232 and the two upwardly protruding rails 246 and 248 may be integrally formed. Alternatively, the tray body 232 and the two upwardly protruding rails 246 and 248 may be assembled by screws. By using conventional railing technology, the rails 246 and 248 can cooperate with trenches of the device chassis 222 such that the tray 230 and the hot swappable disk 228 fastened thereto can slide with respect to the device chassis 222. According to the above arrangement, the hot swappable hard disks 226 and 228 may be respectively mounted on the trays 260 and 230, and the hot swappable hard disks 226 and 228 may be hot swappable by using conventional hot swappable device technology.
In fact, as best seen in annotated Figure 2A, WU’s computer system is certainly designed such that the releasable fan module or hot swappable fan module FM24 including a front frame FF242 that is attached to the fan housing 270, wherein the front frame FF242 includes protruding rails 246 & 248 extending substantially parallel to each other.
Wu, in Paragraphs [0042]-[0043], then goes on to describe how: The latch member 698 comprises an extendable handle arm 680 and a resilient member 666. The extendable handle arm 680 and the resilient member 666 may be made of rigid material such as stainless steel or plastic. The components of the latch member 698 may comprise a first engaging member and a third engaging member, and the latch supporting member 636 may comprise a second engaging member and a fourth engaging member. The resilient member 666 may comprise the first engaging member, e.g., a first hook 681 mounted on one end of the resilient member 666. The first hook 681 may comprise a guiding edge 684 and an engaging edge 683. The first engaging member may cooperatively work with the third engaging member, e.g., a pair of first engagement holes (not shown) formed on the latch supporting member 636. A handle hook 692 is mounted on one end of the extendable handle arm 680 so that a user can exert a force thereon via a finger or other means. The extendable handle arm 680 comprises the second engaging member, e.g., a second engagement hole 680-1. The second engaging member may cooperatively work with the fourth engaging member, e.g., a second hook 636-1 of the latch supporting member 636.
However, the combination of WU/Ehlen is still silent as to the structural specifics of the handle.
Nonetheless, Ehlen explicitly disclose that: As shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B, the handle lock 304 includes a housing 340 and a mating side cover 342. In some embodiments, a resilient member, such as a compression spring 344, is positioned between the housing 340 and the lock plunger 330 to urge the plunger 330 toward an extended (i.e., locked) position. In some embodiments, the plunger includes a shoulder 331 to capture the spring 344 in a pocket (not shown) formed in the housing 340. The button 332 includes a cam portion 350 configured to act against a surface 351 to cause an associated cam aperture 348 to move away from the surface 351 when the button 332 is depressed by a user. A plunger pin 346 extends through both the cam aperture 348 and a plunger cross-hole 333, thereby coupling the plunger 330 to the cam portion 350. Accordingly, as the button 332 is depressed the plunger 330 is moved toward the retracted (i.e., unlocked) position.
Clearly, with reference to annotated Figure 9B, Ehlen successfully exhibits as how the handle 304 includes a top cover plate TP and a support arm assembly SA330, which is defined by the plunger 330, extending downward from the top cover plate, wherein the front frame includes a first rail with a spring box SB340 defined by the housing 340, which is enclosing or housing or restraining or guiding or protecting and/or holding a first spring 344 in contact with the support arm assembly SA330 of the handle and/or the arm assembly SA330 is partially inserted in the spring box SB340, and the handle being biased in the extended position by the first spring.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a latch handle, as taught by Ehlen, in the computer system of WU, in order to further facilitate efficient fan replacement, as motivated by Ehlen in column 3 lines 40-44.
Furthermore, with specific regard to the limitation “the second rail holding a second spring in contact with the handle” (claim 8) that the combination of WU/Ehlen fails to teach, it has been held In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VIB.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the releasable fan module FM242, as disclosed by WU, including a front frame FF242 attached to the fan housing and/or the handle would be further including a top cover plate TC and a support arm assembly SA330 extending downward from the top cover plate TC and/or the front frame FF242 would be further including a first rail with a spring box SB340, as disclosed by Ehlen, would be further holding a first spring 344 in contact with the support arm assembly SA330 of the handle and/or the arm assembly SA330 would be further partially inserted in the spring box SB340 and the handle would be further biased in the extended position by the first spring 344 and/or the releasable fan module would be further including second rail parallel to the first rail and/or the second rail would be further holding a second spring in contact with the handle, the handle being biased in the extended position by the second spring, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
Regarding claim 10, WU and Ehlen substantially disclose the computer system, as claimed and as detailed above.
Additionally, with reference to annotated Figure 9B, Ehlen evidently illustrates as how handle 304 includes a top plate TC having an edge with an indentation for gripping by an operator, as instantly claimed.
As such, according to the combination, one skilled in the art would surely recognize the handle would be further including a top plate having an edge with an indentation for gripping by an operator, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 11, WU and Ehlen substantially disclose the computer system, as claimed and as detailed above.
Additionally, as best seen in annotated Figure 2A, WU evidently illustrates that the releasable fan module or hot swappable fan FM242 is one of a plurality of fan modules in proximity to the edge of the top cover 112 and the latch mechanism or latch apparatus of the server 110 is one of a plurality of latch mechanisms on the edge of the top cover 112, as instantly claimed.
8. Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (‘AAPA’ as set forth in Applicant’s Specification on pages 2-4 and depicted in Figures 1A-1C) in view of Ehlen.
Regarding claim 12, AAPA discloses a releasable fan module (fan module 42, as presented in annotated Figure 1B) comprising:
a fan housing (fan housing FH40, as depicted in annotated Figure 1B) containing a fan motor (fan motor, as stated in Paragraph [0004]) and a fan (single fan, see Paragraph [0004]);
a front fan frame (defined by the fan wall 14 that is usually located in front of electronic components, as expressly stated in Paragraph [0005], while being is positioned between the front end 30 and the rear end 32 of the chassis 12, as discussed in Paragraph [0006]) attached to one end of the fan housing (the fan wall 14 is inherently being attached to one end of the fan housing FH40, as illustrated in annotated Figure 1C).
Particularly, AAPA demonstrates as how individual fan modules 40 must be periodically replaced. The modular nature of the fan modules 40 allows a defective fan module 42 as shown in FIG. 1B and FIG. 1C to be removed while the remaining fan modules 40 continue to operate to produce airflow and thus allow the server 10 to continue to operate (see Paragraph [0007]). Further, in Paragraph [0008], AAPA states: when a fan module inside the server 10 is damaged and needs to be removed for repair or replacement, the top cover 26 must be opened via the release latch 28 to access the fan modules 40 in the fan wall 14. This not only leads to inefficient operation as the electronic components in the chassis 12 are exposed as shown in FIG. 1C, but also causes backflow of air through the vacant space created after the defective fan module 42 is removed, as indicated by an arrow 50. The backflow results in a significant decrease in cooling efficiency and thus server operation while the fan module is being replaced.
As shown immediately below, AAPA evidently illustrates as how the releasable fan module 40 including a handle H40 moveable between a retracted position and an extended position to allow a user to remove the releasable fan module 40 from the chassis 12; and the latch mechanism directly and/or indirectly engaging the handle H40 to keep the handle in the retracted position, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
However, most importantly in AAPA is the specific arrangement and/or structure of the fan module which is undoubtedly including a first rail extending from one side of the front fan frame and a second rail extending from a second side of the front fan frame while the second rail parallel to the first rail and/or a handle H40 supported by the first rail and the second rail and/or the handle having a retracted position and an extended position.
Essentially, AAPA’s releasable fan module is designed such that the second rail being parallel to the first rail and/or a handle H40 supported by the first rail and the second rail and/or the handle having a retracted position and an extended position, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
However, although AAPA discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it does not explicitly disclose that the handle is moveable relative to the fan housing between a retracted position and an extended position to allow a user to pull the handle and remove the attached releasable fan module from the chassis.
Nonetheless, Ehlen in the same field of endeavor teaches another computer system, very similar to that seen in annotated Figures 1B&1C, and performs as how “the latch handle is pivotable between a latched position where the latch pawl is positioned to engage a latch feature of a cubby chassis, thereby preventing movement of the sled chassis with respect to the cubby chassis, and an unlatched position where the latch pawl is disengaged from the latch feature of the cubby chassis. A handle lock is disposed on a distal end portion of the latch handle to selectively lock the latch handle in the latched position” (see Abstract).
Notably, in column 3 lines 40-55, Ehlen teaches as how: the server sleds can include a removable fan cartridge to facilitate efficient fan replacement. In a representative embodiment, a pair of spaced apart channels can each be coupled to the bottom wall of the device chassis. Each channel can include an associated latch aperture. The fan cartridge is removably inserted between the pair of spaced apart channels. In some embodiments, the fan cartridge can include a cartridge frame and one or more fans coupled to the cartridge frame. One or more latches are positioned on the cartridge frame to engage a corresponding latch aperture when the fan cartridge is inserted between the pair of spaced apart channels.
Ehlen, in column 5 lines 38-80, then goes on to describe how: As shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B, the latch handle mechanism 300 can include a latch handle 302 and a handle lock 304 to selectively lock the latch handle in the latched position (e.g., FIG. 6A). A strike bracket 320 is mounted to the sidewall 204 and positioned such that the handle lock 304 releasably engages a bracket aperture 322 formed in the strike bracket 320 when the latch handle 302 is in the latched position. The latch handle 302 includes a proximal end portion 306 movably coupled to the sidewall 204 proximate the front sled portion 230. In some embodiments, the proximal end portion 306 is coupled to the sidewall 204 with a pivot pin 305, for example. The latch handle 302 is pivotable or otherwise movable between the latched position (FIG. 6A) and an unlatched position (FIG. 6B). In some embodiments, the proximal end portion 306 can include a limit slot 312 positioned on a stop pin 314 secured to the sidewall 204, whereby rotational movement of the latch handle 302 toward the latched and unlatched positions is limited. In some embodiments, the proximal end portion 306 can include a detent configuration, such as a detent spring 316 positioned for engaging detent holes 318, to help hold the latch handle 302 in different rotational positions.
In fact, Ehlen explicitly exhibits as how the latch handle 302 is being pivotally attached to the fan housing and/or fan cartridge while being rotated into the extended position. In other words, this latch handle 302 is being movable relative to the fan housing.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a latch handle, as taught by Ehlen, to the releasable fan module of AAPA, in order to further facilitate efficient fan replacement, as motivated by Ehlen in column 3 lines 40-44.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that a handle would be further attached to the first rail and the second rail and/or the handle would be further moving between a retracted position and an extended position to allow a user to further pull the handle and further remove the fan housing, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 13, AAPA and Ehlen substantially disclose the releasable fan module, as claimed and as detailed above.
Although AAPA and Ehlen discloses the vast majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention, it is silent as to the structural specifics of the handle.
Nonetheless, in column 6 lines 29-45, Ehlen successfully disclose that: As shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B, the handle lock 304 includes a housing 340 and a mating side cover 342. In some embodiments, a resilient member, such as a compression spring 344, is positioned between the housing 340 and the lock plunger 330 to urge the plunger 330 toward an extended (i.e., locked) position. In some embodiments, the plunger includes a shoulder 331 to capture the spring 344 in a pocket (not shown) formed in the housing 340. The button 332 includes a cam portion 350 configured to act against a surface 351 to cause an associated cam aperture 348 to move away from the surface 351 when the button 332 is depressed by a user. A plunger pin 346 extends through both the cam aperture 348 and a plunger cross-hole 333, thereby coupling the plunger 330 to the cam portion 350. Accordingly, as the button 332 is depressed the plunger 330 is moved toward the retracted (i.e., unlocked) position.
Clearly, with reference to annotated Figure 9B, Ehlen explicitly exhibits as how the handle 304 includes a top cover plate TP, a tab extending downward from the top cover plate TP, and a slot in the tab, the slot engaging a latch mechanism to hold the handle 304 in the retracted position.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using the handle comprising a cover plate, a tab extending downward from the cover plate, and a slot in the tab, as taught by Ehlen, with the handle of AAPA/Ehlen, in order to maximize available surface area on the front face of the compute component for placement of interfaces, ports, and the like.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the handle would be further including a cover plate and/or a tab extending downward from the cover plate and/or a slot in the tab, the slot would be further engaging a latch mechanism to further hold the handle in the retracted position, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, AAPA and Ehlen substantially disclose the releasable fan module, as claimed and as detailed above.
Additionally, as best seen immediately above, AAPA evidently illustrates as how the server equipment 10 includes a chassis 12 that holds fan modules 40 arranged in a fan wall 14. AAPA, in Paragraph [0006] of the Specification, expressly states that: The fan modules 40 form a straight line across the server 10 between the side walls 22 and 24.
However, the combination of WU/Ehlen is still silent as to the structural specifics of the handle.
Nonetheless, in column 6 lines 29-45, Ehlen explicitly disclose that: As shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B, the handle lock 304 includes a housing 340 and a mating side cover 342. In some embodiments, a resilient member, such as a compression spring 344, is positioned between the housing 340 and the lock plunger 330 to urge the plunger 330 toward an extended (i.e., locked) position. In some embodiments, the plunger includes a shoulder 331 to capture the spring 344 in a pocket (not shown) formed in the housing 340. The button 332 includes a cam portion 350 configured to act against a surface 351 to cause an associated cam aperture 348 to move away from the surface 351 when the button 332 is depressed by a user. A plunger pin 346 extends through both the cam aperture 348 and a plunger cross-hole 333, thereby coupling the plunger 330 to the cam portion 350. Accordingly, as the button 332 is depressed the plunger 330 is moved toward the retracted (i.e., unlocked) position.
Clearly, with reference to annotated Figure 9B, Ehlen successfully exhibits as how the handle 304 includes a top cover plate TP and a support arm assembly SA330, which is defined by the plunger 330, extending downward from the top cover plate, wherein the front frame includes a first rail with a spring box SB340 defined by the housing 340, which is enclosing or housing or restraining or guiding or protecting and/or holding a first spring 344 in contact with the support arm assembly SA330 of the handle and/or the arm assembly SA330 is partially inserted in the spring box SB340, and the handle being biased in the extended position by the first spring.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a latch handle, as taught by Ehlen, to the releasable fan module of AAPA/Ehlen, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of a latch handle in a releasable fan module to achieve predictable results, in this case, to further align the latching component with the handle component. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Furthermore, with specific regard to the limitation “the second rail holding a second spring in contact with the handle” (claim 15) that the combination of AAPA/Ehlen fails to teach, it has been held In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VIB.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the handle would be further including a top cover plate TC and a support arm assembly SA330 extending downward from the top cover plate TC and/or the first rail would be further including spring box SB340, as disclosed by Ehlen, holding a first spring 344 in contact with the support arm assembly SA330 of the handle and/or the arm assembly SA330 would be further partially inserted in the spring box SB340 and the handle would be further biased in the extended position by the first spring 344 and/or the second rail would be further holding a second spring in contact with the handle, the handle being biased in the extended position by the second spring, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
Regarding claim 16, AAPA and Ehlen substantially disclose the releasable fan module, as claimed and as detailed above.
Additionally, as best seen in annotated Figure 1C, AAPA evidently demonstrates as how a back fan frame BFF40 coupled to an opposite end of the fan housing FH40 while the back fan frame BFF40 including a second handle H2.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, AAPA and Ehlen substantially disclose the releasable fan module, as claimed and as detailed above.
Additionally, in column 6 lines 18-43, Ehlen specifically teaches: the handle lock 304 is disposed on the distal end portion 324 and includes a lock plunger 330 and a button 332 operative to move the plunger 330 toward a retracted (i.e., unlocked) position when the button is depressed by a user. When the latch handle 302 is in the latched position, the plunger 330 engages the bracket aperture 322 (FIG. 6B), thereby locking the latch handle 302 in the latched position. The distal end portion 324 can include orthogonally oriented mounting flanges 325 and 327. The handle lock 304 is attached to the mounting flanges 325 and 327 with fasteners 329. As shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B, the handle lock 304 includes a housing 340 and a mating side cover 342. In some embodiments, a resilient member, such as a compression spring 344, is positioned between the housing 340 and the lock plunger 330 to urge the plunger 330 toward an extended (i.e., locked) position. In some embodiments, the plunger includes a shoulder 331 to capture the spring 344 in a pocket (not shown) formed in the housing 340. The button 332 includes a cam portion 350 configured to act against a surface 351 to cause an associated cam aperture 348 to move away from the surface 351 when the button 332 is depressed by a user. A plunger pin 346 extends through both the cam aperture 348 and a plunger cross-hole 333, thereby coupling the plunger 330 to the cam portion 350. Accordingly, as the button 332 is depressed the plunger 330 is moved toward the retracted (i.e., unlocked) position.
As best seen in annotated Figure 9B, Ehlen explicitly exhibits as how the support arm assembly SA330 including a post or plunger 330 attached to a tab contacting the first spring 344 in the housing 340, which is designated as spring box SB340 and/or how the top plate TC includes opposite edges, each of the opposite edges including an indentation for gripping by an operator.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a latch handle, as taught by Ehlen, to the releasable fan module of AAPA/Ehlen, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of a latch handle in a releasable fan module to achieve predictable results, in this case, to further align the latching component with the handle component. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
As such, according to the combination, one skilled in the art would surely recognize that the top plate including opposite edges and/or each of the opposite edges including an indentation for gripping by an operator, as instantly cvlaimed.
9. Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU in view of Ehlen, and further in view of Tsorng et al. (hereinafter “Tsorng”) (Pub. No.: US 2020/0396862 A1).
Regarding claim 2, WU and Ehlen substantially disclose the computer system, as claimed and as detailed above. Additionally, in Paragraph [0029], WU expressly states that:
The server 110 comprises a server chassis 112. The server chassis 112 is a box-like chassis and has a rear end opening 114. The rear end opening 114 has a plurality of slots 116, in which various devices can be mounted. The various devices can comprise a hard disk fan 120, a hard disk (not shown), and a fan 118 for heat dissipation of the server 110. Likewise, in Paragraph [0030], WU further details as how: each slot 116 in the server chassis 112 of the server 110 contains a device chassis 222. The device chassis 222 is a box-like chassis of sheet material having an upper wall, a lower wall, and side walls. These walls define a front end opening 224. The device chassis 222 can be used to contain a device (e.g., a hot swappable fan 118 as illustrated in FIG. 1) or multiple devices (e.g., two hot swappable hard disks 226 and 228 and a hot swappable fan 242 as illustrated in FIG. 2(A)).
In fact, server 110 is certainly designed such that a pair of partitions or pair of side walls being attached to the bottom panel or lower wall of the server, the pair of partitions or side walls defining a slot 116 for the releasable fan module or hot swappable fan 242, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
However, although the combination of WU/Ehlen discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, he does not explicitly disclose specifics regarding a rotatable windshield attached between the pair of partitions.
Nonetheless, computer systems having the claimed structure and including rotatable or pivotable windshields that are attached between the pair of partitions are well-known in the art, as taught by Tsorng.
Tsorng in the same field of endeavor teaches another fan modules mounted within a chassis, very similar to that seen in annotated Figures 1& 2A, and performs as how “each fan module 20 can be locked to the chassis 12 to prevent unwanted movement during use” (see Paragraph [0046]).
Notably, in Paragraph [0047], Tsorng teaches: FIGS. 2A and 2B show an individual fan module 20. FIG. 2A shows a perspective view of the fan module 20, and FIG. 2B shows a side elevation view of the fan module 20. The fan module 20 generally includes a housing 22 that defines a hollow interior 24 (FIGS. 3A and 3B). An individual fan (not shown) is positioned within the hollow interior 24 of the housing 22. A fan shield 26 is coupled to a first end 30A of the housing 22. The fan shield 26 protects the fan mounted within the housing 22, and prevents users (or other foreign objects) from inadvertently contacting the fan during use. A fan connector 28 can be coupled to an opposing second end 30B of the housing 22. The fan connector 28 electronically connects the fan to other components within the computing device or system. These other components can be used to control the fan during operation of the computing device or system.
Still further, in Paragraph [0052], Tsorng describes as how: FIGS. 3A and 3B show exploded views of the fan module 20 of FIGS. 2A and 2B. The exploded components include the fan shield 26; the locking bodies 40A and 40B; the frame piece 50 (formed from the top support 52, the bottom support 54, the first side support 56, and the second side support 58); and the lever 80. FIGS. 3A and 3B define three axes that are used herein to describe the various components of the fan module 20. The longitudinal axis L is the axis upon which the housing 22, the fan shield 26, the locking bodies 40A, 40B, the frame piece 50, and the lever 80 are all aligned. The fan is inserted into and removed from the housing 22 along the longitudinal axis L. The fan module 20 can be inserted into and removed from the chassis 12 along the longitudinal axis L.
Clearly, disclosing the combination of fan shield 26 and fan connector 28, Tsorng specifically teaches a rotatable windshield that is being attached between the pair of partitions or side walls while having a down position under the fan module, and an up position blocking an area between the partitions when the releasable fan module is removed.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a fan shield or rotatable windshield, as taught by Tsorng, in the computer system of WU/Ehlen, in order to further to control the fan during operation of the computing device or system, as motivated by Tsorng in Paragraph [0047].
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised to further provide a rotatable windshield that would be further attached between the pair of partitions and/or the rotatable windshield that would be further having a down position under the fan module and an up position that would be further blocking an area between the partitions when the releasable fan module being removed, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 3, WU, Ehlen and Tsorng substantially disclose the computer system, as claimed and as detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraphs [0051]-[0052], Tsorng specifically teaches that: The lever 80 is formed from a handle 82 connected to a first arm 84A and a second arm 84B. A proximal end 85A of the first arm 84A is coupled to the first side support 56 of the frame piece 50. A proximal end 85B of the second arm 84B is coupled to the second side support 58 of the frame piece 50. A distal end 86A of the first arm 84A is connected to one end of the handle 82. A distal end 86B of the second arm 84B is connected to the other end of the handle 82. FIGS. 3A and 3B show exploded views of the fan module 20 of FIGS. 2A and 2B. The exploded components include the fan shield 26; the locking bodies 40A and 40B; the frame piece 50 (formed from the top support 52, the bottom support 54, the first side support 56, and the second side support 58); and the lever 80. FIGS. 3A and 3B define three axes that are used herein to describe the various components of the fan module 20. The longitudinal axis L is the axis upon which the housing 22, the fan shield 26, the locking bodies 40A, 40B, the frame piece 50, and the lever 80 are all aligned. The fan is inserted into and removed from the housing 22 along the longitudinal axis L. The fan module 20 can be inserted into and removed from the chassis 12 along the longitudinal axis L.
More specifically, in Paragraphs [0071]-[0072], Tsorng further notes: The lever 80 includes a latch 90 that is used to passively maintain the lever 80 in the first position. The latch 90 is coupled to an underside of the handle 82 via springs 92A, 92B. The springs 92A, 92B bias the latch 90 downward towards a resting position. A user can compress the springs 92A, 92B by squeezing the latch 90 and the handle 82. The latch 90 is thus caused to move upwards along the vertical axis V to a compressed position. When the fan module 20 is locked to the chassis 12, the lever 80 is in the first position adjacent to the top support 52 of the frame piece 50, and the latch 90 is in the resting position. When the latch 90 is in the resting position, the latch 90 is positioned adjacent to the first and second upper surfaces 70A, 70B of the first and second side supports 56, 58. The portion of the latch 90 near the first arm 84A is positioned between (i) the portion of the longitudinally-facing surface 74 of the top support 52 that is near the first side support 56, and (ii) the first retention tab 72A.
As best seen in annotated Figure 3A, Tsorng explicitly exhibits as how the rotatable windshield or shield 26, is directly and/or indirectly mounted on the bottom panel via a mounting bracket, which is defined by the frame piece 50 that is formed by a top support 52, a bottom support 54, a first side support 56, and a second side support 58, as stated in Paragraph [0050]).
With reference to annotated Figure 3A again, Tsorng evidently demonstrates as how the frame piece 50 which is designated as the mounting bracket MB50 being attached to one end of a torsion spring 92A&92B another end of the torsion spring being coupled to the rotatable windshield, the torsion spring biasing the rotatable windshield in the up position.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a mounting bracket and/or spring, as taught by Tsorng, in the computer system of WU/Ehlen/Tsorng, in order to further provide an improved fan module that can be locked to and unlocked from a chassis easily, while occupying a minimal amount of space, as motivated by Tsorng in Paragraph [0003].
Furthermore, with respect to the particular positioning and/or particular positioning between parts, i.e., another end of the torsion spring being attached to the rotatable windshield, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “preferred” or “optimum” positioning that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been able to determine using routine experimentation based, among other things, on the intended use and the dimensions of the device, etc. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As such, according to the combination, one skilled in the art would surely recognize that the torsion spring would be further biasing the rotatable windshield in the up position, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 4, WU, Ehlen and Tsorng substantially disclose the computer system, as claimed and as detailed above.
However, although the combination of WU and Tsorng discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it is still silent as to the fact that one of the partitions includes a spring plate having a clasp and/or the spring plate forcing the clasp to contact and position the windshield at an angle between the up and down positions.
Nonetheless, in Paragraph [0071], Tsorng successfully discloses as how: The lever 80 includes a latch 90 that is used to passively maintain the lever 80 in the first position. The latch 90 is coupled to an underside of the handle 82 via springs 92A, 92B. The springs 92A, 92B bias the latch 90 downward towards a resting position. A user can compress the springs 92A, 92B by squeezing the latch 90 and the handle 82. The latch 90 is thus caused to move upwards along the vertical axis V to a compressed position.
Then, in Paragraph [0075], Tsorng details: To unlock the lever 80, the latch 90 and the handle 82 are squeezed so that the springs 92A, 92B compress, moving the latch 90 to a compressed position. In the compressed position, the latch 90 is positioned above the first retention tab 72A and the second retention tab 72B, along the vertical axis V. The latch 90 is thus no longer locked into place between (i) the longitudinally-facing surface 74 of the top support 52 and (ii) the first retention tab 72A and the second retention tab 72B. The lever 80 is no longer prevented from pivoting from the first position to the second position. In the second position, the first and second arms 84A, 84B extend along the longitudinal axis L and are generally perpendicular to the first and second side supports 56, 58. The handle 82 of the lever 80 is positioned away from the frame piece 50 along the longitudinal axis L.
Surely, as best seen immediately above, Tsorng explicitly exhibits as how one of the partitions includes a spring plate portion having a clasp or prongs while the spring plate portion forcing the clasp or prongs to further contact and position the windshield at an angle between the up and down positions.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a spring plate portion having a clasp or prongs, as taught by Tsorng, with the computer system of WU/ Ehlen/ Tsorng, in order to releasably secure a guide or shield to directed air from the fan module to areas within the equipment rack.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that one of the partitions would be further including a spring plate having a clasp and/or the spring plate would be further forcing the clasp to further contact and position the windshield at an angle between the up and down positions, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
10. Claims 9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU in view of Ehlen, and further in view of AAPA.
Regarding claim 9, WU and Ehlen substantially disclose the computer system, as claimed and as detailed above. Additionally, in Paragraph [0029], WU expressly states that: The server chassis 112 is a box-like chassis and has a rear end opening 114. The rear end opening 114 has a plurality of slots 116, in which various devices can be mounted. The various devices can comprise a hard disk fan 120, a hard disk (not shown), and a fan 118 for heat dissipation of the server 110.
As best seen in annotated Figure 2A, WU explicitly exhibits as how the fan housing 270 comprising the first or front frame section and second or rear frame section that are secured together, wherein a proximal end coupled to a fan front frame supporting the handle.
Although WU and Ehlen disclose the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it is still silent as to the fact that a distal end being coupled to a fan rear frame that includes a second handle.
Nonetheless, in Paragraph [0006], AAPA explicitly teaches: The fan wall 14 is positioned between the front end 30 and the rear end 32 of the chassis 12. The fan wall 14 in this example has eight fan modules 40 arranged in two groups of four fan modules. The fan modules 40 form a straight line across the server 10 between the side walls 22 and 24. The fan modules 40 create airflow between the front end 30 and the rear end 32 of the chassis 12.
Also, in Paragraph [0007], AAPA further states: The individual fan modules 40 must be periodically replaced. However, it is desirable to keep the server 10 operational for as much time as possible. The modular nature of the fan modules 40 allows a defective fan module 42 as shown in FIG. 1B and FIG. 1C to be removed while the remaining fan modules 40 continue to operate to produce airflow and thus allow the server 10 to continue to operate.
However, most important aspect in AAPA is its specific arrangement and/or structure of the server 10, wherein the defective fan module 42 comprising a second handle H2 on the rear end.
Clearly, with reference to annotated Figure 1C, one of ordinary skill in the art would surely recognize that a fan housing having a proximal end coupled to the handle while a distal end coupled to a fan rear frame that is including another handle.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a second handle, as taught by AAPA, with the rail of WU/Ehlen, in order to further provide a fan module with mechanical components that allow for easy removal and locking in place, as motivated by AAPA in Paragraph [0009].
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the releasable fan module would be further including the fan housing having a proximal end being coupled to a fan front frame supporting the handle, and/or a distal end would be further coupled to a fan frame that would be further including a second handle, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, WU and Ehlen substantially disclose the computer system, as claimed and as detailed above. Additionally, as best seen in annotated Figure 2A, WU evidently illustrates as how a fan assembly area or perimeter boundary positioned between a front end and rear end of chassis 112 on the bottom panel.
Clearly, with annotated Figures 1 and 2A, the top cover or upper wall of the device chassis has an opposite edge forming a front end of the chassis 112 and the edge of the top cover TC112 defines one end of the fan assembly area and/or a rear top cover plate attached between the side walls, wherein the fan assembly area is defined by a space between the rear top cover plate and the front top cover plate.
Although WU and Ehlen disclose the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it is still silent as to the fact that the fan module FM242 being removable from the fan assembly area in a vertical direction relative to the bottom panel.
Nonetheless, in Paragraph [0006], AAPA explicitly teaches that: The fan wall 14 is positioned between the front end 30 and the rear end 32 of the chassis 12. The fan wall 14 in this example has eight fan modules 40 arranged in two groups of four fan modules. The fan modules 40 form a straight line across the server 10 between the side walls 22 and 24. The fan modules 40 create airflow between the front end 30 and the rear end 32 of the chassis 12.
AAPA explicitly teaches as how fan modules 40 are oriented perpendicular to the bottom panel to permit a vertical removal of the fan module 40.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a fan module, as taught by AAPA, with the rail of WU/Ehlen, in order to further provide a fan module with mechanical components that allow for easy removal and locking in place, as motivated by AAPA in Paragraph [0009].
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the fan module would be further removable from the fan assembly area in a vertical direction relative to the bottom panel, as instantly claimed.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicants’ arguments filed 05/20/2026 have been fully considered but are moot
because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the
current rejection. Further, the Examiner notes that the newly applied reference addresses
the applicant's arguments as set forth in the above rejections.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in
this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP
§ 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37
CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of
the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later
than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/CHARLES G FREAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/L.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3746