DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11-16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maher et al. (US 2020/0359605 A1) in view of Wen et al. (US 2019/0223782 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Maher discloses a health monitoring system for a pet (e.g. Abstract), comprising:
a monitoring device (e.g. Figs. 1-4 & 21: sensors of animal harness 102, 302, 2002, or [0036]: application on a mobile device 122) for monitoring a health status of the pet (e.g. [0036-0044]);
a computing platform (e.g. one of Fig. 17: 406, 104, 122 or Fig. 21: 2002, 2010, 2030, 2050—animal harness, gateway, mobile device, server) in communication with the monitoring device and having a processor (e.g. one of Fig. 21: 2102, 2132, 2172, 2152) and a first memory (e.g. one of Fig. 21: 2104, 2134, 2174, 2156) on which health modules (e.g. one of Fig. 21: firmware/algorithm/model 2106, 2136, 2036, 2052, 2159), including a weight tracker module (e.g. [0120]), the health modules including tangible, non- transitory, processor executable instructions are stored, the health modules configured to receive and interpret health data (e.g. [0139, 0147]);
an artificial intelligence application (e.g. one of Fig. 17: 406, 104, 122 or Fig. 21: 2002, 2010, 2030, 2050—animal harness, gateway, mobile device, server) in communication with the computing platform and configured to receive the health data and detect a health event (e.g. [0139, 0147]),
the artificial intelligence application including a second memory (e.g. one of Fig. 21: 2104, 2134, 2174, 2156) configured to store the health data and the health event; and
a user interface (e.g. Fig. 2: 222 & [0040]) in communication with the computing platform and the artificial intelligence application.
Maher fails to disclose, Wen but teaches weight tracker (e.g. [0048]) and sleep/activity tracker (e.g. [0014, 0077]) are stored (e.g. [0051]: patient data are stored).
Maher discloses a health monitoring system for animal of all species including humans (e.g. [0007]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Maher with the teachings of Wen to include weight, sleep and activity tracker to closely monitor health data of an animal so as to provide variety of health related data to aid veterinarian/caretaker in diagnosis and/or treatment for health related concerns.
Regarding claim 2, Maher discloses the monitoring device includes one of a mobile application, a smart collar, and a veterinary software (e.g. [0036]).
Regarding claim 3, Maher discloses the health modules include at least one of a pet profile module, a health check-up module, a health data module, a health event module, a respiratory rate tracker module, a monitoring device module, a user input module, a population data module, a data analyzation module, a communication module, and an artificial intelligence module (e.g. Fig. 21: 2012, 2003, 2112 & [0133, 0144]).
Regarding claim 4, Maher discloses the health monitoring system is configured for use by a user, and wherein the user is one or more of a veterinarian, a pet owner, a pet healthcare professional, an external or remote user or database, a software, the artificial intelligence application, and a large language model (e.g. [0122, 0126]).
Regarding claim 5, Maher discloses the health monitoring system is configured for use by a plurality of users, and wherein the plurality of users includes at least a veterinarian, a pet owner, and the artificial intelligence application (e.g. [0122, 0126]).
Regarding claim 6, Maher discloses a machine learning model (e.g. Fig. 21: 2176, 2036 & [0140]) is integral with the monitoring device ([0036]: application on a mobile device 122).
Regarding claim 7, Wen teaches the monitoring device includes a gyroscope that is configured to collect respiratory rate data (e.g. [0019, 0023, 0061]) and a controller that is configured to calculate a respiratory rate based on the respiratory rate data (e.g. [0048, 0049, 0068,]), the controller including a respiratory rate module configured to determine whether the respiratory rate data satisfies a predetermined validity criterion (e.g. [0009, 0010, 0028, 0078]: respiration detection algorithm is selected based on signal characteristic or patient condition, such as active or sleeping) before calculating the respiratory rate.
Regarding claim 9, Maher discloses the health check-up module may be configured to collect the health data pertaining to the health status of the pet at one of before a health check-up or according to a predetermined schedule (e.g. [0007: at-home monitoring or for return visits).
Regarding claim 11, Maher discloses at least one health module is configured to receive and analyze the health data and determine whether the health event has occurred (e.g. [0144]).
Regarding claim 12, Maher discloses the artificial intelligence application is configured to receive and analyze the health data and determine whether the health event has occurred (e.g. [0133, 0144]).
Regarding claim 13, Maher discloses the artificial intelligence application includes a video processor configured to process videos supplied by the user to the processor and an image processor configured to process images supplied by the user to the processor (e.g. [0132-0135]).
Regarding claim 14, Maher discloses the artificial intelligence application utilizes advanced image recognition algorithms to process and analyze the images and the videos supplied by the user (e.g. [0132-0135]: AI algorithm).
Regarding claim 15, Maher discloses the artificial intelligence application includes at least one machine learning model configured to continually receive the health data (e.g. [0098]: measured ECG data) and population data (e.g. [0098]: good or bad sample set).
Regarding claim 16, Maher discloses at least one health module and the artificial intelligence application is configured to compare the health data and population data to determine whether the health event has occurred (e.g. [0098]: compare the measured ECG with good/bad sample set).
Regarding claim 18, Maher discloses the health monitoring system is configured to periodically establish a pet baseline using the health data (e.g. [0007]: using at-home monitored data to establish baseline for return visits; implies, baseline is established again after visit; thus, periodically).
Regarding claim 20, Maher discloses a method for monitoring a health status of a pet (e.g. Abstract & [0102, 0154]), comprising:
providing a health monitoring system including: a monitoring device for monitoring a health status of the pet; a computing platform in communication with the monitoring device and having a processor and a first memory on which health modules including tangible, non-transitory, processor executable instructions are stored, the health modules configured to receive and interpret health data; an artificial intelligence application in communication with the computing platform and configured to receive the health data and detect a health event, the artificial intelligence application including a second memory configured to store the health data and the health event; and a user interface in communication with the computing platform and the artificial intelligence application (see rejection of claim 1);
securing the monitoring device to the pet (e.g. [0042]: secure animal harness onto the animal);
collecting respiratory rate data from the monitoring device (e.g. [0057, 0111]);
calculating, using a controller in communication with the monitoring device, a respiratory rate using the respiratory rate data (e.g. [0103]); and
displaying the respiratory rate on the user interface (e.g. [0039]).
Maher fails to disclose, but Wen teaches determining whether the respiratory rate data satisfies a predetermined validity criterion (e.g. [0009, 0010, 0028, 0078]: respiration detection algorithm is selected based on signal characteristic or patient condition, such as active or sleeping).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Maher with the teachings of Wen to determine whether respiratory rate data satisfies a predetermined validity criterion (e.g. whether patient is active or not) so as to accurately determine respiratory rate data based on patient’s condition.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maher et al. (US 2020/0359605 A1) in view of Wen et al. (US 2019/0223782 A1), and further in view of in view of Futch (US 2017/0132395 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Maher discloses the sleep/activity tracker module includes activity metric that is displayed on the user interface (e.g. [0141] health data relate to sleeping).
Maher fails to disclose, but Futch teaches a time-based activity metric that is displayed as a daily activity goal (e.g. Figs. 9-11 & [0002, 0017, 0100, 0113]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Maher with teachings of Futch to encourage incremental growth towards target by using activity trackers, since Futch teaches activity tracker is known in the art and popular of late in the art (e.g. [0002, 0097]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maher et al. (US 2020/0359605 A1) in view of Wen et al. (US 2019/0223782 A1), and further in view of in view of Somayajula et al. (US 2023/0404405 A1) and Ruiter et al. (US 2023/0394255 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Maher fails to disclose, but Somayajula teaches the health monitoring system is configured to provide 24 hour assistance (e.g. [0004, 0014, 0025, 0029, 0030]:continuously monitoring implies 24-hour assistance) using language model (e.g. [0025]: AI model).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teachings of Maher with the teachings of Somayajula to utilize AI model to monitor health of human and/or animal at home so as to provide instant emergency assistance when needed.
Ruiter is further cited to teach it is well-known in the art to utilize large language model AI System in a health monitoring system (e.g. [0061, 0073]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teachings of Maher and Somayajula with the teachings of Ruiter to utilizing large language model to improve accuracy and efficiency of a machine learning algorithm since it is merely simple substituting one known method with another (i.e. replacing AI System of Maher and Somayajula with AI system of Ruiter).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is allowed and claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAM WAN MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2688