Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 12,14 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parker (DE 202011050786). In regards to claim 1, Paker discloses a miter saw (fig. 9) comprising: a base assembly (21); a saw unit (10) pivotably coupled to the base assembly (via a bevel angle and miter angle); a fence assembly (51) coupled to the base assembly (21); and a handle assembly (60) coupled to the base assembly(21), wherein the handle assembly (60) includes a work stop (62) that is adjustable relative to the fence assembly (51) for positioning a work piece against the fence assembly (62 slides into and out of 61, and can engage the side of the workpiece).
In regards to claim 2, Paker discloses wherein the base assembly (21) includes a base having opposite side walls (left and right sides/walls), and wherein the handle assembly (60) is coupled to one of the side walls of the base (via rods 64; Fig. 9).
In regards to claim 3, Paker discloses wherein the handle assembly (60) is removable from the base assembly (via rods 64).
In regards to claim 4, Parker discloses wherein each of the base assembly (21) and the handle assembly (60) includes a work piece support surface (flat parallel surfaces), wherein the handle assembly (60) at least partially defines a guide track (slot for 62) positioned between the work piece support surfaces of the handle assembly (60) and the base assembly (21), and wherein the work stop (62) is slidable (vertically) within the guide track.
In regards to claim 5, Parker discloses wherein the handle assembly (60) further comprises a handle (60), and wherein the guide track (slot for 62) is defined at least partially by aligned slots in the handle (62 is C-shaped. The top and bottom of the C are aligned slots).
In regards to claim 7, Parker discloses a lock (63) positioned within the guide track to selectively lock the work stop (62) relative to the base assembly.
In regards to claim 8, Parker discloses wherein the work stop (62) includes a slot in which the lock is slidably received (that engages 63 see Fig. 11).
In regards to claim 9, Parker discloses, wherein the lock (63) is a wing screw.
In regards to claim 12, Parker discloses a miter saw comprising: a base assembly (21); a saw unit (30) pivotably coupled to the base assembly; a fence assembly (51) coupled to the base assembly; and a work stop (62) that is adjustable relative to the base assembly (21) and the fence assembly (51) for positioning a work piece against the fence assembly.
In regards to claim 14, Parker discloses wherein the work stop (62) is removable from the base assembly (via 64).
In regards to claim 18, Parker discloses a miter saw comprising: a base assembly (21); a saw unit (30) pivotably coupled to the base assembly (21) and including a first handle (301) that is graspable to facilitate transport and movement of the miter saw; a fence assembly (51) coupled to the base assembly (21); and a second handle (60) removably coupled to the base assembly.
In regards to claim 19, Parker discloses wherein the base assembly (21) includes a base having a side wall, the second handle (60) is coupled to the side wall.
In regards to claim 20, Parker discloses wherein the base assembly has a first work piece support surface (top surface), the second handle (60) has a second work piece support surface (top surface) that is substantially co-planar with the first work piece support surface.
.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roe (U.S. Publication 2006/0101971). In regards to claim 1, Roe discloses a miter saw (fig. 9) comprising: a base assembly (114); a saw unit (104) pivotably coupled to the base assembly (114); a fence assembly (218) coupled to the base assembly (114); and a handle assembly (to the left of slot 228; fig. 2) coupled to the base assembly, wherein the handle assembly includes a work stop (adjustable positioning member 224) that is adjustable relative to the fence assembly (218) for positioning a work piece (e.g. 230) against the fence assembly (218).
In regards to claim 2, Roe discloses wherein the base assembly (114) includes a base having opposite side walls (left and right sides/walls), and wherein the handle assembly (to the left of slot 228; fig. 2 ) is coupled to one of the side walls of the base (114).
In regards to claim 3, Roe discloses wherein the handle assembly (to the left of groove 228) is removable from the base assembly (via e.g. clamp screw 334).
In regards to claim 4, Roe discloses wherein each of the base assembly and the handle assembly includes a work piece support surface (216), wherein the handle assembly at least partially defines a guide track (slot 228) positioned between the work piece support surfaces of the handle assembly and the base assembly, and wherein the work stop (224) is slidable within the guide track.
In regards to claim 5, Roe discloses wherein the handle assembly further comprises a handle (area to the left of slot 228; fig. 2), and wherein the guide track (228) is defined at least partially by aligned slots in the handle.
In regards to claim 6, Roe discloses wherein the base assembly includes a base having opposite side walls, wherein the handle assembly is coupled to one of the side walls, and wherein the guide track (228) is also defined by the side wall to which the handle assembly is coupled (slot 228 is in between the base assembly and the handle).
In regards to claim 7, Roe discloses a lock (removable clamp) positioned within the guide track to selectively lock the work stop (224) relative to the base assembly.
In regards to claim 8, Roe discloses wherein the work stop includes a slot (hole) in which the lock (343) is slidably received.
In regards to claim 9, Roe discloses, wherein the lock is a wing screw (343).
In regards to claim 10, Roe discloses wherein the workstop (224) includes a rail having a top surface (see dashed lines of 224 in Figure 2) that is substantially co-planar with the work piece support surfaces (216) of the handle assembly and the base assembly, respectively, when the rail (dashed lines of 224) is received within the guide track (228).
In regards to claim 11, Roe discloses wherein the fence assembly (218) is oriented perpendicular to the work piece support surfaces of the base assembly (216) and handle assembly, respectively, wherein the work stop (224) includes a face oriented parallel to the fence assembly, and wherein a work piece (e.g. 230) is positioned between the fence assembly and the face of the work stop in preparation for a cutting operation.
In regards to claim 12, Roe discloses a miter saw comprising: a base assembly (216); a saw unit (208) pivotably coupled to the base assembly; a fence assembly (218) coupled to the base assembly; and a work stop (224) that is adjustable relative to the base assembly and the fence assembly for positioning a work piece against the fence assembly.
In regards to claim 13, Roe discloses wherein the work stop(224) includes a face oriented parallel to the fence assembly, and wherein a work piece is positioned between the fence assembly and the face of the work stop in preparation for a cutting operation.
In regards to claim 14, Roe discloses wherein the work stop (224) is removable from the base assembly.
In regards to claim 15, Roe discloses wherein the base assembly at least partially defines a groove (228) in which the work stop is positionable.
In regards to claim 16, Roe discloses wherein the base assembly (214) includes a base having a work piece support surface (216), the work stop (224) includes a rail (dashed lines of 224; fig. 2) having a top surface that is substantially co-planar with the work piece support surface (216) of the base assembly.
In regards to claim 17, Roe discloses wherein the workstop (224) is coupled to a handle (left side of the groove 228) coupled to a side of the base assembly, the handle at least partially defining the groove (228).
In regards to claim 18, Roe discloses a miter saw comprising: a base assembly (214); a saw unit (204) pivotably coupled to the base assembly and including a first handle (near blade and motor; fig. 2) that is graspable to facilitate transport and movement of the miter saw; a fence assembly (218) coupled to the base assembly; and a second handle (to the left of groove 228) removably coupled to the base assembly (214).
In regards to claim 19, Roe discloses wherein the base assembly (214) includes a base having a side wall, the second handle (to the left of groove 228) is coupled to the side wall.
In regards to claim 20, Roe discloses wherein the base assembly has a first work piece support surface (216), the second handle (to the left of 228) has a second work piece support surface (top surface) that is substantially co-planar with the first work piece support surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/LAURA M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724