DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a web” and “an arm”, along with all associated claimed features for these limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 21, “the firing beam comprises: a web; . . . and an arm mounted to the firing beam, wherein the arm is movable with the firing beam during the staple firing motion and is selectively movable into the cavity” fails to comply with the written description requirement because the originally filed disclosure does not support these limitations. The specification, drawings, and originally filed claims do not describe a web or an arm performing the functions listed in the claim.
Regarding claims 22-26 and 29, these claims fail to comply with the written description requirement because the originally filed disclosure does not support the limitations in these claims. For example, the specification, drawings, and originally filed claims do not describe the arm is selectively pivotable into the cavity, as claimed in claim 22, or that the arm is pivotable about a fixed point, as claimed in claim 23.
Regarding claim 30, “the actuator comprises: . . . an arm mounted to the actuator, wherein the arm is movable with the actuator during the staple firing motion, and wherein at least a portion of the arm is selectively movable into the cavity” fails to comply with the written description requirement because the originally filed disclosure does not support these limitations. The specification, drawings, and originally filed claims do not describe a web or an arm performing the functions listed in the claim.
Regarding claims 31-35, these claims fail to comply with the written description requirement because the originally filed disclosure does not support the limitations in these claims. For example, the specification, drawings, and originally filed claims do not describe at least a portion of the arm is selectively movable about a pivot, as claimed in claim 31, or that the pivot is a fixed pivot, as claimed in claim 32.
Regarding claim 21, “the firing beam comprises: a web; . . . and an arm mounted to the firing beam, wherein the arm is movable longitudinally with the firing beam during the staple firing motion, and wherein at least a portion of the arm is selectively rotatable into the cavity” fails to comply with the written description requirement because the originally filed disclosure does not support these limitations. The specification, drawings, and originally filed claims do not describe a web or an arm performing the functions listed in the claim.
Regarding claims 37-39, these claims fail to comply with the written description requirement because the originally filed disclosure does not support the limitations in these claims. For example, the specification, drawings, and originally filed claims do not describe at least a portion of the arm is selectively pivotable about a pivot, as claimed in claim 37, or that the pivot is a fixed pivot, as claimed in claim 38.
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is indefinite because it is unclear if the arm is a component of the firing beam or a separate component from the firing beam. Based on the way in which the claim is structured (the claim includes “wherein the firing beam comprises. . .” and an indented list of elements of the firing beam), the claim is written as though the arm is a component of the firing beam. However, the description of the arm includes “the arm is movable with the firing beam”, indicating that the arm is a separate element and not part of the entire firing beam system. For examination purposes, the arm is being treated as a separate element from the firing beam, but is capable of moving with the firing beam.
Regarding claims 22-29, claims 22-29 are rejected because they depend from rejected claim 21.
Regarding claim 30, claim 30 is indefinite because it is unclear if the arm is a component of the actuator or a separate component from the actuator. Based on the way in which the claim is structured (the claim includes “wherein the actuator comprises. . .” and an indented list of elements of the actuator), the claim is written as though the arm is a component of the actuator. However, the description of the arm includes “the arm is movable with the actuator”, indicating that the arm is a separate element and not part of the entire actuator system. For examination purposes, the arm is being treated as a separate element from the actuator, but is capable of moving with the actuator.
Regarding claims 31-35, claims 31-35 are rejected because they depend from rejected claim 30.
Regarding claim 36, claim 36 is indefinite because it is unclear if the arm is a component of the firing beam or a separate component from the firing beam. Based on the way in which the claim is structured (the claim includes “wherein the firing beam comprises. . .” and an indented list of elements of the firing beam), the claim is written as though the arm is a component of the firing beam. However, the description of the arm includes “the arm is movable with the firing beam”, indicating that the arm is a separate element and not part of the entire firing beam system. For examination purposes, the arm is being treated as a separate element from the firing beam, but is capable of moving with the firing beam.
Regarding claims 37-40, claims 37-40 are rejected because they depend from rejected claim 36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 21-28, 30-34, and 36-40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Ortiz et al (US 2007/0102475), hereinafter Ortiz.
Regarding claim 21, Ortiz discloses a surgical tool (Fig. 1, item 10), comprising:
an end effector (Fig. 2, item 20) movable between an open configuration (Para. 0032) and a closed configuration (Para. 0032), wherein the end effector comprises:
an elongate channel (Fig. 2, item 40), wherein a cavity (Fig. 4, cavity is interior of channel 40) is defined in the elongate channel; and
an anvil (Fig. 2, item 42);
a firing beam (Fig. 4, item 226, 66, 170, 165, 166, 172, 176) movable through the end effector during a staple firing motion (Para. 0044-0049, staple firing motion can be when sled is properly placed in the cartridge or when the sled is not located in the cartridge), wherein the firing beam comprises:
a web (Fig. 11, item 165);
a first cam (Fig. 11, item 170) extending from the web, wherein the first cam is positioned (Fig. 11) and structured to engage the elongate channel (Para. 0040);
a second cam (Fig. 11, item 166) extending from the web, wherein the second cam is positioned (Fig. 11) and structured to engage the anvil (Para. 0040); and
an arm (Fig. 8, item 226) mounted to the firing beam (Fig. 8, lockout 226 is mounted to firing beam because it is attached to the firing beam), wherein the arm is movable with the firing beam during the staple firing motion (Para. 0044-0049, lockout 226 moves as firing beam tries to moves in staple firing motion if the sled is not properly located in cartridge) and is selectively movable into the cavity (Para. 0044-0049).
Regarding claim 22, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 21, wherein the arm is selectively pivotable into the cavity (Para. 0044).
Regarding claim 23, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 22, wherein the arm is pivotable about a fixed pivot (Fig. 8, item 232) (Para. 0044).
Regarding claim 24, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 21, wherein the arm comprises a distal-facing surface (Fig. 8, item 228, 238) positionable to engage the cavity (Para. 0045).
Regarding claim 25, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 24, wherein the cavity comprises an end wall (Fig. 8, item 40) (Para. 0045) positioned to exert a force (Para. 0045) on the distal-facing surface (Para. 0045) when the arm is positioned in the cavity (Para. 0045) and the firing beam is being advanced distally (Para. 0045).
Regarding claim 26, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 24, wherein the arm comprises a first arm (Fig. 8, item 238), wherein the firing beam further comprises a second arm (Fig. 4, item 68), and wherein the first arm and the second arm are movable independently (Para. 0044-0049, firing beam 66, 68 can slide longitudinally when lockout 226 is disengaged from firing beam).
Regarding claim 27, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 21, wherein the firing beam further comprises a knife (Fig. 8, item 176).
Regarding claim 28, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 21, wherein the firing beam further comprises a distal wedge (Fig. 4, item 180).
Regarding claim 30, Ortiz discloses a surgical tool (Fig. 1, item 10), comprising:
an end effector (Fig. 2, item 20) movable between an open configuration (Para. 0032) and a closed configuration (Para. 0032), wherein the end effector comprises:
a first jaw (Fig. 2, item 40), wherein a cavity (Fig. 4, cavity is interior of channel 40); and
a second jaw (Fig. 2, item 42);
an actuator (Fig. 4, item 226, 66, 170, 165, 166, 172, 176) movable through the end effector during a staple firing motion (Para. 0044-0049, staple firing motion can be when sled is properly placed in the cartridge or when the sled is not located in the cartridge), wherein the actuator comprises:
a body (Fig. 11, item 165);
a first cam (Fig. 11, item 170) extending from the body (Fig. 11), wherein the first cam is positioned (Fig. 11) and structured to engage the first jaw (Para. 0040);
a second cam (Fig. 11, item 166) extending from the body (Fig. 11), wherein the second cam is positioned (Fig. 11) and structured to engage the second jaw (Para. 0040); and
an arm (Fig. 8, item 226) movably mounted to the actuator (Fig. 8, lockout 226 is mounted to firing beam because it is attached to the firing beam), wherein the arm is movable with the actuator during the staple firing motion (Para. 0044-0049, lockout 226 moves as firing beam tries to moves in staple firing motion if the sled is not properly located in cartridge), and wherein at least a portion of the arm is selectively movable into the cavity (Para. 0044-0049).
Regarding claim 31, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 30, wherein at least the portion of the arm is selectively movable relative to the actuator about a pivot (Fig. 8, item 232) (Para. 0044).
Regarding claim 32, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 31, wherein the pivot comprises a fixed pivot (Fig. 8, item 232) (Para. 0044).
Regarding claim 33, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 30, wherein the arm comprises a distal-facing surface (Fig. 8, item 228, 238) positionable to engage the cavity (Para. 0045), and wherein the body further comprises a distal-facing knife edge (Fig. 8, item 176).
Regarding claim 34, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 33, wherein the cavity comprises an end wall (Fig. 8, item 40) (Para. 0045) positioned to exert a force (Para. 0045) on the distal-facing surface (Para. 0045) when at least the portion of the arm is positioned in the cavity (Para. 0045) and the actuator is being advanced distally (Para. 0045).
Regarding claim 36, Ortiz discloses a surgical tool (Fig. 1, item 10), comprising:
an end effector (Fig. 2, item 20) movable between an open configuration (Para. 0032) and a closed configuration (Para. 0032), wherein the end effector comprises:
an elongate channel (Fig. 2, item 40), wherein a cavity (Fig. 4, cavity is interior of channel 40) is defined in the elongate channel; and
an anvil (Fig. 2, item 42);
a firing beam (Fig. 4, item 226, 66, 170, 165, 166, 172, 176) movable through the end effector during a staple firing motion (Para. 0044-0049, staple firing motion can be when sled is properly placed in the cartridge or when the sled is not located in the cartridge), wherein the firing beam comprises:
a web (Fig. 11, item 165);
a first cam (Fig. 11, item 170) extending from the web, wherein the first cam is positioned (Fig. 11) and structured to engage the elongate channel (Para. 0040);
a second cam (Fig. 11, item 166) extending from the web, wherein the second cam is positioned (Fig. 11) and structured to engage the anvil (Para. 0040); and
an arm (Fig. 8, item 226) mounted to the firing beam (Fig. 8, lockout 226 is mounted to firing beam because it is attached to the firing beam), wherein the arm is movable longitudinally with the firing beam during the staple firing motion (Para. 0044-0049, lockout 226 moves as firing beam tries to moves in staple firing motion if the sled is not properly located in cartridge), and wherein at least a portion of the arm is selectively rotatable into the cavity (Para. 0044-0049).
Regarding claim 37, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 36, wherein the arm is selectively pivotable relative to the firing beam about a pivot (Fig. 8, item 232) (Para. 0044).
Regarding claim 38, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 37, wherein the pivot comprises a fixed pivot (Fig. 8, item 232) (Para. 0044).
Regarding claim 39, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 36, wherein the cavity comprises an end wall (Fig. 8, item 40) (Para. 0045), and wherein the end wall exerts a force (Para. 0045) on the arm when at least the portion of the arm is positioned in the cavity (Para. 0045) and the firing beam is being advanced distally (Para. 0045).
Regarding claim 40, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 37, wherein the firing beam further comprises a knife (Fig. 8, item 176).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 29 and 35 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ortiz in view of Shelton et al (US 2008/0308603), hereinafter Shelton.
Regarding claim 29, Ortiz is silent about the surgical tool of claim 21, wherein the firing beam further defines an internally-threaded longitudinal bore.
However, Shelton teaches a firing beam further defines an internally-threaded longitudinal bore (Shelton, Para. 0206).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made having the teachings of Ortiz and Shelton to modify the surgical tool of Ortiz to include the internally-threaded bore of Shelton. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to effectively and efficiently pivot the anvil to a closed position (Shelton, Para. 0206).
Regarding claim 35, Ortiz discloses the surgical tool of claim 31, wherein the actuator further comprises a distal wedge (Fig. 4, item 180).
Ortiz is silent about the actuator comprises an internally-threaded longitudinal bore.
However, Shelton teaches a firing beam further defines an internally-threaded longitudinal bore (Shelton, Para. 0206).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made having the teachings of Ortiz and Shelton to modify the surgical tool of Ortiz to include the internally-threaded bore of Shelton. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to effectively and efficiently pivot the anvil to a closed position (Shelton, Para. 0206).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Regarding Applicant’s argument that the specification supports the limitations of “web”, “arm”, and other limitations stated above in the 35 USC 112(a) rejection above, Examiner disagrees. Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that “web” would be understood to be “upstanding support portion” and “arm” would be understood to be “drivers”. If Applicant wishes Examiner to interpreted “web” to be Examiner recommends amending the claims to include the language disclosed in the specification. Although the exact language need not be disclosed in the specification to satisfy the written description requirement, “each claim limitation must be expressly, implicitly, or inherently supported in the originally filed disclosure.” MPEP 2163(II)(A). The claimed limitations “a web”, “an arm”, and the other limitations noted above are not expressly, implicitly, or inherently supported in the specification. Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Ortiz fails to teach an arm which moves with the firing beam as claimed, Examiner disagrees. Lockout 226 of Ortiz moves and is able to move as the firing beam tries to move when the sled is not properly located in the cartridge (see Para. 0044-0049 of Ortiz). See above 35 USC 102 rejection. Examiner recommends incorporating further description into the claims to clarify the movement of the arm with the firing beam. Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731