DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 45-50 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Independent claim 1 recites the uniquely distinct features for: “A method comprising: receiving a user selection of a primary content asset for output on a first device, wherein the primary content asset is of a first content type; identifying, based on a first attribute of the primary content asset, a supplemental content asset having a second attribute that matches the first attribute, wherein the supplement content asset is of a second content type, different from the first content type; determining that a first output setting of the first device restricts output of content matching the second content type and that a second output setting of the second device does not restrict output of content matching the second content type; and based on determining the first setting and the second setting, causing output of the supplemental content asset on the second device.” The closest prior art in Ellis et al. (US 2005/0028208 A1) teaches a local interactive television program guide is implemented on interactive television program guide equipment. The interactive television program guide equipment is connected to one or more remote program guide access devices over a remote access link. A remote access interactive television program guide is implemented on the remote program guide access device. The remote program guide and remote program guide access devices provide users with the opportunity to remotely access features of the interactive television program guide on the interactive television program guide equipment and to remotely set program guide settings. Any suitable interactive television program guide function or setting may be accessed. The remote access program guide may, for example, provide the user with an opportunity to remotely schedule a reminder for a program, remotely view television program listings, remotely select programming for recordings (storage), remotely play a stored program or a currently broadcasted program on the remote program guide access device, remotely set and navigate through favorites (e.g., favorite channels, program categories, services, etc.), and remotely set parental control settings. The remote program guide access device may also provide the user with an opportunity to remotely perform additional functions such as sending and playing or displaying messages with the interactive television program guide, polling the interactive program guide for status information, and storing interactive television program guide data at the remote program guide access device, Krolczyk et al. (US 2012/0102431 A1) teaches a digital image display device 10. In a preferred embodiment, the digital image display device 10 is a digital media frame (i.e., a digital picture frame or a digital photo frame). However, in other embodiments, the digital image display device 10 can be any device having the ability to display digital media assets on a soft-copy display. Digital media assets would include both digital still images and digital video images. Examples of other types of digital image display devices 10 that can be used in accordance with the present invention would include tablet computers, personal computers, hand-held electronic devices (e.g., smart phones, PDAs or digital media players) and digital televisions. FIG. 2A depicts an embodiment of a front view of the digital image display device 10, and FIG. 2B depicts an embodiment of a rear view of the digital image display device 10. The digital image display device 10 includes a frame surround 52 which can be removed by moving the sliders 54 and replacing the frame surround 52 with a different frame surround, which may have a different color, finish, etc. The digital image display device 10 allows a user to display digital media assets with minimal user intervention. The digital media assets to be displayed typically includes digital still images captured with a digital camera. The digital media assets to be displayed can also include video clips, graphic images, text, and animations. The digital media assets can also include audio information, which can include music, speech, and sound effects. Referring to FIG. 1, a central processor 20 in the digital image display device 10 provides the overall control of the digital image display device 10. The central processor 20 is coupled to a user input interfaces block 30, which enables a user of the digital image display device 10 to select operating modes and images to be displayed. The central processor 20 is also coupled to a media interface block 32, and a network interface block 34, which are used to provide digital media assets to the digital image display device 10. The central processor 20 is also coupled to a non-volatile storage block 22 via an interface, which provides a processor-accessible program memory that stores executable instructions that are used to control the operation of the central processor 20. Non-volatile storage block 22 can also serve as a processor-accessible image memory for storing a collection of digital media assets, Guday et al. (US 2009/0002178 A1) teaches a system 100 is illustrated for dynamic mood sensing. The system 100 includes a user component 110 that processes data from a data store 120. Such data can be gleaned and analyzed from a single source or across multiple data sources, where such sources can be local or remote data stores or databases. The user component 1 10 can be files or data structures that maintain states about the user and can be employed to determine future states. These can be past action files for instance that store what a user has done in the past and can be used by intelligent components such as classifiers to predict future actions. A sensing component 130 is associated with a user (or group of users) and is employed to detect some biological aspect of the user. This can be biometric devices, temperature sensors, electronic sensors, perspiration detectors, facial recognizers, acoustic sensors, or applications that monitor user activities such as a key stroke monitor on a key board. Upon sensing one or more biological aspects from the user, a mood component 140 is employed to detect a present state of the user in view of the feedback received from the sensing component 130. For example, if rapid eye twitches were detected along with a raised voice, the mood component 140 may determine the user is agitated. Based on the detected mood at 130, one or more controls 150 can be dynamically adjusted in view of the detected mood. For instance, the controls 120 may be associated with some type of user interface that is adjusted based on a detected or present mood. The system 100 can be employed as a mood sensing system that allows emotions and other feelings to be dynamically detected at 140 and later employed as a form of communications to other humans or machines via the controls 120. User contexts can be sensed such as how fast they are working, how easily they are distracted, how their voices have raised, the type of words that are chosen and so forth, where the sensing component 130 and the mood component 140 determines a mood or range of emotions based on the determined context. The mood component 140 can be employed to drive one or more controls 120 such as dynamically controlled mood ring that provides an indication of one's emotions at a given time. More sophisticated controls 120 can employ the moods detected to alter user interfaces, adjust output controls to softer or louder depending on mood, control different music selections, change backgrounds, change lighting, change music selections, or provide coaching tips to cause a change in moods, however, either singular or in combination, fails to anticipate or render the above underlined limitations obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 31, 32, 34, 36, 38, 39, 41 and 43 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Ellis et al. (US 2005/0028208 A1)(hereinafter Ellis).
Re claim 31, Ellis discloses a method for adjusting an environmental setting comprising: receiving a user selection of a primary content asset for output on a first device (see ¶ 23 for receiving a user selection of a primary content asset for output on a first device (i.e. the user controls the operation of user television equipment 22 with user interface 46, user interface 46 may be a pointing device, wireless remote control, keyboard, touch-pad, voice recognition system, or any other suitable user input device, to watch television, the user instructs control circuitry 42 to display a desired television channel on display device 45, display device 45 may be a television, monitor, or other suitable display device, to access the features of the program guide, the user instructs the program guide implemented on interactive television program guide equipment 17 to generate a main menu or other desired program guide display screen for display on display device 45 as described in fig. 4 paragraph 89)); based on an attribute of the primary content asset, determining a setting for a second device that is located in a same content consumption environment as the first device, wherein the setting corresponds to an output of the second device (see ¶ 25 for based on an attribute of the primary content asset, determining a setting for a second device that is located in a same content consumption environment as the first device, wherein the setting corresponds to an output of the second device (i.e. a parent may adjust parental control settings using the program guide in the parents' room and the system may apply those settings to all program guides in the household, parents may use the parental control feature to control the viewing of their children even though the children may be viewing television using multiple user television equipment devices, for example, parents may establish parental controls to lock various programs and services from a master location and the system will apply these parental controls to the various pieces of user television equipment throughout the household, the ability to establish favorite channels, to set reminders, and to control other program guide settings at one location and to have those settings applied to multiple locations throughout the household may be used by both the parents and their children)); and in response to causing output of the primary content asset by the first device, modifying the output of the second device based on the determined setting (see ¶ 25 for in response to causing output of the primary content asset by the first device, modifying the output of the second device based on the determined setting (i.e. a parent may adjust parental control settings using the program guide in the parents' room and the system may apply those settings to all program guides in the household, parents may use the parental control feature to control the viewing of their children even though the children may be viewing television using multiple user television equipment devices, for example, parents may establish parental controls to lock various programs and services from a master location and the system will apply these parental controls to the various pieces of user television equipment throughout the household, the ability to establish favorite channels, to set reminders, and to control other program guide settings at one location and to have those settings applied to multiple locations throughout the household may be used by both the parents and their children))
Re claim 32, Ellis as discussed in claim 31 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature wherein the attribute of the primary content asset is at least one of an acoustic feature or a visual feature of the primary content asset, and wherein determining the setting for the second device (see ¶ 25 for the attribute of the primary content asset is at least one of an acoustic feature or a visual feature of the primary content asset, and wherein determining the setting for the second device (i.e. typical program guide features that may be provided by the program guides of this invention implemented on the user television equipment include features related to setting program reminders, profiles, program recording features, messaging features, favorites features, parental control features, program guide set up features (e.g., video display settings, language settings, etc.), and other suitable program guide features, the system coordinates operation of the program guides so that, for example, a user may adjust his favorite channel settings on a program guide operating in the living room and those settings will be effective on the program guide operating in the master bedroom and may therefore be used by that program guide as described in paragraph 24). Also, see paragraphs 26-28) comprises: determining a desired environmental condition corresponding to the at least one acoustic feature and a visual feature of the primary content asset (see ¶s 26-28 for determining a desired environmental condition corresponding to the at least one acoustic feature and a visual feature of the primary content asset (i.e. typical program guide features that may be provided by the program guides of this invention implemented on the user television equipment include features related to setting program reminders, profiles, program recording features, messaging features, favorites features, parental control features, program guide set up features (e.g., video display settings, language settings, etc.), and other suitable program guide features, the system coordinates operation of the program guides so that, for example, a user may adjust his favorite channel settings on a program guide operating in the living room and those settings will be effective on the program guide operating in the master bedroom and may therefore be used by that program guide as described in paragraph 24, furthermore, a parent may adjust parental control settings using the program guide in the parents' room and the system may apply those settings to all program guides in the household, parents may use the parental control feature to control the viewing of their children even though the children may be viewing television using multiple user television equipment devices, for example, parents may establish parental controls to lock various programs and services from a master location and the system will apply these parental controls to the various pieces of user television equipment throughout the household, the ability to establish favorite channels, to set reminders, and to control other program guide settings at one location and to have those settings applied to multiple locations throughout the household may be used by both the parents and their children as described in paragraph 25)); and selecting the setting for the second device based on the desired environmental condition (see ¶ 24 for selecting the setting for the second device based on the desired environmental condition (i.e. a parent may adjust parental control settings using the program guide in the parents' room and the system may apply those settings to all program guides in the household, parents may use the parental control feature to control the viewing of their children even though the children may be viewing television using multiple user television equipment devices, for example, parents may establish parental controls to lock various programs and services from a master location and the system will apply these parental controls to the various pieces of user television equipment throughout the household, the ability to establish favorite channels, to set reminders, and to control other program guide settings at one location and to have those settings applied to multiple locations throughout the household may be used by both the parents and their children as described in paragraph 25, furthermore, a user may adjust his favorite settings on a program guide in the family room and may direct the system to apply those settings to the program guides in the family room and the living room, a child may set reminders for certain programs using the program guide in the family room and may direct the system to apply those settings only to the program guide running in that child's bedroom, a user may select a program for recording using a program guide in the living room and may request that the videocassette recorder in the family room be used to record the selected program, a user may receive messages from a cable system operator and may direct the system to make certain types of those messages available to the program guide located in all rooms but the children's room, a user may adjust language or audio settings using one program guide and have those settings apply globally as described in paragraph 26). Also, see paragraphs 27-28)
Re claim 34, Ellis as discussed in claim 31 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature wherein the attribute of the primary content asset is a first attribute and wherein the setting of the second device is a first setting (see ¶ 24 for the attribute of the primary content asset is a first attribute and wherein the setting of the second device is a first setting (i.e. a parent may adjust parental control settings using the program guide in the parents' room and the system may apply those settings to all program guides in the household, parents may use the parental control feature to control the viewing of their children even though the children may be viewing television using multiple user television equipment devices, for example, parents may establish parental controls to lock various programs and services from a master location and the system will apply these parental controls to the various pieces of user television equipment throughout the household, the ability to establish favorite channels, to set reminders, and to control other program guide settings at one location and to have those settings applied to multiple locations throughout the household may be used by both the parents and their children as described in paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 26-28), further comprising: determining, subsequent to modifying the output of the second device, a second attribute of the primary content asset (see ¶ 24 for determining, subsequent to modifying the output of the second device, a second attribute of the primary content asset (i.e. a parent may adjust parental control settings using the program guide in the parents' room and the system may apply those settings to all program guides in the household, parents may use the parental control feature to control the viewing of their children even though the children may be viewing television using multiple user television equipment devices, for example, parents may establish parental controls to lock various programs and services from a master location and the system will apply these parental controls to the various pieces of user television equipment throughout the household, the ability to establish favorite channels, to set reminders, and to control other program guide settings at one location and to have those settings applied to multiple locations throughout the household may be used by both the parents and their children as described in paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 26-28); based on determining the second attribute of the primary content asset, determining a second setting for the second device (see ¶ 24 for based on determining the second attribute of the primary content asset, determining a second setting for the second device (i.e. a parent may adjust parental control settings using the program guide in the parents' room and the system may apply those settings to all program guides in the household, parents may use the parental control feature to control the viewing of their children even though the children may be viewing television using multiple user television equipment devices, for example, parents may establish parental controls to lock various programs and services from a master location and the system will apply these parental controls to the various pieces of user television equipment throughout the household, the ability to establish favorite channels, to set reminders, and to control other program guide settings at one location and to have those settings applied to multiple locations throughout the household may be used by both the parents and their children as described in paragraph 25). Also, see paragraphs 26-28); and modifying the output of the second device based on the second setting (see ¶ 24 for modifying the output of the second device based on the second setting (i.e. a parent may adjust parental control settings using the program guide in the parents' room and the system may apply those settings to all program guides in the household, parents may use the parental control feature to control the viewing of their children even though the children may be viewing television using multiple user television equipment devices, for example, parents may establish parental controls to lock various programs and services from a master location and the system will apply these parental controls to the various pieces of user television equipment throughout the household, the ability to establish favorite channels, to set reminders, and to control other program guide settings at one location and to have those settings applied to multiple locations throughout the household may be used by both the parents and their children as described in paragraph 25, furthermore, a user may adjust his favorite settings on a program guide in the family room and may direct the system to apply those settings to the program guides in the family room and the living room, a child may set reminders for certain programs using the program guide in the family room and may direct the system to apply those settings only to the program guide running in that child's bedroom, a user may select a program for recording using a program guide in the living room and may request that the videocassette recorder in the family room be used to record the selected program, a user may receive messages from a cable system operator and may direct the system to make certain types of those messages available to the program guide located in all rooms but the children's room, a user may adjust language or audio settings using one program guide and have those settings apply globally as described in paragraph 26). Also, see paragraphs 27-28)
Re claim 36, Ellis as discussed in claim 31 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature wherein the second device comprises a speaker (see ¶ 92 for the second device comprises a speaker (i.e. speaker)), and wherein the setting of the second device is at least one of a sound output and a volume output (see ¶ 142 for the setting of the second device is at least one of a sound output and a volume output (i.e. device capable of producing sounds as described in paragraph 143). It should be noted that the sounds include the volume output)
Re claim 38, Ellis discloses a system for adjusting an environmental setting comprising control circuitry configured to (i.e. control circuity 42 as shown in fig. 4 paragraph 88): receive a user selection of a primary content asset for output on a first device (see ¶ 23 for receive a user selection of a primary content asset for output on a first device (i.e. the user controls the operation of user television equipment 22 with user interface 46, user interface 46 may be a pointing device, wireless remote control, keyboard, touch-pad, voice recognition system, or any other suitable user input device, to watch television, the user instructs control circuitry 42 to display a desired television channel on display device 45, display device 45 may be a television, monitor, or other suitable display device, to access the features of the program guide, the user instructs the program guide implemented on interactive television program guide equipment 17 to generate a main menu or other desired program guide display screen for display on display device 45 as described in fig. 4 paragraph 89)); based on an attribute of the primary content asset, determine a setting for a second device that is located in a same content consumption environment as the first device, wherein the setting corresponds to an output of the second device (see ¶ 25 for based on an attribute of the primary content asset, determine a setting for a second device that is located in a same content consumption environment as the first device, wherein the setting corresponds to an output of the second device (i.e. a parent may adjust parental control settings using the program guide in the parents' room and the system may apply those settings to all program guides in the household, parents may use the parental control feature to control the viewing of their children even though the children may be viewing television using multiple user television equipment devices, for example, parents may establish parental controls to lock various programs and services from a master location and the system will apply these parental controls to the various pieces of user television equipment throughout the household, the ability to establish favorite channels, to set reminders, and to control other program guide settings at one location and to have those settings applied to multiple locations throughout the household may be used by both the parents and their children)); and in response to causing output of the primary content asset by the first device, modify the output of the second device based on the determined setting (see ¶ 25 for in response to causing output of the primary content asset by the first device, modify the output of the second device based on the determined setting (i.e. a parent may adjust parental control settings using the program guide in the parents' room and the system may apply those settings to all program guides in the household, parents may use the parental control feature to control the viewing of their children even though the children may be viewing television using multiple user television equipment devices, for example, parents may establish parental controls to lock various programs and services from a master location and the system will apply these parental controls to the various pieces of user television equipment throughout the household, the ability to establish favorite channels, to set reminders, and to control other program guide settings at one location and to have those settings applied to multiple locations throughout the household may be used by both the parents and their children))
Re claim 39, Ellis as discussed in claims 32 and 38 above discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 39.
Re claim 41, Ellis as discussed in claims 34 and 38 above discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 41.
Re claim 43, Ellis as discussed in claim 36 above discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 43.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 33 and 40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ellis et al. (US 2005/0028208 A1)(hereinafter Ellis) as applied to claims 31, 32, 34, 36, 38, 39, 41 and 43 above, and further in view of Krolczyk et al. (US 2012/0102431 A1)(hereinafter Krolczyk).
Re claim 33, Ellis as discussed in claim 31 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein the attribute of the primary content asset is a mood of the primary content asset. However, the reference of Krolczyk explicitly teaches wherein the attribute of the primary content asset is a mood of the primary content asset (see ¶ 116 for the attribute of the primary content asset is a mood of the primary content asset (i.e. another exemplary criterion for identifying and displaying appropriate digital media assets and additional content is an individual's mood as described in paragraph 115))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of Ellis and Krolczyk as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to incorporate this feature (mood) into the system of Ellis at the time the invention was made as taught by Krolczyk.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of Ellis as taught by Krolczyk for the benefit of implementing criterion for identifying and displaying appropriate digital media assets and additional content is an individual's mood, wherein the mood of an individual (either the owner or user of the digital image display device 10 or some other selected individual) may be input directly by the user, or it can determined by an appropriate query to the individual's social network web page (for example, the individual's Facebook page), then digital media assets can be selected and displayed that have a general color that reflects the individual's mood, wherein if the individual's mood is "angry," then images that are generally red can be displayed, wherein if the individual's mood is "glum," then images that are generally blue can be displayed, and if the individual's mood is "happy," then images that are generally yellow may be displayed, alternatively, in the case of an individual's mood being "angry" or "glum," images may be selected and displayed that are intended to provide an uplifting effect on the individual's mood (e.g., images that have a generally yellow color or images of puppies, kittens, and bunnies) in order to have a user friendly interaction (see ¶ 115)
Re claim 40, the combination of Ellis and Krolczyk as discussed in claim 33 above discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 40.
Claims 35, 37, 42 and 44 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ellis et al. (US 2005/0028208 A1)(hereinafter Ellis) as applied to claims 31, 32, 34, 36, 38, 39, 41 and 43 above, and further in view of Guday et al. (US 2009/0002178 A1)(hereinafter Guday).
Re claim 35, Ellis as discussed in claim 31 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein the second device comprises a light, and wherein the setting of the second device is at least one of a brightness of the light and a color of the light. However, the reference of Guday explicitly teaches wherein the second device comprises a light, and wherein the setting of the second device is at least one of a brightness of the light and a color of the light (see ¶ 26 for the second device comprises a light, and wherein the setting of the second device is at least one of a brightness of the light and a color of the light (i.e. if acoustics were monitored for a group and the lighting of a room were adjusted for the mood of the group (e.g., laughter detected brighten the lighting, hushed tones dim the lighting, etc.) as described in fig. 3 paragraph 30). Also, see fig. 7 paragraph 45)
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of Ellis and Guday as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to incorporate this feature (a brightness of the light and a color of the light) into the system of Ellis at the time the invention was made as taught by Guday.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of Ellis as taught by Guday for the benefit of monitoring one or more sensors as individual inputs or collectively analyzing a group of inputs to make a determination about a given user's mood, wherein it should be noted that the mood sensing input components 300 can be applied to individuals or groups, for example, if acoustics were monitored for a group and the lighting of a room were adjusted for the mood of the group (e.g., laughter detected brighten the lighting, hushed tones dim the lighting, etc.), wherein centralized systems can receive mood inputs from a plurality of users over wireless links to adjust mood conditions or interfaces for groups in order to improve efficiency when adjusting the lighting of a room for the mood of the group (e.g., laughter detected brighten the lighting, hushed tones dim the lighting, etc.) (see fig. 3 ¶ 30)
Re claim 37, Ellis as discussed in claim 31 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach further comprising modifying an appearance of a graphical user interface of the first device based on the attribute of the primary content asset. However, the reference of Guday explicitly teaches further comprising modifying an appearance of a graphical user interface of the first device based on the attribute of the primary content asset (see ¶ 28 for modifying an appearance of a graphical user interface of the first device based on the attribute of the primary content asset (i.e. the GUI can include a display having one or more display objects (not shown) for manipulating the I/O 240 including such aspects as configurable icons, buttons, sliders, input boxes, selection options, menus, tabs and so forth having multiple configurable dimensions, shapes, colors, text, data and sounds to facilitate operations with the profile and/or the device as described in fig. 2 paragraph 29))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of Ellis and Guday as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to incorporate this feature (graphical user interface) into the system of Ellis at the time the invention was made as taught by Guday.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of Ellis as taught by Guday for the benefit of having a Graphical User Interface (GUI) which can include a display having one or more display objects (not shown) for manipulating the I/O 240 including such aspects as configurable icons, buttons, sliders, input boxes, selection options, menus, tabs and so forth having multiple configurable dimensions, shapes, colors, text, data and sounds to facilitate operations with the profile and/or the device, and in addition, the GUI can also include a plurality of other inputs or controls for adjusting, manipulating, and configuring one or more aspects, wherein this can include receiving user commands from a mouse, keyboard, speech input, web site, remote web service and/or other device such as a camera or video input to affect or modify operations of the GUI in order to have a user friendly interaction (see fig. 2 ¶ 29)
Re claim 42, the combination of Ellis and Guday as discussed in claim 35 above discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 42.
Re claim 44, the combination of Ellis and Guday as discussed in claims 37 and 38 above discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 44.
Conclusion
3/31/2026
/JOSE M. MESA/
Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484