DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-25, 27-30, and 43-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kajikawa et al. (US 20100001997 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Kajikawa teaches a method of assembling a polyhedral data set ([0030] and [0104]), comprising:
surrounding an epicenter with an array of receivers or transceivers ([0035] cameras surrounding the object; [0194] The cameras can be arranged to surround a particular subject to observe it from many sides);
establishing actual nodes or virtual nodes of triangular frames with the array of receivers or transceivers (fig. 2, [0015], [0106], [0110] vertices);
collecting, with the array of receivers or transceivers, respective sheets of data in the triangular frames (PS100 of fig. 61, [0030]-[0031] sheets of data as PS100; [0104] to [0106] a grid G1 subdivides each tetrahedral face into 24 congruent triangles); and
connecting ones of the triangular frames at ones of the actual nodes or virtual nodes to assemble a polyhedral data set (RS100 of fig. 61, [0031] a polyhedral data set as RS100; [0104] the use of a regular polyhedron makes it possible to equally divide a complete visual field and evenly distributes face angles and interior angles made by segments to the polyhedral faces upon mapping the image on the polyhedron. Note: there are examples of assembling a polyhedral data set as shown in figure 7, [0110] the earth mapped on a tetrahedron by iso-area mapping; figure 26, [0152] iso-area mapping of an image from an icosahedron to a dodecahedron; figure 24, [0158] a rectangular operation interface for texture mapping; and figure 51, [0137]-[0138] a process of mapping a polyhedral image on a rectangular plane via a tetrahedron).
Regarding claim 17, Kajikawa teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the polyhedral data set comprises an icosahedron made up of at least twenty tetrahedral sub-data sets ([0007] and [0014] this cartography divides the entire spherical surface into twenty equal-area triangular regions, then projects information on respective spherical icosahedral regions onto respective triangular face of a regular icosahedron, and thereafter develops the icosahedron).
Regarding claim 18, Kajikawa teaches the method of claim 16, comprising scaling the size and number of triangular frames within the polyhedral data set to establish a polyhedral sub-data set ([0105] a grid G1 subdivides each tetrahedral face into 24 congruent triangles (including mirror images) with perpendiculars to tetrahedral edges and lines parallel to the perpendiculars connecting points dividing the edges into quarters, [0109] subdividing).
Regarding claim 19, Kajikawa teaches the method of claim 18, wherein scaling the size and number of triangular frames and assembling a polyhedral data set comprises assembling at least one octahedron inside of one of a tetrahedron or an icosahedron ([0126]-[0127] octahedron P5, [0137]-[0138] an octahedron PG17).
Regarding claim 20, Kajikawa teaches the method of claim 18, wherein scaling the triangular frames comprises scaling from a polyhedral data set mapped to a planet ([0022], [0042], and [0110]) or other celestial body down to a polyhedral sub-data set mapped to a venue using at least one device ([0135] celestial bodies).
Regarding claim 21, Kajikawa teaches the method of claim 20, wherein scaling the triangular frames further comprises scaling from the polyhedral sub-data set mapped to a venue down to a focal point polyhedron within the venue ([0182] and [0184] for focal point).
Regarding claim 22, Kajikawa teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising:
extracting the polyhedral sub-data set (figs. 10 and 11 showing four world maps extracted and outputted from the tessellated image shown, [0016]; 89 and G12 of figs. 16 and 17); and
replacing the polyhedral sub-data set with a plurality of inserted polyhedral data sets (figs. 10 and 11, [0016]; fig. 12, [0117]; 89a of fig. 18, [0125] a region 89a is one of divisional regions made by the grid G9. In this manner, respective regions are iso-area-mapped from the grid G12 to the grid G9, and the region 89, for example, is mapped on a region 89a).
Regarding claim 23, Kajikawa teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising:
extracting the polyhedral sub-data set (figs. 10 and 11 showing four world maps extracted and outputted from the tessellated image shown, [0016]; 89 and G12 of figs. 16 and 17); and
replacing the polyhedral sub-data set with an inserted polyhedral data set (figs. 10 and 11, [0016]; fig. 12, [0117]; 89a of fig. 18, [0125] a region 89a is one of divisional regions made by the grid G9. In this manner, respective regions are iso-area-mapped from the grid G12 to the grid G9, and the region 89, for example, is mapped on a region 89a).
Regarding claim 24, Kajikawa teaches the method of claim 23, further comprising projecting the inserted polyhedral data set towards the epicenter ([0022] and [0154]).
Regarding claim 25, Kajikawa teaches the method of claim 23, further comprising displaying the polyhedral data set with the inserted polyhedral data set ([0023] and [0117], [0132] display the polyhedral set).
Regarding claim 27, Kajikawa teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising: selecting a second epicenter within the array of receivers or transceivers; and assembling a second polyhedral data set by connecting second ones of the triangular frames (fig. 61, the process of figure 61 is applicable to the second epicenter).
Regarding claim 28, Kajikawa teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the actual nodes or virtual nodes of triangular frames establish a space frame for optically or digitally rendering an environment in the polyhedral data set (RS100 of fig. 61, [0166]).
Regarding claim 29, Kajikawa teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the actual nodes or virtual nodes of triangular frames establish a time frame for optically ([0103] and [0107] optically projecting) or digitally replaying an event collected in sequential ones of polyhedral data sets ([0023] an information processing method that can display continents and islands of the earth on a rectangular plane while maintaining their area ratio).
Regarding claim 30, Kajikawa teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising twisting the polyhedral data set into a flattened data matrix for transmission in a communication network (RS100 of fig. 61, flat image, [0032] a flattened form, [0057], [0135] the flattened data is transmitted to the viewers).
Regarding claim 43, Kajikawa teaches a system of receivers, transmitters, or transceivers configured to carry out the method of claim 16 ([0035] cameras, [0078] sensors for transmitting images, [0180] image sensors for reading out images).
Regarding claim 44, Kajikawa teaches a system of devices assembled as interconnected tetrahedrons, octahedrons, and icosahedrons configured to carry out the method of claim 16 ([0035] cameras, [0176] image sensors, and [0113] computers as a system of devices).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajikawa et al. (US 20100001997 A1) in view of Lim et al. (US 20210176391 A1).
Regarding claim 26, Kajikawa teaches the method of claim 23, Kajikawa is silent about applying RGB transcoding to the polyhedral sub-data set and to the inserted polyhedral data set; and collimating the polyhedral sub-data set with the inserted polyhedral data set.
Lim teaches applying RGB transcoding to the polyhedral sub-data set and to the inserted polyhedral data set (1420 of fig. 14, [0212] perform transcoding on the repackaged image data that comprises RGB data, [0066] and [0067] RGB image); and collimating the polyhedral sub-data set with the inserted polyhedral data set (1430 of fig. 14, OHP, [0213] render the output frame on the basis of the mapped polyhedron and display the output frame).
Taking the teaching of Kajikawa and Lim together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transcoding and collimating of Lim into the method Kajikawa for significantly improving transmission efficiency ([0138] of Lim).
Claim(s) 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajikawa et al. (US 20100001997 A1) in view of Barkatullah (US 20150116457 A1).
Regarding claims 31 and 32, Kajikawa is silent about applying pixel values to the flattened data matrix a spectrum shift to the pixel values to offset one or more of the pixel values.
Barkatullah teaches about applying pixel values to the flattened data matrix a spectrum shift to the pixel values to offset one or more of the pixel values ([0025] Block 202 illustrates one embodiment of specifying pixel color range as RGB values with offsets and intensity value).
Taking the teaching of Kajikawa and Barkatullah together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pixel values and offset of the pixel values of Barkatullah into the method of Kajikawa to enhance the 3D image quality.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajikawa et al. (US 20100001997 A1) in view of Hashimoto et al. (US 20220132032 A1).
Regarding claim 33, Kajikawa is silent about a synthesizer configured to assemble the polyhedral data set to carry out the method of claim 16.
Hashimoto teaches a synthesizer configured to assemble the polyhedral data set to carry out the method of claim 16 ([0084], [0085], and [0086] The CPU 16 may read the ranging data from each of the ranging sensors 12-1 to 12-4 and synthesizes and trims them to generate full solid angle ranging data 800).
Taking the teaching of Kajikawa and Hashimoto together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the synthesizer of Hashimoto into the method of Kajikawa to improve the control accuracy in superimposing and displaying a virtual object on the real space ([0121] of Hashimoto).
Claim(s) 34 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajikawa et al. (US 20100001997 A1) in view of Grisham (US 4602257 A).
Regarding claim 34, Kajikawa is silent about a satellite configured to transmit ones of the triangular frames to carry out the method of claim 16.
Grisham teaches a satellite configured to transmit ones of the triangular frames to carry out the method of claim 16 (Col. 4, lines 37-40, in the method of the present invention, phase coherence is maintained for all satellites linked for synthetic aperture radar imaging, wherein one satellite is a master satellite and the others are slave satellites, Col. 12, lines 1-20).
Taking the teaching of Kajikawa and Grisham together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the satellite of Grisham into the method of Kajikawa to provide the method that enables the unambiguous detection of radar signals for imagery construction, improves stability for image quality, provides recording format linearity to minimize image reconstruction processing, provides orthogonal range-doppler pattern distribution at all points in the recording plane to minimize computer processing, provides a triangulated signal reference baseline to improve system calibratability, and enables conformal mapping and uniform sampling of zone plates to achieve three dimensional holography.
Regarding claim 35, Kajikawa is silent about a satellite configured as a receiver or transceiver in the array of receivers or transceivers, the satellite configured to establish actual nodes or virtual nodes to carry out the method of claim 16.
Grisham teaches a satellite configured as a receiver or transceiver in the array of receivers or transceivers, the satellite configured to establish actual nodes or virtual nodes to carry out the method of claim 16 (Col. 4, lines 37-40, in the method of the present invention, phase coherence is maintained for all satellites linked for synthetic aperture radar imaging, wherein one satellite is a master satellite and the others are slave satellites, Col. 12, lines 1-20).
Taking the teaching of Kajikawa and Grisham together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the satellite of Grisham into the method of Kajikawa to provide the method that enables the unambiguous detection of radar signals for imagery construction, improves stability for image quality, provides recording format linearity to minimize image reconstruction processing, provides orthogonal range-doppler pattern distribution at all points in the recording plane to minimize computer processing, provides a triangulated signal reference baseline to improve system calibratability, and enables conformal mapping and uniform sampling of zone plates to achieve three dimensional holography.
Claim(s) 36-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajikawa et al. (US 20100001997 A1) in view of Tozuka et al. (US 20150245009 A1).
Regarding claim 36, Kajikawa is silent about a database configured to transcode the assembled polyhedral data set into RGB data and configured to carry out the method of claim 16.
Tozuka teaches a database configured to transcode the assembled polyhedral data set into RGB data and configured to carry out the method of claim 16 ([0076], [0077], and [0097] RGB database, [0152], [0157] and [0166] transcode the polyhedral data into RGB data).
Taking the teaching of Kajikawa and Tozuka together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the database of Tozuka into the method of Kajikawa to perform color reproduction with excellent accuracy for a minute stereoscopic structure of a detail ([0195] of Tozuka).
Regarding claim 37, Kajikawa is silent about a red database configured to process a portion of ones of the triangular frames as RGB-transcoded data to carry out the method of claim 16.
Tozuka teaches a red database configured to process a portion of ones of the triangular frames as RGB-transcoded data to carry out the method of claim 16 ([0076], [0077], and [0097] RGB database, [0152], [0157] and [0166] transcode the polyhedral data into RGB data).
Taking the teaching of Kajikawa and Tozuka together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the database of Tozuka into the method of Kajikawa to perform color reproduction with excellent accuracy for a minute stereoscopic structure of a detail ([0195] of Tozuka).
Regarding claim 38, Kajikawa is silent about a green database configured to process a portion of ones of the triangular frames as RGB-transcoded data to carry out the method of claim 16.
Tozuka teaches a green database configured to process a portion of ones of the triangular frames as RGB-transcoded data to carry out the method of claim 16 ([0076], [0077], and [0097] RGB database, [0152], [0157] and [0166] transcode the polyhedral data into RGB data).
Taking the teaching of Kajikawa and Tozuka together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the database of Tozuka into the method of Kajikawa to perform color reproduction with excellent accuracy for a minute stereoscopic structure of a detail ([0195] of Tozuka).
Regarding claim 39, Kajikawa is silent about a blue database configured to process a portion of ones of the triangular frames as RGB-transcoded data to carry out the method of claim 16.
Tozuka teaches a blue database configured to process a portion of ones of the triangular frames as RGB-transcoded data to carry out the method of claim 16 ([0076], [0077], and [0097] RGB database, [0152], [0157] and [0166] transcode the polyhedral data into RGB data).
Taking the teaching of Kajikawa and Tozuka together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the database of Tozuka into the method of Kajikawa to perform color reproduction with excellent accuracy for a minute stereoscopic structure of a detail ([0195] of Tozuka).
Claim(s) 40-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajikawa et al. (US 20100001997 A1) in view of Kallay et al. (US 20090123088 A1).
Regarding claim 40, Kajikawa is silent about a system comprising a processor and a storage medium storing instructions, which instructions are executed by the processor causes the system to carry out the method of claim 16.
Kallay teaches a system comprising a processor and a storage medium storing instructions, which instructions are executed by the processor causes the system to carry out the method of claim 16 (1402 and 1404 of fig. 14, [0095] and [0100]).
Taking the teachings of Kajihawa and Kallay together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor and storage medium of Kallay into the method of Kajikawa to perform the process of forming the polyhedron data set to achieve an accurate overall result ([0032] and [0055] of Kallay).
Regarding claim 41, Kajikawa is silent about a bidirectional communication system configured to exchange ones of the triangular frames to carry out the method of claim 16.
Kallay teaches a bidirectional communication system configured to exchange ones of the triangular frames to carry out the method of claim 16 ([0110] the system 1500 includes a communication framework 1506 (e.g., a global communication network such as the Internet) that can be employed to facilitate communications between the client(s) 1502 and the server(s) 1504).
Taking the teachings of Kajihawa and Kallay together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bidirectional communication system of Kallay into the method of Kajikawa to perform the process of forming the polyhedron data set to achieve an accurate overall result ([0032] and [0055] of Kallay).
Regarding claim 42, Kajikawa is silent about a machine-readable medium carrying machine readable instructions, which when executed by a processor of a device, causes the device to carry out the method of claim 16([0113] and [0128]).
Kallay teaches a machine-readable medium carrying machine readable instructions, which when executed by a processor of a device, causes the device to carry out the method of claim 16(1402 and 1404 of fig. 14, [0095] and [0100]).
Taking the teachings of Kajihawa and Kallay together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor and storage medium of Kallay into the method of Kajikawa to perform the process of forming the polyhedron data set to achieve an accurate overall result ([0032] and [0055] of Kallay).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cohen (US 7389908 B2) discloses a blank for constructing a three-dimensional form is provided. The blank includes a rhomboid panel with three edges and two-fold lines, which define a pair of triangular panels.
Kang et al. (US 20130058526 A1) discloses a method for automated detection of feature for calibration is provided, which includes capturing images of a polyhedral structure including a plurality of rectangular planes and triangular planes in different directions through a plurality of cameras.
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425