DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-10, 12-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tiu (US 20120085836 .
Regarding claim 1, Tiu discloses a system, comprising:
a vehicle-side connector (29, 30) associated with the vehicle (Figure 1); and
a component-side connector (openings receiving 29, 30) associated with a component (40), wherein the component is a nozzle to direct a cleaning solution (Paragraph 86, fluid is pumped to the nozzles by connection between the vehicle side connector and component side connector),wherein the vehicle-side connector includes a set of first couplings (29, 30) and the component-side connector includes a set of second couplings (Figure 3, the openings receiving the coupling 29-30), wherein the set of first couplings have a corresponding configuration to the set of second couplings and form a mating connection (Figure 3),wherein each first coupling of the set of first couplings and a corresponding second coupling of the set of second couplings, when mated, provide a resource from the vehicle to the component (Power is converted from the vehicle through a power takeoff to hydraulic power).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Tiu discloses the system of claims 1 and 6, wherein the resource the cleaning solution (Paragraph 60, Herbicides may be used as cleaning solutions).
Regarding claim 6, Tiu discloses a system, comprising:
a vehicle-side connector associated with the vehicle (29, 30); and a component-side connector associated with a component (openings receiving 29, 30), wherein the component is a mobile working station ( Figures 1-2),
wherein the vehicle-side connector includes a set of first couplings and the component-side connector includes a set of second couplings (Figure 3), wherein the set of first couplings have a corresponding configuration to the set of second couplings and form a mating connection (Figure 3), wherein each first coupling of the set of first couplings and a corresponding second coupling of the set of second couplings, when mated, provide a resource from the vehicle to the component (Hydraulic fluid).
Regarding claim 12, Tiu discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the resource is one of electrical power, a hydraulic fluid, or a pneumatic fluid (Hydraulic fluid).
Regarding claim 16, Tiu discloses the system of claim 15, further comprising a nozzle to direct the cleaning solution (Paragraph 86).
Regarding claim 17, Tiu discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the nozzle is incorporated onto the mobile working station (Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 19, Tiu discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the cleaning fluid is delivered to the nozzle when the vehicle-side connector is coupled with the component-side connector (Paragraph 86).
Regarding claim 20, Tiu discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the vehicle-side connector and the component-side connector are removably and modularly coupled
Regarding claim 6, Kullborg discloses a system, comprising:
a vehicle-side connector associated with the vehicle (Paragraph 38, mating gripper); and a component-side connector associated with a component (Paragraph 38, the connecting device may include two protrusions), wherein the component is a mobile working station (Robotic arm),
wherein the vehicle-side connector includes a set of first couplings and the component-side connector includes a set of second couplings (Paragraph 38, the protrusions of the platform are received on the mating grippers), wherein the set of first couplings have a corresponding configuration to the set of second couplings and form a mating connection, wherein each first coupling of the set of first couplings and a corresponding second coupling of the set of second couplings, when mated, provide a resource from the vehicle to the component (The couplings provide rotational power.
Regarding claim 7, Kullborg discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the mobile working station includes an articulated robotic arm (2) and a platform (1) for supporting the articulated robotic arm (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Kullborg discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the vehicle directs operational power to the mobile working station via the vehicle-side connector and the corresponding component-side connector associated with the mobile working station (The vehicle drives rotational power to the mobile working station via the connectors).
Regarding claim 9, Kullborg discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the platform includes the component-side connector for coupling the platform to the vehicle having the vehicle-side connector (Paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 10, Kullborg discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the vehicle directs operational power via the vehicle-side connector to the platform and the platform directs operational power received via the component- side connector to the articulated robotic arm (The rotation of the platform provides for power to the arm).
Regarding claim 13, Kullborg discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the platform includes a top structure (Top wall) and a bottom structure (14) with vertical supports (Sidewalls) extending therebetween (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Kullborg discloses the system of claim 13, wherein a bottom panel (bottom wall) is mounted to the bottom structure and one or more sidewalls (Front and rear wall) are mounted to at least the vertical supports (Figure 4).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Western Equipment.
Regarding claim 6, John Deere discloses a system, comprising:
a vehicle-side connector associated with the vehicle (2:47-2:58 mark, the vehicle includes connectors that receive hydraulic hoses); and
a component-side connector associated with a component (The connectors of the hydraulic hoses are associated with the mobile arm), wherein the component is a mobile working station (The bucket of the loader), wherein the vehicle-side connector includes a set of first couplings and the component-side connector includes a set of second couplings (2:47-2:58 mark), wherein the set of first couplings have a corresponding configuration to the set of second couplings and form a mating connection (2:47-2:58 mark), wherein each first coupling of the set of first couplings and a corresponding second coupling of the set of second couplings, when mated, provide a resource from the vehicle to the component (The couplings provide hydraulic fluid).
Regarding claim 7, John Deere discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the mobile working station includes an articulated robotic arm and a platform for supporting the articulated robotic arm (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1).
Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 11, John Deere discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the vehicle includes a loader carrier that includes the vehicle-side connector (The front of the vehicle is a loader carrier, as it receives the loader and carriers it throughout the operation; The front of the vehicle includes the connectors), and wherein, when coupled, the loader carrier of the vehicle supports the mobile working station (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiu.
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Tiu discloses the system of claims 1 and 15, wherein the cleaning solution (17) is held in a reservoir (16) in fluid communication with a pump (Paragraph 86), wherein the reservoir and the pump are incorporated into the vehicle (Figure 1), but fails to disclose the pump being further in fluid communication with the vehicle-side connector.
Tiu discloses that the system may be configured such that the pump may be powered by the hydraulics of the tractor (20) (Paragraph 86).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tiu to include the pump powered by the hydraulics of the tractor, in order to provide for a known alternative configuration that performs the function of providing for pumping of the fluid.
Regarding claim 4, Tiu discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the cleaning fluid is delivered to the nozzle when the vehicle-side connector is coupled with the component-side connector (Paragraph 86).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Tiu discloses the system of claims 1 and 6, wherein the vehicle-side connector and the component-side connector are modularly coupled (The limitation is broadly interpreted to mean of or relating to a standard unit of measurement; Figure 3), but fails to disclose the connectors removably connected.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to removably couple the connectors since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan, 168 USPQ 177,179.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER R. DANDRIDGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/CHRISTOPHER R DANDRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752