Response to Amendment
This Office action has been issued in response to amendment filed on 06/09/2026
Claims 1-20 pending. Applicants' arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered and addressed. Accordingly, this action has been made FINAL necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the amended claims were fully considered and are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Independent Claims are ejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The formal disclosure/specification do not teach or suggest:
wherein determining whether the coverage is sufficient comprises calculating one or more metrics indicating an amount of content in the one or more data files that is mapped by the one or more regular expressions to entities and relationships to be included in one or more parsed data files, and determining that the coverage is sufficient when the one or more metrics satisfy a predefined threshold;
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 17of U.S. Patent No 12231456. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Anderson et al (hereinafter Anderson) US Publication No 20130282739 and Fabris et al (hereinafter Fabris) US Publication No 20240176781 in view of Dietz et al (hereinafter Dietz) US Publication No 20070245327.
As per claim 1, Anderson teaches:
A method comprising:
parsing one or more data files based on one or more regular expressions, wherein the one or more regular expressions are generated from training data files to learn patterns of characters strings for parsing a plurality of data files of different file formats;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0002]-[0005], [0011])
determining whether coverage of the one or more regular expressions is sufficient to parse the one or more data files;
(Abstract and paragraphs [0002]-[0005], [0011], wherein the regular expression capability is the sufficiency)
Anderson teaches evaluating regular expression but does not explicitly teach wherein determining whether the coverage is sufficient comprises calculating one or more metrics indicating an amount of content in the one or more data files that is mapped by the one or more regular expressions to entities and relationships to be included in one or more parsed data files, and determining that the coverage is sufficient when the one or more metrics satisfy a predefined threshold, however in analogous art of content processing, Fabris teaches:
wherein determining whether the coverage is sufficient comprises calculating one or more metrics indicating an amount of content in the one or more data files that is mapped by the one or more regular expressions to entities and relationships to be included in one or more parsed data files, and determining that the coverage is sufficient when the one or more metrics satisfy a predefined threshold;
(Paragraphs [0040], [0047] and [0055]-[0051] and [0054])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Anderson and Fabris by incorporating the teaching of Fabris into the method of Anderson. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Fabris into the system of Anderson for the purpose of evaluating regular expression and improving pattern matching.
Anderson and Fabris do not explicitly teach generating one or more parsed data files that include entities and associated relationships expressed in the one or more data files, however in analogous art of Dietz teaches:
in response to the coverage being sufficient, generating one or more parsed data files that include entities and associated relationships expressed in the one or more data files;
(Fig. 1, 5 and paragraphs [0026]-[0027] and [0064]-[0075]. Wherein the output of the parsing/relation determination is the file)
and generating one or more graphs from the entities and associated relationships of the one or more parsed data files.
(Fig. 1, 5 and paragraphs [0026]-[0027] and [0064]-[0075], wherein the tree structure model of the process flow is the graph)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Anderson and Fabris and Dietz by incorporating the teaching of Dietz into the method of Anderson and Fabris. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Dietz into the system of Anderson and Fabris for the purpose of reviewing parser output and improving the generation of element tree representation.
As per claim 3, Anderson and Fabris and Dietz teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
in response to the coverage of the one or more regular expressions not being sufficient, updating the one or more regular expressions using additional training data files.
(Fig. 2A and 2B and paragraph [0033])( Anderson)
As per claim 4, Anderson and Fabris and Dietz teach:
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more metrics comprise one or more coverage metrics.
(Paragraphs [0040], [0047] and [0055]-[0051] and [0054])(Fabris)
As per claim 5, Anderson and Fabris and Dietz teach:
The method of claim 4, wherein the one or more metrics includes at least a percentage of characters in the one or more data files that matched the one or more regular expressions or a threshold number of characters in the one or more data files that matched the one or more regular expressions.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0002]-[0005], [0011], wherein tracking the match is the metric)( Anderson)
As per claim 7, Anderson and Fabris and Dietz teach:
The method of claim 1, where in the one or more data files include at least a log file.
(Abstract and paragraphs [0002]-[0005], [0011])( Anderson)
As per claim 9, Anderson and Fabris and Dietz teach:
The method of claim 1, where in the one or more data files includes at least structured data.
(Paragraphs [0002], [0012]-[0013] and [0021])(Anderson)
Claims 16 and 18 are system claims respectively corresponding to method claims 1, 9 and they are rejected under the same rational as claims 1, 9.
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Anderson and Fabris and Dietz view of VarGhese et al (hereinafter VarGhese) US Publication No 20220309335.
As per claim 2, Anderson and Dietz do not explicitly teach regular expressions are generated using a Large Language Model (LLM), however in analogous art of content management, Varghese teaches:
one or more regular expressions are generated using a Large Language Model (LLM).
(Paragraphs [0003], [0021] and [0031])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and VarGhese by incorporating the teaching of VarGhese into the method of Anderson and Fabris and Dietz. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of VarGhese into the system of Anderson and Fabris and Dietz for the purpose of optimizing regular expression.
Claim 17 is a system claim corresponding to method claim 2 and it is rejected under the same rational as claim 2.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Anderson and Fabris and Dietz view of Armstrong et al (hereinafter Armstrong) US Publication No 20060136194.
As per claim 6, Anderson and Fabris and Dietz do not explicitly teach one or more parsed data files are each in an ontology format of a plurality of ontology formats, however in analogous art of content management, Armstrong teaches:
one or more parsed data files are each in an ontology format of a plurality of ontology formats.
(abstract paragraphs [0026], [0059]-[0060] and [0064]-[0065])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and Armstrong by incorporating the teaching of Armstrong into the method of Anderson and Fabris and Dietz. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Dietz into the system of Anderson and Fabris and Dietz for the purpose of determining pattern matching based on ontology data.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Anderson and Fabris and Dietz view of Pathak et al (hereinafter Pathak) US Patent No 12038926.
As per claim 8, Anderson and Fabris and Dietz do not explicitly teach one or more data files includes at least unstructured data, however in analogous art of data management, Pathak teaches:
one or more data files includes at least unstructured data.
(Column 10, lines 34-40 and column 20, lines 41-53 and column 33, lines 28-47)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Anderson and Dietz and Pathak by incorporating the teaching of Pathak into the method of Anderson and Dietz. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Pathak into the system of Anderson and Dietz for the purpose of processing data coming from different sources.
Claim 10-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Anderson and Fabris and Dietz view of Weiyu Li (hereinafter LI) US Publication No 20240256951.
As per claim 10, Anderson and Fabris and Dietz do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more graphs include a plurality of nodes, each of the plurality of nodes is mapped to an entity, however in analogous art of data management, Li teaches:
wherein the one or more graphs include a plurality of nodes, each of the plurality of nodes is mapped to an entity.
(Paragraphs [0184] and [0191]-[0194])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and Li by incorporating the teaching of Li into the method of Anderson and Fabris and Dietz. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Li into the system of Anderson and Fabris and Dietz for the purpose of visualizing node relationship and enabling walk based on predefined number of hops.
As per claim 11, Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and Li teach:
The method of claim 10, wherein the one or more graphs include a plurality of edges between one or more of the plurality of nodes, each edge of the plurality of edges is mapped to a relationship.
(Paragraphs [0184] and [0191]-[0194])(Li)
As per claim 13, Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and Li teach:
The method of claim 11, wherein a directed edge of the plurality of edges between one or more nodes of the plurality of nodes in the one or more graphs represent a non-commutative relationship.
(Paragraphs [0184] and [0191]-[0194])(Li)
As per claim 14, Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and Li teach:
The method of claim 13, wherein the directed edge represents a relationship type including a fork, has, read, modified, created, part of, deleted, connected, or opened.
(Paragraphs [0184] and [0191]-[0194])(Li)
As per claim 15, Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and Li teach:
The method of claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of nodes represent a command line call, registry, processes, executable binary, applications, network flow, mutual exclusion (mutex) calls, atoms, or files.
(Paragraphs [0184] and [0191]-[0194])(Li)
Claim 19 is a system claim corresponding to method claim 11 and it is rejected under the same rational as claim 11.
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Anderson and Fabris and Dietz view of Paulson et al (hereinafter Paulson) US Publication No 20220138492.
As per claim 12, Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and Li do not explicitly teach undirected edge of the plurality of edges between one or more nodes of the plurality of nodes in the one or more graphs represent a commutative relationship, however in analogous art of data management, Paulson teaches:
undirected edge of the plurality of edges between one or more nodes of the plurality of nodes in the one or more graphs represent a commutative relationship.
(Paragraph [0100])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and Li and Paulson by incorporating the teaching of Paulson into the method of Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and Li. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Paulson into the system of Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and Li for the purpose of managing entities association with graph structure.
As per claim 20, Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and Li teach:
The system of claim 19, wherein an undirected edge of the plurality of edges between one or more nodes of the plurality of nodes in the one or more graphs represent a commutative relationship and a directed edge of the plurality of edges between one or more nodes of the plurality of nodes in the one or more graphs represent a non-commutative relationship
(Paragraphs [0184] and [0191]-[0194])(Li)
Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and Li do not explicitly teach undirected edge of the plurality of edges between one or more nodes of the plurality of nodes in the one or more graphs represent a commutative relationship, however in analogous art of data management, Paulson teaches:
wherein an undirected edge of the plurality of edges between one or more nodes of the plurality of nodes in the one or more graphs represent a commutative relationship
(Paragraph [0100])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filling of the invention to combine Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and Li and Paulson by incorporating the teaching of Paulson into the method of Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and Li. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use the content management of Paulson into the system of Anderson and Fabris and Dietz and Li for the purpose of managing entities association with graph structure.
Conclusion
As necessitated by amendment, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Tarek Chbouki whose telephone number is 571-2703154. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 9 am to 6:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aleksandr Kerzhner can be reached at 571-2701760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TAREK CHBOUKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165 7/1/2026