Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 5 in the reply filed on 08/11/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the elected species is described differently in the requirement for restriction than specific sections of the specification. The previous restriction requirement is withdrawn and claims 1-20 are being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 11, 12, 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pylvanainen et al. (US 2014/0240553, hereinafter Pylvanainen) in view of Fisher et al. (US 2016/0050360, hereinafter Fisher).
Re claim 1, Pylvanainen discloses, A method comprising: generating an image using an image sensor of a user device (S405, S410); receiving, at the user device, a selection indicating a depiction of a physical object in a first region in the image, the image comprising a second region that excludes the first region (pars [0038], [0040], and [0048], S450); generating a zoom video sequence by resizing the first region from an initial size to a resized size, decreasing a scaling of the resized first region in each successive frame of the zoom video sequence as the user device moves closer to or away from the physical object, and adjusting a scaling of the second region in the zoom video sequence as the user device moves closes closer to or away from the physical object (pars [0046]-[0047], S440, S445); and storing the zoom video sequence on the user device (S455).
Pylvanainen fails to explicitly disclose limitations which are disclosed by Fisher as follows: a user selection indicating a depiction of a physical object in a first region in the image (pars [0128], [0198]).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine a user selection indicating a depiction of a physical object in a first region in the image of Fisher with the method of Pylvanainen in order to allow a user to select any desired portion to maintain during the dolly zoom.
Re claim 2, the combination of Pylvanainen and Fisher discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein the first region includes the depiction of the physical object, and the second region includes a remaining area of the image complementing the first region (Pylvanainen pars [0038], [0040], and [0048], Fisher par [0198]).
Re claim 7, the combination of Pylvanainen and Fisher discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein the physical object is one of a human face, a segment of a human body, or a shape in the image (Pylvanainen pars [0038], [0040], and [0048], Fisher par [0198]).
Re claim 8, the combination of Pylvanainen and Fisher discloses the limitations of claim 1 including further comprising: stabilizing the depiction of the physical object in the zoom video sequence such that the depiction of the physical object remains in an initial area in the zoom video sequence (Pylvanainen pars [0046]-[0047], S440, S445).
Claims 11, 12, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected for the reasons stated in claims 1, 2, 7, 8, and 1, respectively. The device and storage device as claimed would have been obvious and expected by the method of Pylvanainen and Fisher.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 9, 10, 13-16, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOEL W FOSSELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639