DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on May 6, 2025, January 29, 2026 and October 16, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,294,939. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite language directed to an obvious variant of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 8,750,180. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite language directed to an obvious variant of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,047,871. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite language directed to an obvious variant of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,166,226. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite language directed to an obvious variant of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,200,941. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite language directed to an obvious variant of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 9,794,967. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite language directed to an obvious variant of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Stephenson et al. (Stephenson), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2007/0242645.
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 13, Stephenson discloses a communication network and method comprising: a network; and an access point (AP) comprising: a processor; and a memory interconnected with the processor (FIG. 3 illustrates for didactic purposes a hardware system 300, which may be used to implement a wireless access point 50. In one implementation, the wireless access point 300 includes a processor 310, a memory 312) (0035), wherein the AP is configured to: receive, from a wireless device, prior to the wireless device associating with the AP, an Access Network Query Protocol (ANQP) request for Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) network information; transmit a network information request using the network; receive a network information response from the network; and transmit, prior to the wireless device associating with the AP, an ANQP response to the ANQP request, wherein the ANQP response comprises the 3GPP network information (advertised information regarding the access points described below), wherein the 3GPP network information comprises information about access to a service provider (If wireless client 60 determines that an advertisement service is available (712), wireless client 60 transmits a probe request including an AR-IE (714). In one implementation, the AR-IE includes an advertising service protocol type (e.g., subscription service provider network (SSPN) advertising service) identifying the specific advertising protocol it desires to use, along with a service provider query requesting information relating to one or more service providers or other subscription information. In one implementation, the SSPN advertising service may provide SSPN, extended service set identifier (ESSID), SSID, roaming partners, available services including Internet access, VoIP, e911, online enrollment capabilities, as well as other inter-working capabilities. In one implementation, the AR-IE also supports queries for specific SSPN including regular expression matching, and/or wildcards. In one implementation, the service provider query may request advertisements from a service provider having a specific identification, advertisements from all of the services providers of one or more particular classes/categories, or advertisements from all service providers.) (0053; see also 0054).
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Stephenson discloses the communication network/method wherein the network comprises one of an access network and an external network (see figures 1A-1C).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Stephenson discloses the communication network/method wherein the access network comprises an access network connected to the AP (see figures 1A-1C).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Stephenson discloses the communication network/method wherein the network comprises an access network and an external network (see figures 1A-1C).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Stephenson discloses the communication network/method wherein the network comprises a further access point (see figures 1A-1C).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Stephenson discloses the communication network/method wherein the network comprises a server that provides the network information response (see figures 1A and 1B).
Regarding claim 14, Stephenson discloses wherein the 3GPP network information further contains an indication of network support (In one implementation, wireless access point 50a determines whether the advertisement server 22 supports the advertisement request (806) (i.e., protocol type and query type). If the advertising service request is acceptable, wireless access point 50a transmits a probe response including an AR-IE (see above) (816).) (0058).
Regarding claim 15, Stephenson discloses wherein the 3GPP network information is transmitted using a generic advertisement service (GAS) (Particular embodiments of the present invention facilitate generic advertising service in wireless networks. In one implementation, the present invention provides a generic advertising service system that allows wireless clients to conserve battery power.) (0016).
Regarding claim 16, Stephenson discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the GAS provides support for a network selection operation of the wireless device (Because the wireless client can enter the power conservation mode while waiting for the advertisements, its battery energy is conserved. In one implementation, the wireless client may scan and select one or more WLANs and request service provider information (e.g., an advertising service, if supported) by sending a probe request including an advertisement request information element (AR-IE).) (0017).
Regarding claim 17, Stephenson discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the information about switching access between the WLAN and the cellular network includes one or more of: Columbia; mobile internet protocol (IP); cellular IP; hierarchical mobile IP (HMIP); fast mobile IP (FMIP); general packet radio service (GPRS) tunneling protocol (GTP); or proxy mobile IP version 6 (PMIPv6) (In one implementation, the SSPN advertising service may provide SSPN, extended service set identifier (ESSID), SSID, roaming partners, available services including Internet access, VoIP, e911, online enrollment capabilities, as well as other inter-working capabilities.) (0053).
Regarding claim 18, Stephenson discloses wherein the 3GPP network information is inherently defined as a Wi-Fi Alliance element based on the internet access capability (In one implementation, the SSPN advertising service may provide SSPN, extended service set identifier (ESSID), SSID, roaming partners, available services including Internet access, VoIP, e911, online enrollment capabilities, as well as other inter-working capabilities.) (0053).
Regarding claim 19, Stephenson discloses wherein the information about access to a service provider comprises information about access to a subscriber service provider (SSP) (The wireless network infrastructure at hotspot 19 delivers advertisements for service provider information. In one implementation, advertisement of service provider information is integrated into the transmission of wireless management frames, such as beacon frames.) (0042).
Regarding claim 20, Stephenson discloses wherein the 3GPP network information comprises a 3GPP capabilities element, wherein the capabilities comprise one or more of: an authentication capability; or an indication of network support (The wireless network infrastructure at hotspot 19 delivers advertisements for service provider information. In one implementation, advertisement of service provider information is integrated into the transmission of wireless management frames, such as beacon frames.) (0042).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Montemurro et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0156710 discloses methods and apparatus to discover network capabilities available via wireless networks.
McCann et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0280180 discloses methods and apparatus to authenticate requests for network capabilities network for connecting to an access network.
/TEMICA M BEAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646