DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
This final office action is responsive to Applicant’s submission filed 07/31/2026. Currently, claims 1-14 are pending. Claims 1-14 have been amended. No newly added or cancelled claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea) without significantly more.
The claims recite method, system and computer program product for validating order identification information.
Exemplary claim 1 recites in part,
“…providing a webpage for menu ordering to a user terminal, upon the user terminal scanning the identification code… upon making a menu choice and placing an order;
…transmitting order details along with an order identification information contained in the identification code to the POS terminal, upon making a menu choice and placing an order through the user terminal;
…receiving the order identification information and the order details, and identifying whether the order identification information received from the order server is valid; and
…receiving and processing the order details as valid upon the order identification information being valid, and preventing the order details from being received and processed upon the order identification information being invalid by determining whether the order identification information received from the order server corresponds to latest order identification information generated for the corresponding table.”
The above limitations describe the steps of, 1) receiving data (order identification information), 2) comparing received data to stored data, 3) generating a result (validating the order), and 4) processing the result (order).
The above steps describe the process of validating order identification information during order placement. The above limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, encompass "Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity" (managing personal behavior or relationship or interaction between people) enumerated in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing interactions between people, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The cited claim recites additional elements in the form of one or more computing devices (code display, POS terminal, order server, user terminal) to perform the limitations encompassing the identified abstract idea. The computing devices represent using a computer as a tool to perform the judicial exception as in MPEP 2106.05(f).
In addition, the steps of “generating order identification information”, “displaying an identification code”, “transmitting order details including order identification information”, “generating new order identification information and identification code”, and “transmitting the new identification code”, represents processing, displaying and transmitting data, which amounts to insignificant extra-solution activities that do not impose meaningful limits on the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
When considered both individually and as a whole, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The recitation of additional elements is acknowledged as identified above. The discussion with respect to practical application is equally applicable to consideration of whether the additional elements amount to significantly more. “Transmitting/obtaining information over a network” has been recognized by the courts as a well-understood, routine, and conventional function (see MPEP 2106.05(d)). In addition, the computing devices represent using a computer as a tool to perform the judicial exception as in MPEP 2106.05(f). Further, the steps of “generating new order identification information and identification code”, and “transmitting the new identification code”, describes repeating the steps of “generating and transmitting new identification code”, which amounts to performing repetitive operation that is well‐understood, routine, and conventional activity in the field. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Therefore, there are no meaningful recitations, considered in combination, that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Accordingly, claim 1 is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea) without significantly more.
Dependent claims 2-14 recite limitations directed to the abstract idea, and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2021/0312576 (Clarke), and further in view of KR-102342268 B1 (Ho).
Referring to claim 1, Clarke discloses an ordering method for a restaurant using an identification code to order, the ordering method comprising:
by a point-of-sale (POS) terminal installed in the restaurant, generating order identification information corresponding to each of a plurality of tables, generating the identification code comprising the order identification information, and transmitting the identification code to a code display; [See paragraphs 0037, 0047-0049, 0052-0054, 0145 – The order server and POS terminal may be integrated to perform the combined function of the POS terminal and order server.]
by the code display, installed on a corresponding table, displaying the identification code received from the POS terminal for the corresponding table; [See paragraphs 0037, 0054-0057]
by an order server, providing a webpage for menu ordering to a user terminal, upon the user terminal scanning the identification code and accessing the order server corresponding to the identification code; [See paragraphs 0054-0056]
by the order server, transmitting order details along with the order identification information contained in the identification code to the POS terminal, upon making a menu choice and placing an order through the user terminal; [See paragraphs 0057, 0058, 0063-0067]
by the POS terminal, receiving and processing the order details as valid upon the order identification information being valid, and preventing the order details from being received and processed upon the order identification information being invalid; and [See paragraphs 0056-0058]
by the POS terminal, upon a completed payment for the order details, processing the order identification information and the identification code used for the completed payment as having already been used and as invalid information, generating new order identification information and a new identification code for the corresponding table, and transmitting the new identification code. [See paragraphs 0046, 0048, 0057, 0058, 0068-0072, 0075, 0135]
Clarke does not explicitly disclose the limitation:
by the POS terminal, receiving the order identification information and the order details, and identifying whether the order identification information received from the order server is valid by determining whether the order identification received from the order server corresponds to latest order identification information generated for the corresponding table.
Ho teaches a method with the limitation: by the POS terminal, receiving the order identification information and the order details, and identifying whether the order identification information received from the order server is valid by determining whether the order identification received from the order server corresponds to latest order identification information generated for the corresponding table. [See page 3, lines 17-24; page 4, line 45-page 5, line 16; page 6, line 21-page 7, line 27]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system executing the method of Clarke to have incorporated a code verification unit as in Ho with the motivation of validating a transaction associated with a user. [See Clarke paragraphs 0133-0143, 0157; Ho page 3, lines 17-24; Ho page 6, line 21-page 7, line 27]
Referring to claim 2, the combination of Clarke and Ho discloses the ordering method of claim 1, further comprising, by the POS terminal, notifying the order server that an ordering has been completed upon the order identification information being valid, and notifying the order server that the ordering has failed upon the order identification information is invalid. [See Clarke paragraphs 0056-0058 - The order server and POS terminal may be integrated to perform the combined function of the POS terminal and order server.]
Referring to claim 3, the combination of Clarke and Ho discloses the ordering method of claim 1, wherein: the order identification information comprises restaurant identification information, table identification information, and an order number; and the identification code comprises at least one of a bar code, a quick response (QR) code, a data matrix, a maxi code, and a PDF-417. [See Clarke paragraphs 0045-0049, 0051, 0052, 0135]
Referring to claim 4, the combination of Clarke and Ho discloses the ordering method of claim 3, wherein the order number comprises a generation time or a random number, or comprises a password key or an electronic signature. [See Clarke paragraphs 0153, 0154]
Referring to claim 5, the combination of Clarke and Ho discloses the ordering method of claim 3, wherein the identifying whether the order identification information is valid comprises, by the POS terminal, identifying that the order identification information is valid upon matching between the order identification information received from the order server and the order identification information contained in a latest generated identification code for each table, and identifying that the order identification information is invalid upon non-matching between the order identification information received from the order server and the order identification information contained in the latest generated identification code for each table. [See Clarke paragraphs 0051, 0052, 0057, 0058, 0139]
Referring to claim 6, the combination of Clarke and Ho discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising, by the order server, notifying the user terminal that an ordering has been completed or that the ordering has failed, based on notification received from the POS terminal. [See Clarke paragraph 0058]
Referring to claim 7, the combination of Clarke and Ho discloses the ordering method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the POS terminal and the order server combines and manages a previous order and a current order upon the previous order present corresponding to the received order identification information. [See Clarke paragraphs 0080, 0123, 0151]
Referring to claim 8, the combination of Clarke and Ho discloses the ordering method of claim 3, wherein at least one of the POS terminal and the order server combines and manages a previous order and a current order upon the previous order present corresponding to the received order identification information. [See Clarke paragraphs 0080, 0123, 0151]
Referring to claim 9, the combination of Clarke and Ho discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising: by the order server, providing the webpage, which comprises items for checking, changing or paying for the order details corresponding to the identification code, or calling a staff, to the user terminal accessed thereto through the identification code; and by the order server, transmitting an order change, a payment result, or a staff call, which is input through the user terminal, to the POS terminal. [See Clarke paragraphs 0070, 0075, 0120]
Referring to claim 10, the combination of Clarke and Ho discloses the ordering method of claim 8, further comprising: by the order server, providing the webpage, which comprises items for checking, changing or paying for the order details corresponding to the identification code, or calling a staff, to the user terminal accessed thereto through the identification code; and by the order server, transmitting an order change, a payment result, or a staff call, which is input through the user terminal, to the POS terminal. [See Clarke paragraphs 0070, 0075, 0120]
Referring to claim 11, the combination of Clarke and Ho discloses the ordering method of claim 1, further comprising, by the POS terminal, transmitting the order details and a message that an ordering has been completed to the code display installed on a table corresponding to the ordering upon valid order identification information being received and processed, and transmitting a message that the ordering has failed to the code display installed on the table corresponding to the order identification information upon invalid order identification information. [See Clarke paragraphs 0058, 0135]
Referring to claim 12, the combination of Clarke and Ho discloses the ordering method of claim 3, further comprising, by the POS terminal, transmitting the order details and a message that an ordering has been completed to the code display installed on a table corresponding to the ordering upon valid order identification information being received and processed, and transmitting a message that the ordering has failed to the code display installed on the table corresponding to the order identification information upon invalid order identification information. [See paragraphs 0058, 0135]
Referring to claim 13, the combination of Clarke and Ho discloses the ordering method of claim 1, wherein the POS terminal comprises: a code generator configured to generate the order identification information and the identification code; a memory configured to store information about the identification code and the order identification information generated by the code generator; and a controller configured to control the order identification information and the identification code to be processed as having already been used in the memory upon the completed payment, control the code generator to generate the new order identification information and the new identification code, and control the memory to store the generated new order identification information and new identification code as valid identification information. [See Clarke paragraphs 0047-0049, 0052, 0057]
Referring to claim 14, the combination of Clarke discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the POS terminal comprises: a code generator configured to generate the order identification information and the identification code; a memory configured to store information about the identification code and the order identification information generated by the code generator; and a controller configured to control the order identification information and the identification code to be processed as having already been used in the memory upon the completed payment for the ordering, control the code generator to generate new order identification information and a new identification code, and control the memory to store the generated order identification information and identification code as valid identification information. [See Clarke paragraphs 0070, 0075, 0120]
Response to Arguments
101 Rejection
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. §101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Amended claim 1 describes the steps of generating table specific order identification information and identification code, and transmitting the generated information for display at a table code display. Upon reading the identification code, a menu is provided from which an order is created. Order details including the identification information are received, and the received identification information is compared to the generated identification information to determine validity of the order. Based on the comparison, the order is either processed and completed, or blocked from being processed. A new identification code is generated and transmitted for display at a table, repeating the process.
The above steps describe the process of validating order identification information during order placement. The claim compares received order identification information to generated order identification information, and processing (or preventing) the order accordingly. The claim steps cover managing personal behavior or interactions between people, which falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. The cited computer related elements (code display, POS terminal, order server, user terminal) serve to perform the limitations encompassing the identified abstract idea. The computer related elements represent using a computer as a tool to perform the judicial exception as in MPEP 2106.05(f).
In addition, the steps of “generating order identification information”, “displaying an identification code”, “transmitting order details including order identification information”, “generating new order identification information and identification code”, and “transmitting the new identification code”, represents processing, displaying and transmitting data, which amounts to insignificant extra-solution activities that do not impose meaningful limits on the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Further, the steps of “generating new order identification information and identification code”, and “transmitting the new identification code”, describes repeating the steps of “generating and transmitting new identification code”, which amounts to performing repetitive operation that is well‐understood, routine, and conventional activity in the field. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
The cited references (Clarke and Ho) teaches that the specific combination of elements recited in claim 1 is well-understood, routine, or conventional in the particular field. Also, the steps of “generating new order identification information and identification code”, and “transmitting the new identification code”, describes repeating the steps of “generating and transmitting new identification code” for a new order, which amounts to performing repetitive operation that is well‐understood, routine, and conventional activity in the field. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Accordingly, claim 1 is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea) without significantly more.
Dependent claims 2-14 recite limitations directed to the abstract idea, and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor amount to significantly more.
102 Rejection
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2021/0312576 (Clarke) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that some of Applicant’s arguments are directed to newly added amendments, and have been addressed in the current rejection.
The system of Clarke teaches that the order controller determines whether the order associated with the web session is finished. After the meal is done, the user of the patron device may click a “Pay Now” button and confirm that they are ready to submit payment. Upon receiving such a message, the order is deemed to be finished and proceeds to deactivate the order code. See Paragraph 0070. The order controller deactivates the order. Deactivating the order may include the order controller changing the status in the order statuses database table to be something other than “active”. See Paragraph 0075.
Clarke teaches that an order code is temporally unique such that, over a predetermined time period, there is only one active order associated with the order code. In preferred embodiments, the order server 116 changes the code generated for each new order and makes sure it is not the same as a last order code utilized over a period of time. See paragraph 0048. Thus, a new code is generated for each new order and is not the same as a previously used order code.
For instance, other status identifiers may include “canceled”, “paid in full”, “pending payment”, “on hold”, etc. Although changing the status is sufficient to deactivate the order in many embodiments, deactivating the order may also include the order controller removing or otherwise deactivating the association of the code with the order identifier in the order codes database table. Likewise, deactivating the order may also include removing the association of the web session identifier and the order identifier in the web sessions database table. Thus, an order code is deactivated and invalid after use.
The system of Clarke teaches that the staff devices include mobile devices carried by staff members during their job as well as fixed devices such as restaurant tabletop devices and kiosks that may be located at various positions around the restaurant. See paragraph 0037. In addition, Clarke teaches that the patron of the restaurant uses any software application that has the capability to read a graphical code to scan the QR code. For instance, the patron may utilize the camera app or web browser app on their patron device (e.g., their mobile phone) to thereby trigger the patron device to scan the QR code displayed on the staff device. See paragraph 0055. See also paragraph 0098.
In Dulberg, the court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art’s] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose."). See MPEP 2144.04 (V)(C). The system of Clarke teaches that the order server can be located on premise at the restaurant together with the POS system. These devices remain available, and the restaurant can keep functioning as normal. In addition, Clarke teaches that the server and POS devices may be integrated on a single computer server. For instance, in some embodiments, the order server includes software and data for performing the functionality of the POS system and gateway.” See Paragraphs 0038, 0145. Thus, the order server of Clarke performs the functions of the POS terminal and order server of the claimed invention.
Accordingly, Clarke, at least teaches the recited limitations of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLUSEGUN GOYEA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627